Customer Reviews


151 Reviews
5 star:
 (128)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Album
As a massive Anastacia fan, I was very excited to here that despite her second battle with breast cancer, Anastacia was recording a new album. I will admit I was concerned at the previews, I thought there were way too many ballads. However since buying the album I've realised its an amazing album. My favourites include: Pendulum, Stupid Little Things, Underdog,...
Published 11 months ago by David

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
bit disiappointed with this album, found it depressing!!!
Published 8 months ago by Donna


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Album, 15 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Resurrection (Audio CD)
As a massive Anastacia fan, I was very excited to here that despite her second battle with breast cancer, Anastacia was recording a new album. I will admit I was concerned at the previews, I thought there were way too many ballads. However since buying the album I've realised its an amazing album. My favourites include: Pendulum, Stupid Little Things, Underdog, Resurrection, Evolution, Staring At the Sun, Lifeline, Dark White Girl and Oncoming Train. The other songs are all growing on me as well. Only song I'm not sure about is Left Outside Alone Part 2.... not a fan of the arrangement, but it also has grown on me.

Overall, I love this album and I'm addicted already.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Like a Phoenix rising from the ashes, Anastacia's back!, 6 May 2014
By 
D. C. Stolk (The Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Resurrection (Audio CD)
"Resurrection" is the sixth studio album by American singer-songwriter Anastacia, her first new studio record since "Heavy Rotation" (2008), but following chronically on her 2012 covers-album "It's A Man's World." The title of this new album refers to Anastacia's courageous reappearance after a period of physical and emotional pain, when she overcame breast cancer for a second time.

The power ballad "Staring At The Sun" is a great track to open this album, a hook-laden song propelled by her powerful and unique voice, followed by the slower, emotion-laden "Lifeline," before switching to the intense "Stupid Little Things," a very catchy pop anthem that is a true showcase for her immense vocal range and in which she belts in classic Anastacia style: "Now I know what love is worth in a broken world, But I can't get past the hurt, 'Til I give up on these stupid little things!"

Next is the tugging-at-the-heartstrings piano-ballad "I Don't Want To Be The One." The upbeat pop track "Evolution" is another album highlight, and you truly believe her when she sings: "It took everything to have to come this far." The somewhat bombastic "Pendulum" is another upbeat power-pop track. This is followed by the raw power ballad "Stay," in which she sings: "I'm not ready to go just yet, So I'm gonna stay," letting us know that she hopes for a bright future.

"I can see the light of day, Even through the rainy haze," she sings in "Dark White Girl," another upbeat pop song. This is followed by the beautiful piano-ballad "Apology," which is in turn ensued by regular album closer "Broken Wings," another album highlight and showcase for her fighting spirit. "Anyone would give up, but not me, not now," sings Anastacia in this ballad. "Even with broken wings I can do anything."

The deluxe version features 4 more outstanding songs: the rocker "Other Side Of Crazy," followed by the soulful piano-ballad "Oncoming Train" in which she sings: "Is it the light at the end of the tunnel, Is it the end of all my troubles... Or the light of another oncoming train." Next song "Resurrection" is another powerful and heart-wrenching piano-ballad in which she sings about "There's a new sun rising." And then there's "Left Outside Alone, Pt. 2," a bare-bones, piano-driven version of one of her most successful singles to date.

With "Resurrection," Anastacia not only makes a statement about her past battle with cancer, but also announces what should be her triumphant return to the radio and the charts in a big way, as there's not a weak track on this incredibly powerful, emotional and personal album. And although the album is a bit ballad-heavy, this is a triumphant return to her signature "sprock" sound (a hybrid of soul, pop and rock), with songs as only she can belt them out. It's great to have her back!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The return of a great voice!, 17 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Resurrection (Audio CD)
The CD has a very beautiful graphic design, the pictures are great. About 3 hits, but most of the record is full with ballad songs. It is good to have this beautiful voice back in action and touring again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The resurrection of Anastacia, 5 May 2014
By 
Mr. D. K. Smith (South Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Resurrection (Audio CD)
Resurrection is Anastacia's first album of original material since 2008's Heavy Rotation. Written and recorded during her second battle with breast cancer, it's natural that this, and also her recent divorce, has informed much of the writing. But overall Resurrection is a hopeful record which sets out to prove that her life, and career, are far from over.

'Staring at the Sun' is a strong album opener and leads into 'Lifeline'. Despite the fact that she doesn't share writing credits on either songs, both tracks feel like personal statements about her life in recent years. Third song, 'Stupid Little Things' is a definite move upbeat, and showcases her vocal talents to the full.

'I Don't Want to be the One' is another heart-breaking ballad, which is followed by 'Evolution' which is a nice change of pace as again it's another upbeat song, as is track six, 'Pendulum'. 'Stay', one of seven tracks co-written by Anastacia, could be a reference to her cancer battle - witness the lines "I'm not ready to go just yet/So I'm gonna stay".

'Dark White Girl' is another solid song which leads into the penultimate track, 'Apology', another classy ballad. The album closes with 'Broken Wings' which sees the singer vow to continue, no matter what obstacles life throws at her.

The deluxe edition of the album contains an additional four songs - 'Other Side Of Crazy', 'Oncoming Train', 'Resurrection' and 'Left Outside Alone (Part 2)'.

Although the album is a little ballad-heavy, Resurrection is still a very strong return from Anastacia, with plenty of good material. A welcome return.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must have, 5 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Resurrection (Audio CD)
Anastacia returns to her true potetnial and form - a stunning album - highly recomomned. Loved all tracks except one but eventhat is listenable just not spectacular like the other album tracks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars amazing, 28 Nov. 2014
This review is from: Resurrection (Audio CD)
I saw her live in 2005 and it was the best concert id been to by far I love every single track on this cd its just a shame it didn't perform all that well , a superb return to form
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible voice, passion and feeling., 6 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Resurrection (Audio CD)
Amazing album! Somehow Anastacia has become completely underrated over the past 5 years, this album shows she's absolutely still at the top of her game. A real must have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Transcendent Return, 5 May 2014
By 
The Wolf (uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Resurrection (Audio CD)
Only one word will suffice here. Knockout. (I've been a fan since the
beginning so expect extreme bias here...!) 'Resurrection' is easily the
finest release of Anastacia's career so-far. There's a raw emotion
in the voice which time and again really does make the hair stand up
on the back of your neck. Always a great instrument, here it reaches
for another level entirely. These are World-class performances.

There are ten tracks in the standard edition and every one's a gem.
There are few singers who can deliver a big, full-bodied rock
anthem with the energy and conviction of this lady and there are
some real corkers here! The dramatic opening song 'Staring At
The Sun' has Ms Newkirk ripping into it as though her life depended
on it (the power of her lower register had grown remarkably since we
last heard her on her 2012 album of covers 'It's A Man's World');
the tenderness and regret articulated in 'I Don't Want To Be The One'
clearly digs deep into something intensely personal but delivers a
universal punchline which anyone who has loved-and-lost will easily
connect with (have a box of Kleenex to hand!); so too the sublime
'Stay', arguably one of the finest vocal performances of her career
and a song which encapsulates her bravery and instinct for survival.

'Resurrection' is a transcendent display of strength, recovery and self-belief.

Essential.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fab album, 9 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Resurrection (Audio CD)
Gotta love this album. Great songs, great music - very easy to listen to! A must for all her fans! (Especially Broken Wings song it's great!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars She's back in top form!, 15 Aug. 2014
By 
P. S. Knight (CHELTENHAM,ENGLAND) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Resurrection (Audio CD)
A welcome return from "the voice",so powerfull & emotional.Only a short album,but all songs are excellent,well worth a listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Resurrection
Resurrection by Anastacia (Audio CD - 2014)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews