Customer Reviews


49 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


53 of 53 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A superb TV for the money!
Ordered this for my parents after they decided against a samsung when comparing the picture quality with an LG set.
All I can say is that for the money this is a superb TV and buying from Amazon we have saved around £80!
The build quality of this TV is outstanding for the money, the stand is actually brushed stainless steel and looks stunning, although buyers...
Published 2 months ago by beretta

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good if you're looking for a budget fully featured TV
Picture quality is good, built in Wifi is useful and the receiver works well with HD as well as standard quality pictures.

The number of apps available is a little disappointing, no 4OD for example and 5 on demand doesn't work. To use BT via the web you need silverlight and this can't be installed either. With regards browsing the web I would strongly...
Published 13 days ago by D. Glover


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

53 of 53 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A superb TV for the money!, 18 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Ordered this for my parents after they decided against a samsung when comparing the picture quality with an LG set.
All I can say is that for the money this is a superb TV and buying from Amazon we have saved around £80!
The build quality of this TV is outstanding for the money, the stand is actually brushed stainless steel and looks stunning, although buyers must be aware that the TV does not swivel on its stand, its a lightweight unit so this its not a problem as you can pick up the unit and move to the position you want. The the slim matt silver frame around the screen also gives the set an air of quality and looks much better than the cheap looking shiny black plastic surround of the Samsung sets!

Now, on to the picture Quality, WOW, all I can say is that it is simply awesome, having full HD on a 32 inch set rather than HD ready really makes a hell of a difference to the sharpness and colour saturation, reds, greens and blues really jump out of the screen at you! The sound is not too bad but its the same with all flat screen TVs because of the space allowed for decent speakers, but it is acceptable. You could, at a later date, add a sound bar if you wanted too!

Oh, nearly forgot, the WiFi is a real boon, you can now go straight to Iplayer and watch the programs you missed!
Oh and the set took just 20mins to put together and set up, with no mixing up of the channels like some sets are prone to do!

This really is a cracking TV for the money and hey, please don't be put off by the LG name, they are not a cheap brand that some folk (brand snobs!) seem to think and they don't make appliances for anyone else as some folk (brand snobs!) will tell you! They make some superb products, just take a look at their Washing machines with Direct drive...Amazing appliances!

Nearly forgot, this TV is a brand new 2014 model with all the latest features, not a reduced to clear product like some third parties on Amazon sell!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Value for Money - A good entry level smart tv., 18 Aug 2014
By 
Ian Wantling "Ian Wantling" (The North West.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: LG 42LB580V 42-inch Widescreen 1080p Full HD Wi-Fi Smart TV with Freeview HD (Electronics)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
LG have produced a great looking and very versatile tv in the 580V. The matt stainless steel stand and bezel trim around the screen look good and make a change against the all black models which seem to be the standard choice generally available.

The stand is easily affixed and from there it's a case of just plug and play. The tv walks you through the initial set-up. You need to enter your wi-fi password when prompted, and you're good to go.

I've been using a Tivo box with this set and on the hd channels the picture quality is quite stunning; very crisp and sharp, vivid colours and a real pleasure to watch. The onboard sound is 'ok..' Sufficient for normal viewing, but I'd recommend a soundbar or set of 2.1 speakers for improved movie viewing; neither will prove to be too costly and can be connected to the set quite easily.

I've only used the 'smart' function to access BBC iPlayer, ITV, Netflix and YouTube. The picture quality didn't degrade compared to watching channels on the Tivo. What I did find annoying was it took up to a minute for the tv to load up my choice. However, once playing I didn't notice any lagging and the set performed well via the smart function. The supplied handset takes a bit of getting used to but is soon mastered.

Another thing not to be overlooked is the built in Freeview tuner. The channels will self install on set-up and these along with the choice available via the smart function will give a great choice of no cost viewing options. With a Netflix subscription you'll have a great choice.

So to conclude. A great entry level set that won't disappoint. It has pretty much everything you'll need, and most importnatly to me provides a great picture. For the price you can't go wrong
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great smart tv, 14 Jun 2014
By 
This review is from: LG 42LB580V 42-inch Widescreen 1080p Full HD Wi-Fi Smart TV with Freeview HD (Electronics)
Just got this from Argos have been using it for a few days now so thought i would review.

Design:Nice design with silver bezel and base.Not much bezel around the tv and the tv is quite thin for a direct lit tv almost as thin as the edge lit tvs.

Picture quality: Fantastic picture with HD channels watched the world cup football matches and there is no motion blur etc which people complain about. Tried a few blu ray movies and the picture again is great with no judder or blur, the dark knight looked fantastic and the colours look accurate one you fiddle around with the picture settings. SD channels are not that great but its not completely unwatchable like certain other tvs. Contrast ratio is decent but not as good as compared to the plasma tv we have in the main room but thats to be expected as plasmas have the best contrast levels with the deepest blacks.

Sound: Sound is decent but as with other tvs this thin you wont get anywhere near the quality of a decent 2.1 or 5.1 sound system which is why i bought the Roth bar3.You could get away without a soundbar but once you buy a soundbar or a speaker system you will think why didnt i buy it sooner.

Gaming:Noticed slightly input lag on the ps3 but once you change it to game mode its totally fine and this solves the problem.The plasma tv in the main room doesn't have a problem with input lag and if you read up on it the input lag problem is more common with led tvs.

Smart features:From the few days i've been using it i have had no problems and there is a number of apps available including youtube,netflix,BBC iplayer,Now TV and many more. You can stream stuff from your phone or tablet such as photos,videos and music with no problem.

All in all would recommend this as a good smart tv alternatively you can buy a normal tv and chromecast together :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great TV with one little annoyance, 28 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
My first ever review after years upon years shopping with Amazon. I felt I just had to give my 2 cents especially when no one has spoken of one big flaw with this telly.

The television is excellent. Fantastic build quality. The picture is just brilliant. Best I've seen as my old Samsung LCD I bought 10 years ago with it's 1080i for comparison so I obviously television has come a long way since then. I have a few 1080p and 720p mkvs, mp4s and avis and they have just come alive with this television. They just look flat on my old Samsung, I just can't get over the fluidity of the images.

It's plays well from my 32GB Jumpdrive memory stick. It picks up my hard drives attached to my network router and plays everything flawlessly.

The apps are meh. Not many there especially here in Ireland. No RTE player etc, only Netflix and a few more. RT plays well. I can play RTEplayer/TV3player through the browser though pretty well as well as other streaming sites such as SockShare etc.

Here come one major annoyance though that I've just noticed watching a dark film. The television has this automatic dimming that almost completely made the movie unwatchable. Basically if it's almost black, or the average blackness of the screen is a certain number, it dims the screen to make it seem it even darker.

This is starting to get so annoying now that I am considering returning the television especially during times if scenes are jumping from bright to dark.

I've tried all the different modes such as cinema, sport, game, etc. It seems you cannot turn off this very annoying feature.

Reading all the positive and negative comments, no one has mentioned this as a problem? Would love to know if anyone else have even noticed this problem because it's a fair biggy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good if you're looking for a budget fully featured TV, 18 Sep 2014
By 
D. Glover - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Picture quality is good, built in Wifi is useful and the receiver works well with HD as well as standard quality pictures.

The number of apps available is a little disappointing, no 4OD for example and 5 on demand doesn't work. To use BT via the web you need silverlight and this can't be installed either. With regards browsing the web I would strongly recommend downloading the the phone app so you can use a fully keyboard rather than trying to use the on screen one which gets annoying.

The stand doesn't swivel which is also slightly annoying given I have the TV on a shelf in the corner and have to have a corner of the stand off the shelf to be able to have it at the angle I want.

Last gripe is the HDD storage option, it suggests you can use USB storage so I got a large USB stick and plugged it in but it doesn't work. I contacted customer service and got told you actually need an external hard drive for this feature to work.

So good if you want a TV, not so good if you want all the advanced features it claims to offer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good picture, and usable interface, 14 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Got this 39 inch tv as it fits in the gap we have for a tv and it was an upgrade for an aging 32 inch Samsung. This tv weighs significantly less than the old Samsung it replaced making it much easier to put up than the old one was to take down!

The picture quality is very good out of the box but I turned the contrast down a little to make the picture softer. The resolution when watching anything in 1080p is fine.

The sound is actually surprisingly loud as I had read that "small" tvs had small speakers. This is loud enough to annoy the neighbours.

The Smart features are usuable (and the integration with the iOS application on pad and phone makes it a dream to use the search function) and integration with iPlayer and AmazonInstant video work well.

They have dropped the useless buttons on the back or side of the TV for a little joystick at the centre of the bottom edge. As our tv is wall mounted quite high up it actually works really well. Just click and push in one of the four directions to highlight the option you want, usually "Off" in my case.

Oh, and the surround edge is quite thin, and grey. This is great as it makes the screen less obtrusive against our white walls.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars it is brilliant. So easy to set up, 9 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
We ordered this T.V. on the 7th Sept, and it was delivered on the 8th Sept, how is that for service? As for the T.V. it
is brilliant. So easy to set up, even connecting it to the internet was sooo easy. I cannot tell you how pleased we are
with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars LG Value, 28 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The comments made by earlier purchasers swayed my decision to buy plus this will be the third LG tv bought in the last 15 years. They seem to be very reliable. The picture quality is excellent, the sound is better than my last LCD LG. The smart side works well, although I don't go much on the fact that LG virtually monitors what you watch so they can target advertising at you. You can opt out but some facilities/apps require you to specifically opt in to use them.

The only other down side as far as I'm concerned is the EPG 7 day program list. When you select this, its not overlayed over the program you are watching, it appears as a screen on its own in silence.

For the price its good value and once you get over the little quirks, an excellent tv.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Impressive Smart TV, 17 Aug 2014
By 
White Eagle - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: LG 42LB580V 42-inch Widescreen 1080p Full HD Wi-Fi Smart TV with Freeview HD (Electronics)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Included with this TV:
Triple XD Engine
Smart Share:
Smart Sound Mode: optimizes sounds for different contents
Smart Mobile Link (to connect your DLNA supported mobile, tablet, camcorder or camera)

Design:
This TV looks very impressive. It is quite thin with thin metallic borders. It comes with a stand (which is also metallic & looks like brushed steel) & is very sturdy & well built. (NO wall brackets included). The slimness of the borders gives the screen a cinematic view.

Picture quality:
As you'd expect from an LED back lit TV, the picture is crisp & clear. It is quite sharp HD & real to life.Although it has a very slight touch of blurriness which I think is because I sit too close to the TV or it could just be what you get from LED. I just feel it could be a touch sharper. Of course there is loads of things you can change in settings (inc Eco/energy saving mode).

Sound:
Again the sound is crisp & clear. Also has an AV sync adjust (which synchronizes screen & sound directly).

Smart TV:

Very easy to navigate & use. Via the remote, on My Apps, you go directly to internet, Connecting to wifi or other networks is very straightforward. The DLNA allows you to stream across different media such as mobile, camera, tablet, camcorder etc.
Pressing Smart on remote, you go directly to links for Now TV, BBC iPlayer, Netflix, amazon Prime, Demand 5, YouTube, Blinkbox, Movies & TV series, BBC news & Sport. Very simple & straightforward.

I have had a Samsung TV before & I find LG is far superior in both sound & specially picture quality. They are both Korean & from the same factory apparently.
I think this TV is excellent value for money & provides everything you need from a Smart TV.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really good!, 11 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Really easy to use, functional smart telly. All the apps are worthwhile and the picture quality is superb.

This is a perfect fit for our bedroom. Happy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews