Customer Reviews


47 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Frank honest and humbling!
Michelle Collins has given a frank open and heartwarming account of her life. It is always easy to judge someone based on media reports and often as in the case of recent scandal involving celebrity or famous people the media have been correct in their facts. I view Ms Collins in a different light after reading her book on kindle. I was so engrossed by the content I could...
Published 7 months ago by bernie 26

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed
looked forward to reading this but did not enjoy this book. quite repetitive in places and none of the relationships explored in depth. seemed to skim over lots of bits of her life which would have been interesting to the reader.
Published 6 months ago by book worm


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Frank honest and humbling!, 4 April 2014
This review is from: This is Me (Kindle Edition)
Michelle Collins has given a frank open and heartwarming account of her life. It is always easy to judge someone based on media reports and often as in the case of recent scandal involving celebrity or famous people the media have been correct in their facts. I view Ms Collins in a different light after reading her book on kindle. I was so engrossed by the content I could not put it down and finished it in a day! She is a real trooper who had worked hard at both relationship issues and work issues but most of all she has worked hard for her daughter Maia whom she clearly loves more than any fame or wealth. I found the comparison with her own mum extraordinary as she too was a single mum determined to do the best for her girls. It must be lovely for her mum to see her girls do well and she sounds like a lovely lady. Michelle strikes me as someone who loves acting but actually shuns celebrity status which unfortunately in her case had seemed to dominate much of her career. This book is an open and honest account of her life including her struggles as well as her joys. She comes accross as a really lovely family oriented person with a big heart not only for her own family and friends but for the wider community in general. I loved the book and actually fiound myself liking her as a person who has so much more to give than entertaining us with her acting. Well done Michelle and thank you for sharing your story. You will touch many hearts with this book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed, 24 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: This is Me (Kindle Edition)
looked forward to reading this but did not enjoy this book. quite repetitive in places and none of the relationships explored in depth. seemed to skim over lots of bits of her life which would have been interesting to the reader.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars This Is Good, 9 Oct 2014
By 
The 90's Guy (North Devon, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: This Is Me (Hardcover)
(WARNING: The review of this book may or more likely will contain spoilers!)

At 242 pages long, Michelle Collins' book "This Is Me" is by far the shortest autobiography I've read so far. Because of that I wasn't expecting too much in the way of details, just basic run-throughs of the high profile acting roles she has had up to the point of this book's release. How wrong I was. To me the book is a bit of a slow burner. Apart from nearly being turned into KFC (Kentucky Fried Collins) in a fire during childhood once, the first 50 pages are not really attention grabbing, though readers in their teens/early 20's may be fascinated by some of Michelle's childhood adventures like renting colour TVs and playing out in the streets; a stark contrast to the hi-tech world of today.

After that though, the pace picks up quite a bit. The remainder of "This Is Me" contains several points that keep the pictures in your mind flowing some time after putting the book down. These points include her first acting experience at the Cockpit Youth Theatre on Lisson Grove in Marylebone; her audition struggles with several rejections; her big EastEnders role as Cindy Beale; an apparent suicide attempt whilst in Cyprus filming the TV show Sunburn; and another big soap role as Stella Price in Coronation Street. There's even time for one or two surprises, one of which being that she met Steve McFadden (Phil Mitchell in EastEnders) several years before she got to Albert Square.

In spite of some of her past mistakes (which as human beings we're all prone to making), Michelle comes across as a level-headed and respectful woman. For starters the two pages worth of Acknowledgements at the start of the book feels more like 20, she loves so many people. She has had a string of dodgy dates and failed (humiliatingly at times) relationships in her life. But rather than trample over and get vengeful on the men that have let her down, she has consciously chosen to keep talk about the relationship subject light, making it clear in the book that she doesn't want to come across as being a spiteful woman. An honourable piece of thinking, though any Heat magazine buyers looking for some hot juicy gossip in this area will be disappointed.

Also she talks about having a strong work ethic. She hasn't always been in the right frame of mind around acting roles but has simply chosen to "get on with it"; get stuck into her work; and never wanting to be idle for even a second. I can relate to her in that area. Whenever I have a less-than-perfect day at work, I'm always thinking of ways of making the next day better for me; writing down what to do, how to do it better and when to actually do it. I just hate the thought of leaving something in a bad way and not being able to do anything about it.

Overall the stir-fry of childhood memories, acting adventures, political dabbling and charity participations (particularly Oxfam and Barnardos) make "This Is me" a pretty good read. Whether you wanted to b**** slap Cindy, ask Stella for a pint, or get Michelle's POV on the acting roles in between, you'll find this a good page turner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, 20 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: This is Me (Kindle Edition)
Really great read couldn't put book down, Michelle tells it like like it is, you won't want to put it Down,recommended read great pictures
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great life michelle 14/4/2014, 14 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: This is Me (Kindle Edition)
Wow loved it great insight into michelle and family Had forgotten all the things she had been in She has had some hard knocks in life and it was great to read her story and find out so much about her Michelle u wrote with feeling and made me the reader a part of your world!! Absolutely fantastic you go girl your a great actress and author xx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Page turner!, 23 April 2014
This review is from: This Is Me (Hardcover)
Thoroughly enjoyed reading " This is me" shows the true Michelle, strong, determined , talented and most of all warm. An insight into the highs and lows of success. She isn't just a pretty face. Well worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Its a good read, 5 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: This Is Me (Hardcover)
I love Michelle Collins so was intruiged to read her autobiography but its short and i learnt nothing new about her life. But she writes honestly and he life has been very interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WHAT A READ !!, 20 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: This Is Me (Hardcover)
I have to say I'm not sure what I expected of this book but was pleasantly surprised upon reading it how frank and honest Michelle was, She opened up about all aspects of her life including personal and work which i found quite refreshing as some autobiographies can be very guarded

I have seen many of the programmes Michelle has been in but this gave me a real insight into her as Michelle rather than her characters and I really enjoyed it, i would recommend it to everyone

Bert
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyed this as very light weight reading, 10 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: This is Me (Kindle Edition)
Enjoyed this as very light weight reading. Felt she went on a bit about how the paparazzi and others gave her a hard time. Unfortunately if you in the public eye then this happens. Respected her for not naming any of the men she has been with. I enjoy her appearances on TV and hope she continues to be on for a long time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyed the journey with Miss Collins, 20 April 2014
This review is from: This Is Me (Hardcover)
Yes, enjoyed reading this book very much, and so should you if you are interested in theatre, film, television, and the pop world. Michelle has worked in all these mediums and takes you on the journey with her. But Michelle's story is more than that, the book is a very human story about a woman discovering life just like the rest of us and trying to make the best of it, a story of tenacity and strength, told in such a way that we feel we are alone with her in her sitting room. I found the book very interesting in the way a person can be perceived one way in the public eye while also being a different person inside and trying to come to terms with that dichotomy. A great holiday read and a perfect gift for yourself and others. Finally, the book is also a right good nosey into another person's life, and we all like that, don't we!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

This is Me
This is Me by Michelle Collins
£3.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews