Customer Reviews


60 Reviews
5 star:
 (52)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a modernist attention to detail second to none
this is quite simply the best book available on this great british youth subculture. I would whole heartedly recommend this to anybody interested or studying subcultures, anybody who lived during this era and the mod revival or anybody with just a passing interest, it ticks every box. It is highly readable and hard to put down as those 'faces' that were there recount...
Published 6 months ago by Simon Franklin

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
Not as good read as id have thought
Published 1 month ago by Stewart Wright


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a modernist attention to detail second to none, 16 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mods: The New Religion (Hardcover)
this is quite simply the best book available on this great british youth subculture. I would whole heartedly recommend this to anybody interested or studying subcultures, anybody who lived during this era and the mod revival or anybody with just a passing interest, it ticks every box. It is highly readable and hard to put down as those 'faces' that were there recount stories and events. But it doesn't stop there you have chapters on the clothes, the music, the clubs and the events up until and beyond the demise of this youth movement. There are several other volumes about mod from Richard Barnes, Graham Lentz, Paolo Hewitt, Terry Rawlings and Richard Weight all of which are worthy of your patronage but hindsight has set this one apart and it's the most complete, enthraling and colourful of all these volumes. My favourite bit are the playlists from the djs and members of the various mod clubs, armed with spotify or similar streaming software you can recreate the sounds of this era! It also includes flyers, adverts, newspaper and magazine cuttings from publications of the time. I could go on! Check it out for yourself!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wonderfully detailed account of the early Modernist moverment, 15 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mods: The New Religion (Hardcover)
I am really enjoying this book. It is obvious from the outset that it has been painstakingly researched as the beautiful photos and attention to detail so amply show ; one can only then admire Paul Anderson's devotion to such an undertaking. I do nonetheless have some minor quibbles, which may say more about my eyesight than the layout, in that I do find some of the illustrations a trifle too small as to ascertain clearly what they depict ; a shame since the images are as important as the text and I really planned to peruse the pictures closely as well as following the narrative. I was also expecting an in depth examination of the modernist apparel rather than brief accounts of what was worn by whom. Nevertheless, the work will , I believe become the standard text book for anyone wishing to appraise the early Modernist movement in terms of it's influence, scope and last but not least durability.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth the wait.....!!, 7 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mods: The New Religion (Hardcover)
Well I've been following the snippets that Paul Anderson released via Facebook and I have to say the real thing is no disappointment.

Great pictures, stories and anecdotes that have been collated and organised in a way that makes it easy to read and absorb.

There has been a number of books on Mods and the movement since the 'bible' that was written by Richard Barnes, and despite some credible efforts none really came close, this book however deserves to stand alongside.

So for what its worth I think this is a fabulous book and well deserved of my hard earned.

Well done Paul Anderson...!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The real deal, 7 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mods: The New Religion (Hardcover)
The long awaited book which doesn't disappoint. Punchy and well written, this will be beacon of style references for years to come. Solid research and well supported material make this a book which will act as a document for historians as well as those looking to understand the broader influences to often misquoted 'mod' style. Great rare photographs collected together in a range of reference points. You won't be disappointed with this - in fact, you'll find this flying off the book shelves of Amazon et al into collectors hands at great speed. Perfect. Thanks for all the hard work Paul.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The new mod bible!, 9 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mods: The New Religion (Hardcover)
Great book... Lots and lots of photos that I've never seen before, and I've read lots of books on the history of mods... And lots of great stuff to read from people who were there in small snippets.. So you can just pick this book up for 5 minutes at a time.. .. But trust me you will be reading it for longer than 5 minutes at a time... It's the new mod bible!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dressing fine, making time, 14 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mods: The New Religion (Kindle Edition)
A sharp, vivid, colourful book about the 1960s mod movement and a rare and successful attempt to add to what we know, rather than pick over the bones...

Unlike Richard Weight's recent (and somewhat underwhelming) "MOD: A Very British Style", the entire focus of "The New Religion" is the 1960s, with the merest nod to the short-lived post-1978 revival movement in the final chapter. Its success is in a series of 'street level' recollections from a colourful cast of original mods, male and female, augmented by a dazzling archive of previously unpublished personal photographs, club flyers, tickets, posters and album covers

Each chapter focuses on a different aspect of the movement but the overall narrative is chronological, taking us from the east end of London in the late 1950s through the national mid-decade boom and on to end of the decade, charting the changing styles and pre-occupations of the participants from year to year. In words and pictures, this makes for an evocative national tour of 1960s mod Britain from the Birdcage in Portsmouth up through London and Birmingham to the Twisted Wheel in Manchester and across to the King Mojo in Sheffield. This is important because few, if any, books on the subject have been as geographically diverse

Amongst the dozens of people we meet along the way are Denzil (cover star of the Sunday Times 'Changing Faces' feature in 1964 and, at 18, already wondering if he is too old to be a mod!) leading a West End-bound tube train full of mods in a rendition of James Brown's "Night Train". There is 16 year old Mickey Tenner at the Scene Club in 1964, chatting with Guy Stevens in the DJ booth, dancing with Sandy Sarjeant and pictured posing outside Ham Yard in suede loafers and cycling shirt. Pat Farell remembers being hand-picked from the dancing throng at the Lyceum and invited to appear as a dancer on Ready Steady Go! "No thanks", she says, "It's not what I stand for". Pure mod

If you are at all interested in the subject matter, "Mods: The New Religion" is outstanding. It is easily on a par with three other books that many consider to be the 'standard texts' on the subject - "Mods!" By Richard Barnes, "In The Lap of the Mods" by Ian Hebditch and "Central 1179" by Keith Rylatt & Phil Scott. A sharp, authentic, well-designed and thoroughly welcome addition to the stable, adding new colour and depth to the story...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Original Mod culture fully captured in 302 pages., 7 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mods: The New Religion (Hardcover)
Wonderful book. The level of detail is superb and the photographs - supplied by the people who were there at the time, are fantastic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars stunning, 16 April 2014
This review is from: Mods: The New Religion (Kindle Edition)
This book is quite simply the best book ever produced on the subject of Mod in the 60's, and yes that includes Richard Barnes Mods!
The love and devotion that Paul Anderson has put into this publication is mind blowing.
If you buy just one book on Mods make it this one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spend a night at the Flamingo, 16 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mods: The New Religion (Hardcover)
Not since Richard Barnes has a writer done justice to the early sixties fashion and music youth movement. Filled with anecdotes from those who were actually there setting the trends and the pace. The photographs and research help to send you to dark, sweaty nights deep in Soho.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential reading for all those who were there and the many more who wished they were., 16 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mods: The New Religion (Kindle Edition)
Growing up in 1960's South West London, I was old enough to appreciate the Mod scene but too young to get into the action. I loved the clothes, but couldn't afford them... and my big brother's fashionable threads were much too large for me. I loved the music, though, and would spend hours playing Steve's collection of Jazz, R&B, Motown and Blue Beat on his Dansette Debonaire.

So, I was eagerly awaiting the publication of Paul's 'Mods: The New Religion' and certainly not disappointed when it finally arrived. The book is a genuine labour of love, taking the reader through a trip back in time highlighting the music, the fashions and the people that defined the Mod era. The reader is accompanied on this journey by faces from the past who provide wonderfully descriptive anecdotes of what it meant to be truly 'Mod'.

Beautifully illustrated and excellently collated, this is essential reading for all those who were there and the many more who wished they were.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mods: The New Religion
Mods: The New Religion by Paul Anderson
£15.47
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews