Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Naz Pizazzzzz!
I can’t recall such an extensive PR campaign for a Naz album, the resultant buzz, the excitement that has prevailed over these last couple of months. So what is the verdict for Rock n Roll Telephone?

Will first impressions on playing it be similar to the experiences of years ago for such albums as No Mean City, “incredible”, or Malice...
Published 6 months ago by Michael T

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars This is more like it, after the dull Big Dogz
Sorry, but Big Dogz was truly dull and boring - it just didn't rock, which is odd for a rock band. It's the only one of theirs I gave away, though their other 'worst' was Play n the Game, which I never bought on CD also very slow and dull. SO .....I waited before I bought this one, for the price to drop (I already had the new Uriah Heep one, Outsider, coming out the same...
Published 5 months ago by David R. Walters


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loud N' Proud - Again, 14 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rock 'n' Roll Telephone [Deluxe] (Audio CD)
Nazareth delivers yet another great album with a mix of heavy and softer tracks. Go for the deluxe version if you are going to buy as the additional tracks give a little of the special feeling of hearing this group play live.

Real music, real energy in every track of this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nazareth rock 'n'roll telephone, 21 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rock 'n' Roll Telephone (Audio CD)
Nazareth, one of my dear groups. All albums Nazareth, since debut 1971, are made penetrating, with full itself return. Each album deserves attention. Every year Nazareth increased musical professionalism. And though, from early composition, remained only two musicians, it didn't affect beauty and quality of music. Magnificent vocal of Dan McCafferty, this person Nazareth. Nazareth thanks, for an album Rock-n-Roll-Telephone, I think, I will be supported by all fans of this group.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Farewell, 28 Jun 2014
By 
Mr. P. N. Cairns (Birmingham United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rock 'n' Roll Telephone [Deluxe] (Audio CD)
I have read all the previous reviews with great interest, As a long time Nazareth fan, I feel i should put my two pennyworth in. This album took a couple of listens before i really appreciated it, Much like the last offering(Big Dogz), I still think the band should have released Butterfly of the last album as a single, It just might have got some airplay. As for this album, I don't think there is what you could call a bad track.With regards to other comments about people's favourite Nazareth album-My favourite has always been No Jive-especially if you can get the bonus track version. Thanks Dan for all the memories-Look after yourself and good health.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A consistently rocking farewell, 26 Jun 2014
By 
Tommy Rotten (North Lincolnshire, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rock 'n' Roll Telephone [Deluxe] (Audio CD)
Later decades have seen Nazareth perfect the rock ballad and this album contains a couple more slower numbers than what we have become accustomed to over the years.

Dan McCafferty has remained in unbelievably good voice over the years, and it is almost as if the alcohol and cigarettes are integral to maintaining that distinctive soaring gravel. Unfortunately he vices have taken their toll and his retirement from touring mean that this could be the last record he makes with Nazareth.

The opening 'Boom Bang Bang' is a solid rocker with almost Aerosmith-style novelty lyrics and melodic chorus, while the following 'One Set of Bones' is the album's highlight, featuring McCafferty's most dramatically powerful vocals for decades. Defiant lyrics are a feature of the album, sometimes presented in an in-your-face style, while in other moments more tenderly. The title track is a little lumbering, although the key change in the instrumental bridge is interesting.

Positive reflection and intent are a theme of the album, with the tempo'd 'Back 2B4' featuring lyrics about not looking back, while 'Long Long Time' is an ode to couples that have been together since forever. These and other ballads are rightly described as 'bluesy', but there are also touches of folk which we heard on The Newz six years previously.

The 70's vintage Nazareth-sounding 'Punch a Hole in the Sky' genuinely could be placed on any of the albums from the bands peak and the aggressively-driven 'Not Today' provides heavy grinding rock.

he closing 'God of the Mountain' has been around for a couple of years now and was the theme tune for the Austrian skiing team - it's a passionate and inspiring finale.

Rock 'N' Roll Telephone may be slightly weighted towards the plodding side compared to other Nazareth's records, but the pacey, heavy and soaring rock performances are still well represented throughout the album. Overall, if it does prove to be McCafferty's final album with the band, then he has, at certain points of this record - bowed out on a literal high note and at the top of his game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars he goes out in a great way. A very good album with some great ..., 15 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rock 'n' Roll Telephone [Deluxe] (Audio CD)
Dan McCafferty's last Record?
Nazareth is set to continue with new singer, So if this is the end of the line for Dan McCafferty, he goes out in a great way.
A very good album with some great hard rock songs included
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the albums of the year., 29 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rock 'n' Roll Telephone [Deluxe] (Audio CD)
Nazareth were always a favorite band of mine during the seventies,and this album shows they have lost none of their magic.l am enjoying the music again.Thank you Nazareth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent service., 2 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Item arrived on time and was well packaged. My friend. was very pleased with it. Many thanks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 23 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Probably the last Naz record to feature Dan so had to have the vinyl version too. It'snaz!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 12 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rock 'n' Roll Telephone [Deluxe] (Audio CD)
what a shame they're done this was their best effort what a run
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 19 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rock 'n' Roll Telephone (Audio CD)
great nazareth album usual great amazon service
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Rock 'n' Roll Telephone [Deluxe]
Rock 'n' Roll Telephone [Deluxe] by Nazareth (Audio CD - 2014)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews