Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sogar in Deutsch
Es ist nicht angegeben, aber der Film hat eine Deutsche Tonspur.
It is not stated, but the movie is even in German language.
Published 4 months ago by Aramis

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Worth a look
This is another decent entry in the DC animated universe. Based (loosely) on some of Grant Morrisons work in the Batman comics, it charts the early journey of young Damien Wayne, the product of a liason between Bruce Wayne and Talia Al Ghul (therefore the Son of Batman).

We start with Damien still in the care of his mother and the league of assassins but a...
Published 6 months ago by Richard Morton


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sogar in Deutsch, 15 July 2014
By 
This review is from: Son of Batman [Blu-ray] [2014] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Es ist nicht angegeben, aber der Film hat eine Deutsche Tonspur.
It is not stated, but the movie is even in German language.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars YOU CAN'T FIGHT CRIME BY BEING A CRIMINAL, 20 April 2014
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Son of Batman [Blu-ray] [2014] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Well it seems Batman got drugged one night and did the nasty with Talia al Ghul who had a son Damian. Damian is a fighter and intellect like Batman. Damian wants to avenge the death of his grandfather Ra's al Ghul who was killed by Death Stroke. Damian has untempered anger which Batman attempts to control. Meanwhile Death Stroke has a scientist making mutants for him.

The film utilizes the dry humor of Alfred and some dark humor. Modern automatic weapons seem to have a tough time against medieval swords. It makes me wonder how Hitler conquered Poland. Fun popcorn film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars enjoyable but inaccesable to beginners, 22 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Son of Batman [Blu-ray] [2014] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
I am an absolutely huge Batman fan and i take every opportunity to see the charactor from comics through to video games. I felt that this was a strong entry into the Batman animated universe, as is the way with DCU animated features this film takes the events of two different comic book arcs and makes them into a single narrative.
I felt that the animation in particular on this film was incredible with the action scenes slick, exciting and above all intense. I thought that the changes that had to be made to the existing stories were handled sympathetically. However i would say that if you were just stumbling onto Batman animated films then this would not be the best to start with. There is plenty of assuming that the vieiwer is aware of some of the Mythology (Batman has a Son and the villains motivations etc)
I would say that this is a fine addition to an already existing collection, but if you are wanting to start one then choose the animated series, or if you just want an amazing film pick under the red hood.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Worth a look, 9 May 2014
By 
Richard Morton (Bristol, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Son of Batman [Blu-ray] [2014] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
This is another decent entry in the DC animated universe. Based (loosely) on some of Grant Morrisons work in the Batman comics, it charts the early journey of young Damien Wayne, the product of a liason between Bruce Wayne and Talia Al Ghul (therefore the Son of Batman).

We start with Damien still in the care of his mother and the league of assassins but a meeting with the Dark Knight is not far away. For those that haven't read the comics I won't spoil where it all goes from there but suffice to say there's plenty of superhero action along the way. Like other recent DC movies (including the excellent Flashpoint Paradox) there's rather a lot of bloodshed in this one, Damien himself is a particularly blood thirsty character to begin with. Not necessarily a bad thing of course but perhaps not a film for the youngest viewers.

DC like to pack these things with characters so you also get Nightwing, Killer Croc, Manbat, Ra's Al Ghul, Deathstroke and others for your money. Overall worth a watch but not one of the absolute best they've put out.

The blu ray package is pretty decent also. You get 3 featurettes on this film and a sneak peak at another - Assault on Arkham.
For those that don't already have them in their collection you also get 4 episodes from past Batman series.

Batman Animated Series - "Showdown"
Batman Beyond - "Out of the Past"
The Brave and the Bold - "Sidekicks Assemble" and "The Knights of Tomorrow"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Damian's story, 27 May 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
My review might be a little biased as I never liked Damian. I would have given it 3 1/2 stars but the action just edges it to 4 stars for me rather than round down to 3. The animation is great. In keeping with the all the other recent DC releases more anime style. There is not that much dialogue, and what is there is not bad. The fights, cuts and bruises and innuendo mean this is aimed at a more mature audience. This for me is great.

The story is a bit of the new school ninjas, (led by Slade Wilson), taking over from the old school, (led by Ra's al Ghul). The New school seem to have the advantage of not being shy about using guns and bazookas and missiles. Ra seems to have the Jedi ability to deflect bullets with his blade despite being surrounded or fired on by machine gun rapid fire. I do like this incarnation of Ra it does show how deadly he is. To become the undisputed leader of the League of Assassins my must kill the Al Ghul blood line including Damian. Knowing this Talia, take puts Damian under the protection of the father he has never met. Everyone seems to accept this incredibly well. Especially the suspicious to the point of paranoid Bruce. Damian seems to suffer the superior rich boy complex, making him just completely unlikable. I have to agree with Alfred in his statement "I am for the shrubbery". Something that does not seem to add up is Ra seem to favour old to little technology, yet Damian seem to have enough computer skills to hack into through the Bat-computer systems like a Knife through butter.

This is an action orientated, ninja fest. As long as you accept that going into the film. If you like that you will love this, if you prefer more story with action Batman: Under The Red Hood [DVD] [2010] would be a better choice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 29 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Son of Batman [Blu-ray] [2014] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
A gripping and cool story that dictates how batman's son (Damian Wayne) was moulded by the league of assassins and how his father tries to change that. It includes some other characters from the batman universe that help the story line (e.g. Dick Grayson, Nightwing; Kurt Langstrom, Manbat; Waylon Jones, Killer Croc...). I would recommend this for boys between 12-40
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great animated Batman movie., 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really loved this animated Batman movie. I came to it cold as I haven't been following the whole Damian drama - although I knew who he was, etc. My era was the 70's/80's and I tend to keep to that era for nostalgia while dipping in now and then in to the DC universe. As for this movie I loved it and thought it a very strong one after a few recent disappointments (JL: Doom and Flashpoint). DC always seem to excel themselves when Batman is the star of the show. It was really gripping and the time flew by. I cannot be hundred percent sure if this is exactly the same as the DC comics, but for me it was a vast improvement. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars We enjoyed this,recommended, 23 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Son of Batman [Blu-ray] [2014] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
If you like The Bat you'll like this,both my sons and I thought it was great. Can't wait for the next one...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Obsession!, 22 Jun 2014
By 
kirstyv (Torquay, Devon) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
My son, who has special needs, is obsessed with Batman and this is an excellent addition to his collection. He says it is very "dark and brooding, but violent" and he would recommend it to "fans of Batman and people who like action films".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Son of Batman, 6 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Son of Batman [Blu-ray] [2014] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
I have always liked cartoons with subtitle and marvel super heroes. And yes I liked it very much. Hope they have made part 2 in subtitle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Son of Batman [Blu-ray] [2014] [Region Free]
Son of Batman [Blu-ray] [2014] [Region Free] by Ethan Spaulding (Blu-ray - 2014)
£8.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews