Customer Reviews


44 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pixies all grown up
I've heard all these songs before (which is why it gets 4 stars rather than 5), on the three recent EPs, and that does detract somewhat from the experience of hearing a first new Pixies album in 23 years. Is it still fun though? Sure, but don't expect the Pixies of Surfer Rosa, Doolittle and Bossanova. There's glimpses of what they did on those three records, but Indie...
Published 4 months ago by Holifeet

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars But overall not a bad album.
A decent knockaround from the Pixies, only Bagboy is up there with their classic stuff. But overall not a bad album.
Published 1 month ago by Skelpie


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pixies all grown up, 30 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Indie Cindy (Audio CD)
I've heard all these songs before (which is why it gets 4 stars rather than 5), on the three recent EPs, and that does detract somewhat from the experience of hearing a first new Pixies album in 23 years. Is it still fun though? Sure, but don't expect the Pixies of Surfer Rosa, Doolittle and Bossanova. There's glimpses of what they did on those three records, but Indie Cindy is much more in the style of Frank Black's solo work or Trompe Le Monde; a Pixies album that was probably more Frank Black than it was the band. The whole album does remind me very much of Frank's eponymous album or Teenager of the Year.

Kim Deal is gone, and you'll know it in your mind, but you might not notice it had you not known she'd left (sorry Kim). The stand ins do a decent job on the bass. The guitars of Joey are still there; swirling and mind-blowing. It's definitely the Pixies, they've just got older; like all bands do.

The stand out songs are What Goes Boom, Indie Cindy and Magdalena 318; the last one a track that bears a bit of a similarity to Ana and is possibly the most early sounding Pixies song on the album. The video is definitely reminicsent of songs on the earlier albums, and certainly from the mind of Frank Black.

You'll want this if you're a Pixies completionist, but if you're not that and money is a bit tight then remember that these are the same songs as on the EPs. If you have them then you've got everything on this album. There's also the Limited Edition double album for those that want the extras. It's got a great collection of songs on it from a recent concert. The price is a bit steep but is probably worth it for the 40 page book. That, again, would depend on your fiscal state.

It's definitely the Pixies, and you'll love it if you've ever been a fan. You just might be a bit disappointed that it's only the EPs compiled. As for the style, well we've all aged with the band, so perhaps it's just what we all need nowadays. Something unmistakeably Pixies, but a little less raucous for our ageing ears.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hit and miss, mostly hit., 28 April 2014
By 
G (edinburgh uk) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Indie Cindy (MP3 Download)
I don't often write reviews, but given that I've been a fan of Pixies since their heyday and my mixed feelings about this album I thought, why not? In a nutshell, Indie Cindy is pretty much what I'd expected and, I suppose, feared.

The first 4 tracks are magic and would happily slot into any of their live sets and almost into their back catalog. It's such a huge delight to hear these tracks, it sounds and feels like them and serves as a reminder why they're so loved.
Things seem hit and miss from there. I feel 'Ring the Bell' and 'Andro Queen' both fall flat and are the weakest points on the album. 'Blue Eyed Hexe' begins as if it were related to 'U-Mass' from Trompe le Monde, but doesn't really go anywhere and remains one dimensional except for Black Francis' screaming which sounds slightly out of place and more contrived than it once did.
Given that Pixies albums usually clock in at under 40 minutes, maybe I would have found the album more satisfactory if they'd ditched a couple of the below-par tracks.
Another Toe In The Ocean is a favorite of mine, however, there's no denying because of it's polished, conventional structure it's as if it belongs to Frank Black's Teenager of the Year rather than anything by Pixies. Things end on a high note with 'Snakes' and 'Jamie Bravo' which, convinces me, overall, it's very good to have a new Pixies album.

Indie Cindy hasn't disappointed me, I wasn't expecting them at their best. 23 years have passed, they're different people and it's irrational to expect them to write the same songs they once did, some reviews in the press have been unnecessarily scathing.
I think most fans will be thrilled with about half of it and moderately pleased with the other.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Stonks, 21 July 2014
By 
Mr. R. Weller "richardspacepod" (cambridge uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Indie Cindy (Audio CD)
As a long time Pixies fan of some maturity I was curious as to what new Pixies music might sound like. Unfortunately I made the classic mistake of reading reviews and consequently it took me some time to listen to this properly. I think it's excellent. I enjoy it more than Trampe Le Monde and anyone who thought it would trump earlier releases was in cloud cuckoo land anyway. Albums like Doolittle and Bossanova come along very rarely, for a band to produce two faultless gems puts them up there at the very top of rock n roll.

Apart from here on Amazon I've never read a good review of this cd, but I think it is engaging, electric, edgy, exciting, tuneful, and progressive. All the things I ask of the Pixies. Goes to show what I long suspected, professional music reviewers are more interested in a story and an angle than they are in objective analysis. Most of them are young and can't face up to the facts - their parents and grand parents invented rock, and they've done nothing with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pixies alive and very well, 2 Jun 2014
By 
mobsta "melmu" (wiltshire,england) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Indie Cindy (Audio CD)
When you are one of the most influential bands ever, but haven't recorded anything of note, either together or separately, for 20 years, then lose one of your keynote sounds ( Kim Deal's bass) from those early 'classics', you are courting disaster. What's more, the angular, jagged, odd tempo originality of your early work has been taken up by everybody since and become 'mainstream'.
If this were not a Pixies' album, it would be hailed as one of the best indie-pop recordings of the year ( with nods to producer Gil Norton and his engineer Dan Austin), with tracks 'What Goes Boom', 'Greens and Blues', 'Bagboy' and title track 'Indie Cindy' as outstanding examples of indie-pop at it's best - only 'Ring The Bell' let's the side down but 11/12 isn't bad! There was never going to be a 'Bone Machine' here, so accept this album for what it is - brilliant indie-pop for the 21st century.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love this album, 14 July 2014
By 
El Guitaro (Worcester, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Indie Cindy (Audio CD)
I love this album. Too many people have been sniffy about it. What's your problem? It's a great record and I think Kim made a big mistake in not wanting to do new material. There are lots of great Pixie moments here. It's not about trying to re-create the past, it's about moving on and adding to the legacy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What Goes Boom?, 28 April 2014
By 
Mr. M. A. Reed (Argleton, GB) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Indie Cindy (Audio CD)
It's only 23 years late. But would you know? Aside from a handful of production tricks (a distinctly loud, compressed sound, a certain guitar tone), Pixies - without Kim Deal (mostly) - follow up 1991's "Trompe Le Monde" with the long overdue "Indie Cindy". Having not listened to it in EP form - all the material is new to me, and none of it blunted by familiarity. As an album, "Indie Cindy" is a short experience (45 minutes on CD, with an extra song only on the Record Store Day vinyl release). ; the live CD that comes with the mailorder deluxe edition is only 35 minutes long.

But how does it sound? It sounds like Pixies recorded cover versions of 70 Frank Black solo songs, added their own spin to them, and honed it down to the most Pixie-ish dozen. Some of the songs deserve to stand up as classic Pixies ("Bagboy", "Snakes", "Blue Eyed Hexe" could have all sat happily on any of their albums), The sunniest element of the band - the perverted surf riffs, the atonal whimsy, the random Spanish interlude and the breezy sense of wind in the hair and open top sports car are plastered all over the record. Certainly, had this ever been a Frank Black solo record, no one would ever know the difference and decry him for copying himself. Certainly, departed bassist Kim Deal is audibly present on backing vocals (though actually uncannily impersonated), but on other tracks, also certainly absent and replaced by layers of Frank Black falsetto elsewhere. But is it a bad album? Not at all. You cannot bottle lightning, and it is not, and can never be Pixies as was, but here and there, flashes of Pixiedom escape, the essence of Pixies is there in spades, it's a new vision of the old ideals, and "Indie Cindy" is - well, certainly one of the best and most vibrant reunion records - you could listen to it and be forgiven for thinking that only a couple of years, and not 23, have passed since the last time an album of new Pixies songs was recorded. What goes Boom? Everything.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars and yet it doesn't sound like anything they have already done, 13 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Indie Cindy (Audio CD)
lots of debate about whether it was worth the wait...undeniably pixies, and yet it doesn't sound like anything they have already done, work that one out. With the pixies, the motto back in the day was expect the unexpected, this album does not disappoint. I cannot get upset that it does not inspire listeners who were not even alive when pixies began their journey.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars and my favorite being Doolittle, 8 Aug 2014
By 
K. J. Ayres (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Indie Cindy (Audio CD)
Got interested in the Pixies upon hearing the movie tie in from Fight Club - "where is my mind ?".
Since then I've brought every Pixies album; and my favorite being Doolittle. Of course that doesn't mean I don't rate any of the others - the back catalog really details a band mutate through genres and styles.
To me; Pixies are a combination of Franks lyrics of death;sex;space;aliens etc.. Joeys angular lead guitar, Dave's hard hitting drumming and Kim's simple but key bass and back vocals.
Indy Cindy has had a difficult reception; and difficult making what with Kim throwing her toys out of the pram; justified or unjustified.
To me I like a majority of the tracks; the overall picture is of the album is not as clear; What goes Boom? has the catchy chorus riff with Joeys manic feedback screaming guitar; Bag boy - a real departure and new - and I like it.
Some tracks struggle though.
But overall - I like it - I await the next album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Biased view but can't go wrong, 25 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Indie Cindy [VINYL] (Vinyl)
Ok so there might be better places to start if you want to get into The Pixies and Kim Deal is obviously a loss but there are bits of this that match their other stuff & that's good enough for me. Can rock out with the best, snuffle around amongst the sleaze gutter and produce the most melodic of tunes...for me the best band of all time & I'm just grateful for some new songs
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Like a really good frank black solo album, 29 April 2014
This review is from: Indie Cindy (Audio CD)
I have loved the pixies for many years, so I was worried about this album, I never bothered buying the eps , and the mixed reviews didn't fill me with hope. I had no reason to worry as this is a really good rock and roll album, but it sounds more like a frank black solo album than the pixies. The problem is Kim Deal was a massive part of the pixies sound , and now she is gone, is sadly missed, but Don't let that put you off songs like what goes boom and blue eyed Hexe are upbeat rockers which will make your head rock and your feet tap. Magdalena 318 the most pixies sounding tune on the album is laid back and cool and would have sat well on Doolittle , bag boy is just odd, but then so is frank black. So not strictly a pixies album , but this is a dam good guitar album, and that's all us indie rock fans can ask for in a world of RNB .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Indie Cindy
Indie Cindy by Pixies (Audio CD - 2014)
Click for more info
Currently unavailable
Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews