Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars LLLL (Live, Love, Learn, Laugh)
Lykke Li's new album is the final part of a trilogy, following debut "Youth novels" and follow-up, "Wounded rhymes". If "Youth novels" was the part of flirtation, and "Wounded rhymes" was the part of obsession, these 9 new songs are the part of mourning. This set proves that Lykke Li is positively maturing as an artist, she hasn't lost her knack for penning great...
Published 12 months ago by Scarlet Jupiter

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Ok
Music not for me
Published 3 months ago by Coppertone


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars LLLL (Live, Love, Learn, Laugh), 5 May 2014
By 
Scarlet Jupiter - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: I Never Learn (Audio CD)
Lykke Li's new album is the final part of a trilogy, following debut "Youth novels" and follow-up, "Wounded rhymes". If "Youth novels" was the part of flirtation, and "Wounded rhymes" was the part of obsession, these 9 new songs are the part of mourning. This set proves that Lykke Li is positively maturing as an artist, she hasn't lost her knack for penning great melodies; each of the tracks is a ballad, yet, every song has something different to recommend: acousting guitars, gorgeous strings, towering drums, gospel choirs. It's a relatively short album by modern standards - just 33 minutes long - beautifully conveying heartache, loss and desolation. That brevity works in its favour, easily someone could argue that the failures of love and self pity could be tiresome across a whole album. If, by the time final track "Sleeping alone" comes to a close, you feel like reaching for the play button once again, do not be surprised!

Apparently, "I never learn" is meant to be the album that will turn Lykke Li from Swedish cult artist to international pop star, despite her protestations that she's really a singer-songwriter. She was firm recently in asserting her desire to be viewed as a singer-songwriter as opposed to a pop artist. That would probably be a genuine concern from a real artist, I don't think many would doubt the fact that Lykke Li is an astounding musician (can I just point out, also, her uncanny resemblance to Lady GaGa on the album cover?). Unlike most third instalments, "I never learn" is anything but a disappointment, it is an album with no flaws or imperfections, full of truth and beauty. Perhaps some sort of joy against which to measure the pain could be employed; still, just like with love itself, no one can ever be sure about what to expect when falling in love; for some, it's a blessing; for others, it's a curse. I'm on Lykke Li's side, so hey.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another beautiful collection of songs, 14 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: I Never Learn (Audio CD)
I can't stop listening to this. Lykke Li has that unique sound with a soulful/gospel inflection. It's less poppy than her previous stuff and it makes for an absorbing listen. The best songstress out there right now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars but then discovered that the rest of the tracks are just as good. I would never have guessed that I would ..., 14 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: I Never Learn (Audio CD)
I bought this album primarily on the TV advert, Shotgun, but then discovered that the rest of the tracks are just as good. I would never have guessed that I would have listen so much to a modern music set. Just goes to show you can teach an old dog new tricks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Lykke Li - 'I Never Learn', 3 Mar. 2015
By 
Pete H (Newcastle UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: I Never Learn (Audio CD)
To call Lykke Li's third LP bleak would be putting it mildly. Penned following a particularly brutal break-up, this collection of 10 tracks is awash with sadness, despair and regret. The highlight is 'Love Me Like I'm Not Made of Stone', a beautiful ballad backed only by a scratchy acoustic guitar, with Li's vulnerable vocal cracking under the pressure towards the end. It's genuinely upsetting. The only misstep is 'Heart of Steel', with a choir-backed crescendo that veers a little too close to 'X-Factor winners single' territory. Otherwise, 'I Never Learn' is a beautifully affecting ode to the perils of love and loss.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An exceptional talent, 31 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: I Never Learn (Audio CD)
Another wonderful album from Lykke Li. Possibly the best of her three studio albums to date, it is tuneful and lyrically thoughtful. She seems to be pouring out her heart on this one. Basically Lykke has the natural ability to write a good melody line and every track on I Never Learn is excellent.

Whether you are a Lykke Li fan or not I would suggest this is an album worth having in your collection. So can I find any fault in it? Only that it is a bit short at 33 minutes and nine tracks. I would have liked more!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 26 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: I Never Learn (MP3 Download)
Amazing album!!!Great,unique and deep voice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bought all three of her albums since Jo Good (Capital radio) played Get Some on her Sunday show ..., 19 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: I Never Learn (Audio CD)
Bought all three of her albums since Jo Good (Capital radio) played Get Some on her Sunday show on Radio six some years ago.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars it's simply a fantastic album from first song to last, 23 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: I Never Learn (Audio CD)
As a longtime fan it's hard to be impartial - but here goes . . . it's simply a fantastic album from first song to last!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 25 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: I Never Learn (MP3 Download)
Great songs. Beautiful singing. Super backing especially acoustic guitar and drums without needing lots of electronics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 8 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: I Never Learn (Audio CD)
Brilliant album her voice is incredible a must have.arrived in about a week but well worth the wait.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

I Never Learn
I Never Learn by Lykke Li (Audio CD - 2014)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews