Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Journeyman: Eric Clapton - Clapton back on form
After (what in my personal opinion) I consider to be the two worst albums of his career, Behind the Sun and August, Clapton managed to finish the eighties with this excellent album that shows him right back on form.

It's an album of blues/rock in which Clapton sounds really interested and committed to the music, an attitude that was missing from his previous...
Published on 31 Aug. 2011 by Victor

versus
6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Journeyman on Hybrid SACD... now with added Snap, Crackle & Pop.
The good news:

This remastered Journeyman SACD now has a balanced EQ. Gone is the boosted treble and the mix sounds more relaxed and open. It has an improved dynamic range and there's an increase in detail with individual instruments sounding clearer with better separation.

The bad news:

Oh dear. Tracks 1 to 3 are quite a mess and track 10...
Published 8 months ago by PixelatedBeatle


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Journeyman: Eric Clapton - Clapton back on form, 31 Aug. 2011
By 
Victor (Hull, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Journeyman (Audio CD)
After (what in my personal opinion) I consider to be the two worst albums of his career, Behind the Sun and August, Clapton managed to finish the eighties with this excellent album that shows him right back on form.

It's an album of blues/rock in which Clapton sounds really interested and committed to the music, an attitude that was missing from his previous few releases. He mixes some great guitar work with some of his best vocals, at times sweet and yearning, at times gruff and world weary. Mixing up the tempo allows Clapton to show off his full range, and whereas on earlier records he concentrated on either Clapton the guitarist or Clapton the vocalist, here for the first time he finds a great balance between the two and finally shows himself to be the complete article. It was a commercial and critical success, picking up a few awards, and quite rightly so.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A real classic, 7 May 2008
By 
Mr. M. E. Watts "KILLERWATTS" (PORTSMOUTH UNITED KINGDOM) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Journeyman (Audio CD)
It was so good to hear this album which I had played to death on vinyl and after about 7 years of not hearing it I was so pleased that it had lost nothing of it's original appeal. I think the thing that appeals to me most is the production of the album which shows what a fantastic producer Russ Titleman is(just listen to Toto albums and you will see what I mean)and that really makes the difference for as much as I love EC I really miss the Titleman touch when you see him live. This album does stand the test of time and stands up very well against recent albums by Eric.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Journeyman, 1 Jun. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Journeyman (Audio CD)
Having previously owned this album on cassette and sold it on, I missed it and rebought it on CD. I am now enjoying it more than ever. Some outstanding tracks - Pretending, Bad Love, Hound Dog, No Alibis & Before you Accuse Me. The rest are merely very good!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Back to Eric, 23 Jan. 2010
By 
S. A. Holton (Windsor UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Journeyman (Audio CD)
This is the album that brought me, and many others I suspect, back to listening to Eric, and is a great collection of songs, some of which are outstanding. It was a restart to his career, and should be in anyone's collection of grat EC albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Journeyman-eric clapton, 27 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Journeyman (Audio CD)
To me one of erics best cds-great guitar and singing.There is not a bad track on this cd and I recommend it to all ec lovers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good as ever!, 10 Nov. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Journeyman (Audio CD)
Journeyman - I had the tape of this Clapton offering but decided to buy the cd - guitar is great on quite a few numbers and I never get fed up of listening to it - a must for Clapton adicts!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Journeyman, 6 Jan. 2010
By 
Spider Monkey (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Journeyman (Audio CD)
`Journeyman' is one of the albums that started my love affair with all things Clapton and it still has a special place in my heart. It has a great mix of rock and blues on it and shows Clapton when he is playing on all cylinders. The album opener `Pretending' still manages to raise a smile on my face even though I played this album to death on cassette and later on CD and `Bad Love' still sounds as powerful now as when I first heard it. Apparently when Clapton played the original mix of this album to record execs they said it was good but could he go off and write another `Layla', Clapton went away and `Bad Love' was his answer. And what a powerful answer it is, with a strong riff and great lyrics. There is also a duet with Robert Cray called `Old Love' and in my opinion this is one of the best blues tracks Clapton has ever written and I still get goosebumps when the chorus plays. This is the album where Clapton moved away from his synth heavy eighties sound and back towards the blues he is revered for and this album is the perfect blend of the two styles and if you are a fan of either styles of music you will be well catered for here. There isn't a bad track on this album and I can still happily listen to this from start to finish despite having heard it hundreds of times and if you enjoy this then I can only recommend `Unplugged' which was the natural progression from this album and features many of the songs here in an acoustic format. This is required listening and essential for your Clapton collection.

Feel free to check out my blog which can be found on my profile page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The journey continues ..., 31 Mar. 2013
This review is from: Journeyman (Audio CD)
It's hard to say that there is a definitive Eric Clapton solo album but Journeyman must be one of the top contenders. Having taken a more contemporary approach with his previous two albums, E.C. created a more balanced/varied (depending on your point of view) work this time.

Journeyman has something for everyone - "Pretending", "Bad Love", "No Alibis" and "Breaking Point", for the rockers - "Hard Times", "Hound Dog" and "Before You Accuse Me", for the purists - "Anything For Your Love", "Running On Faith", "Old Love" and "Lead Me On" for the romantics and a guest appearance from George Harrison on his song "Run So Far".

There's plenty of contrast here from track-to-track but as a statement of intent the album opener, "Pretending", left no doubt that this album would be no gentle stroll. Powerful wah-wah guitar and insistent beat set the tone straight away. And although "Bad Love" was written to a formula, it avoids sounding contrived. The opening riff always sounds to me like it's from the title credits to an American tv detective series (in a good way) - more wah-wah, used to great effect and gravity-defying string bends in the outro. "No Alibis" is a mean rocker with great, restrained, lead guitar. But if an album this strong can have a stand-out number, for many no doubt it will be "Old Love". Co-written by E.C. and Robert Cray and featuring Cray on guitar alongside Clapton. The longest song here, with an intensity that hadn't been heard on record since the Layla album: it's one to stop you in your tracks.

Seemingly often never far from a musical crossroads, Journeyman would be the start of Eric's short association with Russ Titleman as producer, a shift back to his blues roots and the end of Jerry Lynn Williams' input as commercial songwriter. The widespread acclaim heaped upon this album would see Clapton's popularity soar, giving Eric the perfect excuse to move into the Royal Albert Hall for much of the next two years!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of Clapton's favourites, with good reason, 1 May 2013
By 
Stephen Reid "Stephen" (Basingstoke) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Journeyman (Audio CD)
This album dates back to 1989 and it shows Clapton's playing and singing at its best. He refers to it in his autobiography as 'one of my own favourite albums'. He recalls it with affection.

Clapton collaborated with Jerry Williams who wrote five of the tracks including 'Pretending' and 'Anything for your love' which get the record off to a strong start and of course, 'Running on Faith': these songs are perfect for Clapton. Then 'Old Love' written by Clapton himself with Robert Cray: very strong with a memorable riff. And later 'Run So Far' written by George Harrison, who also plays and sings.

For me the strength of this album is that it has tracks in different styles, from blues to rock and ballads - and they are all good. There is no risk of the next track sounding too much like the previous so the entertainment value is high.

Eric Clapton is a consummate guitar player and singer. On this collection he has surrounded himself with the class musicians he deserves, including Nathan East, Jim Keltner, Phil Collins and George Harrison. As one might expect, an ensemble of this quality is utterly professional and turns in performances of the highest order, making 'brilliant' seem effortless. The upshot is an album that is a delight to listen to, varied and highly enjoyable.

This is Eric Clapton as a solo artist at his best and most versatile. Five stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I found 'God' for 1 penny + P&P, 20 Nov. 2011
By 
Philip Fletcher (united kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Journeyman (Audio CD)
I bought this CD through Amazon for 1p; I love snapp1ng up big names as cheaply as possible. Eric Clapton is as good as white blues men get, even when he's not playing the blues as such.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Journeyman
Journeyman by Eric Clapton (Audio CD - 2014)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews