Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A really solid Epica album
I never really gelled with the previous album ('Requiem ...') but this one is right back on form. Plenty of all the good stuff that made previous Epica albums stand out from the crowd plus some extra heaviness sprinkled in here and there. Plenty of orchestra and choir use which is critical in this genre. Nearly every track is a winner. If you like Epica or symphonic metal...
Published 7 months ago by Retset

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A litlle bit less Symphonie/melody and it would be great
I bought it because the single The essence of Silence. It was not so symphonic and more brutal, but on the long run, its not brutal enough :)
Published 5 months ago by Marco


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A really solid Epica album, 5 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Quantum Enigma (Audio CD)
I never really gelled with the previous album ('Requiem ...') but this one is right back on form. Plenty of all the good stuff that made previous Epica albums stand out from the crowd plus some extra heaviness sprinkled in here and there. Plenty of orchestra and choir use which is critical in this genre. Nearly every track is a winner. If you like Epica or symphonic metal in general (including death growls) then this is for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible work, a must for any fan of the symphonic metal genre., 6 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Quantum Enigma (Audio CD)
Epica have quite simply never sounded better, songwriting here really is top notch and Simone absolutely nails it! One word though get the 2 disc version (think it's called digipack or something?) as that's the one which includes the bonus track 'In All Conscience' (bass player Rob van der Loo's debut composition for the band) as it's really good. There is a wide range of material on offer here, whatever your favourite aspect of this band may be The Quantum Enigma would seem to visit it at some point during its very impressive 70 odd minute journey. The Quantum Enigma is brutal, yet beautiful and it's everything a symphonic metal album should be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Pinnacle of Achievement, 28 May 2014
By 
Peter Grant (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Quantum Enigma (Audio CD)
Epica's best album since their very first (Phantom Agony) and perfect to recommend if anyone ever asks what is meant by 'symphonic metal'. All the band's strengths are on display, intelligent lyrics, beautiful vocals from Simone, plus the orchestrations are becoming ever more confident. Essentially the voices and lead instruments are now performing solo parts in an overal symphonic vision rather just acting as counterpoints to the orchestral passages. Really Jansen and his collaborators now ought to attempt a full-scale metal opera and/or a major film director should let him score their next epic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What an achievement....., 29 Aug 2014
By 
J. Rychetnik (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Quantum Enigma (Audio CD)
I bought this album about a month ago, but every time I tried to listen to it my CD player started playing up. I even bought a second copy of the CD because I thought the first was wonky, but that one played up too. The funny thing is it was only THIS CD out of all my collection that went wrong. To cut a long story short I have finally managed to listen to the whole album on a good system, and what an album it is.

It is much better than Design Your Universe which is the other Epica album that I own. The musicianship on Quantum is amazing and Simone's singing hits a real high. Slowly over the course of the album a whole operatic story unfolds. The lyrics add a lot to the whole feel of the album and are really quite philosophical. You can see the band dug deep to draw this amazing music from within.

Symphonic Metal does not come better. The emphasis in this album is probably more on symphony rather than metal, but I don't mind that. I love the title too..... ;-) Excellent album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Epica fans will love this, 5 May 2014
By 
Mark B "Mark B" (Hampshire, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Quantum Enigma (MP3 Download)
This is a great album - I have barely stopped listening to it. It is clearly an Epica album with the band's unique use of both the operatic and heavy metal. However, it feels very fresh and there are some excellent tracks. Unchain Utopia, Reverence and Omen will go down as favourites of the fans I expect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another fine recording by Epica, 5 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Quantum Enigma (Audio CD)
Can Epica do no wrong? This latest recording by Epica is fantastic. Simone Simons voice floats from one song to another, the use of many voice choirs on some of the tracks is sublime. Be aware though, if you download the tracks using auto rip you only get the first 13 tracks of the album, the 14th track (in all conscience) and the tracks from cd 2 are not present.

If you liked the other Epica albums you will love this album too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Epic, 6 Jun 2014
This review is from: The Quantum Enigma (Audio CD)
Sometimes one can like a band and its body of work and then they do something extraordinary, this album is that "extraordinary".
The album is just under 70 minutes of pure symphonic metal brilliance and I defy any fan of Nightwish, Within Temptation, Delain & Xandria not be blown away by this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Worth every bit of money spent!, 12 Sep 2014
By 
P. Mc Hugh (New Jersey) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Quantum Enigma (Audio CD)
I had purchased the 2CD set and was very happy that the quality of the recordings was better than "Requiem...". However, I had read that the Deluxe Edition 3CD set contained the instrumential version of the album. As crazy as it sounds, I enjoy immensely the instrumental version. Simone Simons has a very emotional voice and am thrilled with hearing it. But, the backing instrumental is breathtaking and worth every penny spent. The music stands on it own quite nicely. The choir sections are an integral part of the music and the piece as a whole could have been issued separately.

This is a fantasitc album, with and without Simone Simons.

Leave it to the marketers, though; the Japanese single (uncredited) is on the 2 CD version, but not on the 3CD version. It would have been nice to have all the music on this set - the single, the LP bonus track and the i-Tunes title included.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome!, 15 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Quantum Enigma (Audio CD)
This is an awesome album. Great voice and great orchestral intros.
A really great album from Epica!
Gothic, dark and rich!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yup !!, 10 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Quantum Enigma (Audio CD)
I thought long & hard over 4 or 5 stars for this one and in the end I went for 5, as on balance, I can't really fault this release.
My initial misgiving was that despite repeated listens, the materiel on offer here didn't come across as varied or as accesable as their previous album. But that was then and this is now, as they say - if I want "Requiem for the Indifferent", it's still there, just as good as ever. This is a different beast, I feel. It has all of the standard Epica trademarks (as you'd expect) but they have moved on a bit, which is probably a good thing.
As I said, I can't fault this album. As you'd expect, all the performances are flawless. Simone's voice is just beautiful. Isaac's solos are outstanding - not self indulgent or over long but just right to enhance the songs - he's the best thing to happen to Epica in a good while!
If you like Epica - you won't be disappointed. If you like symphonic metal in general - again you won't go far wrong with this one.
All in all, it deserves it's 5 stars.
Well done Epica!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Quantum Enigma
Quantum Enigma by Epica (Audio CD - 2014)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews