Customer Reviews


136 Reviews
5 star:
 (92)
4 star:
 (22)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome
What to say, the tv is absolutely bloody excellent, so much quality it's unreal. I just can't stop being impressed with the picture and sound, so many useful and simple to use options, makes it awesome to use. The wifi is fast and the apps are great, together with my sky package, iv never had so much choice before. The connectivity is just the best, I can connect anything...
Published 25 days ago by W. C. mayer

versus
38 of 43 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The £400 TV that pumps car insurance adverts into its UI
You will have to spend some time setting this TV up - turning off the 'soap opera' effect, adjusting the awful factory preset colour/brightness/sharpness etc, but after a little effort you'll have a good quality screen for the money. Then you'll connect it to the internet and realise LG now pump car insurance adverts into all crevices of the UI! You can opt out but you...
Published 1 month ago by BB


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 22 Nov 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What to say, the tv is absolutely bloody excellent, so much quality it's unreal. I just can't stop being impressed with the picture and sound, so many useful and simple to use options, makes it awesome to use. The wifi is fast and the apps are great, together with my sky package, iv never had so much choice before. The connectivity is just the best, I can connect anything I want upto the tv and it's great. The screen is big, and every inch of it is perfect. If your looking for a perfect tv? Then this is the one you want.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great picture quality, well featured and a good range of apps available via smart TV functions, 4 Dec 2014
By 
K. Trebell (Cornwall, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I've been looking to get a TV to replace my 32" at home for some time. I wanted a reasonable balance of quality and price rather than splurging money on very top end kit. After looking at lots of reviews and looking at options I settled on this one, especially at the price it's available at.

The TV itself comes well packaged and protected without excess, always nice. Setting it up was a doddle. I have installed it on its base rather than using a wall attachment and it feels very solid and stable. I then connected up my various devices via HDMI, my antenna and also one of my satellite LNB inputs (as I was surprised to find this includes a satellite input, though it doesn't include the freesat EPG). I also plugged in an Ethernet cable to give a wired connection but wifi is also an option. I have tested it on both and results were great (and the wifi is available dual band so both the 2.4 and 5 ghz ranges.. something even the ps4 doesn't do so very impressive).

Once turned on the TV went through a very easy set-up process and was able to get it all up and running, connected to my network, tuned in and working very quickly.

The quality of the picture really is impressive. I decided to get some advice from the "picture perfect" part of AV forums (https://www.avforums.com/PicturePerfect/) and set it to theatre mode and then tweaked from there. I very quickly had something that looked very nice with TV, game and Blu Ray sources. For me the picture is very impressive, the additional size along with a quality screen makes it really stand out (especially as I sit only 5.5 feet from it).

Something that was important to me was to ensure the screen didn't have noted motion blur issues and I'm pleased to say this one delivers as I'd hoped and to my eyes is very smooth.

Sound, as normal with a slim TV, is not that impressive but I have connected mine up to an amp and it makes a massive difference. I do think an amp or Soundbar is pretty essential if you are aiming for a cinematic experience. Poor sound, and being restricted to 2.1 sound would limit the experience. This is normal for slim TV's though and not something I'd mark against at all.

App selection is fine, major apps such as iplayer, Netflix, amazon etc are included.. I tend to use all of mine via my xbox or ps4 but this is now a quick and easy way to get to them without the power drain of those devices when they aren't already on. I've tested the amazon and iplayer apps and the output is great, no problems at all.

The TV also has built in DLNA, so it can browse and play media directly from your home PC's. You browse to these devices as inputs from the input menu of the TV and then browsing the content is very easy. The TV tells you to install LG's own smartshare software but I didn't and it still worked fine via DLNA as I had sharing turned on on my PC's.

One other bonus is that this TV comes with a built in feature called "Time Machine 2", that allows you to plug in USB storage and use it as a PVR. I have plugged in a USB 2 320 GB WD passport and it gives me 30 hours of recording in HD, more than enough and an excellent feature (and a great opportunity not to need to pay subscriber channels for their PVR function when they aren't showing programs I like). Smart TV, PVR functions and an LNB input certainly make it a serious option for cable cutters.

Overall I am really pleased with this. It looks great, is easy to use and is a big impressive upgrade from smaller TV's and is very fairly priced (I bought a new phone for more money recently, which is crazy when I think of the materials in these tellies). Delighted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars picture quality is indeed amazing, this is constant in all the reviews and ..., 23 Nov 2014
Got this from Currys as they sell the 42LB585V model, same TV but with the magic remote included, for £349.....
A superb TV, picture quality is indeed amazing, this is constant in all the reviews and clearly it does match my own experience, any HD content looks amazing.
The sound isn't the TV's strongest asset, not that it is poor, because it isn't, but the small speakers can only do so much.
The TV has every single connectors you could dream of, and is well built, frame as well as the stand seem to be made of brushed stainless steel, adding a feeling of overall quality to this good looking TV.
The Wifi is a breeze, enter your key and you are done, very strong signal enabling wireless streaming of full HD movies smoothly from your PC to your TV....the TV is detected strait away on the network, no connectivity issue whatsoever. The magic remote is a great little gadget, it acts as a pointer, just point and click, it is definitely a must have accessory, will make you life much easier.
Overall it is an amazing product, there is no way you could be disappointed with such a TV.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


69 of 74 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great smart tv, 14 Jun 2014
By 
Just got this from Argos have been using it for a few days now so thought i would review.

Design:Nice design with silver bezel and base.Not much bezel around the tv and the tv is quite thin for a direct lit tv almost as thin as the edge lit tvs.

Picture quality: Fantastic picture with HD channels watched the world cup football matches and there is no motion blur etc which people complain about. Tried a few blu ray movies and the picture again is great with no judder or blur, the dark knight looked fantastic and the colours look accurate one you fiddle around with the picture settings. SD channels are not that great but its not completely unwatchable like certain other tvs. Contrast ratio is decent but not as good as compared to the plasma tv we have in the main room but thats to be expected as plasmas have the best contrast levels with the deepest blacks.

Sound: Sound is decent but as with other tvs this thin you wont get anywhere near the quality of a decent 2.1 or 5.1 sound system which is why i bought the Roth bar3.You could get away without a soundbar but once you buy a soundbar or a speaker system you will think why didnt i buy it sooner.

Gaming:Noticed slightly input lag on the ps3 but once you change it to game mode its totally fine and this solves the problem.The plasma tv in the main room doesn't have a problem with input lag and if you read up on it the input lag problem is more common with led tvs.

Smart features:From the few days i've been using it i have had no problems and there is a number of apps available including youtube,netflix,BBC iplayer,Now TV and many more. You can stream stuff from your phone or tablet such as photos,videos and music with no problem.

All in all would recommend this as a good smart tv alternatively you can buy a normal tv and chromecast together :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


144 of 155 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A superb TV for the money!, 18 July 2014
By 
beretta - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LG 32LB580V 32-inch Widescreen 1080p Full HD Wi-Fi Smart TV with Freeview HD (Electronics)
Ordered this for my parents after they decided against a samsung when comparing the picture quality with an LG set.
All I can say is that for the money this is a superb TV and buying from Amazon we have saved around £80!
The build quality of this TV is outstanding for the money, the stand is actually brushed stainless steel and looks stunning, although buyers must be aware that the TV does not swivel on its stand, its a lightweight unit so this its not a problem as you can pick up the unit and move to the position you want. The the slim matt silver frame around the screen also gives the set an air of quality and looks much better than the cheap looking shiny black plastic surround of the Samsung sets!

Now, on to the picture Quality, WOW, all I can say is that it is simply awesome, having full HD on a 32 inch set rather than HD ready really makes a hell of a difference to the sharpness and colour saturation, reds, greens and blues really jump out of the screen at you! The sound is not too bad but its the same with all flat screen TVs because of the space allowed for decent speakers, but it is acceptable. You could, at a later date, add a sound bar if you wanted too!

Oh, nearly forgot, the WiFi is a real boon, you can now go straight to Iplayer and watch the programs you missed!
Oh and the set took just 20mins to put together and set up, with no mixing up of the channels like some sets are prone to do!

This really is a cracking TV for the money and hey, please don't be put off by the LG name, they are not a cheap brand that some folk (brand snobs!) seem to think and they don't make appliances for anyone else as some folk (brand snobs!) will tell you! They make some superb products, just take a look at their Washing machines with Direct drive...Amazing appliances!

Nearly forgot, this TV is a brand new 2014 model with all the latest features, not a reduced to clear product like some third parties on Amazon sell!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


59 of 65 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Value for Money - A good entry level smart tv., 18 Aug 2014
By 
Ian Wantling (The North West.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
LG have produced a great looking and very versatile tv in the 580V. The matt stainless steel stand and bezel trim around the screen look good and make a change against the all black models which seem to be the standard choice generally available.

The stand is easily affixed and from there it's a case of just plug and play. The tv walks you through the initial set-up. You need to enter your wi-fi password when prompted, and you're good to go.

I've been using a Tivo box with this set and on the hd channels the picture quality is quite stunning; very crisp and sharp, vivid colours and a real pleasure to watch. The onboard sound is 'ok..' Sufficient for normal viewing, but I'd recommend a soundbar or set of 2.1 speakers for improved movie viewing; neither will prove to be too costly and can be connected to the set quite easily.

I've only used the 'smart' function to access BBC iPlayer, ITV, Netflix and YouTube. The picture quality didn't degrade compared to watching channels on the Tivo. What I did find annoying was it took up to a minute for the tv to load up my choice. However, once playing I didn't notice any lagging and the set performed well via the smart function. The supplied handset takes a bit of getting used to but is soon mastered.

Another thing not to be overlooked is the built in Freeview tuner. The channels will self install on set-up and these along with the choice available via the smart function will give a great choice of no cost viewing options. With a Netflix subscription you'll have a great choice.

So to conclude. A great entry level set that won't disappoint. It has pretty much everything you'll need, and most importnatly to me provides a great picture. For the price you can't go wrong
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic 32" Smart TV - with minor quibbles over Amazon's details/USB drive options., 10 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LG 32LB580V 32-inch Widescreen 1080p Full HD Wi-Fi Smart TV with Freeview HD (Electronics)
I would have have dropped this telly half a star if I could have. It's an excellent smart tv in just about every aspect, that's for sure, sold for a fantastic price just after Amazon's Black Friday sale - but the Amazon review here is short of a few niggly details, added here:
1. The LB580V (to be clear) Smart TV supports the ability to record/pause live tv to an "external usb drive" - except it doesn't to usb flash drives, which is very disappointing if you only want to record/pause the occasional TV programme (as I did).
2. The usb drive requirements are for an external hdd (sata style) hard or ssd drive. These drives will need to be dedicated to LG's 'time machine II' format (whatever that is) so can't be swapped around/used for anything else. Fair enough but it took quite some time to find that info. USB version required is 2.0. Edit: the SanDisk Cruzer Blade 64gb flash do apparently work and cost circa £20 on Amazon. I believe they are especially configured to appear as 'fixed drives' once inserted.
3. It's also very hard to find a good small usb 2.0 hdd drive for under £40 here on Amazon and quite a bit more if you're after 500gb or more for HD recordings etc - so just bear that in mind if you were planning to take advantage of what probably is an excellent feature, unless you would rather splash out £100-£200 on a digital PVR that essentially does the same thing?
4. I also had some initial problems getting Spotify to output digital sound via the optical out connection (to an AV receiver) despite hours and hours of testing. 24hrs later and another Software Update later this seems, fingers crossed, to have fixed itself and the digital out sound is great.
5. A minor additional aspect (that would be great if it could be fixed in a future software update) is that so far the TV hasn't been recognised by Spotify Connect. Spotify Connect allows you to synchronise and output (as well as control) music playback on multiple devices around the home from a single Spotify hand-held app (either Android or iPad/iPhone devices). It's a very nice feature and worth it even for a single smart tv, for the faster, more fully featured navigation options that you get on the apps vs LG's cut-back TV/app version (although it is pretty good in it's own right and I'm not knocking it).

That aside the TV as a whole is excellent. Two of the additional app/features we were after work great, which is the Spotify integration mentioned, which is very well done with great visuals, sound quality (via my AV/amp that is) and the Amazon Instant Video integration is well done too with great sound out too. I'm surprised more people aren't using Amazon Instant Video (terrible name though) which has the best interface and navigation options going. It's very well done and the LG version is good too. Picture quality is good verging on very good. I haven't played with the contrast setting yet but out of the box the blacks aren't quite as black as you would normally prefer but the picture is sharp with good colours otherwise. The "inbox" speakers are just a little feeble (lacking depth but not volume) but would certainly sound fine in a smaller room. All the additional 'smart tv' features + DLNA integration is great. Playback of HD videos/audio from our NAS (network storage device) via LG's DLNA integration is good and very well handled in terms of design/integration into the TV too.

Overall, this is an absolutely great TV/smart TV and doubly good for the sale price we paid (circa £259).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great for live TV but I'm not so happy with the smart functions, 18 Nov 2014
By 
A. BUTTERWORTH (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LG 32LB580V 32-inch Widescreen 1080p Full HD Wi-Fi Smart TV with Freeview HD (Electronics)
Physical appearance is good, with solid-looking build, pleasing silver colour and thin bezel. The stand is robust but non-swivel. The picture quality is very good and the sound quite adequate, though a real audio buff would no doubt want to add external speakers.

Which? magazine criticized the ease of use and I have to agree. The remote is small and cramped and looks as though it belongs with a cheap unbranded set. Pressing the OK button does not bring up a list of channels as on most sets. To select a channel other than by keying its number you seem to have to use the Guide, which blocks out the current channel. The manuals have very little information on how to use the TV. There is a lot of safety information and pages on how to attach the stand, covering different models with different stands, but little on functionality or set-up. There is some information on connectivity options. There are numerous, HDMI, usb sockets plus component in and there is a scart socket - useful if you have old analogue recorders to connect. Refer to the LG site for full connectivity details. The quick set up guide is useless and tells you that you need a dongle to access the smart features, which is wrong.

This is my first smart TV and I would have liked information on the smart capabilities. The full extent of coverage is the diagram of the remote which identifies the smart button. From there you are on your own. Once in the smart screen you can access some on screen help but this does not add much.

Most annoying is that to access most of the smart options you have to accept LG terms and conditions and privacy policy. The privacy policy should be called Surrender your Privacy policy because you have to give LG licence to monitor your activity and send you targeted adverts. I am not happy about that. I have not accepted this so far so cannot access iplayer and other things from the LG menu. I can, however, access the internet but navigating that using the remote is slow and painful. Maybe there are some short cuts that I haven't found yet.

Recommended for live TV and for connecting external devices but there may be better options if you are especially interested in smart functions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant performer, 6 Oct 2014
By 
C. Westwood "kwackerblue" (Shropshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: LG 32LB580V 32-inch Widescreen 1080p Full HD Wi-Fi Smart TV with Freeview HD (Electronics)
I have always had plasma's before and this is the first LED I have owned though not the first LG. I think LG are making some really good kit these days and their TV's usually score pretty well in tests and reviews, having bought this I can see why.

For a start it's at a very good price,the build quality is good and the stainless steel base on the stand sets it apart from others but it is the quality of the picture and the way it handles movement that is just light years ahead especially when linked to a decent Blu-Ray or HD broadcast. The detail in the picture, the colour representation and the fluid and accomplished image movement is just incredible.
Most flat screens have poor speakers and whilst these aren't brilliant they are 10w and produce a range of quite acceptable sound - you won't mind listening to it but if it really bothers you there is an optical out for a sound bar or cinema amp.

Like most LG sets, you have a wide range of adjustments to both sound and picture which are a bonus. These include expert picture settings and screen tests though not THX rated on this model - not that you'll need it. There is also an economy setting that automatically adjusts the screen brightness and therefore power consumption according to light levels.

Set up from the box was very simple and the menu very intuitive to follow, access to my network via wifi went faultlessly and gave access to a range of smart apps. Most are subscription like Now TV, Amazon, Netflix and Blinkbox and and your use of them will depend on your internet speed, there is also the usual You Tube plus iPlayer and demand 5 and after an update (again without fault) I got V tuner, Spotify, Napster and Deezer. Not bad especially as I subscribe to Spotify.
What I would say is that this set renders the pictures very watchable and the processor had no difficulty handling the task. Typing via the handset is really laborious but there are smartphone apps you can control the set with that make it easier. The handset is good though and after a short time I could find the buttons needed pretty much without looking.

Connectivity is all you would ever need, you name it and it has pretty much got it.

A hard drive linked via USB was instantly recognised and like my other LG set, this TV had no problem playing any of the recordings. It did the same with the pictures and video on my mobile when linked via USB but was a bit more hit and miss with smartshare from this.
Other sources linked via DLNA were accessed and played without problem.

All in all a very accomplished TV worth it for the quality of the picture alone, I can't get over just how lifelike the colour and movement is. Add in all of the extras and for the price you really are getting a lot for your money.

Having always had plasma's and having always loved them it has now left me wondering whether I should splash out for a bigger one of these in the lounge. Wonder if I can manage it without my wife noticing..........
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good value, 3 Nov 2014
By 
John Bradshaw (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The set has no bulky surround and the silver thin frame looks less bulky than the popular black surrounds of the so-called 'popular' brands.

Intuitive = it walks you through digital tune and internet without a problem, will prompt you with OK and cancel options.

Picture quality = Being one of those geeks who mess around with settings until my wife hits me over the head with the remote, I did find the picture looked a little washed out on factory default, compared to the punchy colours of my expensive Sammy TV and not quite as sharp. You have to play a battle of BACKLIGHT versus BRIGHTNESS to find the sweet spot.However tweaking the settings is easy with the PICTURE WIZARD (using those light grey on dark grey settings and the like) improved it. The dynamic range is not as wide as more expensive TV's and blacks are more of a dark grey. If there is some dimming technology supposed to kick-in, I didn't notice.

Screen = You will probably notice a higher than usual relective surface on this screen which means you might be more aware of your living room lights than you were before. Also the viewing angle on this TV is smaller than the expensive brands, you'll notice the picture brighteness falls once you move outside of 60 degree incidence.

Motion = The TV has one of those fast 100hz motion smoothing thingy-me-bobs! This is great for sport (there's some green sport mode activated that appears now and again). It does make films look like Video, which you notice as soon as anything moves across screen. Panning looks smooth, which is something my other TV wasn't very good at - there's nothing worse than watching a panning shot on progressive film on a large TV - it hurts the eyes - but this TV makes everything nice and smooth. There's probably an option to turn it down, in fact there's menues within menues and probably a Cheese & Biscuits menu if I look hard enough!

Sound = Many reviews suggests it is lacking. I actually found the sound quite good. Obviously, if you put on Virtual Surround for movies, then your midrange speech quality can become muffled inside the film SFX, so I tend to use the TV's smartsound which seems to allow for the odd pseudo-surround, but keeps the speech clear (there's also pre-set equaliser settings - and none of them are too gimmicky). I watched Godzilla on it (Not my kind of film) but nevertheless you could hear enough bass and rumble. I've had surround amps and speakers in the past, so I do know the difference, but really I could live with this.

Connections = Optical out Digital sound (Dolby licenced); Satallite Coax in; Component IN 4 channels; Audio IN L+R; 3 HDMI (including one for a HDD for recording from the TV's Digital tuner, which is schedule or manual based even when the TV is switched off!). I plugged in a 500gb USB and was told I had 264 hours of HQ recording. The TV has about 4 gigs of internal memory of which 2gigs is already eaten up and the rest for any apps or games you install. The pause live TV feature works, perhaps not as slick as SKY with its A/V disk, but as long as you don't skip back and forth whilst it is also trying to record, then you should be fine.

SmartTV = On choosing connections (wired or ethernet), it found my separate PLEX media server (and a few other Windows PC's in the hourse) and showed all my DVD covers on the screen. Amazon, Netflix, TV Now and a host of subscription global channels are also available including all those free channels of B movies from the obscure parts of the internet.

SmartLink = Switches on your Blu Ray or connected device when its HDMI port is selected. Works great, although I haven't worked out how to switch off the blu-ray without getting up from the couch!

IPAD/Android = You can download an LG which allows you to stream your own photos, videos, music, You tube, Picasso and others via the TV - through the air using some kind of magic pixie dust or wi-fi probably. Now this is what I found strange - the HD picture quality from the IPAD to the TV was better than the HD from my SKY HD box on HDMI. How can that be? I Played an HD tourist video of New Zealand on the IPAD mini and choose LG TV as the output and the LG stops what its showing and starts to stream whatever you've chosen to queue in the IPAD. The detail on this TV (from an IPAD) was amazing - it was like watching a 4K video for the first time. I've no idea why this looked better than SKY, but then even the Digital HD looked better, no Mpeg Artefacts.

The mounting bracket is a VESA A/B 400 x 400 with M6 Machine Screws and is a lot lighter to lift than other popular 47" TV's

My view = Good value for the money, considering the rubbish that's out there for the same price. Loads of gadgets for the Media Centre freak and above all, it's high level of intuitivity means (as a man) I don't have to read instructions!

My Wife's view = Loves the thin sleek silver surround which makes the TV look less imposing in the room than those huge plastic black surrounds that most TV's have. It looks smaller than our previous 47" TV, but it isn't - it just doesn't have all the bulk.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews