Customer Reviews


73 Reviews
5 star:
 (51)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Value (less connectivity)!
I am an audio visual engineer... I source TV's at trade normally, however it would be hard to beat the price I paid on Amazon this TV... This is teh 'V' version (Full HD) and I honestly wondered if they got it mixed with the 'U' (HD ready) version as the price went up the day after I had purchased! OK, if you want loads of HDMI's and USB's & smart capability this is not...
Published 1 month ago by M. Garda

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
This tv has a good picture and reasonable sound BUT WHY NO earphone socket,Most DISAPPOINTING
Published 1 month ago by Ted Naylor


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Value (less connectivity)!, 27 Feb. 2015
By 
M. Garda (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LG 42LB550V 42-inch Widescreen Full HD 1080p LED TV with Freeview HD (Electronics)
I am an audio visual engineer... I source TV's at trade normally, however it would be hard to beat the price I paid on Amazon this TV... This is teh 'V' version (Full HD) and I honestly wondered if they got it mixed with the 'U' (HD ready) version as the price went up the day after I had purchased! OK, if you want loads of HDMI's and USB's & smart capability this is not the TV for you as you would need an LB580V or orLB650V for all that + 3D.... however for basic connectivity with 2 x HDMI, 1 x USB, Component/Composite & Scart this set will work great for you. Again because of the different type of stand, if you want to twizle your TV, this is not the set for you, but if on a slim shelf or regular TV type console/unit I actually quite like this design (massive high end 70" Samsungs use this foot design - albeit metal not plastic). On to the main event - what is the picture like... I would say an 8/10... I have seen several that are better but a whole lot that are far worse. the main thing is that the colours are reasonably natural for a modern LED (you can tweek them if you wish but often it is not worth the time as they come set up pretty well)... I have connected an smart Blu-ray (i-player/Netflix etc...) & Humax PVR to this set in my sitting room and I have to say when reproducing images at 1080p (1920 x 1080) the picture is near faultless... the brights are bright & the blacks are black! The Freeview HD tuner definitely makes a difference ... watch BBC1 on Ch 1 (576i) and then compare it with CH 101 (1080i/p... see below) and there is a remarkable difference in clarity. Geeky bit.... Freeview HD encoders to change automatically between 1080i at 50 frames per second to 1080p at 25 frames per second depending on the program's group of pictures structure... Unfortunately some receivers did not handle the transitions between these modes well, resulting in sound and picture disruption however this budget LG TV handles it well in the background without you knowing. More geek... the screen uses IPS technology, which is relatively rare in modern TVs. Most manufacturers use PVA or PA panels. IPS screen have the benefit of wide viewing angles, so the picture retains its colour saturation when viewed from an angle. The criticism of IPS isthat the blacks can be a little grey... I have not found this the case here... Lastly re: the picture, it boasts a 'Triple XD Engine (the thinng that keeps the picture moving fast enough when watching sport etc... I think the movement is smooth to a point and acceptable for faily viewing... probably not fast enough for a hard-core gamer with an £800 graphics card in their PC!!! OK how picky do you want to be for £219.99! Lastly, the sound on these flat sets is always a bit like the width of the TV - a bit thin on the ground - actually dreadful compared with your old fashioned 'wooden-box' TV..... but £50 on a sound bar and connect it to the 'optical out' of the TV and 'hey-presto'... real sound! All in all I like it alot for the dollars spent!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great picture - Great Value - Poor Stand, 19 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LG 42LB550V 42-inch Widescreen Full HD 1080p LED TV with Freeview HD (Electronics)
Great picture, great value but poor stand. Whilst this won't affect most people, having a stand that isn't in the centre has created a few complications with fitting the screen on the TV unit. That said, this is still a great screen for the price and highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


44 of 50 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great piece of kit at a great price..., 17 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a great piece of kit, it looks amazing on the wall and the picture quality is excellent, i cant really fault it in that respect, although there are a few minor things i would change, but ill go in to this a bit later, the slim 49" design is very easy on the eyes, and really looks the part, the remote is black and is a small design, its a little smaller than a SKY remote and a little narrower, it is a good design and easy to use, the TV has a USB port which supports (FAT32) for standard smaller Video and Photo/Music files & (NTFS) for large blu-ray video files, it supports almost every video format you can think of and plays them flawlessly, these include avi, Mp4, MKV etc which is one of the most wanted features that i needed, I've bought LG TV's since 2011 as i was sick of wasting lots of money for a name which if im honest never had the features i needed or just didnt perform as it should of, however LG have always been great and i really only have a small issue with the design and location of the ports on the back, they are placed at the middle of the back of the TV which if on the wall can be very awkward to reach, so its a good idea to think ahead and have all cables that you want plugged in, to be there already waiting and get them plugged in whilst mounting to the wall, if you add a surround sound system at a later date you will need to remove the TV from the wall to connect everything which will be quite annoying, (if your not mounting to a wall then these small issues will not effect you) the USB port and HDMI ports are in an awkward place aswel, there is 1 USB port and 2 HDMI ports both placed in the middle of the back of the TV, there is no audio jack port but there are component ports (red, white, yellow, etc) it also has an optical port for connecting a sound system or bar, it has 1 scart socket, the sound isnt great due to the thin design but its ok, if your picky and want cinema blasting sound you can always add a sound system if you find the sound is not adequate for your needs, the freeview HD is very handy if you dont have SKY or another TV package, however unlike the SKY tv guide, the guide disappears once you pick the channel you want to watch, this wont bother a lot of you but it bothers me, i like to browse the rest of the guide and listen while a small picture screen in the right hand corner is displayed, but this small screen is missing, not a big deal for me as i have SKY anyway, its not included with a lot of freeview menus on different makes of TV's, anyway this concludes my review, i hope it helps some of you to make your decision.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 4 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
excellent value budget tv. It looks great and the picture quality is superb
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Gaming TV, 25 Oct. 2014
By 
Mr. M. McElhinney "Matt McE" (Norhtern Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: LG 42LB550V 42-inch Widescreen Full HD 1080p LED TV with Freeview HD (Electronics)
Bought this TV after narrowing it down to 3 Televisions ( A Panasonic and a Samsung were also in contention). Cannot complain with the purchase. The main use for the TV is gaming and it is great. Graphics are Crisp and movement is smooth (Playing Fifa 15). Great Picture for Netflix also once you get the settings all modified. Would definitely reccommend this TV if you're looking in the 300 price range
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


45 of 52 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good All-Rounder, 11 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LG 42LB550V 42-inch Widescreen Full HD 1080p LED TV with Freeview HD (Electronics)
I purchased this TV to upgrade from last years Samsung F5000 due to horrendous motion blur and numerous glitches. The LG's picture quality is very crisp with much smoother motion and far better viewing angles. The sound quality leaves a lot to be desired but just pair it with a decent sound bar and you're good to go. I would recommend this TV for gaming too, Forza 5 looks great with nice punchy colours. If you want a good performing TV without any Smart or 3D gimmicks, opt for this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Incredible Value for Money, 9 Dec. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LG 42LB550V 42-inch Widescreen Full HD 1080p LED TV with Freeview HD (Electronics)
Fantastic piece of kit at this price point (£299 at the time). Actually got it for my mother who wanted to upgrade from her previous 32" LCD and it has gone down a storm. It has Freeview HD and it's a doddle to do the basic set-up. Not checked out the connectivity because it is just being used as a basic TV, but has the usual inputs. My only gripes (which account for the 1 star deduction) are the feet which are set very wide apart meaning that we had to put it on a different piece of furniture to the one we intended and the sound which is quite poor, but that it true of just about every LED TV on the market. I'd get my mother a soundbar, but she'd never work out how to use it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good but not for sports fans, 15 Nov. 2014
By 
Mr. D. bagguley (North wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ive Bought 2 of these televisions in the last 2 weeks. The first one bought from Tescos went back due to serious light bleeding issues in the top right hand corner. The second set bought from Amazon arrived today and so far so good, no significant light bleeding to report.

There is however a serious problem with vertical banding and this was present on both tvs. It's not noticeable when viewing normal tv programs and movies but it is very noticeable when watching football or any other sport where the camera pans from side to side quickly.

Picture quality is very good, very clear and I think you would be hard pressed to get a better 49 inch LED tv for this kind of money.

To sum it up, if you don't watch football or rugby then this would be a very good large screen budget tv and I highly recommended it. If you do watch a lot of sport I would say look elsewhere and try and get yourself one of the last decent plasma tvs before theyre gone for good. LED tvs have their benefits but for sport you can't beat a good old fashioned plasma telly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Greta priced TV, 22 Sept. 2014
This review is from: LG 42LB550V 42-inch Widescreen Full HD 1080p LED TV with Freeview HD (Electronics)
This TV is a fantastically priced Tv for what it is. It isn`t 3d or smart, hence the price. I bought this as a replacement for my Samsung which is still working however the sound quality has always been alot be be desired. I am happy with all elements of the TV and i am very surprised to hear people comment about the sound. If you are on HD you do not need the volume any higher than 12 to hear crystal clear. The feet on the TV can make it tricky to find a suitable stand as they differ from most which have the central stand, this added £80 to the price of purchase as we had to purchase a new stand, lesson learnt do your home work first. Saying that i still give 5 stars.
The TV is slimline and has a very small bezel around the outside so the 42 inch screen is almost the whole front of the TV.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good value TV, 3 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LG 42LB550V 42-inch Widescreen Full HD 1080p LED TV with Freeview HD (Electronics)
Slim, stylish TV that is competitively priced. Nothing to complain about with the picture or sound quality. There are no Smart Wi-Fi features or 3D compatibility, but it does have Freeview HD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

LG 42LB550V 42-inch Widescreen Full HD 1080p LED TV with Freeview HD
£291.30
Usually dispatched within 2 to 3 days
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews