Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another worthy offering from Osprey.
The perfect gift for all Roman history enthusiasts is THE ROMA VICTRIX WINE BEAKERCalix Imperium, Roma Victrix Pewter wine beaker
Another good offering from Osprey and a great narrative from Lindsay Powell a meticulous historian. Considering the length of the booklet Powell packs in an enormous amount of information.

This volume revolves around the Varian...
Published 5 months ago by amazon customer

versus
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars but I was hoping for more illustrations (I'm a war gamer and like that kind of thing)
Just a tad disappointing. Reasonable descriptions of the battles covered and the men involved, but I was hoping for more illustrations (I'm a war gamer and like that kind of thing). Very good value for the price I paid
Published 9 months ago by D Haynes


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another worthy offering from Osprey., 26 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The perfect gift for all Roman history enthusiasts is THE ROMA VICTRIX WINE BEAKERCalix Imperium, Roma Victrix Pewter wine beaker
Another good offering from Osprey and a great narrative from Lindsay Powell a meticulous historian. Considering the length of the booklet Powell packs in an enormous amount of information.

This volume revolves around the Varian disaster in the Teutoberg forest AD9 and the aftermath including the punitive campaigns of Germanicus and Tiberius, initially the author deals with the strategic situation prior to the conflict.

The next chapter deals with recruitment and motivation, morale and logistics, training, doctrine and tactics, leadership and communications, the use of allies and auxiliaries.

We then move on to the three campaigns and battles that decided the fate of the Augustus policy in Germania, described in great detail with excellent strategic maps, tactical illustrations, photographs and good artwork from peter Dennis.

At the end of the booklet is a comprehensive bibliography of ancient and modern sources, highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good book, great value too, 3 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Roman Soldier vs Germanic Warrior: 1st Century AD (Combat Book 6) (Kindle Edition)
I enjoyed this, especially as growing up I was a fan of Peter Connelly's books. The author knows his stuff, both as a historian and a reenactor. I felt he was a little too eager to play up the Germans. While covering the German weapons well, he downplayed just how vicious and decisive the Roman gladius was. In addition, he should have mentioned for the Romans, AD6 - 16 was a war in one part of the Empire (eventually the main one) but to the Germans it was the war. Therefore to try to use individual equipment and fighting styles to predict the outcome of war (not the battles themselves) was a bit misleading. Finally, I doubt a Roman occupation of Germania Magna would have altered world history decisively. A bit, yes but not as much as say the collapse of the Roman frontier and the loss of northern Gaul.
Despite this, it is an enjoyable book. I certainly would have enjoyed it as a child, a teenager as much as I enjoyed it now. At the price of just over a Pound, it was great value too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thoroughly recommended, 12 Feb. 2015
By 
Ben Kane (Nr Bristol, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bigger than the average Osprey offering at 80 pages, it's full of maps, pictures and solid historical detail. Powell knows his stuff, and it shows. Peter Dennis's artwork is outstanding too - just a shame that none of it was available to buy. (You can buy the artwork from any Osprey book - the contact details for the artist are on the inside of every cover.)

Thoroughly recommended.

Ben Kane, author of the Spartacus, Hannibal and Eagles of Rome novels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars but I was hoping for more illustrations (I'm a war gamer and like that kind of thing), 18 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Roman Soldier vs Germanic Warrior: 1st Century AD (Combat Book 6) (Kindle Edition)
Just a tad disappointing. Reasonable descriptions of the battles covered and the men involved, but I was hoping for more illustrations (I'm a war gamer and like that kind of thing). Very good value for the price I paid
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very interesting and historically correct, 13 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Roman Soldier vs Germanic Warrior: 1st Century AD (Combat Book 6) (Kindle Edition)
As always osprey have written an excellent account which is historically correct . As with all their titles this made fascinating reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 17 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Roman Soldier vs Germanic Warrior: 1st Century AD (Combat Book 6) (Kindle Edition)
Good book from a series across military history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars NICE BOOK., 28 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very Handy Reference Book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Seen better, seen worse. Not bad., 21 Aug. 2014
By 
Andy Watkins "(Captain Kremmen)" (Reading, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Roman Soldier vs Germanic Warrior: 1st Century AD (Combat Book 6) (Kindle Edition)
Not bad, nothing very exciting, but not bad. I was hoping for something a little more exciting or interesting
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit disappointing somehow, 22 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was really looking forward to this book, but it's a little too dry for my taste somehow.
It's not a bad book and I like the series, particularly if they look at more ancient/medieval topics
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews