Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy it now !, 5 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In a Box (MP3 Download)
Don't waste any time reading reviews. Buy this album right now and enjoy it. It's brilliant from start to finish. Every song is a must have. The musicianship and song writing is superb throughout. I can't praise it enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A masterpiece of Northern song....., 9 Dec. 2014
By 
David Savage (Cambridge UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In A Box (Audio CD)
An excellent album from a very talented duo with support from some leading folk musicians, including Seth Lakeman on fiddle and Ben Savage (The Willows) on Dobro with some backing vocals from cliff and Jade Ward (The Willows) If you listen to an album as a whole then you'll appreciate the way in which this one is constructed;the way in which you are led from one song to another. However, if you just dip in for the random track, then you won't be disappointed as every track is outstanding on its own. I'm looking forward very much to seeing them live at the Ely Folk Festival in July 2015, when they are also presenting their acclaimed Family show.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Folk Essentials, 7 Jun. 2014
This review is from: In A Box (Audio CD)
Megson have consistently released excellent albums, and this one is no exception. Stu's songwriting is at the core of this latest collection. There are some great examples of really good personal lyrics which will resonate with most listeners. Stu and Debs share the vocals and both have improved their delivery over the years. Although living in Cambridgeshire, they haven't forgotten their NorthEast roots, and the album has a truly authentic feel.
The musicianship is, of course, exemplary, and some catchy tunes interspersed with some heartfelt ballads make this a must for any serious folk fans
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Megson Hit The Right Notes Again, 8 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In a Box (MP3 Download)
Megson keep up their incredibly high standards with this album. The underlying theme is the passage of time and its effect on people's lives, but even if you don't get the theme, buy the album and enjoy the music!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 6 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In A Box (Audio CD)
Fell in love with their sound when I heard them on BBC Tees radio, a good selection of songs
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars ... present for some one else and they were very pleased with this, 17 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In A Box (Audio CD)
This was bought as a present for some one else and they were very pleased with this cd
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant album!, 18 May 2014
This review is from: In A Box (Audio CD)
This is my favourite album of 2014, regardless of genre.

The album marries some traditional songs (done with a Megson twist!) with new Megson masterpieces. Everything fits together well from start to finish, it's an album about life, from birth to the grave, mainly the big bit in the middle!

As another review has said, this could be a "crossover" album for Megson, as they may well pick up more fans from other music genres. However this is not because they have changed, but because the quality of the songs, and the delivery, can't fail to make people crossover to listen!

I highly recommend this album, I'd give it six stars if I could!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning!!, 18 May 2014
This review is from: In A Box (Audio CD)
A fantastic collection of songs from Stu and Debs, beautifully produced, rich harmonies, classic tales and supported by some of my favourite other artists. Two of the songs, in my opinion, are up there with Megon's best. The River Never Dies is a historical timeline of Teeside with a fantastic melody , powerful mandolin and superb vocal. In a Box is up there with Megson's classic ballad The Longshot and tells a tale we can all relate to!
If you have never seen Megson live.......Do!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

In A Box
In A Box by Megson (Audio CD - 2014)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews