Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very readable account of our present mess
The book is well-written in an easy style and very readable. Many statistics and footnotes are included, but they do not hamper readability. Concepts and ideas from economics are made understandable to the general reader. I particularly learned from the critique of problems in Germany, which we are often led to think is a model of success. In the final chapters the...
Published 7 months ago by R. Weber

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good in Parts
The first section is an excellent analysis of the current problems and how we got to where we are, laying the blame fairly and squarely where it belongs, on hubristic policymakers, politicians and bankers. He also blows out of the water the "German solution" and UK ministers claims that we on the road to recovery.

However, the book seems to have been...
Published 3 months ago by Geejay


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very readable account of our present mess, 21 May 2014
By 
R. Weber (Cambridge, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The book is well-written in an easy style and very readable. Many statistics and footnotes are included, but they do not hamper readability. Concepts and ideas from economics are made understandable to the general reader. I particularly learned from the critique of problems in Germany, which we are often led to think is a model of success. In the final chapters the authour presents his ideas for solutions to the present mess. However, I am left feeling that the problems are so great that it will be miraculous if in the context of the workings of European democracies, our current politicians, and strong vested-interests, it is possible to fix the present messes. It will take inspired leadership. For a book in this field it is quite a page-turner. I was always wanting to read one more page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good in Parts, 13 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: European Spring: Why Our Economies and Politics are in a Mess - and How to Put Them Right (Kindle Edition)
The first section is an excellent analysis of the current problems and how we got to where we are, laying the blame fairly and squarely where it belongs, on hubristic policymakers, politicians and bankers. He also blows out of the water the "German solution" and UK ministers claims that we on the road to recovery.

However, the book seems to have been published without troubling the editor as it is about twice as long as it need be and the second section, on "solutions", is a kind of projectile vomit of "all the ideas I've ever had". They come thick and fast, resulting in this reader loosing the will to live as solution follows solution, an ill-digested regurgitation of everything he's previously written.

Some stylistic editing would have been beneficial, as his use of the term "worse" to start a sentence becomes, well, "worse" as the book proceeds.

It could have been an excellent contribution, but spoiled by wordiness and some idiosyncratic notions and prejudices. Worse, too many of his ideas and opinions are presented uncritically.

Despite these reservations, worth a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars a faiirly accurate but repetitive analysis of why Europe is ..., 18 July 2014
By 
K. Catleugh - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: European Spring: Why Our Economies and Politics are in a Mess - and How to Put Them Right (Kindle Edition)
a faiirly accurate but repetitive analysis of why Europe is in a mess, but not much inthe way of convincing solutions on putting it right.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Angry and brilliant polemical plea for change, 26 Oct 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: European Spring: Why Our Economies and Politics are in a Mess - and How to Put Them Right (Kindle Edition)
Philippe Legrain is about as far from an anti-European as it is possible to get, but like a true friend he is also not afraid to dispense some really quite brutal advice. This book is tough love at it's best - part polemic, part plea, all expressed with a raw and heartfelt anger at how something so precious - the European Project - has gone awry. Events since it was written have only served to show how astute an analysis this book contains (that said I don't agree with all his prescriptions).
I wish more mainstream politicians would read this - and then have the gumption to act on it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Alternative to Germanomics, 23 Dec 2014
By 
Stuart Evans (Northumberland, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: European Spring: Why Our Economies and Politics are in a Mess - and How to Put Them Right (Kindle Edition)
Insightful analysis which clearly shows the lessons from the 1930's, Japan, Nordic Countries and the USA have not been learnt as Europe is under the spell of Germanonics. Great read and stimulating solutions to follow the analysis. Not 100% sure about all the solutions but at least strong evidence based analysis pointing to a new direction rather than the beggar my neighbour austerity and tax pirating which seems to be the way of the EU experiment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ... enlightening, 5 Dec 2014
By 
Hazelle White "Haze" (Perth, Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I purchased this book for my boss and he was delighted with it - it contains extremely useful information and is very well written
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must read, 7 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: European Spring: Why Our Economies and Politics are in a Mess - and How to Put Them Right (Kindle Edition)
This book is a must read for anyone who wants a really clear analysis of the banking crisis and austerity policies in Europe. The book also suggests ways forward for the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incisive., 11 July 2014
By 
J. Radke (Jordan, Middle East) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: European Spring: Why Our Economies and Politics are in a Mess - and How to Put Them Right (Kindle Edition)
Superb book. Incisive and relevant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very good. even at this remove ie 2014 good to ..., 31 July 2014
very good .even at this remove ie 2014 good to remind ourselves of how we got to a stage where austerity rules and economics as homoeopathy is proselytised........ .except for bankers of course !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 18 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
as expected
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews