Customer Reviews


184 Reviews
5 star:
 (163)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I bought the book for the nostalgia but ....
Having recently hit the big 50 I have become big on rekindling links to my lost youth. I bought this book for the nostalgia tales: The Slits (very underrated band); punk; and Ms Albertine's friendships with Sid and Johnny, Joe and Mick. This part of the book (Side One) was fascinating - I never know punk London was so small - virtually every punk anyone appears - along...
Published 11 months ago by M. Smith

versus
1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good, fun read
A quite brief book, which was absorbing enough to complete in a day. A good, fun read, written very honestly.
Published 5 months ago by Pootle


‹ Previous | 15 6 719 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Look At Me, Listen To Me, Be Impressed By Me . . ., 13 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Clothes, Clothes, Clothes. Music, Music, Music. Boys, Boys, Boys. (Kindle Edition)
Just in case there's any doubt that this should be in the "Oooh, Look At Me" section of your lending library, Viv Albertine entitles the opening chapter of her autobiography "Masturbation". She claims the practice itself doesn't do it for her (so to speak) but you could argue the whole book is an exercise in it. Albertine is instantly unlikeable as a person, but just like one of her many rockstar conquests, as a reader she targets you, reels you in, snogs you senseless, and then moves on. The first half of this book is effectively a manifesto for being the girlfriend from hell (I WILL sleep with your friends, I WILL sleep with your rivals) - and what emerges is the story of someone who doesn't need boyfriends, fellow band members, partners, friends, or husbands, she just needs people who will bolster her big, fragile ego, or 'muses' as she calls them. But not liking the author as a person doesn't mean you can't like her as a writer, because she has a great story to tell and she is brilliant at telling it (thank god she talked the publishers out of using a ghost-writer). And in the end (ie now) bereft of her 'muses' (divorce leads to friends melting away), a new Viv Albertine emerges, uncertain and unsteady, but increasingly determined, and ultimately, much more likeable. Terrible title, great book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I loved The Slits back in the day and so loved ..., 26 Feb. 2015
By 
Pix (london UK) - See all my reviews
what a ride this book is. So honest. I loved The Slits back in the day and so loved the memory lane trip but equally fascinating is what leads them from childhood towards a life in that bizarre rock/pop world bubble and then what happens afterwards when limelight fades on them and they disappear from the public gaze. Her zest for life and art and meaning is inspirational. Thanks Ms Albertine. x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars 2books, 1 Mar. 2015
By 
J. Sutton "Joe32" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Clothes, Clothes, Clothes. Music, Music, Music. Boys, Boys, Boys. (Kindle Edition)
Many will be drawn to this like I was by the stories of the early punk movement but the writer really comes into her own some years after that as we are drawn into the desperate struggle to have a child and the loving and losing that follows. Should have been called baby, baby, baby, marriage, marriage, marriage, cancer, cancer, cancer. Excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Insight of a Pioneer, 15 Feb. 2015
This review is from: Clothes, Clothes, Clothes. Music, Music, Music. Boys, Boys, Boys. (Kindle Edition)
Up there with the very best autobiographies I have read. An honest, frank and insightful account of a creative woman and her lifetime of challenges and how she has faced them head on. Marvellous and I wish her well for her future. I have no doubt given the qualities she has described it will be eventful but successful in her terms.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Understated but describing a life packed with creativity and extraordinary events, 2 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Clothes, Clothes, Clothes. Music, Music, Music. Boys, Boys, Boys. (Kindle Edition)
I love the order and categorisation. The truth of the title reflected throughout the book with detailed descriptions of each. I' m a 70s child so the events and people have resonance. The author seems so normal in comparison to the life she leads. Who needs a novel if a real life has so many twists and turns!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, quite harrowing in parts., 27 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Clothes, Clothes, Clothes. Music, Music, Music. Boys, Boys, Boys. (Kindle Edition)
The first part is that 'cool kid meets other cool kids' narrative that you sort of expect, but it goes on into deeper and darker places than I anticipated. What makes this book so very good is that Albertine doesn't give a monkey's if anyone likes her or not, and that gives this book a raw honesty that is well-nigh irresistible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully written from start to finish, 5 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Absorbing read, hard to put down. Beautifully written from start to finish, but to me the most interesting chapters are where the author makes crisp observations from the chaotic and turbulent mid-seventies rise and fall of punk. Splendid namedropping. Much recommended, a future classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Extraordinary, 22 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Clothes, Clothes, Clothes. Music, Music, Music. Boys, Boys, Boys. (Kindle Edition)
Never a punk fan, wrong generation, I read this on the strength of the reviews.
Totally frank account of a unique period in music, and her life afterwards
She's a survivor, that's for sure
Up there with Alan Johnson's "This Boy, as a great autobiography
T.D
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ... Young and Donald Fagen books last year I was recommended to read this by a friend and thought I ..., 23 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Clothes, Clothes, Clothes. Music, Music, Music. Boys, Boys, Boys. (Kindle Edition)
Having read both the Neil Young and Donald Fagen books last year I was recommended to read this by a friend and thought I wouldn't enjoy it. How wrong was I ? Always entertaining , brutally honest and well written . What more could you ask for ?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 12 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great book for girls, highly interesting and enjoyable
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 15 6 719 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews