Customer Reviews


676 Reviews
5 star:
 (570)
4 star:
 (58)
3 star:
 (15)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (24)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


32 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dramatic genius with fascinating character development and group dynamics in a Hobbesian, nightmarish world
I am a self-professed survival nut and love the whole zombie apocalpyse thing but do not let that colour the fact that this show, and all its seasons to-date, are a collective, ever evolving piece of sheer dramatic brilliance.

The zombies and the apocalpyse merely serve as a foil to allow the development of some of the hardest questions one could pose humanity,...
Published 6 months ago by Samir Kumar

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Sublime series, but Blu Ray mastered by Mr Magoo!
The shows is fantastic but I seriously cannot believe these awful grainy pictures got past quality control.

Scenes in bright sunshine are passable but the darker scenes, ie pretty much anything inside, especially the prison, present a veritable storm of grainy artefacts. Like someone kicked over a pot of ash or something.

Thought it was my Blu Ray...
Published 4 months ago by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 268 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

32 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dramatic genius with fascinating character development and group dynamics in a Hobbesian, nightmarish world, 22 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am a self-professed survival nut and love the whole zombie apocalpyse thing but do not let that colour the fact that this show, and all its seasons to-date, are a collective, ever evolving piece of sheer dramatic brilliance.

The zombies and the apocalpyse merely serve as a foil to allow the development of some of the hardest questions one could pose humanity, how the harshest imaginable conditions force a transformation of everyday civilians into, well, whatever they have to be in order to survive. In a world where the lines between right and wrong and irretrievably blurred, almost every protagonists' moral compass is sent spiralling in various scenarios and set-pieces that never lose their individuality or suspense. We see folks revert to killers as mindless as the zombies, those who desperately try to cling to the final vestiges of humanitarian morality and everything in between.

The acting is superb throughout, particularly by the lead, Lincholn who desperately tries to retain his values as Sheriff of a town ravaged by 'the infection.' A man who risked his life to uphold the law, suddenly faced with a law-less society overnight. His character development along with virtually every other protagonist is utterly gripping. His young son Carl, for instance, who over the course of the four seasons is forced to spend his early adolescence 'growing' up in this desolate, frenzied world fraught with mortal danger at every turn, is another example of fascinating character development.

My only qualms are with the number of characters they keep killing off! This makes sense given the nature of the environment they find themselves in but seriously guys give it a break!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Season 4, it just gets better, 23 Jan. 2015
By 
D. Duggan "Nice Harris" (Maidenhead) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Walking Dead - Season 4 [DVD] [2014] (DVD)
Season 4 does not disappoint, this is quality TV. The first several episodes start to settle then spin off in a different direction when the group are violently split up from their safe haven, neither knowing who is dead or alive. Their various strands playing out different and deadly scenarios.

This season kicks off at a cracking pace, the narrative quickly draws you in and you really do care about these people, however within a few episodes several of the group are dispensed with in unforgiving circumstances. Random death is everywhere, even the good die young.

Its still very much a character driven show, one storyline expertly and believeably reveals the redemption and return to brutally for one main role, the end result is deadly. A stand out plot in an excellent season. Again I can't praise the series enough for its character dynamics.

The killing of Shane in a previous series highlights how daring this program is, again in the season 4 episode "The Grove" this is one of the most haunting, fearless 43 minutes of TV I've seen, highly emotional with stand out performances, fleshing out Carol's complex psychology, from beaten wife to a women who can make the toughest of clinical decisions, friend or foe?

Again, throughout this season the human dangers are all too real.

Another character to watch is Carl, Ricks son, in season 1 a child, by season 4 a killer, a child growing up in a world of fear, a father and son nightmare, their relationship is fascinating. Daryl is another slow burn, from Hill-Billy abused to a man doing the right thing at the right time.

The writers continuously create new dangers be they viral, zombie or human, and just when you think you have worked out some characters, the goal posts are moved. The season final is underplayed just enough to leave you hanging "they don't know who their dealing with" sneers Rick, payback awaits!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sanctuaries, 17 Jan. 2015
By 
Paul Tapner (poole dorset england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Walking Dead - Season 4 [DVD] [2014] (DVD)
A five disc dvd box set, which contains all sixteen forty minute long episodes of the fourth season of the Walking Dead. A show about people struggling to survive after the world is overrun by Zombies.

There are four episodes to each of the first four discs. And there are extras on the fifth.

As with previous seasons, it does take storylines from the comic on which it is based, but it does go it's own way with them. So it's a very loose adaptation.

Although this season's opener might just work as a jumping on point, the amount of backstory built up by now does mean it's better to start with season one instead.

The language and subtitle options are as follows:

Languages: English.
Subtitles: English.

Given that the show has a mid season break when it airs on tv, this season is structured pretty much as two individual seasons of eight episodes each. The first eight pick up the story months after the end of season three. With life in the Prison where the group are now holed up going quite well. There are new people there. They're trying to grow crops and farm. There's also no sign of their foe the governor.

This starts off some character arcs that play out well over the season. Carl thinking he's grown up now but still not quite able to shake childhood. Rick having to step back from leading and fighting. Daryl being part of a group.

And other characters have similar things to confront of their own.

Of course it can't stay peaceful forever. Thanks to a threat they didn't see coming.

The first five episodes deal with this. Strong character moments result. Plenty of zombie fighting. And some impressive set pieces. It's a season that uses it's budget very well.

The next couple of episodes take a slight diversion - no single cast member appears in every episode this season - and catch up with someone not seen in a bit. These are all building to something, and thus they hold the attention. They contain a superb performance by the main actor in them, and some appealing new characters.

Then comes the mid season finale. And a new threat to the prison. This episode takes about half it's time to build up, but when it kicks off it really does. A stunning set piece results.

The next eight episodes take the show in a different direction. With the characters separated. Which means there are episodes when some aren't seen. But all gradually heading the same way. This works ever so well pacing wise, because you're so desperate to catch up with all of them, and the episodes just fly by a result. You will be saying 'just one more!.'

Moral dilemmas. Character dramas. There's a lot going on in these episodes. Which don't pull their punches, and which don't make anyone invincible. One in particular is an absolutely unforgettable piece of tv. Three new characters come in who are taken from the comics, but who really make the episodes appealing to some genuinely funny dialogue.

The season finale is also one you won't forget. Thanks to one stunning early scene. A great set piece. And a cliffhanger.

Absolutely the best season yet of a superb show.

Episodes one, five, twelve and fourteen have commentaries from various cast and crew members.

Extras on disc five are:

Inside the Walking Dead.
The Making of the Walking Dead.

These two pull together short features - usually no more than five minutes each - that aired online after each episode was shown. The former are general overviews of them. The latter making of features. These can only be watched all in a row. The former runs for eighty five minutes in total and the latter seventy five. But both are great, interesting and very entertaining viewing.

Drawing inspiration runs for six minutes and shows how scenes from the comic were adapted for the screen. It's interesting viewing.

Hershel is a six minute long and very nice look at the character and his virtues.

[Minor spoiler]

The governor is back is an eight minute long look at that characters arc in this season. It's good viewing but does duplicate some things from the first two features. And does have a flashing effect at one point. But one very nice touch right at the end.

Society science and survival runs for six minutes and looks at a course set up by the tv network and a university teaching people about the issues the show raises. This will make you want to log on and enrol.

Inside KNB EFX runs for seventeen minutes and looks at the work of the special effects team. And some interesting tributes that they sneak in.

A journey back to brutality is a seven minute long look at Rick's character arc for the season. Which like the governor one is good but does duplicate some stuff from the first two extras.

Deleted scenes: just eight. All from different episodes. All can only be watched individually. All run for no longer than a couple of minutes. Often less.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Quality, 15 Feb. 2015
By 
Richard Morton (Bristol, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
So here we are with our merry band of survivors for a fourth season of undead drama. I felt this season was an improvement on the third season, introducing some interesting new ideas and scenarios while giving us the big pay off to a long running storyline which was missing from the end of the previous year.

Things pick up pretty much where we left them last year - our guys holed up in the prison. As well as fighting the walking dead (obviously) there are other problems to contend with now - internal conflicts, a particularly nasty viral outbreak, a murder mystery of sorts and more. Before long, things are amped up even further by the return of an old enemy.

As we move along there's some inventive plots and characters added to widen the scope of things. Some of these new characters are clearly expendable (they may as well hang shoot/stab me signs around their necks) but unlike many other series, The Walking Dead still retains that idea that NO-ONE is safe and anything can happen.

There are certainly some slower, steadier episodes and storyarchs but anytime it seems like things might be slowing a little too much, something bonkers happens to twist the knife (literally) to keep you on your toes. Overall then, another quality year and there seems to be plenty of options for where to go with Season 5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Welcome to Terminus, 4 Jan. 2015
By 
Mr. R. W. Graham (Lincoln, U.K.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Walking Dead - Season 4 [DVD] [2014] (DVD)
Picking up where season 3 left off, with Rick and the other survivours trying to build a new life for themselves in the prison after escaping from the Governor. But sadly their peace and safe haven proves to be short lived as they find themselves on the run once again and separated. One of the bleakest shows on television is back and as good as ever. Yes it can be slow and if you are expecting zombie attacks every 5 minutes you might be in for a disappointment as this is more of a survival drama. In fact, interestingly for a show about zombies, the z word is not mentioned once in the series with the creatures being called Walkers and these are the traditionally slow moving zombies that kill, are horrible to look at and are definitely not interested in dating you only eating you. Don't get too attached to any characters in this series as no character is safe and anyone can get killed at any time and more new characters join the regulars in the second half of the season leading to what they hope is another safe haven called Terminus. Slow, but gripping and tense with excellent performances with some human characters who can be just as horrific as the Walkers and not a show for the squeamish, leading into a tense cliffhanger setting up season 5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The storylines are extremely imaginative with brilliant actors to boot - it draws you in, 24 Jan. 2015
By 
A. Cooke - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Walking Dead - Season 4 [DVD] [2014] (DVD)
I had bought seasons 1-3 box set of "Walking Dead". After that; I could not resist going for season four. Whilst watching this series...you Never know what to expect...the shocks, inside every building, behind every door, every corner of a room...whilst watching one scene, it really, made me really jump! I laughed immediately afterwards. You can become addicted to "Walking Dead" and for me its akin; to putting a big box of chocolates next to a chocoholic! The storylines are extremely imaginative with brilliant actors to boot - it draws you in, you become oblivious to your surroundings...I have a collection of Zombie films ranging from dire to very good, such as the excellent "Zombieland". For me though "Walking Dead" Is the Best... that I have ever seen, with all the effects. I Can't wait for season 5. It deserves Awards.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very entertaining. Make sure you watch Seasons 1 - 3 first., 13 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As an amazon prinme customer I was able to watch season 1 to 3 for free. I enjoyed it so much, I paid for season 4. I havent bought a TV box set online before and I dont regret it. I have enjoyed all 4 seasons. I would recommend you watch 1 to 3 first because they follow on with very little gap inbetween. I'd say that all 4 seasons are supposed to take place over 1.5 to 2 years. I watch this through my PS3 and have surround sound. The surround sound is better in seasons 3 & 4. just the little things like crickets chirping but also a big gun fight is superb. Walking dead isnt for everyone... my wife isnt too keen.. its quite gory at times and extremely realistic.
Im sure a lot of money was spent on special effects. As with the previous seasons, the season finale leaves you wanting more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The pacing of this season is spot on with a great deal of emotion and some nice development of secondary ..., 6 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Walking Dead - Season 4 [DVD] [2014] (DVD)
This season probably is the most explosive and exciting yet.

The series picks up a short while after where series 3 left off, with the group having swelled and prospered in the Prison. The series operates in what is becoming a familiar format, build to an exciting mid-season finale and then slowing down again before picking up for the actually season climax.

The pacing of this season is spot on with a great deal of emotion and some nice development of secondary characters.

I guarantee when you watch the Season 4 finale you will not be able to stop yourself watching the first episode of season 5 straight away!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just gets better and better ..., 16 Oct. 2014
By 
D. Oliver "Technical Architect" (Surrey, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This TV series just keeps getting better and better. This series we learn more about the other main characters in the group as they pick up the pieces from an episode that shapes the rest of the story from now on.

The acting is just first rate making the microcosm of this world seem so realistic. Were events happening in the Macro still do not seep in, however there is the odd hint, especially when three newcomers join the group on a secret mission.

You will laugh and cry in equal measure becoming more attached to the characters hoping against hope that they continue to survive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fear The Dead, Fight The Living (No Spoilers), 17 Aug. 2014
By 
Quinn (England, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is one of the best seasons of The Walking Dead so far with many new characters and lots of action despite a relatively slow start. Season 4 opens with Rick and the gang living at the prison and battling a host of problems from the undead to betrayal. The producers of the show have outdone themselves as the walkers are somehow scarier and more gruesome with some real 'hold-your-breath' moments amidst the character development and new faces. The mid-season finale Ep.8 'Too Far Gone' and haunting Ep.14 'The Grove' are particular highlights this season with an intriguing cliffhanger in the final episode. Overall, The Walking Dead is a superb series with a good balance of unexpected twists and action with characters you can't help but root for as they battle the constant fear of the dead and the living.

Additional note: At the time of writing, the 'download per episode' situation on Amazon Instant Video is due to this season currently airing on UK Channel 5 (5*) so Amazon is matching their schedule of two episodes per week. While it is quite expensive per episode it is a good way to avoid those annoying TV adverts and it's suitable for those wanting to catch up or re-watch ahead of the DVD release on 29th September 2014.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 268 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Walking Dead - Season 4 [DVD] [2014]
The Walking Dead - Season 4 [DVD] [2014] by Andrew Lincoln (DVD - 2014)
£15.43
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews