Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Should be compulsive reading.
Knowing that you are being sold to is always a great advantage. Quite simply, this book will help you understand what is happening around you and make it less likely that you will be suckered into paying more for the things you want. Unless you want to be the ignorant victim of sales techniques, buy this book.
Published 12 months ago by Nicholas Pennington

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pretty good for the sections on house buying/selling and car ...
Pretty good for the sections on house buying/selling and car buying, but I didn't find much value in the rest.
Published 8 months ago by jtm


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Should be compulsive reading., 29 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Don't Buy It! (Paperback)
Knowing that you are being sold to is always a great advantage. Quite simply, this book will help you understand what is happening around you and make it less likely that you will be suckered into paying more for the things you want. Unless you want to be the ignorant victim of sales techniques, buy this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential reading if you are moving home, 14 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Don't Buy It!: The tricks and traps salespeople use and how to beat them (Kindle Edition)
The author David Craig claims in his blog that the tips in this book will probably save you the cost of the book many times over and in time most likely thousands of pounds. It sounds corny but having read the section on Estate Agents I think it is probably true!

We are just starting to view houses and in preparation I read through the section on Estate Agents first. I'm in business and like to think myself pretty wily when it comes to negotiation but this book flags up so many things to look out for and so many ways in which both buyers and sellers are ripped off that I think just about anyone would let a few slip by if they weren't forewarned. We've only had a few contacts so far through viewings but I've already seen some of the techniques described being applied.

Any prospective seller should read the (perfectly logical) explanation of why estate agents are not really interested in getting the highest price for the seller but shifting properties through their books as fast as possible, why estate agents will put far too high a valuation on a seller's house (only to back-track once they are signed up) and so on and so on. Amongst many other things, buyers need to be aware of the estate agent's "spider's web" and why your conveyancing solicitor and surveyor may not be acting in your best interests.

I don't think I can give a better recommendation for this book than to say that I believe that many people looking to move home really would save themselves thousands of pounds if they read this book BEFORE they put their houses up for sale or started viewing properties.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy it and save money, 14 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Don't Buy It!: The tricks and traps salespeople use and how to beat them (Kindle Edition)
Buy the book, save money or at least know when you are being manipulated and know how to counteract the tricks of salespeople. The first two chapters on buying a house or a car are very illuminating. The succeeding chapters on general selling techniques are useful if only to be able to spot standard techniques. The chapters on timeshares are probably a bit dated now but still interesting and the back end of the book gets a bit technical and draws on the author's earlier occupation as a sales techniques trainer.

But, all in all, a very useful book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth the price., 29 May 2014
This review is from: Don't Buy It! (Paperback)
I've really enjoyed reading David Craig's books across the years and this was no exception. Whilst my personal preference is for the big picture books such as Squandered this is an excellent introduction to how to avoid the worst excesses of "rip off Britain". I find it hard to believe that anybody who read this book would not be able save multiples of the cover price in terms of more educated spending decisions. I would also thoroughly recommend the author's eye opening snouts in the trough blog.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Do buy it, 8 April 2014
By 
A. Howard (Ferndown, Dorset, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Don't Buy It! (Paperback)
This book is an eye opener. Intuitively you know that salespeople use these techniques, but sometimes it's hard to respond appropriately. This book gives you the inside track, so you can more easily counter the patter they give you.

The book is easy to read and understand, and is well worth the tenner or so. It is well presented and as Mr Craig says on his website, will probably save you more than you spend.

It is a good investment - Do Buy It
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exceptionally Helpful, 17 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Don't Buy It! (Paperback)
If only I had bought this before my string of new cars I would be thousands richer.

Just reading some of the tricks and tips makes you more savvy to these salesman tricks. I'm a tough cookie when it comes to negotiation, but there would be a couple of these that I reckon may have made it past me.

Definite read if you're moving house or buying a car. You won't get stung with the £4 kindle price on this. A worthy investment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Puts you in the correct frame of mind when approaching the purchase of a new car, 26 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Don't Buy It! (Paperback)
Interesting books which is worth a read. This turns on its head the notion that it is possible to complete an easy straightforward purchase when a salesman is involved because they will take your approach as licence to maximise their commission rather than returning your gesture of openness and good faith. Probably essential reading before anyone trying to buy a new or used car sets foot in a dealer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Certainly DO BUY IT., 16 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Don't Buy It! (Paperback)
I am on the third chapter and have already learned how to save thousands of pounds.

Even if you are just about to change your car at a main dealer you need to read the chapter on car buying to learn the dealer's tricks awaiting you.

Be forewarned - this book is invaluable!

It is an easy read....and a very rewarding one too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pretty good for the sections on house buying/selling and car ..., 6 Sept. 2014
This review is from: Don't Buy It! (Paperback)
Pretty good for the sections on house buying/selling and car buying, but I didn't find much value in the rest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars If you are a Martin Lewis Money Saving Expert Fan then Read This Book, 20 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Don't Buy It!: The tricks and traps salespeople use and how to beat them (Kindle Edition)
An easy read by an author with an axe to grind., but one you will find yourself nodding along with in agreement as you read.
Some of the points made are obvious but are well explained.

The chapters on estate agents and car salesmen are essential reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews