Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Distilled Love.
This album certainly doesn't ring reminiscent of her Distillers days but if you have kept up with Brody beyond the break up of the band, you will know that she has changed more than just her vocal style since Sing Sing Death House.
Thankfully she hasn't totally abandoned her raspy screams and offers more of the straight up rock elements from Coral Fang on her latest...
Published 4 months ago by Madeofbraille

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Sad times... so boring!
I was so looking forward to this.. I loved The Distillers, Spinnerette had half a good album but I'm disappointed to say this bored me. Totally gutted as I know she is capable if so much better.
Published 3 months ago by Kerrie


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Distilled Love., 29 April 2014
This review is from: Diploid Love (Audio CD)
This album certainly doesn't ring reminiscent of her Distillers days but if you have kept up with Brody beyond the break up of the band, you will know that she has changed more than just her vocal style since Sing Sing Death House.
Thankfully she hasn't totally abandoned her raspy screams and offers more of the straight up rock elements from Coral Fang on her latest release.

If you enjoyed the short lived Spinnerette then Diploid Love should still be enjoyable for you. Although this album is much more versatile musically and at times vocally, it lacks the big band, confident elements of Spinnerette.
The only criticism is that the album doesn't feel like it's had it's big moment. You wait for that real showstopper and sadly it never comes. With that being said every song is credible of an 8/10, it's purely that the album doesn't feel like it has a defining moment.

As her live performance still consists of Distillers material and the odd Spinnerette song, that combination largely illustrates the music of the album, although, songs such as Dressed in Dreams and I Don't Need Your Love are something I could never imagine Brody Dalle associated with. Mariatchi trumpets, eighties synth and even minimal krautrock are all on there.
There is no doubt it's a dark album, but it's positive moments shine through and ultimately define the tone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars She still rocks., 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Diploid Love (Audio CD)
Good variety of punchy punk songs and more melodic grungy tracks.You can definitely see the influence from Josh Homme. A more grown up Brody but definitely worth a listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A bit on the softer side but still not bad, 1 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Diploid Love (Audio CD)
If your looking for vintage Brody..... this is not it, but this isn't a bad album by anymeans. The girl can still rock and still has that terrific raspy voice, but like time.... she has matured - and this is a mature record. I would give it a 7 out of 10 - worth a listen and worth a purchase. Bought mine thru a second hand dealer within the Amazon network
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Exciting album., 29 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Diploid Love (Audio CD)
Bought this album because I liked the track 'Meet the Foetus/Oh the Joy'. The hole album is really entertaining and worth the buy. Brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good but not, 23 Jun 2014
This review is from: Diploid Love (Audio CD)
I love Brody Dalle but I had much higher hopes for this album based on her previous work - prefered Spinerette to the solo stuff.
But saying that there are a couple of killer tracks on here!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars BETTER LIKE THIS, 20 Jun 2014
By 
E. Kelly "keypad" (Didcot,UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Diploid Love (MP3 Download)
I didn't like any of her previous music involvements but this album is great.The musical arrangements are really clever and not cliche ridden for a change, like with the music of the bands she's been in to date. I love the whole album. Let's hope she can do it again. I still find it hard to believe she's an Aussie.

Eamonn
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brody's back, 3 Jun 2014
This review is from: Diploid Love (Audio CD)
This is one epic, raw, brutally honest and amazing album .
I would recommend this record to anyone who hasn't heard of this talented woman.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fresh & Needed, 1 Jun 2014
By 
E. Jones (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Diploid Love (Audio CD)
This is not Distillers, Spinnerette or 'a bit like QOTSA'....this is Brody Dalle in the here and now. Lyrical as ever, that brilliant voice matured, unexpected little bits and totally danceable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 100% Brody from start to finish, 25 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Diploid Love (Audio CD)
I first heard Brody singing in the Distillers in a mates car, and instantly loved her voice, this album to not disappoint in any way shape or form. After wondering what other thought of this album I found myself needing to point out a flaw suffered by most fans, an artist should never aim to please anyone but themselves, fans like so many critics out there haven't done what has been done by those they seek to put down simply because it is not what they think it should be. Get the album listen to it and make up your own mind if its for you, but do not expect something of it just because of the artists history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommend, 15 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Diploid Love (Audio CD)
Best album of the year so far. Couldn't get with the distillers - love Brody solo. Been on repeat play since it arrived, highly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Diploid Love
Diploid Love by Brody Dalle
Buy MP3 Album4.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews