Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


36 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Value (less connectivity)!
I am an audio visual engineer... I source TV's at trade normally, however it would be hard to beat the price I paid on Amazon this TV... This is teh 'V' version (Full HD) and I honestly wondered if they got it mixed with the 'U' (HD ready) version as the price went up the day after I had purchased! OK, if you want loads of HDMI's and USB's & smart capability this is not...
Published 4 months ago by M. Garda

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not as described
Advertised as a Full High Definition Model. I received 29MT44 which according to the LG website is High Definition ready only. Overall an ok tv but not what is described. You can get the 29MT45 (newer model) for cheaper on Amazon.
Published 18 days ago by jad merheb


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

36 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Value (less connectivity)!, 27 Feb. 2015
By 
M. Garda (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LG 42LB550V 42-inch Widescreen Full HD 1080p LED TV with Freeview HD (discontinued by manufacturer) (Electronics)
I am an audio visual engineer... I source TV's at trade normally, however it would be hard to beat the price I paid on Amazon this TV... This is teh 'V' version (Full HD) and I honestly wondered if they got it mixed with the 'U' (HD ready) version as the price went up the day after I had purchased! OK, if you want loads of HDMI's and USB's & smart capability this is not the TV for you as you would need an LB580V or orLB650V for all that + 3D.... however for basic connectivity with 2 x HDMI, 1 x USB, Component/Composite & Scart this set will work great for you. Again because of the different type of stand, if you want to twizle your TV, this is not the set for you, but if on a slim shelf or regular TV type console/unit I actually quite like this design (massive high end 70" Samsungs use this foot design - albeit metal not plastic). On to the main event - what is the picture like... I would say an 8/10... I have seen several that are better but a whole lot that are far worse. the main thing is that the colours are reasonably natural for a modern LED (you can tweek them if you wish but often it is not worth the time as they come set up pretty well)... I have connected an smart Blu-ray (i-player/Netflix etc...) & Humax PVR to this set in my sitting room and I have to say when reproducing images at 1080p (1920 x 1080) the picture is near faultless... the brights are bright & the blacks are black! The Freeview HD tuner definitely makes a difference ... watch BBC1 on Ch 1 (576i) and then compare it with CH 101 (1080i/p... see below) and there is a remarkable difference in clarity. Geeky bit.... Freeview HD encoders to change automatically between 1080i at 50 frames per second to 1080p at 25 frames per second depending on the program's group of pictures structure... Unfortunately some receivers did not handle the transitions between these modes well, resulting in sound and picture disruption however this budget LG TV handles it well in the background without you knowing. More geek... the screen uses IPS technology, which is relatively rare in modern TVs. Most manufacturers use PVA or PA panels. IPS screen have the benefit of wide viewing angles, so the picture retains its colour saturation when viewed from an angle. The criticism of IPS isthat the blacks can be a little grey... I have not found this the case here... Lastly re: the picture, it boasts a 'Triple XD Engine (the thinng that keeps the picture moving fast enough when watching sport etc... I think the movement is smooth to a point and acceptable for faily viewing... probably not fast enough for a hard-core gamer with an £800 graphics card in their PC!!! OK how picky do you want to be for £219.99! Lastly, the sound on these flat sets is always a bit like the width of the TV - a bit thin on the ground - actually dreadful compared with your old fashioned 'wooden-box' TV..... but £50 on a sound bar and connect it to the 'optical out' of the TV and 'hey-presto'... real sound! All in all I like it alot for the dollars spent!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great picture - Great Value - Poor Stand, 19 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LG 42LB550V 42-inch Widescreen Full HD 1080p LED TV with Freeview HD (discontinued by manufacturer) (Electronics)
Great picture, great value but poor stand. Whilst this won't affect most people, having a stand that isn't in the centre has created a few complications with fitting the screen on the TV unit. That said, this is still a great screen for the price and highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


49 of 59 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good All-Rounder, 11 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LG 42LB550V 42-inch Widescreen Full HD 1080p LED TV with Freeview HD (discontinued by manufacturer) (Electronics)
I purchased this TV to upgrade from last years Samsung F5000 due to horrendous motion blur and numerous glitches. The LG's picture quality is very crisp with much smoother motion and far better viewing angles. The sound quality leaves a lot to be desired but just pair it with a decent sound bar and you're good to go. I would recommend this TV for gaming too, Forza 5 looks great with nice punchy colours. If you want a good performing TV without any Smart or 3D gimmicks, opt for this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant product, using it mainly as a PC monitor ..., 18 May 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brilliant product, using it mainly as a PC monitor but is a great TV too. V fast delivery. Thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Gaming TV, 25 Oct. 2014
By 
Mr. M. McElhinney "Matt McE" (Norhtern Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: LG 42LB550V 42-inch Widescreen Full HD 1080p LED TV with Freeview HD (discontinued by manufacturer) (Electronics)
Bought this TV after narrowing it down to 3 Televisions ( A Panasonic and a Samsung were also in contention). Cannot complain with the purchase. The main use for the TV is gaming and it is great. Graphics are Crisp and movement is smooth (Playing Fifa 15). Great Picture for Netflix also once you get the settings all modified. Would definitely reccommend this TV if you're looking in the 300 price range
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not as described, 12 Jun. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Advertised as a Full High Definition Model. I received 29MT44 which according to the LG website is High Definition ready only. Overall an ok tv but not what is described. You can get the 29MT45 (newer model) for cheaper on Amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I'm a fan of this...For the money!, 5 Jun. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Worked great straight out the box. Set up was very simple. Seems to be well made, and unlike some of the negative reviews, I think the stand is actually really good and looks just fine.
As for the sound... It's a flat-screen TV...Speakers need to be quite large and be in big boxes to get a warm sound (as you did with an old box TV set)... So stop moaning!...Sound is what you would expect from a slimline TV, especially one that's so cheap.
Value for money?... Indeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good value TV, 3 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LG 42LB550V 42-inch Widescreen Full HD 1080p LED TV with Freeview HD (discontinued by manufacturer) (Electronics)
Slim, stylish TV that is competitively priced. Nothing to complain about with the picture or sound quality. There are no Smart Wi-Fi features or 3D compatibility, but it does have Freeview HD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars BIG screen low PRICE:), 27 Jun. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LG 42LB550V 42-inch Widescreen Full HD 1080p LED TV with Freeview HD (discontinued by manufacturer) (Electronics)
Love this tv for the price cant fault it big screen low price.
I have my xbox one and sky hd box running on this screen and am very impressed with the pic no speed blur when playing games or watching sports.
Looks nice as well
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great LED LG TV!, 27 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The Tv has a very good screen quality with clear images and a good sound. The stand is not good as the tv but is strong enough to support the tv.
I suggest to buy this tv especially for the good price indicated . Fast delivery .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews