Customer Reviews


77 Reviews
5 star:
 (67)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly Recommended
This is an excellent series in terms of acting, camera work, production and plot. The scenery is delightful. There is a lovely feeling of realism about it. Definitely my most favoured western series to date. Highly recommended.
PS: I rarely bother writing reviews etc but this one is worth it.
Published 10 months ago by Pipart

versus
7 of 37 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars just like the first two
Sadly, this is not a review for the series, which I'm sure is superb, just like the first two.

It is an explanation as to why I have come to despise Amazon Prime having taken over LoveFilm.

Typical of all these series, your monthly fee pays for your fist few, then you have to stump up for the next few. It's bad form and one of the reasons why we in...
Published 10 months ago by Reader


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly Recommended, 20 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is an excellent series in terms of acting, camera work, production and plot. The scenery is delightful. There is a lovely feeling of realism about it. Definitely my most favoured western series to date. Highly recommended.
PS: I rarely bother writing reviews etc but this one is worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Season 3 is excellent. Probably the best of the 3 so far, 7 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hell on Wheels - Season 3 (Amazon Instant Video)
Season 3 is excellent. Probably the best of the 3 so far. I suspect there was a change in personel because it has a diferrent feel to Series 1 and 2 in terms of directing, dialogue and scenery. Highly recommend. Challenges time tested themes of good vs evil with a twist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great series, neeeds more episodes per season, 15 Nov. 2014
This review is from: Hell On Wheels - Season 3 (DVD)
Great scenery, strong story arcs, excellent casting, very watchable. My only (small) criticism is that each season only contains 10 episode, far too few for a series as good as this and far too long a wait for the next season to become available.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Continuance of a brilliant story set in interesting times, 12 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Continuance of a brilliant story set in interesting times. The story of the railroad and its making by the full motley crew who ACTUALLY did historically build the East to West rail roads. Gritty and realistic this does not dodge the sociological issues of the time period. Excellent western, riveting story line and suburb casting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unexpectedly brilliant, 26 Feb. 2015
By 
M. Smith "smiffie" (Leicestershire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I've been absolutely glued to the tv, going from episode to episode through each series.
I accidentally came across this series on Amazon Prime, browsing for something to watch. I saw that Colm Meany was in it, a brilliant actor that first caught my eye from Star Trek The next generation.
I can't fault anything about this show and the acting from everyone in it is superb.
But the actor that really makes this show is Anson Mount. He's really taken the character of Bohannon and shown us so many sides to the character that you want to know more about him. You really want him to succeed in building the railway.
Excellent show.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rip Roaring western yarn, 24 Sept. 2014
Hell on wheels - avid fan of this programme got caught in series one and thoroughly enjoyed evvery minute. I would reccomend the series to anyone, if you have a few evenings free start back in season 1 and enjoy!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb!, 28 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brilliant! All 3 seasons have had me gripped and I cannot wait for season 4. Anson Mount is superb and incredibly enticing, and the rest of the cast are fantastic and perfectly cast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a fantastic 3rd series must see, 8 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hell on Wheels - Season 3 (Amazon Instant Video)
what can I say, just as good as the first two series.
A great story and acting that you ever get tired of watching, so much so that watched them all in 2 days.
costumes and scenery are so realistic it really seems as though it was filmed at the era it is filmed about.
a great mix of little stories from different characters that all flow together nicely to form the main story.
just a must to watch especially if you loved the first two aeries or like films around this genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Western on Wheels, 8 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This has turned out to be a very enjoyable series. My wife who is not the most enthusiastic fan of "Westerns" was glued to the screen, maybe it was because of the combination of Cowboy sand Indians with trains that gave it the edge. Nice production with a feel for the period.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars with the bad characters, and the reliable ones, 12 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This story is so well thought out, with the bad characters, and the reliable ones. Familiarity makes it such a comfort to watch, and makes you concentrate on every detail, to ensure you don`t miss a vital twist in the story - which is a must for a series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews