Customer Reviews


283 Reviews
5 star:
 (212)
4 star:
 (45)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very Good!
This is an author that i am definitely going to remember. This book was very hard to put down and I loved that! It was set in Ireland, which i found to be very different and interesting. I found it made a change and set it apart.
This book had many good qualities. It had mystery, suspense and an alpha male which i loved.
The only thing i didn't like very much...
Published 6 months ago by FreeWithFiction

versus
11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not for me
I struggled to finish this. It started well, but as the book progressed, there was a complete lack of character development. This book consisted of shouting and arguing over nothing. I like alpha males and sassy females, but the characters in this book were immature and couldn't have a conversation without getting offended and abusing each other. Where was the part of the...
Published 11 months ago by Megan


‹ Previous | 1 229 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very Good!, 13 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dominic (Slater Brothers Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
This is an author that i am definitely going to remember. This book was very hard to put down and I loved that! It was set in Ireland, which i found to be very different and interesting. I found it made a change and set it apart.
This book had many good qualities. It had mystery, suspense and an alpha male which i loved.
The only thing i didn't like very much was the main character. She only annoyed me a little.
It started of well, she was sassy and didn't take any crap from anyone.
However i noticed that she cried a lot over the littlest of things and seemed to say things before thinking thus hurting people. To me, she came across as a bit annoying, but only in some parts. By the end she redeemed herself and for that i was thankful. L. A. Casey is a very good writer and has created one great book. I'm glad there are going to be more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funny & Feisty, 10 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dominic (Slater Brothers Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I really did like this book, it was quirky, sexy, sassy and fun with an air of danger to boot. The banter between the 2 main characters of Bronagh and Dominic is well written and very funny in places with some real good one liners! There were times when I wanted to slap Dominic, but I must say I really liked him in the end. I absolutely, loved Bronagh's character she was feisty, mouthy and in general bat shit crazy, what's not to like? The book also dealt with some deeper issues which I also found well written but very sad. Over all a good read. It won't appeal to every one, but if you don't like this kind of book then don't read it...simples. A good solid read, I look forward to the next book from L A Casey ;D
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Dominic, 2 Nov. 2014
This review is from: Dominic (Slater Brothers Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I received this book from the author in return for a fair and honest review.

First things first, there is a reader note at the beginning of the book that I highly recommend you read before starting this book as it will make an impact on how you read it.

OK, so onto the story itself. Bronagh has locked away her emotions and won't allow herself to care for anyone apart from her sister. She is bullied by Jason Bane at school and out of it and is currently enjoying the fact that he isn't at school due to a prolonged holiday. Dominic arrives in town with his brothers and, along with his twin Damien, is in Bronagh's home-room. They instantly clash and comments are flying.

The clash of personalities made me smile and laugh out loud on more than one occasion but I would seriously take note of the warning in the synopsis. This book started with a bang and carried on in the same vein. I have to say that although I was loving the storyline as a whole there were parts that I didn't enjoy. The verbal abuse/bullying from Dominic reminded me of playground material, not the behaviour of an 18 year old, the constant high adrenaline drama, the constant fist fights between Dominic, Jason and Gavin and how Dominic was friends with Jason one minute and not the next was giving me whiplash. Bronagh was just as bad in her own way though so I'm not sure if this is a good thing or not!

There are twists in this book that L.A. Casey is very clever at bringing into the storyline which will keep you interested in the outcome and invested in the brothers. However, for me, I was also very happy to finish this book as I felt overloaded with drama. Perhaps it was too much of a good thing but I just know that I'm glad my life isn't like that or my nerves would be shot!

On the whole, I really enjoyed this book, the characters and the storyline but it was a bit too much on the drama side for me to give it 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars these here Irish eyes are still smiling, 29 Sept. 2014
By 
Jenn Green (Bath, Pennsylvania) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dominic (Slater Brothers Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
*****5-these here Irish eyes are still smiling-Stars*****
~this review contains minor spoilers~

“Don't mind them, the a$$hole talking to you is Alec, the prick on the right is Kane, and my older brother Ryder is in the house with Damien.”
Dominic, Damien, Alec, Kane, and Ryder.
Oh, my God, their names are just as sexy as they are.
“It's a pleasure.” Kane smiled to me after a moment.
“The pleasure is all mine, Mr. Slater.”
Dominic's suddenly grabbed hold of mine. “All right, that's enough of that.”

“Are you going to stare at my brothers all day or are you going to come with me?” Dominic asked in an impatient tone.
“If that is a legit question, I vote to stay here and stare at your brothers all day.”

That. Was. Bloody Friggin Brilliant!! I mean-WOW, I cannot believe this was a debut novel, L.A. Casey won me over hard core with this one. I should point out, you really need to take the authors note to heart. This is far from your typical romance- it's violent, gritty, raw, and dirty, these characters all swear like sailors, are not afraid to take a swing at each other, and when they argue it gets pretty nasty and intense. Luckily for me- I LOVE that snit! This is exactly how I love my romances best- emotionally charged, steamy and messy. As a hott tempered Irish woman myself, I've got nothing on this crew, even the women are totally bada$$, rough and tumble. This book just completely blew me away.

Ever since my parents died I have been closed off and guarded. I didn't like the idea of getting attached to someone new knowing that they could be taken away from me. That's why I chose not to make friends with anyone at school or anyone at all really; it was too risky.

Nine years ago, when Bronagh Murphy's parents died, her sister Branna became her legal guardian and Bronagh shut herself off from everyone and everything around her. She has become nothing more than a shadow at school and that's just how she wants it. But when the Slater brothers roll into town and she meets Dominic, her entire world gets flipped upside down and she doesn't know what the heck to do about it.

“you have been nothin' but a pain in me ar$e. You tease me, make fun of me, and today you made me feel like absolute crap, so excuse the fluck out of me for bein' pi$$ed at your mood swings. You go from bullyin' me to defendin' me all in the space of a few hours. Who the fluck does that?”

Dominic Slater is used to getting what he wants, when he wants it, however he wants it, no questions asked. He's never had a girl tell him no before and no one has ever reacted to him quite like Bronagh. All of his attempts to pull her out of the shadows are met with hostility and violence. But she intrigues him like no other and he wants her more than she could possibly know, even if she pi$$es him off more often than not. He is determined to make her his and he will make it happen by any means necessary- even if she is kicking and screaming (literally) the entire time.

It felt like he was saying he wanted all of me. Too flucking bad he couldn't have me. He was dangerous; he made that clear each time I encountered him, and I just couldn't have him in my life like that. He could break me.

Bronagh doesn't know what to do about Dominic. She hates him with a fiery passion, but she can't deny he stirs feelings in her she's never experienced before. It doesn't help matters that his mood seems to swing faster than a pregnant woman on hormone overload either. She is afraid of her feelings towards him but she wants him, he pi$$es her off but turns her on, she doesn't know how to sort through all the emotions blazing through her and wants nothing more than to hide back in her corner-if only he'd let her.

I felt my heart begin to pound as butterflies erupted across my stomach. He can make me so livid with one action then completely happy with another. I didn't know how to separate my feelings when it came to him.

All of this adds up to some pretty knock down – drag out fights. When these two go head to head, no one is safe from the fallout. But Dominic doesn't give up, he is always there-in her face, in her space-fighting with her or anyone who gets in his way.

“He put his hand on what's mine, don't flucking tell me I don't have something to prove.”

This book had me in it's thrall right from the start, wondering what the heck would go down next?! The chemistry (both good and bad) between Dominic & Bronagh was friggin explosive-that dude was able to turn me on and tick me off all in a matter of seconds. Then the author managed to floor me with a twist I never saw coming on top of it all which just added to the tension...I LOVED her for that! There was sooo many layers and drama for miles, I couldn't calm down or stop reading. And don't even get me started on the rest of the Slater brothers; I have become a Slater addict and L.A. Casey is my dealer. My only true regret is not being able to get into Dominic's head as the book is told entirely from Bronagh's POV. I really would have liked to hear just what the heck he was thinking or feeling more than once. In the end, I HIGHLY RECOMMEND this book!

“That's something you should know about me, baby. Once you're mine, I won't ever let you go. I'm a stubborn prick eighty percent of the time, so even if you want to leave me, I still wouldn't let it happen.”

Happy Reading xo Jenn @ BookwormBetties
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not for me, 26 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dominic (Slater Brothers Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I struggled to finish this. It started well, but as the book progressed, there was a complete lack of character development. This book consisted of shouting and arguing over nothing. I like alpha males and sassy females, but the characters in this book were immature and couldn't have a conversation without getting offended and abusing each other. Where was the part of the book where they got to know each other? This wasn't for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What dominic wants, dominic gets..., 3 April 2014
This review is from: Dominic (Slater Brothers Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Wowzers
What.a.book.
Seriously
DOMINIC (slater brothers)...
Ok so I'm going to be honest and say I was dubious on whether or not to read this or not.
I was in 2 minds because its a high school romance and even though young love is sweet and all that I like a bit of rawness and hotness. You know? HOT sexy possessive men.
Anyway having read the description the alpha male part won me over..(I'm sooo glad I did)

From the Beginning of this book...I was hooked,line and sinker.
I absolutely loved loved Bronagh ooh dear she was funny.
I don't think I've ever laughed so hard at a book. At one point I was laughing that hard my husband looked at me like I was crazy
She is such a b***h
Loved Dominic (I didn't to begin with because at the start he acted like a douche bag) but he eventually won me over. He's possessive witty and sexy as hell. I totally forgotten he was a high school boy he just didn't come across like that.
It isn't over the top with sex but it's real dirty and crude and just what I wanted to read
Added to the mix as well was his 4 sexy other brothers..
Damien (Dominic twin)..Kane..alec and Ryder.
Just yummy.
And they are all going to have a book of their own can't FREAKING wait.
Loved it and I can't wait to tell all my friends about it.
Would definitely recommend xxx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wish I hadn't waited so long to read Dominic!!, 8 Aug. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dominic (Slater Brothers Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
this book had me hooked from start to finish I literally could not put it down! I was up till the small hours of the morning finishing it!
it had me laughing so hard at times but there were some tears shed as well
did I mention that Dominic is HOT AS HELL??? omg he had me totally swooning! and he also has 4 other brothers one being his twin I swear my ovaries almost burst!
its one hell of a book and definitely a must read!!
L.A Casey is just amazing!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars So good! Didn't put it down., 1 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dominic (Slater Brothers Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
God I love the Irish accent. I know I couldn't hear it, but I totally read this whole thing Irish in my head.

There's fiesty short tempered Irish sisters Bronagh and Branna, and there's a whole bunch (5! there are 5 of these gods) of ridiculously hot American brothers.
Ryder, Kane, Alec and Twins (yay!) Damien and Nico.
If that right there isn't enough to make you pick this one up I don't know what will...

Every character in this book seemed to have a short temper and I loved this about them.
Bronagh and Nico get under each others skin from the minute they meet and their fighting, as said by Dominic, really does turn into a kind of foreplay for them.

It's not all fights though, there is actually a really good story running through and when everything finally came to a head I couldn't stop reading. The characters and their relationships with one another are great too. I love it when it's not just about the main two characters and you get to fall in love with the whole lot of them.

This book really surprised me and I really liked it, it's definitely one I'll read again and I can't wait for the next books about the other brothers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Unimaginative, inappropriate and neurotic., 29 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dominic (Slater Brothers Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I must admit I struggled with finishing this book. The start was promising but a third of the book in and I just wasn't interested. Everything that was happening was predictable and felt like there was not much point to keep reading.

'Dominic' is a love/hate/love/hate again relationship between two older school children. The story started well with the characters appearing dynamic and full of panache. However it soon became a bit too much for me I'm afraid. I don't mind macho men in books of this genre but Dominic verged to the abusive. Bronagh started as being ballsy and independent to being quite neurotic.

Some of the sex scenes are well described, passing the message of the passionate relationship between Dominic and Bronagh across well. However, given the nature of the book, the young age of the protagonists made it all quite uncomfortable to be honest. I know teenagers are no angels but some of the scenes in the book would definitely fit confident and experienced lovers better.

Unfortunately this was not a book for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An okay read, 13 July 2014
This review is from: Dominic (Slater Brothers Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
2.5-3/5

So I'm a bit conflicted on this book. On the one hand I liked it, it was interesting and kept my attention. On the other there were a lot of things I did not like, the main one being the two lead characters. Especially Dominic. He was just an out and out prick. Not because he curses a lot because I don't mind that at all, but because he was just an a-hole. I get that he's possessive and most of the time I don't mind that but Dominic just took it to a whole new level. He got so jealous and aggressive he would get into fist fights for the most ridiculous things. The only good thing about him that I could see was that he was good looking. Other than that I really don't know what Bronagh saw in him. He has some serious anger issues. And so does Bronagh. Granted I did like that she stands up for herself and doesn't let him push her around but the two of them get into so many fights it was insane. And I don't mean verbal. They actually got into a couple of physical fights. I just felt like their relationship was not healthy and I didn't understand why they were together. They weren't the only people who got into fights. The people in this book were so violent! It was really unnecessary.

Now there were things that I liked about the book. I enjoyed the secondary characters, especially the other Slater brothers. I think I will like their books more. Their back-story was interesting and I want to learn more about them all. I really want to read Damien's book. I loved him, he was such a sweety. This book was also quite humorous, there were many laugh out loud moments.

This is the first book by Ms Casey and although it wasn't perfect, I know that there are many people out there who will love it. I will continue to read the other books in the series and I hope I will enjoy them more.

(There were a tonne of grammatical errors throughout the book but because I received an ARC copy I will assume that these will be rectified in the final copy. This didn't affect my final rating.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 229 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dominic (Slater Brothers Book 1)
£1.80
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews