Customer Reviews


160 Reviews
5 star:
 (77)
4 star:
 (27)
3 star:
 (27)
2 star:
 (17)
1 star:
 (12)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Change of pace for an old master
While Tom Clancy may be best known for his Jack Ryan series of novels, he has shown that he can easily translate his skills over to a more action-orientated novel. For some, a Jack Ryan novel may be a little heavy in detail sometimes but the action is always brilliantly written. With Rainbow Six, we are given further insight into the characters of John Clark and Domingo...
Published on 1 Mar 2002 by graemefowler@hotmail.com

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Tom Clancy but not at his best ...
My living room bookcase is dominated by the hardcover versions of all of Tom Clancy's books. I'm a fan. But I'm afraid this one just doesn't quite make it. Sure, all the technothriller buttons are pushed, but for some reason this book fails to deliver.
I think my main problem with the book is that it is too close in style to (the truly awful) SSN. This book reads...
Published on 13 Sep 1999


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Change of pace for an old master, 1 Mar 2002
By 
graemefowler@hotmail.com (Northumberland, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Rainbow Six (Paperback)
While Tom Clancy may be best known for his Jack Ryan series of novels, he has shown that he can easily translate his skills over to a more action-orientated novel. For some, a Jack Ryan novel may be a little heavy in detail sometimes but the action is always brilliantly written. With Rainbow Six, we are given further insight into the characters of John Clark and Domingo Chavez, who will be familiar to readers of Clancy as being Jack Ryan's 'action men' in the CIA. With this new anti-terroist team 'Rainbow' we have an international team of men all the best within their field. British, Germans and Americans altogether. While there is the main plot-line running in the background (now even more frightening given recent events), 'Rainbow' are assigned other missions - and with these the pace and description is sheer genius. The incident at the Spanish theme park is fantastic - totally against the norm, yet shows the human nature of the characters we are presented with. While I am a great fan of the Jack Ryan series, I would dearly love to read another Rainbow Six novel. Are you listenning Mr. Clancy?!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rainbow Six is the best book I have read in a long while., 18 Oct 2005
By 
Waynee the poo (SEOUL, NORTH KOREA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Rainbow Six (Paperback)
"Rainbow Six" was written by Tom Clancy and was published in 1999. Tom Clancy specialises in Political Thriller novels and has a vast knowledge of general military procedures and tactics due to his military heritage, which he effectively shows in all of his books. He has written many novels (more than 10) and some of his books have been made into film (The Hunt For Red October, The Sum Of All Fears,). They are so realistic that you actually feel that the events described in his books could actually happen in reality. He can describe in perfect detail and change the pace of the book nearly instantaneously, adding action, creating suspense and a tense atmosphere that makes you want to keep reading.
"Rainbow Six" is a book about an extraordinary group of the best counter-terrorist operatives in the world. They are hand picked agents from the USA, the United Kingdom, France and Germany, and are led by and ex-Navy Seal called John Clark. He is US president Jack Ryan's first choice when it comes to covert counter-terrorist missions. The team is based in Hereford, U.K, where they live with their families and train every day, to make themselves even better at taking down a big problem fast. Life seems easy and everything is going fine until a terrorist cell takes a Swiss bank under siege. They quickly assemble Team 1 and Team 2 and take out the threat. Too easy, lots of mistakes were made by the terrorists. A Russian mobster named Popov becomes interested in the group. Then a spate of more attacks happen. A stately home. A theme park full of children. The Hereford base. The connections are unclear, but something more sinister is at hand...
In my opinion, Rainbow Six is an excellent novel with an intricate plot, precise descriptions and surprising twists. I would recommend it to everybody.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Tom Clancy but not at his best ..., 13 Sep 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Rainbow Six (Paperback)
My living room bookcase is dominated by the hardcover versions of all of Tom Clancy's books. I'm a fan. But I'm afraid this one just doesn't quite make it. Sure, all the technothriller buttons are pushed, but for some reason this book fails to deliver.
I think my main problem with the book is that it is too close in style to (the truly awful) SSN. This book reads like the scenario descriptions for a computer game. And that, in fact, is what I think it is. This book was written in such a fashion as to allow easy translation into a PC game. Terrorist hostage scenarios for you to solve - I saw the game in a local store last week. This is loosely bound together in the, frankly implausible, eco-terrorist plotline that, for all the rantings of eco-extremists like Earth First, just ain't gonna happen.
Even the opening chapter on the airliner is just so contrived. I mean, who would be so unlucky as to hijack an airliner with three of the world's most highly trained anti-terrorist agents on board, only to find that the guy they want isn't even on board? That sort of bad luck doesn't ring true in books. It only happens to real life people like me!
I'm now waiting for Mr. Clancy's next book and I really hope that it is of a higher standard a la "Clear and Present Danger" or "The Sum of All Fears". Those books had it just right. This one doesn't.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The man knows his stuff!, 16 Aug 2003
By 
K. Wyatt "ssintrepid" (Cape Girardeau, MO United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Rainbow Six (Hardcover)
What can be said about Tom Clancy and any of his novels other than, he knows his stuff. "Rainbow Six" is a pure page turner, no ifs, ands or buts about it. As most Clancy readers know, John Clark is a well developed character in the "Ryanverse" to include "Without Remorse," which gives his back story. "Rainbow Six" puts him in a more modern spotlight. I read this masterpiece not long after it came out, however, on that tragic day of September 11, 2001 this and a couple other of Clancy's novels were what I thought of. It's literally very unfortunate we don't have these heroes out there watching our collective backs! Hopefully for us, the bad guys of the world have never heard of Tom Clancy, for they might get a play book for terrorism.
From the first page to the last this novel, like his other novels, is purely enthralling and you will hardly be able to put it down. Even if you've never read a Clancy novel before, pick this up if you're looking for pure intrigue, thrilling action and a few good laughs along the way. A huge thank you to the Author for this one. {ssintrepid}
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A breakaway from the Ryan series, but brilliant even so!, 23 Jan 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Rainbow Six (Hardcover)
The first thing you notice about this brilliant book is that, unlike other Tom Clancy novels, you need relatively little knowledge of his previous books, making this an excellent stand-alone novel, but still fits in with the rest of his books. The description of the training and deployment of "Rainbow", the top secret counter-terrorist group, is spot-on, and the spirit is brilliantly captured by Clancy. Clark and Chavez, the two main characters, are exposed in great detail, and the reader will soon feel as if they know each one personally. From a fairly calm and mysterious beginning, and competent displays by the Rainbow team, the plot suddenly accelerates into an eco-terrorist campaign to bring Armageddon, with Clancy once again incorporating biological warfare into his plot. As the book reaches its nerve-shattering climax deep in the jungle, Clancy creates an aura of unbearable suspense. The ending cannot fail to amuse after the tension leading up to it, and the reader comes away with an overpowering sense of enjoyment. This is one of Clancy's best novels, and I can strongly recommend it. The only gripe is the stereotypical view of the British, but that does not detract from the sheer quality of this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Could do better, 7 Feb 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Rainbow Six (Hardcover)
I need to start out by saying that I am a big Tom Clancy fan. I buy each of his novels as they come out and devour them avidly. However, this time I struggled. From the appaling spelling and typographical errors to the cultural strereotypes and mistakes (i.e. How many English pubs do you know where you settle up your bill after you have drunk your pint?) the book was just plain hard work. By a third of the way through the book there was also the feeling that we'd already been here, seen that and knew the outcome. The thechnical detail of the book is as good as anything Clancy has done (with possibly the exception of Red Storm Rising or Red October), but I just didn't find it to be the usual page-turner. The characters too easily fall into good guy and bad guy categories, and the element of suspense that was present in earlier works is simply missing: It would be nice to have some competent and intelegent bad guys for a change who can build a nuclear bomb that isn't a damp squib, develop a virus that doesn't burn itself out, or have an environmentalist that doesn't drive two gas gussling cars and take first class on a 747 everywhere!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clancy at his best, 9 Nov 2003
By 
Darren Simons (Middlesex, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Rainbow Six (Paperback)
Rainbow Six sees the return of John Clark (he of Without Remorse, Clear and Present Danger and The Sum of All Fears to name but three) who is asked to lead an elite multinational task force. Based in Britain this group of elite soldiers encounter an unusually high number of terrorists around the world, leaving Clark to look at what it is that links all these events.
This is one of my favourite Clancy books - it's non-stop action, with twists and turns along the way; the characters are well defined and if you've read other Clancy books you'll have an appreciation of how they've worked together before. Don't worry though, it's a perfectly good first Clancy book to read. Unusually for Clancy, the level of information offered on warfare is not too excessive leaving more time to understand the characters and enjoy the story. And finally in John Clark it has in my view the best character Clancy has invented - this strange secret character who manages to always find a way of succeeding against all the odds.
Definitely recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unputdownable, 20 Mar 2009
By 
Gareth Franklin "Monsieur Ugine" (Ugine, France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rainbow Six (Paperback)
I'm well aware that that probably isn't even a real word, but it sums up the book so well. The set-piece action scenes are hugely exciting, leaving you on the edge of your seat in the wait to see if they will succeed. In the "calmer" interludes, Clancy keeps the story chugging along, just quick enough to keep you interested yet not so quick that you lose track of who is doing what.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is great, beginning to end!, 23 Jun 2008
By 
Robert P. Green (England, Leeds) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rainbow Six (Paperback)
Dont pay too much attention of most negetive reviews for this book because it is FICIONAL, its great.

The story involved is highly detailed and exciting, leaving you that feeling "I want to finish this chapet, to read the next one".

I recommend this book for your first Tom Clancy, strictly as a warm up to some of his more thrilling, but less action packed, novels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Methinks this was just a tie in to the game..., 16 Nov 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Rainbow Six (Paperback)
Despite saying that, I thought Rainbow 6 was a pretty good novel. Mind you, doesn't the plot seem a little too samey to "Executive Orders" ?
I never really enjoyed "executive orders" due to its over reliance on the reader knwoing all there is to know about US political structure and the constitution, but since I live in Hereford (where Rainbow Six operates from in the book) , I can relate to the scenery a little more...
Another let down is Tom Clancys near obsession with recurring charaters, and constant refferals to previous books, which if you havn't read them, then the whole character element of the book is lost. Perhaps its a ploy to make us buy them all?
This said, Rainbow Six is a great read if you like stuff like this, but if you really want to read an SAS style novel, get Bravo Two Zero or somthing similar.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews