Customer Reviews


86 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (19)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant and uplifting film!
This film is absolutely amazing and I highly recommend people to see it! It's a shame how there is a lack of British films that come out which have pure substance.

The story here, I'm sure you know it. Four people go to a roof, not together by themselves, to end their lives. After all bumping into each other their one thing leads to another, which then leads to...
Published 12 months ago by Chasing The Dreamzz

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A gently humorous kind of experience
Nick Hornby has had moderate success with his book-to-film adaptations, Fever Pitch and High Fidelity being the highlights. However, ‘A Long Way Down’ probably won’t be added to his list of (massive) successes. Don’t get me wrong... it’s not bad, it’s just not that memorable either.

Have you ever watched a film where...
Published 7 months ago by Albatross


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant and uplifting film!, 25 Mar. 2014
This review is from: A Long Way Down [DVD] [2014] (DVD)
This film is absolutely amazing and I highly recommend people to see it! It's a shame how there is a lack of British films that come out which have pure substance.

The story here, I'm sure you know it. Four people go to a roof, not together by themselves, to end their lives. After all bumping into each other their one thing leads to another, which then leads to a pact, to not kill themselves until Valentines Day.
It's funny, there are some touching moments and it never dragged. There are four sections to the film, with each character being focused on, something I liked. Imogen Poots was fantastic and really should be getting more praise. Pierce Brosnan is great as always, as is Aaron Paul (Jesse, Yo!) and Toni Collette.

If you want to watch a fun, touching and uplifting British film, see this film.

*Rated 15 for strong language, suicide theme and mild sensuality and violence**
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I DON'T MIND THE PAIN, IT'S THE HOPE THAT KILLS ME,, 8 Jun. 2014
This review is from: A Long Way Down [DVD] [2014] (DVD)
On New Years Eve, four people bump into each on top of a popular suicide building with the intent of jumping.

Martin Sharp (Pierce Brosnan) was a popular morning show host with a family. He fell from grace because "she looked like she was 25."

Maureen (Toni Collette) is a rather mousey person who has never lived life. She cares for an invalid son who she deeply loves.

Jess (Imogen Poots) is the daughter of a rich politician. Her sister Jennifer, who read on a book on invisibility, ironically went missing two years ago. She is currently mad at her boyfriend who dumped her.

JJ (Aaron Paul) Is an American who was part of an amateur band. He claims he has CCR brain cancer.

The press has found out about the suicide attempts as they gain their 15 minutes of fame. They in turn form a bond and become their own support group.

This is another Magnolia "feel good" about yourself film. If you have seen one before, you know the feeling. Typically, the film has light quirky comedy, a few messages about life you can take with you, and decent acting and directing. Rosamund Pike has a role smaller than her billing.

Parental Guide: F-bomb. No sex. Brief rear nudity (Poots)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A gently humorous kind of experience, 9 Aug. 2014
By 
Albatross "Never argue with idiots" (Suburbia) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: A Long Way Down (DVD)
Nick Hornby has had moderate success with his book-to-film adaptations, Fever Pitch and High Fidelity being the highlights. However, ‘A Long Way Down’ probably won’t be added to his list of (massive) successes. Don’t get me wrong... it’s not bad, it’s just not that memorable either.

Have you ever watched a film where you’ve popped out once, twice or even more to get a cup of tea or answered the phone? Then, when you return, you find you can totally pick up the story without any help whatsoever. Well, this is one of those films.

It starts with four people who all try to kill themselves on New Year’s Eve. They each have different problems they’re trying to escape and wind up about to jump from the same building at the same time. It’s fair to say that they don’t, as the film would be a lot shorter if they all succeeded. As they decide not to go through with it, they sort of form a surrogate family and help each other rebuilt their lives.

Granted suicide isn’t your typical basis for a light-hearted comedy, but don’t let that put you off. The ‘suicide element’ is secondary to what has happened to the characters to drive them to this situation and what transpires from there on out.

It’s amusing, but probably won’t make you laugh out loud much. The characters are as good as they’re going to be, but the film is split into four parts – each devoting a quarter of the overall runtime to one person, therefore you never truly get to know just one of them enough to really understand them.

There are films you want to watch over and over again and this probably isn’t one of them. If you’re bored, on a plane or generally stumble across it on TV late at night, it may film an hour and a half. Not one you’d really bother coming back to though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant film- cannot wait to buy it on DVD, 28 Mar. 2014
This review is from: A Long Way Down [DVD] [2014] (DVD)
Watched this in the Cinemas in the UK and very much enjoyed it. The storyline was strong and the cast were surprisingly good especially Aaron Paul and Imogen Poots (who I've never heard of before this film). Obviously I wouldn't know what every single person's taste in films but I normally like indie films, thrillers and an occasional chick flick but I very much enjoyed the film. I walked out the cinema feeling good about myself and happy about the final outcome of the film therefore I recommend this despite some critics' views.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Suicide Watch, 14 Dec. 2014
By 
L. Davidson (Belfast, N.Ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Long Way Down [DVD] [2014] (DVD)
"A Long Way Down" is not a particularly outstanding or memorable film but it's an adequate way to spend an hour and a half nevertheless. The film is about four,rather unlikeable, misfits who meet together on the top of a tall building on New Years Eve, each intending to commit suicide. Needless to say this doesn't happen and the four form first a non suicide pact,then a close friendship. They become celebrities and go on a holiday in the sun together. The film explores the issues that drove them to attempt suicide which appear to have been due to a lack of reception of intimacy,sympathy and understanding. I didn't much like Jess or JJ from the gang although the other two were bearable. As I said it's not a bad film but it won't live long in the memory.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars London lives, 10 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
No revolution in film making here but a feel good movie with some genuinely affecting moments and all delivered by a superb ensemble cast. I actually enjoyed it more than the book. Sorry Nick....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A fine ensemble film about suicide and friendship, 7 Jan. 2015
By 
Kirk McElhearn (Near Stratford-upon-Avon) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
It's tough to make a comedy about suicide, and while this is listed in the comedy section of Prime Instant Video, it's more of a comedy/drama. While there was a lot that made me laugh, a lot of it was also very touching and moving. Four people meet on the roof of a building on New Year's Eve, each intending to jump. They become linked; not so much friends as fellow travelers. The rest of the movie is about how they negotiate this, after the press finds out. It's a moving film, with a good ensemble cast, that makes you think a lot about how strangers can meet and find that their lives are not that different.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Expected more comedy, 17 Nov. 2014
By 
Kash (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: A Long Way Down [DVD] [2014] (DVD)
I was really looking forward to seeing this when it came out. I watched it recently and have to admit I was disappointed. The plot of this movie is very like Nick Hornby's other novel turned into a movie 'About a Boy'. There is a small element of comedy but then it covers some quite serious matters.

I won't go over the plot as others have already. I liked the cast and their characters but it wasn't enough to give this movie 5 stars.

An all right watch but I wouldn't expect spectacular
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Life if worth living even if the film isn't worth watching., 5 Feb. 2015
By 
docboz (Somerset, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Long Way Down (DVD)
Something went wrong here. This is one of those films that makes you realise how difficult it is to make a really good film. The fundamental problem is that the casting isn't right - particularly difficult to buy in to Imogen Poot's character. Shame as it could have been an excellent and funny film about how the suicidal urge is always a feeling that distorts thinking into creating a justification. Right from the start the characters actions show in 100 different ways that they actually want to live.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Ok in parts, annoying in parts but overall its watchable ..., 19 Jan. 2015
This review is from: A Long Way Down [DVD] [2014] (DVD)
I would have liked this film a little more if it wasn't for the actress who played the younger female role 'Poots'. She was so over the top and really grated on me. The film itself had promise, an interesting storyline but it was just a 'also-ran' movie - you won't remember it for very long. Not good enough - a wasted opportunity - casting was very wrong (with the exception of Aaron Paul).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Long Way Down [DVD] [2014]
A Long Way Down [DVD] [2014] by Pascal Chaumeil (DVD - 2014)
£3.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews