Customer Reviews


71 Reviews
5 star:
 (50)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


82 of 86 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A superb TV for the money!
Ordered this for my parents after they decided against a samsung when comparing the picture quality with an LG set.
All I can say is that for the money this is a superb TV and buying from Amazon we have saved around £80!
The build quality of this TV is outstanding for the money, the stand is actually brushed stainless steel and looks stunning, although buyers...
Published 3 months ago by beretta

versus
13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Good picture, and usable interface - but now broken four months later
Got this 39 inch tv as it fits in the gap we have for a tv and it was an upgrade for an aging 32 inch Samsung. This tv weighs significantly less than the old Samsung it replaced making it much easier to put up than the old one was to take down!

The picture quality is very good out of the box but I turned the contrast down a little to make the picture softer...
Published 5 months ago by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

82 of 86 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A superb TV for the money!, 18 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Ordered this for my parents after they decided against a samsung when comparing the picture quality with an LG set.
All I can say is that for the money this is a superb TV and buying from Amazon we have saved around £80!
The build quality of this TV is outstanding for the money, the stand is actually brushed stainless steel and looks stunning, although buyers must be aware that the TV does not swivel on its stand, its a lightweight unit so this its not a problem as you can pick up the unit and move to the position you want. The the slim matt silver frame around the screen also gives the set an air of quality and looks much better than the cheap looking shiny black plastic surround of the Samsung sets!

Now, on to the picture Quality, WOW, all I can say is that it is simply awesome, having full HD on a 32 inch set rather than HD ready really makes a hell of a difference to the sharpness and colour saturation, reds, greens and blues really jump out of the screen at you! The sound is not too bad but its the same with all flat screen TVs because of the space allowed for decent speakers, but it is acceptable. You could, at a later date, add a sound bar if you wanted too!

Oh, nearly forgot, the WiFi is a real boon, you can now go straight to Iplayer and watch the programs you missed!
Oh and the set took just 20mins to put together and set up, with no mixing up of the channels like some sets are prone to do!

This really is a cracking TV for the money and hey, please don't be put off by the LG name, they are not a cheap brand that some folk (brand snobs!) seem to think and they don't make appliances for anyone else as some folk (brand snobs!) will tell you! They make some superb products, just take a look at their Washing machines with Direct drive...Amazing appliances!

Nearly forgot, this TV is a brand new 2014 model with all the latest features, not a reduced to clear product like some third parties on Amazon sell!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great smart tv, 14 Jun 2014
By 
This review is from: LG 42LB580V 42-inch Widescreen 1080p Full HD Wi-Fi Smart TV with Freeview HD (Electronics)
Just got this from Argos have been using it for a few days now so thought i would review.

Design:Nice design with silver bezel and base.Not much bezel around the tv and the tv is quite thin for a direct lit tv almost as thin as the edge lit tvs.

Picture quality: Fantastic picture with HD channels watched the world cup football matches and there is no motion blur etc which people complain about. Tried a few blu ray movies and the picture again is great with no judder or blur, the dark knight looked fantastic and the colours look accurate one you fiddle around with the picture settings. SD channels are not that great but its not completely unwatchable like certain other tvs. Contrast ratio is decent but not as good as compared to the plasma tv we have in the main room but thats to be expected as plasmas have the best contrast levels with the deepest blacks.

Sound: Sound is decent but as with other tvs this thin you wont get anywhere near the quality of a decent 2.1 or 5.1 sound system which is why i bought the Roth bar3.You could get away without a soundbar but once you buy a soundbar or a speaker system you will think why didnt i buy it sooner.

Gaming:Noticed slightly input lag on the ps3 but once you change it to game mode its totally fine and this solves the problem.The plasma tv in the main room doesn't have a problem with input lag and if you read up on it the input lag problem is more common with led tvs.

Smart features:From the few days i've been using it i have had no problems and there is a number of apps available including youtube,netflix,BBC iplayer,Now TV and many more. You can stream stuff from your phone or tablet such as photos,videos and music with no problem.

All in all would recommend this as a good smart tv alternatively you can buy a normal tv and chromecast together :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Value for Money - A good entry level smart tv., 18 Aug 2014
By 
Ian Wantling (The North West.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: LG 42LB580V 42-inch Widescreen 1080p Full HD Wi-Fi Smart TV with Freeview HD (Electronics)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
LG have produced a great looking and very versatile tv in the 580V. The matt stainless steel stand and bezel trim around the screen look good and make a change against the all black models which seem to be the standard choice generally available.

The stand is easily affixed and from there it's a case of just plug and play. The tv walks you through the initial set-up. You need to enter your wi-fi password when prompted, and you're good to go.

I've been using a Tivo box with this set and on the hd channels the picture quality is quite stunning; very crisp and sharp, vivid colours and a real pleasure to watch. The onboard sound is 'ok..' Sufficient for normal viewing, but I'd recommend a soundbar or set of 2.1 speakers for improved movie viewing; neither will prove to be too costly and can be connected to the set quite easily.

I've only used the 'smart' function to access BBC iPlayer, ITV, Netflix and YouTube. The picture quality didn't degrade compared to watching channels on the Tivo. What I did find annoying was it took up to a minute for the tv to load up my choice. However, once playing I didn't notice any lagging and the set performed well via the smart function. The supplied handset takes a bit of getting used to but is soon mastered.

Another thing not to be overlooked is the built in Freeview tuner. The channels will self install on set-up and these along with the choice available via the smart function will give a great choice of no cost viewing options. With a Netflix subscription you'll have a great choice.

So to conclude. A great entry level set that won't disappoint. It has pretty much everything you'll need, and most importnatly to me provides a great picture. For the price you can't go wrong
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Smart TV at a great price, 12 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great buy, and great value for money. Looks sleek with its very thin frame. Colours are nice and crisp. Took minutes to assemble and connect to my home wifi. Can now stream programmes/films via I player, Netflix, YouTube etc or simply hook up a USB stick or an external hard drive to watch videos, pictures or music previously stored on my pc or smart phone. Liked it so much I bought another for the bedroom
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb., 20 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought this TV as i was looking for a cheap Smart HD TV for my room. Superb quality for the price. Easy to set up, excellent audio and picture, other than the Smart aspect of the TV the menus are quick and easy to use. Would definitely recommend this TV, for the price its and absolute steal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant performer, 6 Oct 2014
By 
C. Westwood "kwackerblue" (Shropshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I have always had plasma's before and this is the first LED I have owned though not the first LG. I think LG are making some really good kit these days and their TV's usually score pretty well in tests and reviews, having bought this I can see why.

For a start it's at a very good price,the build quality is good and the stainless steel base on the stand sets it apart from others but it is the quality of the picture and the way it handles movement that is just light years ahead especially when linked to a decent Blu-Ray or HD broadcast. The detail in the picture, the colour representation and the fluid and accomplished image movement is just incredible.
Most flat screens have poor speakers and whilst these aren't brilliant they are 10w and produce a range of quite acceptable sound - you won't mind listening to it but if it really bothers you there is an optical out for a sound bar or cinema amp.

Like most LG sets, you have a wide range of adjustments to both sound and picture which are a bonus. These include expert picture settings and screen tests though not THX rated on this model - not that you'll need it. There is also an economy setting that automatically adjusts the screen brightness and therefore power consumption according to light levels.

Set up from the box was very simple and the menu very intuitive to follow, access to my network via wifi went faultlessly and gave access to a range of smart apps. Most are subscription like Now TV, Amazon, Netflix and Blinkbox and and your use of them will depend on your internet speed, there is also the usual You Tube plus iPlayer and demand 5 and after an update (again without fault) I got V tuner, Spotify, Napster and Deezer. Not bad especially as I subscribe to Spotify.
What I would say is that this set renders the pictures very watchable and the processor had no difficulty handling the task. Typing via the handset is really laborious but there are smartphone apps you can control the set with that make it easier. The handset is good though and after a short time I could find the buttons needed pretty much without looking.

Connectivity is all you would ever need, you name it and it has pretty much got it.

A hard drive linked via USB was instantly recognised and like my other LG set, this TV had no problem playing any of the recordings. It did the same with the pictures and video on my mobile when linked via USB but was a bit more hit and miss with smartshare from this.
Other sources linked via DLNA were accessed and played without problem.

All in all a very accomplished TV worth it for the quality of the picture alone, I can't get over just how lifelike the colour and movement is. Add in all of the extras and for the price you really are getting a lot for your money.

Having always had plasma's and having always loved them it has now left me wondering whether I should splash out for a bigger one of these in the lounge. Wonder if I can manage it without my wife noticing..........
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 19 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great telly, great service and support by LG. Very happy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Good picture, and usable interface - but now broken four months later, 14 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Got this 39 inch tv as it fits in the gap we have for a tv and it was an upgrade for an aging 32 inch Samsung. This tv weighs significantly less than the old Samsung it replaced making it much easier to put up than the old one was to take down!

The picture quality is very good out of the box but I turned the contrast down a little to make the picture softer. The resolution when watching anything in 1080p is fine.

The sound is actually surprisingly loud as I had read that "small" tvs had small speakers. This is loud enough to annoy the neighbours.

The Smart features are usuable (and the integration with the iOS application on pad and phone makes it a dream to use the search function) and integration with iPlayer and AmazonInstant video work well.

They have dropped the useless buttons on the back or side of the TV for a little joystick at the centre of the bottom edge. As our tv is wall mounted quite high up it actually works really well. Just click and push in one of the four directions to highlight the option you want, usually "Off" in my case.

Oh, and the surround edge is quite thin, and grey. This is great as it makes the screen less obtrusive against our white walls.

UPDATE - October and the tv now fails to render certain colours correctly. This is most noticeable in blacks where it introduces a red flash for a small number of the colours. We now have a TV that has red flashes instead of proper colours. Am calling tech support tomorrow but this shouldn't happen at all. Our prior tv lasted years without any issue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent picture and great smart function, 20 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This tv is excellent. The image is crisp and clear; really really good. The Smart functions work very well for us. We have BT broadband running at about 12mb/s and have no trouble streaming movies and tv from the Blinkbox, iPlayer and Netflix apps. The only reason I haven't given it 5 stars is that the screen is rather shiny, so during daytime I have to sit in a certain seat for best picture - a minor problem for us.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good if you're looking for a budget fully featured TV, 18 Sep 2014
By 
D. Glover - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Picture quality is good, built in Wifi is useful and the receiver works well with HD as well as standard quality pictures.

The number of apps available is a little disappointing, no 4OD for example and 5 on demand doesn't work. To use BT via the web you need silverlight and this can't be installed either. With regards browsing the web I would strongly recommend downloading the the phone app so you can use a fully keyboard rather than trying to use the on screen one which gets annoying.

The stand doesn't swivel which is also slightly annoying given I have the TV on a shelf in the corner and have to have a corner of the stand off the shelf to be able to have it at the angle I want.

Last gripe is the HDD storage option, it suggests you can use USB storage so I got a large USB stick and plugged it in but it doesn't work. I contacted customer service and got told you actually need an external hard drive for this feature to work.

So good if you want a TV, not so good if you want all the advanced features it claims to offer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews