Customer Reviews


72 Reviews
5 star:
 (49)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Value (less connectivity)!
I am an audio visual engineer... I source TV's at trade normally, however it would be hard to beat the price I paid on Amazon this TV... This is teh 'V' version (Full HD) and I honestly wondered if they got it mixed with the 'U' (HD ready) version as the price went up the day after I had purchased! OK, if you want loads of HDMI's and USB's & smart capability this is not...
Published 2 months ago by M. Garda

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars NOT FULL HD!
It is NOT Full HD!
No Headphone out!
Low price with corresponding poor quality
Published 1 month ago by E.O.


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Value (less connectivity)!, 27 Feb. 2015
By 
M. Garda (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LG 42LB550V 42-inch Widescreen Full HD 1080p LED TV with Freeview HD (discontinued by manufacturer) (Electronics)
I am an audio visual engineer... I source TV's at trade normally, however it would be hard to beat the price I paid on Amazon this TV... This is teh 'V' version (Full HD) and I honestly wondered if they got it mixed with the 'U' (HD ready) version as the price went up the day after I had purchased! OK, if you want loads of HDMI's and USB's & smart capability this is not the TV for you as you would need an LB580V or orLB650V for all that + 3D.... however for basic connectivity with 2 x HDMI, 1 x USB, Component/Composite & Scart this set will work great for you. Again because of the different type of stand, if you want to twizle your TV, this is not the set for you, but if on a slim shelf or regular TV type console/unit I actually quite like this design (massive high end 70" Samsungs use this foot design - albeit metal not plastic). On to the main event - what is the picture like... I would say an 8/10... I have seen several that are better but a whole lot that are far worse. the main thing is that the colours are reasonably natural for a modern LED (you can tweek them if you wish but often it is not worth the time as they come set up pretty well)... I have connected an smart Blu-ray (i-player/Netflix etc...) & Humax PVR to this set in my sitting room and I have to say when reproducing images at 1080p (1920 x 1080) the picture is near faultless... the brights are bright & the blacks are black! The Freeview HD tuner definitely makes a difference ... watch BBC1 on Ch 1 (576i) and then compare it with CH 101 (1080i/p... see below) and there is a remarkable difference in clarity. Geeky bit.... Freeview HD encoders to change automatically between 1080i at 50 frames per second to 1080p at 25 frames per second depending on the program's group of pictures structure... Unfortunately some receivers did not handle the transitions between these modes well, resulting in sound and picture disruption however this budget LG TV handles it well in the background without you knowing. More geek... the screen uses IPS technology, which is relatively rare in modern TVs. Most manufacturers use PVA or PA panels. IPS screen have the benefit of wide viewing angles, so the picture retains its colour saturation when viewed from an angle. The criticism of IPS isthat the blacks can be a little grey... I have not found this the case here... Lastly re: the picture, it boasts a 'Triple XD Engine (the thinng that keeps the picture moving fast enough when watching sport etc... I think the movement is smooth to a point and acceptable for faily viewing... probably not fast enough for a hard-core gamer with an £800 graphics card in their PC!!! OK how picky do you want to be for £219.99! Lastly, the sound on these flat sets is always a bit like the width of the TV - a bit thin on the ground - actually dreadful compared with your old fashioned 'wooden-box' TV..... but £50 on a sound bar and connect it to the 'optical out' of the TV and 'hey-presto'... real sound! All in all I like it alot for the dollars spent!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great picture - Great Value - Poor Stand, 19 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LG 42LB550V 42-inch Widescreen Full HD 1080p LED TV with Freeview HD (discontinued by manufacturer) (Electronics)
Great picture, great value but poor stand. Whilst this won't affect most people, having a stand that isn't in the centre has created a few complications with fitting the screen on the TV unit. That said, this is still a great screen for the price and highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nearly Perfect, 17 April 2015
This review is from: LG 42LB550V 42-inch Widescreen Full HD 1080p LED TV with Freeview HD (discontinued by manufacturer) (Electronics)
I bought this TV about a week ago. I went up from a 40 inch Samsung LED TV UE40H5000AKXXU which I will be using as bench mark for this review, as they were released at roughly the same time cost roughly the same price and have the same quoted capabilities.
Both support Freeview HD and 1080p displays. The LG's display is jaw droppingly good. I recently watched the Champions league match between Real Madrid and Athletico Madrid in HD and you could tell what brand of shoe each player was wearing, whether it be Adidas, Nike or Puma. The Samsung is also very clear but the LG is exceptional. What's more the LG was maintaining the clarity on a bigger screen than the Samsung (obviously harder to achieve). The sensation is boosted by the lack of framework surrounding the screen. Where the Samsung is aesthetically pleasing, the LG is a thing of Beauty.
The sound on the LG ticks the box as well. I've tried a variety of films trying to get an idea of what its strengths are. I tried action films, musicals and narratives. In all situations it was flawless. The movie setting gives you a truly wonderful sound experience in high octane films, while the clear voice setting lets the narrator be heard loud and clear and finally music. You can honestly differentiate between different layers of a song. As I said earlier, during the Madrid Derby you honestly feel like you're in the stadium.
My one true concern is the software, the TV software on the Samsung was beautiful, the menus and pop ups looked modern and smooth. There are a few little things that I loved in the quick menus, firstly the energy saving. It was just a quick way of changing the screen brightness without having to open 1000 menus and sub-menus. Also when you opened the TV guide the film you were watching carries on playing in the top corner. Compared to the software of the LG which is very clunky and cubed, resulting in a slightly outdated look. The software made the Samsung look that bit more professional than the LG.
In summary the LG is a big step up in terms of high quality affordable TV, although they could have done something to improve the software the rest of the TV is so good we can forgive it for its shortcomings In this area
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


47 of 55 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good All-Rounder, 11 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LG 42LB550V 42-inch Widescreen Full HD 1080p LED TV with Freeview HD (discontinued by manufacturer) (Electronics)
I purchased this TV to upgrade from last years Samsung F5000 due to horrendous motion blur and numerous glitches. The LG's picture quality is very crisp with much smoother motion and far better viewing angles. The sound quality leaves a lot to be desired but just pair it with a decent sound bar and you're good to go. I would recommend this TV for gaming too, Forza 5 looks great with nice punchy colours. If you want a good performing TV without any Smart or 3D gimmicks, opt for this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Gaming TV, 25 Oct. 2014
By 
Mr. M. McElhinney "Matt McE" (Norhtern Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: LG 42LB550V 42-inch Widescreen Full HD 1080p LED TV with Freeview HD (discontinued by manufacturer) (Electronics)
Bought this TV after narrowing it down to 3 Televisions ( A Panasonic and a Samsung were also in contention). Cannot complain with the purchase. The main use for the TV is gaming and it is great. Graphics are Crisp and movement is smooth (Playing Fifa 15). Great Picture for Netflix also once you get the settings all modified. Would definitely reccommend this TV if you're looking in the 300 price range
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good value TV, 3 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LG 42LB550V 42-inch Widescreen Full HD 1080p LED TV with Freeview HD (discontinued by manufacturer) (Electronics)
Slim, stylish TV that is competitively priced. Nothing to complain about with the picture or sound quality. There are no Smart Wi-Fi features or 3D compatibility, but it does have Freeview HD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars MY NEW TV IS A GREAT SUCCESS, EASY TO SET UP, 10 May 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
MY NEW TV IS A GREAT SUCCESS, EASY TO SET UP, PICTURE GREAT, SOUND GREAT, SERVICE FROM LG EXCELLENT WHEN I NEEDED SOME ADVICE AS REGARDS USING THE HDMI CABLE CONNECTION. SO NOW SET UP WELL TO WATCH MY PROGRAMS VIA MY COMPUTER ON THE LARGER SCREEN
SO, A BIG THANK YOU TO AMAZON FOR SUPPLYING IT ALSO OF COURSE TO LG FOR INVENTING/PRODUCING IT. GOD BLESS YOU ALL.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Greta priced TV, 22 Sept. 2014
This review is from: LG 42LB550V 42-inch Widescreen Full HD 1080p LED TV with Freeview HD (discontinued by manufacturer) (Electronics)
This TV is a fantastically priced Tv for what it is. It isn`t 3d or smart, hence the price. I bought this as a replacement for my Samsung which is still working however the sound quality has always been alot be be desired. I am happy with all elements of the TV and i am very surprised to hear people comment about the sound. If you are on HD you do not need the volume any higher than 12 to hear crystal clear. The feet on the TV can make it tricky to find a suitable stand as they differ from most which have the central stand, this added £80 to the price of purchase as we had to purchase a new stand, lesson learnt do your home work first. Saying that i still give 5 stars.
The TV is slimline and has a very small bezel around the outside so the 42 inch screen is almost the whole front of the TV.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great tv at a good price, 30 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LG 42LB550V 42-inch Widescreen Full HD 1080p LED TV with Freeview HD (discontinued by manufacturer) (Electronics)
great tv at a good price. need good aerial to obtain best picture, played hd dvd , outstanding clarity in this format, not keen on feet at each end but only thing I did not like, would recommend as a good buy. amazon delivery spot on. tv appears flimsy but still ok.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great LED LG TV!, 27 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The Tv has a very good screen quality with clear images and a good sound. The stand is not good as the tv but is strong enough to support the tv.
I suggest to buy this tv especially for the good price indicated . Fast delivery .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews