Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars
excellent value budget tv. It looks great and the picture quality is superb
Published 3 months ago by anne

versus
21 of 89 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars piece of rubbish
no good for gaming television is blurry when watching it ,another piece of rubbish from lg be warned when thinking of purchasing this tv
Published 7 months ago by david robert cook


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 4 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
excellent value budget tv. It looks great and the picture quality is superb
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Gaming TV, 25 Oct 2014
By 
Mr. M. McElhinney "Matt McE" (Norhtern Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: LG 42LB550V 42-inch Widescreen Full HD 1080p LED TV with Freeview HD (Electronics)
Bought this TV after narrowing it down to 3 Televisions ( A Panasonic and a Samsung were also in contention). Cannot complain with the purchase. The main use for the TV is gaming and it is great. Graphics are Crisp and movement is smooth (Playing Fifa 15). Great Picture for Netflix also once you get the settings all modified. Would definitely reccommend this TV if you're looking in the 300 price range
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 37 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good All-Rounder, 11 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LG 42LB550V 42-inch Widescreen Full HD 1080p LED TV with Freeview HD (Electronics)
I purchased this TV to upgrade from last years Samsung F5000 due to horrendous motion blur and numerous glitches. The LG's picture quality is very crisp with much smoother motion and far better viewing angles. The sound quality leaves a lot to be desired but just pair it with a decent sound bar and you're good to go. I would recommend this TV for gaming too, Forza 5 looks great with nice punchy colours. If you want a good performing TV without any Smart or 3D gimmicks, opt for this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good but not for sports fans, 15 Nov 2014
By 
Mr. D. bagguley (North wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ive Bought 2 of these televisions in the last 2 weeks. The first one bought from Tescos went back due to serious light bleeding issues in the top right hand corner. The second set bought from Amazon arrived today and so far so good, no significant light bleeding to report.

There is however a serious problem with vertical banding and this was present on both tvs. It's not noticeable when viewing normal tv programs and movies but it is very noticeable when watching football or any other sport where the camera pans from side to side quickly.

Picture quality is very good, very clear and I think you would be hard pressed to get a better 49 inch LED tv for this kind of money.

To sum it up, if you don't watch football or rugby then this would be a very good large screen budget tv and I highly recommended it. If you do watch a lot of sport I would say look elsewhere and try and get yourself one of the last decent plasma tvs before theyre gone for good. LED tvs have their benefits but for sport you can't beat a good old fashioned plasma telly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great picture - Great Value - Poor Stand, 19 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LG 42LB550V 42-inch Widescreen Full HD 1080p LED TV with Freeview HD (Electronics)
Great picture, great value but poor stand. Whilst this won't affect most people, having a stand that isn't in the centre has created a few complications with fitting the screen on the TV unit. That said, this is still a great screen for the price and highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great piece of kit at a great price..., 17 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a great piece of kit, it looks amazing on the wall and the picture quality is excellent, i cant really fault it in that respect, although there are a few minor things i would change, but ill go in to this a bit later, the slim 49" design is very easy on the eyes, and really looks the part, the remote is black and is a small design, its a little smaller than a SKY remote and a little narrower, it is a good design and easy to use, the TV has a USB port which supports (FAT32) for standard smaller Video and Photo/Music files & (NTFS) for large blu-ray video files, it supports almost every video format you can think of and plays them flawlessly, these include avi, Mp4, MKV etc which is one of the most wanted features that i needed, I've bought LG TV's since 2011 as i was sick of wasting lots of money for a name which if im honest never had the features i needed or just didnt perform as it should of, however LG have always been great and i really only have a small issue with the design and location of the ports on the back, they are placed at the middle of the back of the TV which if on the wall can be very awkward to reach, so its a good idea to think ahead and have all cables that you want plugged in, to be there already waiting and get them plugged in whilst mounting to the wall, if you add a surround sound system at a later date you will need to remove the TV from the wall to connect everything which will be quite annoying, (if your not mounting to a wall then these small issues will not effect you) the USB port and HDMI ports are in an awkward place aswel, there is 1 USB port and 2 HDMI ports both placed in the middle of the back of the TV, there is no audio jack port but there are component ports (red, white, yellow, etc) it also has an optical port for connecting a sound system or bar, it has 1 scart socket, the sound isnt great due to the thin design but its ok, if your picky and want cinema blasting sound you can always add a sound system if you find the sound is not adequate for your needs, the freeview HD is very handy if you dont have SKY or another TV package, however unlike the SKY tv guide, the guide disappears once you pick the channel you want to watch, this wont bother a lot of you but it bothers me, i like to browse the rest of the guide and listen while a small picture screen in the right hand corner is displayed, but this small screen is missing, not a big deal for me as i have SKY anyway, its not included with a lot of freeview menus on different makes of TV's, anyway this concludes my review, i hope it helps some of you to make your decision.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Picture, but be wary of the awkward stand., 6 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LG 42LB550V 42-inch Widescreen Full HD 1080p LED TV with Freeview HD (Electronics)
Great TV, the picture is superb, the sound is good, and there's plenty of inputs. However the stand is pretty awkward, it's right at the edge of the TV so you need a stand atleast as wide as the TV (43") which can be a pain for a smaller flat. Would still highly reccomend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Greta priced TV, 22 Sep 2014
This review is from: LG 42LB550V 42-inch Widescreen Full HD 1080p LED TV with Freeview HD (Electronics)
This TV is a fantastically priced Tv for what it is. It isn`t 3d or smart, hence the price. I bought this as a replacement for my Samsung which is still working however the sound quality has always been alot be be desired. I am happy with all elements of the TV and i am very surprised to hear people comment about the sound. If you are on HD you do not need the volume any higher than 12 to hear crystal clear. The feet on the TV can make it tricky to find a suitable stand as they differ from most which have the central stand, this added £80 to the price of purchase as we had to purchase a new stand, lesson learnt do your home work first. Saying that i still give 5 stars.
The TV is slimline and has a very small bezel around the outside so the 42 inch screen is almost the whole front of the TV.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good tv!, 22 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LG 42LB550V 42-inch Widescreen Full HD 1080p LED TV with Freeview HD (Electronics)
Tv is almost perfect. The only one issue appears few time. After night, sometimes, tv don't wants turn on for a few hours. Now everything is ok, hopefully it was short issue.

Regards,
Arthur
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great value, great tv, 8 Nov 2014
By 
Mr. I. M. Evans (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LG 42LB550V 42-inch Widescreen Full HD 1080p LED TV with Freeview HD (Electronics)
I got this to replace my third and final expensive Samsung tv where the screens kept failing. Now I have this I'm kicking myself for not considering this product before for the money its a fantastic tv and really light weight so great if your looking at installing on an internal plasterboard wall with a bracket. Personally I prefer it to my previous Samsung tv and will be ecstatic if it outlives the 2.5 years the more expensive tv did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews