Customer Reviews


337 Reviews
5 star:
 (95)
4 star:
 (37)
3 star:
 (25)
2 star:
 (38)
1 star:
 (142)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is a captivating film - but a divisive film that is not for everyone's tastes
Possible Spoilers

This is a film that has taken nearly 10 years for Director Jonathan Glazer to bring to the big screen, and had Glazer and his crew guerrilla filming north of the Scottish border. Adapted from Michel Faber's novel of the same name, the film discards virtually all of the book's `landscape' and the irony of commercial farming. The story of...
Published 4 months ago by Amazon Customer

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars I AM LOOKING FOR THE POST OFFICE,
The basic storyline is a female alien drives a van through Scotland seducing men.

The film opening has a faint muffled voice. It is the alien being learning to speak. What appears to be an alien comes to Scotland and tricks men into coming into her world where they can't walk on water. I wasn't sure if this was real science fiction or something like that Jake...
Published 4 months ago by The Movie Guy


‹ Previous | 1 2 334 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Highly Original Future Sci-Fi Classic, 26 Aug 2014
By 
William Mason (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Under The Skin [Blu-ray] [2014] (Blu-ray)
I loved this film, and I think it is destined to be a future cult classic. Scarlett Johansson plays an alien life form who takes on a human body, in the style of Jeff Bridges in Starman. However, unlike the kindly and well intentioned Starman, in this movie the extra-terrestrial has a malevolent purpose. She entices horny single men back to her lair, which is a mundane and rundown estate house in the Scottish Highlands. The house, Tardis like, disguises an other worldly dimension, where the alien undresses, leading the men into a strange substance which looks like a cross between oil and mercury. The substance mutates and dissolves the bodies, leaving behind only the skin. We're never told why the men are used in this way, whether it is for the alien to learn about human biology, or for sustenance. One of the victims is a horrifically disfigured virgin male, who looks a bit like the Elephant Man, and the sequence of his seduction and entrapment is mesmerising. As the alien experiences more of human life and culture, including our food, music, architecture, kindness, and even sex, she starts to let her guard down, and softens her behaviour towards human beings. This, ultimately, leads to her fate, a chilling sequence in a forest. This is a slow moving and beautifully shot sci-fi thriller. Ms Johansson has limited dialogue, she conveys most of her thoughts and feelings through her eyes and body language, and I found her performance spellbinding. She appears naked in a few scenes, which is no great hardship for the male viewer. There is very little CGI, there is no need for it, the film is highly original and relies far more on ideas than effects. The film score is suitably eerie and memorable. If you like quirky, weird and inventive sci-fi, which doesn't need to hide behind CGI, i.e. movies like The Man Who Fell To Earth (David Bowie), Starman, and Altered States (William Hurt), there is a good chance you'll enjoy this film. If you like fast paced, gung-ho, effects laden sci-fi, i.e. movies like the Transformers and Star Wars franchises, you might find this movie too off the wall to be palatable. I strongly suspect that over the next 10 to 20 years, this film will develop into quite a cult classic, especially when word gets around about how much time Ms Johansson spends naked. Jane Fonda shedding her clothes in Barbarella was a major factor in that film becoming a celebrated cult classic, and I can see Ms Johannson's decision to do the same in this movie, having a similar effect on the future status of this film. So, what next for the talented Ms Johannson? A remake of Barbarella, please, to be directed by Luc Besson, now that would be something to behold.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply brilliant...but not for everyone., 5 Aug 2014
By 
Soze (Plymouth, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Under The Skin [Blu-ray] [2014] (Blu-ray)
I don't think I've ever seen such a polarizing film. 50 one star reviews, 48 five star with little in between. I can understand why some would struggle with it, it's very slow, low on dialogue and places a lot of emphasis on mood, imagery and atmosphere. Personally I adored it and can't wait to see it again. Found it a compelling, intriguing and captivating watch with a fantastic performance from Johansson, a great score and some beautiful direction. Certainly not one for everybody but those of you who like your movies a little more surreal it's a must see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, thought provoking and creepy, 22 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Under The Skin [Blu-ray] [2014] (Blu-ray)
This has to be one of the best films I’ve seen in a long time, but I certainly can see why many people wouldn’t get it. This a film that doesn’t spoon feed you anything, it lets you make up your own mind about what’s going on and the themes and social commentary are only implied. I imagine a lot of people will look passed most of the films subtleties as many aren’t looking for something to engage you in this way. Many people want to ‘switch off’ in movies, this movie needs full attention.
The visuals and sound design are breath taking and I felt this was definitely worth the extra for Blu-ray. Scarlett is insanely good as the lead and her performance drew me in while being totally creeped out. I also applaud her nude scenes, that are well shot and not over sexualised. They don’t feel forced and are actually important for the film.
This isn’t for everyone. If you’re hoping for massive budget alien ships, explosions and convoluted dialog stay clear. This is a slow, unnerving film with little dialog but speaks volumes in its visuals and subtle story elements.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Strange, baffling but eventually rewarding, 14 Aug 2014
By 
Richard Morton (Bristol, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Under The Skin [DVD] [2014] (DVD)
Well this is a tough one to review, an atmospheric but largely plotless sci-fi/drama that's definitely not going to be everyone's cup of tea.

Remember the 90's sci-fi slasher pic Species? This is kind of the art house version of that flick. Scarlett Johanssen plays an alien in human form who is driving and drifting through the streets of Glasgow (I think) looking to entice male companions back to her mysterious, dilapidated house. What happens to these fellas from there is kind of unclear although one memorable, eerie, underwater sequence gives us a few clues. Scarlett has an apparent helper or supervisor following her at a distance on motorbike, who occasionally gets involved in proceedings. Plot wise, that's about it.

It took me a while to get into it and accept the fact that not a great deal actually happens but it did gradually engage me. Johanssens performance is distant and restrained but perfect for the role as more of a watcher of human behaviour. We see through her eyes some of the best and worst of human behaviour as she moves through a series of offbeat encounters before things take a slight turn in the latter stages as she goes a little off mission.

Director Jonathan Glazer creates a strange, eerie atmosphere in general, enhanced by the almost constant, unsettling score which hums and beats along in the background. There's also some cracking out of town scenery in the second half if that floats your boat.

I'm a sucker for a bit of sci-fi, even the slow paced, moody type on offer here so I found much to enjoy in the end. There's no easy answers to the films many questions though and one glance at the star ratings on here show it's very much a marmite experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I thought this was an unusual film and nicely original., 8 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Under The Skin [DVD] [2014] (DVD)
I thought this was an unusual film and nicely original.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars captivating visuals make it all worthwhile, 8 Aug 2014
By 
Leslie Gardner (london, england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Under the Skin (DVD)
this has spoilers because i cannot help it

the visuals are sensational - after a few 'pick ups' we see what's happening although it makes no sense to us - just as it wouldn't if it were really to happen that aliens were here - we'd not understand - i thought her basic humanity, making sure they were solitary men, was a step in the right direction - maybe it got long - driving through grim cities and countryside looking for solitary men (I was strangely also pleased that it was this way around- not the usual female victim) - but the final scene and some of the visuals of the countryside were exceptional. the supporter to cleans up after her is another unexplained mystery - i suppose we need to know who is mediating her experience - none of those questions are salient - it's that final moment when she is herself that counts after attempted rape - yes, scarlett johansson is v good - she can go from staring alienation to friendly chit chat in a breath - it's a small film, but worth watching - utterly a manifestation of the film medium and that's also what i loved about it - no concessions to verbal explanations - why bother, right? well worth seeing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Stick with it, it's well worth the effort., 9 Aug 2014
This review is from: Under the Skin (DVD)
This is a hauntingly beautiful film, and is worth watching for the cinematography alone. For the first part of the film, when the protagonist, Laura, is "hunting" her prey, the constant repetition seems unnecessary, but it sets the scene for her disillusionment. I spent that part of the film unsure of what was happening. Even before you find out who (or what) Laura is, the stark contrast in her behaviours, and the alien nature of her reactions is chilling, and makes for compulsive viewing. The film has echoes of "Moon", where very little seems to happen in the beginning, but the twists later on in the film are worth the wait. This could really become a cult classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved the film so had to buy the CD, 5 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Under The Skin [DVD] [2014] (DVD)
Loved the film so had to buy the CD. This soundtrack is not for everyone but if you enjoyed the film, you should also enjoy the music.
What I found extremely moving whilst also disturbing was the track titled- Love. Listen to it, Perhaps you may feel something that I have and still do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars when you're a stranger, 21 Jun 2014
By 
schumann_bg - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Under The Skin [DVD] [2014] (DVD)
It is not often that you see something genuinely strange, but the atmosphere of this film certainly is that, in a thrilling way. It dares you to go with it open-eyed, to allow it to open a door in the mind that hasn't been pushed open before, using extraordinary visual effects and sounds (but not a flying saucer among them). The images are often very beautiful, not least of which are those of Scarlett Johanssen herself, who is an "effect" in the film. There is also quite a lot of the everyday, shown in almost documentary style, and it is the interface between the two that makes it so intriguing and utterly original. It is best not to know too much, but anyone who enjoyed Birth is likely to be very receptive to this, which is almost as good. Jonathan Glazer has once again used a very alluring actress in a scenario that is so full of mystery and strange resonances that you wonder how he can possibly bring it to a conclusion ... The fantastic score is another factor common to both, and a strange uniformity of tone and colour, although here bleak weather in Scotland, whether in Glasgow or the open country, or on the coast, is set against a starkly different dimension, mirroring the greater ambition of the new film (although Birth had more emotional depth). Johanssen is amazing in the lead; I did wonder how strange her view really was, though, as I tend to feel quite alienated myself from those around me and regard their reactions with some sense of otherness, rather as she does. I'm not aware of any gloopy interface, but could one be an alien without knowing it, possibly? At all events, the whole alien/human thing seems to be called into question, which is no bad thing ...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Kubrick would have loved it!, 13 Aug 2014
This review is from: Under the Skin (DVD)
Boy, Kubrick would have loved this! Cold, startling and very hard to fathom. This is love it or hate it in the extreme. I didn't even bother showing it to my wife.
Not a good advert for Scottish tourism, this paints a bleak picture of the place, and like Scarlet Johansson's alien we become observers of real everyday human life. This is a strange but rewarding experience which also offers some disturbing imagery of what happens to the young men the alien seduces, in one of the most original and startling sequences of the year.
Loses a bit of interest in the second half, but picks up for a riveting ending. This is very well shot using real people as well as actors and has a disturbing and well created soundtrack.
Worth seeing if you fancy something a little different to the run of the mill!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 334 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Under The Skin [Blu-ray] [2014]
Under The Skin [Blu-ray] [2014] by Jonathan Glazer (Blu-ray - 2014)
£10.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews