Customer Reviews


61 Reviews
5 star:
 (45)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sabbath`s Finest Moment
This is beyond doubt BS`s finest moment. Iommi has the best guitar sound he ever got on record. Martin Birch`s production is flawless. He made sure that the band had great sounds something that is sadley lacking on all Sabbath`s earlier recordings. Dio gives one of the finest vocal performances on a Heavey Rock/Metal album ever. Check out "Neon Knights" for proof of Dio`s...
Published on 5 Mar 2006 by JT

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Cheap packaging on an otherwise good release
Remastering and bonus content of this (and also the deluxe edition of Mob Rules) is excellent. However, the packaging gets an "F" - unlike the double fold-out digipaks used for prior Sabbath deluxe editions, both of these releases come in jewel cases. This is a far cry from the deluxe editions of the first three Sabbath albums, which were not only packaged in...
Published 11 months ago by W. Belanger


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sabbath`s Finest Moment, 5 Mar 2006
This review is from: Heaven and Hell (Audio CD)
This is beyond doubt BS`s finest moment. Iommi has the best guitar sound he ever got on record. Martin Birch`s production is flawless. He made sure that the band had great sounds something that is sadley lacking on all Sabbath`s earlier recordings. Dio gives one of the finest vocal performances on a Heavey Rock/Metal album ever. Check out "Neon Knights" for proof of Dio`s abilitys. Sabbath never sounded so complete as they do on this album. Dio`s vocals gave the rest of the band a new lease of life & insperation & it showed. "Die Young" was the single at the time & shows Sabbath using Keyboards to great effect. "Heaven & Hell" is still one of the best Metal songs ever written. "Walk Away" has one of the most commercial overtones to it Iommi ever wrote. "Children Of The Sea" has one of those glorius Dio lyrics, " On a misty morning, On the edge of time reaching for the stars we blind the sky". There`s not a bad track on this album & in a strange way all the tracks show slightly different aspects to Sabbath. By the time the tour got to the UK cracks were starting to show. Mob Rules wasn`t the follow up that had been hoped for & Dio split in acrimoney to form his own band. But this album still stands testomony to what was even for a short while the finest Metal band around with one of the truely classic albums of all time...."The world is full of kings & queens, who blind your eyes & steal your dreams...it`s Heaven & Hell" Buy now
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mostly Heaven actually, 14 Sep 2001
By 
Amazon Customer - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Heaven And Hell (Audio CD)
A huge return to form - rejuvenated by pint sized wonderthroat Ronnie James Dio exactly as Purple had been by David Coverdale a couple of years earlier. Neon Knights and the title track are classic straightforward Sabbath, Children of the Sea, Die Young and Lonely is the Word married this riff-fest to the drama of Dio era Rainbow beautifully. Iommi's guitar playing takes another step forward here, and his solos throughout are the best of his career. His work on all of the above is almost operatic in scope, drama and fluency.

All together, this was Sabbath's most coherent, consistent and vital album, it showed the so called 'New Wave of British Heavy Metal' up for the spotty bed-wetters they really were.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heavenly Music, 26 Jun 2009
This review is from: Heaven And Hell (Audio CD)
Heaven And Hell (1980) is the first Black Sabbath album to feature Ronnie James Dio on vocals and signals the beginning of a fresh and exciting new chapter in the band's career. Some purists may complain that it doesn't feature Ozzy Osbourne and therefore it's not really Black Sabbath, but this isn't meant to be a re-run of past glories! This is the sound of a band moving with the times and displaying incredible musical skill by adapting their sound not only for a new decade but to better suit the amazing vocal talents of Dio. Featuring eight stellar tracks, Heaven And Hell is rightfully considered a classic by many to this day. Iommi, Butler and Ward prove that they're anything but out of ideas (as was suggested in the final Ozzy years) and Ronnie demonstrates exactly why he's since become one of metal's most revered front men! Every song is a prize-winner... although notable mentions must go to fan favourites Neon Knights, Die Young and the title track. Still fresh nearly thirty years on, Heaven And Hell is one of those milestone albums that every rock/metal devotee needs to hear!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heaven & Hell - Sabbath Reborn!!, 15 Oct 2005
By 
Stephen Russell (Stoke-on-Trent, Staffs United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Heaven and Hell (Audio CD)
Heaven & Hell marks a defining moment in the life of one of the premier rock bands in the world. In a post Ozzy era, Sabbath faced the challenge of not only seeking to keep their sense of direction, but also in their quest for a new frontman. However after a few phone calls - enter Ronnie James Dio, who having just left Rainbow, stepping into this formidable role with grace & stature. The album represents one of the finest rock banquet's of all time. A perfect blending of classic rock and mysticial imagery, that has become the Dio trademark. From the blistering opening of Neon Knights through to the classic anthem - Heaven and Hell, this album pulls no punches. Not only did the album breath new life into the band, it also attracted a whole new generation of Sabbath fans. Even after 20 years this album still feels as fresh as it did when it was first releashed. Heaven and Hell, although reveals the band in a new musical light, would give Sabbath a new lease of life that they have enjoyed ever since.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MUSICALLY, ONE OF THE BEST...AWESOME GUITAR BREAK ..., 21 Jun 2008
By 
Adam Jackson "Symphonic Metal Fan" (Stoke On Trent , England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Heaven and Hell (Audio CD)
Stunning album. Very strong musically with an excellent production.
Continues the progressive themes of Sabbath Bloody Sabbath with an iron clad attitude. Dio gives a great vocal debut and the band never sounded so polished and focused as here!
Die Young, Neon Knights, Heaven & Hell; all great songs BUT my favourite is the closing track, Lonely Is The Word - what a monster of a song! Great riffs, huge vocals, strong bass & drums and perhaps my favourite guitar solo of ALL time! Love Iommi's playing, so much emotion as well as power, and any Sabbath fan should rate this break highly. It's a truly epic solo with some amazing notes, as much about feeling as technique ( Dragonforce, take note!!). It's really cool how it fades out (the solo lasts at least a minute or more) and the keyboards then come to the surface as the track ends. The keyboards are used subtly on the album to great effect, adding to the atmosphere.

Even if hard to find, this album, along with Mob Rules, is as essential as any of the Ozzy era.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars C'mon guys, Ozzy may be a great front man but Ronnie is a far better singer, no question!, 17 April 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Heaven and Hell (Audio CD)
I have owned all of the albums by Zeppelin and Purple for may years and have only recently bought all of the Black Sabbath albums. I do love most of the first 6 albums with Ozzy, but not because of Ozzy's singing but rather because of Tony Iommi's innovative and original guitar playing and sound. Therefore coming to Sabbath quite fresh at 41, I have no hesitation in saying that Ozzy is by far the worst of the holy trinity of British Heavy Metal singers with Plant and Gillan, not to mention Coverdale (and Phil Mogg of UFO) leaving him for dead. My favourite Sabbath album is Heaven and Hell in no small part due to Ronnie James Dio's impassioned vocals which are light years above Ozzy. This may be sacrilege to 50-something Sabbath fans but it's a cold fact. Ozzy's a great front man by all accounts but not in RJD's league as a singer. I also think Mob Rules is a grossly overlooked album-shoot me!.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ronnies debut with Sabbath and it is a Classic., 25 Jun 2008
By 
This review is from: Heaven and Hell (Audio CD)
This album is a masterpiece it has alot of classics like Neon Knight, Children Of The Sea, Heaven And Hell etc. It's pretty sad about the debate between Ozzy and Ronnie why bother debating their both awesome vocalists and both made history in rock/metal, but in my personal opinion Ronnies is a much better vocalist and frontman but that my opinion. Onto the album it's a great album great songs and vocals and Iommis guitar playing is mindblowing, before i got this album i borrowed the album The Dio years of my friend and it blew me away and the first thing i noticed was how amazing Iommis guitar playing it's so different to other guitar players it's magical. Of course Ronnies is amazing as always. My favourite are deffinetly Neon Knights, Heaven & Hell & Children Of The Sea. The tracks no one seems to be mentioning Walking Away & Wishing Well are great songs may not be as strong as the other but they are great. So ignore the ozzy fans who are saying Ronnie is sh*t he's not he's an amazing vocalist and fits well with the band though Ozzy is a great voclalist he best albums were Black Sabbath and Paranoid i checked out some of his album after those 2 their nowhere near as good as those i did find some awesome tracks like After Forever and Sabbra Caddabra but thats really it. So if you're an ozzy fan who's stuck in the i hate dio zone then sadly you're missing out on some of the best metal songs ever realesed. This is a great place to start but if you havnt really heard much buy black sabbath's Self Titled album dont get me wrong this album is a masterpiece in metal but their self-titled album is the best place to start off with Sabbath as it's their first and a masterpiece. Buy this album if you have Sabbaths early stuff this album is breathtaking. Ignore ozzy fans who hate ronnie this album is a Masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can't speak highly enough about this album, 19 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Heaven and Hell (Audio CD)
Never been a massive fan of Black Sabbath as Ozzys singing wasn't always up to much. Loved to listen to Ronnie James Dio with Rainbow so decided to give this album a go. Fantastic. Ronnie's singing is perfect alongside Tony's wonderful guitar playing. And have to say I'm very impressed with bass playing by Geezer Butler. Some great songs and this album was a steal for £5.00.

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My favourite sabbath album, 23 July 2007
This review is from: Heaven and Hell (Audio CD)
Love this, always have and expect I always will. Okay so no Ozzy but think about this, if he hadnt left we never would have had Blizzard of Ozz, Diary of a madman, etc...and never had this classic rock masterpiece. Im not too big (no pun intended) on Ronnie J Dio as a vocalist, but here, as on Rainbows Long live rock and roll, it just seems to work for me. The album is probably one of those sum bigger than its parts jobs, and I doubt any single track will be in your all time top 10. However as a whole it really delivers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classis Heavy Rock - Man Rock!!, 21 April 2007
This review is from: Heaven and Hell (Audio CD)
This is a superb Heavy Rock Album which was so destined to fail and yet despite the critics being lined up to the slate this at the time where spellbound by the song writing, guitarting, and vocal delivery of this Album.

The Albums starts off with Neon Nights which is a Heavy speed Riff of Rock bursting from the tracks which is relentless in its delivery throughout the whole song. Where so many bands cannot deliver the vocals to such a fast tempo heavy song Dio effortlessly glides through this delivering a vocal which is almost perfect.

Children of sean, wishing well , lady evil , lonely is the world are all superb songs but the WOW factor raises yet another gear for the Title track and Die Young.

I never get bored of listening to this album and think this and it's follow up album are absolute works of art. Sabbth never came to close anything like these two albums before or after and Dio after Sabbath became predicatable.

De-humaniser was never going to live upto these 2 Albums and never did.

The Dark Sinister Riff of Iommi and Dio's haunting vocal range and delivery are so in synch it raises both their games.

Anyone who knows about heavy rock music will both agree with this and also have both Heaven and Hell and Mob Rules.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Heaven & Hell
Heaven & Hell by Black Sabbath
Buy MP3 Album£6.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews