Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Easy Book on U.K/ Europe relationship - Pros and Cons Unbiased - EXCELLENT READ
A lucid argument that leaves the reader with the major arguments to evaluate and decide. A book that ought to be read by all who are interested in the dispassionate and unbiased reasons for U.K place in or out of Europe. I have read it and re-read some of the arguments!
Published 5 months ago by fred

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good simple summary
Does a good job of setting out the 'in' or 'out' arguments from a generally neutral position. The split of the topics into chapters makes is readable, and the summaries at the head of each chapter are good.

Easy to read journalistic style, but It's a bit simplistic, and does not really get to analyse the arguments, and just reports 'A said this and B said...
Published 25 days ago by Bownham


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Easy Book on U.K/ Europe relationship - Pros and Cons Unbiased - EXCELLENT READ, 5 July 2014
A lucid argument that leaves the reader with the major arguments to evaluate and decide. A book that ought to be read by all who are interested in the dispassionate and unbiased reasons for U.K place in or out of Europe. I have read it and re-read some of the arguments!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Separates myths from facts, 3 Nov 2014
I can't recommend this book enough, as the debate over EU membership hots up. There's an odds on chance of a referendum on EU membership by 2017, and this book should be - figuratively - required reading for anyone authorised to vote if it comes to pass. The author devotes a chapter to each of the major issues and debating points helping us understand the dividing line between myth and fact, and why each of the micro-arguments matters in the context of the wider debate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clear, concise and - unusually for books in this ..., 3 Aug 2014
Clear, concise and - unusually for books in this field - balanced. Read this for a non-partisan guide to Britain's EU relationship.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good summary of the pros and cons of EC membership, 26 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is well written and provides a balanced view of the pros and cons of continuing our membership of the European community. It is also very up to date which is welcome as it makes the points made much more relevant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good simple summary, 3 Dec 2014
Does a good job of setting out the 'in' or 'out' arguments from a generally neutral position. The split of the topics into chapters makes is readable, and the summaries at the head of each chapter are good.

Easy to read journalistic style, but It's a bit simplistic, and does not really get to analyse the arguments, and just reports 'A said this and B said that'. ( What about C ? ).

The numbers would be much more accessible if they were tabulated. ( There is only one table in the book and that is copied straight from another publication ).

Another chapter exploring the options for 'out' in more depth would have been useful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars thoroughly good read, 31 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Europe: In or Out?: Everything You Need to Know (Kindle Edition)
I'm a floating voter when it comes to Europe. I found this to be concise on the areas covered, unbiased, and I will be recommending it to others to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everything about EU membership, 17 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Europe: In or Out?: Everything You Need to Know (Kindle Edition)
Some comments imply a small amount of partiality, but overall this sets out the pros and cons of EU membership very well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Money Well Spent ?, 6 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Europe: In or Out?: Everything You Need to Know (Kindle Edition)
40 Years ago I listened to all the arguments and voted NO. Nothing has happened since to change my view. This very interesting book has re-in forced my opinions that I do not wish to be part of an increasing Franco-German Club! However,if one voted Yes ,you're view probably won't change either ! The only question remains as to whether at a conservative £30 Million per day Membership of the Club is good value--- To my mind --NO.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Concise but very readable, 29 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Europe: In or Out?: Everything You Need to Know (Kindle Edition)
short chapters, key facts, summary of all the arguments. a very readable book about a subject that is usually written either a little dry or full of one eyed hyperbole. you do however have to be interested in as balanced view and for a conclusion that needs you to make the decision.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Balanced, 12 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A very balanced view. Read before you preach either way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews