Customer Reviews


84 Reviews
5 star:
 (43)
4 star:
 (21)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars IT'S TIME TO A REMASTERED EDITION.
This is the 2000 dvd release of this aclaimed 1990 film. Unfortunately transparencies are really noticeable at certain scenes and there's some visual "noise" on the background of all film, like it was a direct transfer from video. I own a VHS copy and there're almost no differences at all as that video release was a superb one. Dvd sound is really exceptional, and that's...
Published on 6 Jan 2011 by Alexander1746

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Poor picture quality(Blu-ray version)
This is one of my favourite war films. So I was very exited when I saw it was to be released on Blu-ray. But after watching it I feel let down . The picture is only slightly better than on DVD. So I would recommend saving your money & wait to see if a remastered version is released.
Published 4 months ago by Mr. A. Smith


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars IT'S TIME TO A REMASTERED EDITION., 6 Jan 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Memphis Belle [DVD] [1990] (DVD)
This is the 2000 dvd release of this aclaimed 1990 film. Unfortunately transparencies are really noticeable at certain scenes and there's some visual "noise" on the background of all film, like it was a direct transfer from video. I own a VHS copy and there're almost no differences at all as that video release was a superb one. Dvd sound is really exceptional, and that's all...no extras but the official trailers. It's a double sided dvd, one with the full screen version and the other one with the widescreen (same contents). No extra timing or deleted scenes. No doubt, the making of of this film would have been invaluable. I wish it was available a remastered edition in the near future for one of the best war movies of all times with an incredible casting. Meanwhile, I can't recommend this dvd for any special reason.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Brilliant!!!, 24 Jan 2002
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Memphis Belle [DVD] [1990] (DVD)
This is a superb film from every point of view, marvellous acting,super direction and a realistic and convincing storyline.
It really brings across the fear and dispair that these aircrew of WW2 felt and the huge battle each individual had to fight within himself.The air battles are very convincing and although you always feel that the aircrew will just about survive it's still tense stuff.The aircraft and all ground support equipment are all most convincing and you almost feel that you are back in the 1940's.
Altogether a most entertaining and thought-provoking film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Film, Bad DVD, 23 Aug 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Memphis Belle [DVD] [1990] (DVD)
I got this in an Amazon sale for under £5 so not much to complain about, but beware the quality of the image is poor by today's dvd standards.

That said, it does not detract from the movie which remains a good telling of a good story with a very good balance between character, plot and action. It's tense with a feeling of isolation and claustrophobia, even if they are at 10,000ft, well conveyed. Neither gun-ho nor guilt ridden enough to be classed as a classic war movie, it nevertheless flies near the top of the aircraft based films about the war.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's just really, really great!, 13 Sep 2003
By 
Richard Stanley (Chase Terrace, Staffs United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Memphis Belle [DVD] [1990] (DVD)
It's probably best to ignore the odd bad reviews that some people have given this film because they are incorrect (officially).
This film has everything that you could want out of a Second World War bomber crew movie and even possibly a bit more. The acting is good and the soundtrack is wonderfull. I have watched this film at least 15 times and I have not yet grown bored of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent tribute, 11 Nov 2001
this film gives you a real insight to the fears and hopes of many of our bomber heros of WW2, with breath taking cinmatography and real footage. It is a little perdictable and you just know that they will make it home safe but at the same time it does have you on the edge of your seat. A billiant tribute of all of those who fought and died in the worst war of the 20th century. i give it a big thumbs up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WW2 Aviation at it's best, 27 Oct 2010
By 
B. D. Compton "Gettysburg" (Johannesburg,South Africa) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Memphis Belle [DVD] [1990] (DVD)
This film is a factually based film of a B19 bomber on its final bombing mission over Germany. After completing 30 bombing missions over Germany and getting back to their base in Suffolk, England, they would be sent back home to America and take no further part in the war.

As many people know this was hardly ever achieved, most being shot down well before the completion of their 30th mission. Well, the crew of the "Memphis Belle" achieved this feat and the film is about this achievement.

The film is superbly directed and the acting of then reletivately unknown actors is superb with authenticity taking a front seat.An acqaintance of mine who was a Bomber pilot in WW2 and who saw the film, said the whole film took him back to those dark yet glorious days due to the authenticity and attention to detail on the flying and the complete film.

No collection of WW2 DVD's would be complete without this very fine film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Blu Ray Transfer, 23 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Memphis Belle [Blu-ray] [1990] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Just got the Blu-Ray version (playing on a new Panasonic Blu-Ray player) but the clarity didn't seem to be any better than the older original DVD version. The film itself is one of my all time favourites and will always be 5 stars for me, but I've dropped dropped to 4 stars for the Blu-Ray version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mephis Belle - Beautifully filmed, emotional, good acting and an eye opener of days gone by, 21 Sep 2014
By 
This review is from: Memphis Belle [DVD] [1990] (DVD)
With so much focus on streaming content these days, prices of disks have become very affordable. We recently picked a handful of movies that we had not seen or just wanted to see again and add to our disk inventory, and purchased them through Amazon. Glad we did - has been fun watching them.

Memphis Belle was an amazing watch for your entire family, and an eye opener to the past for the younger ones in our crew. I understand that this is essentially historical fiction wrapped around real people, a real plane crew and events that did occur over a period of time. The way it was put together, the connection and emotion between the cast of characters, and the outstanding filming of this movie, all combined to hit home with grandparents, parents and teens in our gang.

This movie inspired our then almost-high-schooler to delve more into the Memphis Belle and read about the actual events and plane. Last year we even were lucky enough to attend a fly-in by the B-17 that played the part of Memphis Belle in the movie! Though the cost of the ride-along was out of our reach, we must have watched four or five take-offs and landings from the downwind end of the runway! We watched each touchdown as the B-17 returned, and felt the prop wash for each takeoff as the pilots ran up the RPMs before letting the big plane rumble down the tarmac and lift into the sky. Awesome day.

Out entire family enjoyed this movie and it inspired us to further learning. Well done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oft Forgotten but Very Fine and Well Made Film, 4 Mar 2007
By 
Mr. A. E. Hall "brother_of_sadako" (Liverpool, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Memphis Belle [DVD] [1990] (DVD)
Memphis Belle was a film I first saw at a very young age and it has remained one of my personal favourites ever since.

The film tells the (dramatised truth) of the last flight of a B-17 bomber during WWII. It is slightly clichéd and not overly original, but it is good, old fashioned cinema and a couple of hours of well-made enjoyment.

Many of the actors such Sean Astin (Samwise Gamgee holds the honour of ball-turret gunner) have gone on to very successful careers. The directing is very engaging and keeps you hooked to the screen throughout the drama.

Overall, there are just so many likeable things about the film, from the acting, the story, the action, the directing and music to the good natured fun of it, and yet nothing that is dislikeable about it. All in all, a top notch film and a personal favourite of mine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Poor picture quality(Blu-ray version), 23 May 2014
By 
Mr. A. Smith (notts england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Memphis Belle [Blu-ray] [1990] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
This is one of my favourite war films. So I was very exited when I saw it was to be released on Blu-ray. But after watching it I feel let down . The picture is only slightly better than on DVD. So I would recommend saving your money & wait to see if a remastered version is released.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Memphis Belle [Blu-ray] [1990] [Region Free]
Memphis Belle [Blu-ray] [1990] [Region Free] by Michael Caton-Jones (Blu-ray - 2014)
£10.80
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews