Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop Clothing clo_fly_aw15_NA_shoes Shop All Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop Fire HD 6 Shop Kindle Paperwhite Shop now Shop Now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 June 2014
i watched programme on tv about william marshall had heard of him previously but not a lot. He deserves to be known better, a proper hero who helped shape the country as we know it today.
Not a perfect man but, who is.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
on 30 July 2014
If your into Englands history then you will like to read the life of William Marshall the man who helped to make and protect this country and would make a great epic film if someone could make the funds available.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
on 9 July 2014
Interesting read,somewhat heavy read for some people. but I found this a fascinating insight into medieval life and times. As one who likes to study anything historical I enjoying this book immensely.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
on 8 July 2014
I read this ,found it a fascinating saga, I think it should be read alongside Marc Morris book the Norman invasion, I really enjoyed this book, thank you to Richard for collating all the regressions.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
on 16 June 2014
Readable, well researched and interesting-really enjoyed this and some good readable narrative on knightly culture in Middle Ages. Easy to read too, always a pleasure with history books.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
on 5 February 2015
A good read for those particularly interested in William Marshall, but some of the writing about battle tactics and overall strategy at the time is disjointed and not easy to follow.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
on 13 June 2014
The book was excellent, Interesting ,exciting and most informative. It covered the subject well and the era with its personalities of the day. Nothing was left out in my opinion.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
on 28 January 2015
The life of William Marshall is probably the most fascinating in history. He was courageous, chivalrous and a man ahead of his time. A great read about a truly great man.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
Beneath the hyperbolic title lies a vivid, easy-reading history of William Marshall, Earl of Pembroke, the “superstar” of medieval England, as this text calls him.

Tracing his life, his relationships with four kings – Henry II, Richard I, John, and Henry III – as well as his military impact, this would be perfect for fans of Elizabeth Chadwick’s novels wanting to know more about the historical figure behind the fiction.

(This review is from an ARC courtesy of the publisher)
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
on 12 June 2014
This book informed me of a piece of history I knew nothing about. It was a very good read and,I would recommend it to anyone ininterested in the Thirteenth Century.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.