Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for fans
This was originally intended as a free novel to be posted on Karen Chance's website as a thank you to her fans. Unfortunately, the publishers didn't quite see it this way and, pointing to the contract indicated publishing rights. Consequently this is no longer a freebie, but a discounted novel.

A full length novel (not a short) it is loosely based on the Cassie...
Published 6 months ago by lyra

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not the same gripping experience
As a huge fan I was very excited to see this story come through on my recommendations list. Unfortunately I struggled to follow the story line and kept losing interest, taking three times as long to get through. Hoping her next one will blow me away.
Published 2 months ago by Pen Name


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for fans, 21 Mar 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Masks (Kindle Edition)
This was originally intended as a free novel to be posted on Karen Chance's website as a thank you to her fans. Unfortunately, the publishers didn't quite see it this way and, pointing to the contract indicated publishing rights. Consequently this is no longer a freebie, but a discounted novel.

A full length novel (not a short) it is loosely based on the Cassie Palmer universe. Although this is a standalone, (based around a 'baby' 2 yr old vampire Mircea Basarab) you are more likely to enjoy it if you have read something from the Cassie or Dory series. Masterless and vulnerable, Mircea washes up in Venice as part of the flotsam and jetsam of the vampire world. He is picked up the madam of an upmarket Venetian brothel looking for slaves to service the vampire convocation. An adult novel, this starts off with some explicit scenes for team Mircia fans before settling down into Chance's signature style of humour, political intrigue and action based chaos.

Most of the characters significantly predate the Cassie/ Dory books but there are a couple of interesting cameos. Great value for KC fans, but perhaps not the best to start your Karen Chance journey, even though this is effectively a prequel. New readers should start with Touch the Dark or Hunt the Dawn.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth the Money, 23 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Masks (Kindle Edition)
I buy every book that Karen Chance brings out and I would never consider giving any one of them less than five stars (with rapturous feedback at that!) I was disappointed to learn that due to contractual issues with her publishers Karen would not be able to offer Masks for free as she had originally intended. Naturally however I was still going to buy it! Mircea is one of my favourite characters of hers and it was fascinating to catch a glimpse of him in his early years as a vampire when he was not a master, did not have a family around him and oodles of influence and wealth. Karen Chance's characters are so well constructed and believable that it is easy to pick up a book without Cassie or Dory in it (her main characters) and still be completely enraptured but Mircea obviously has had such a long and exciting life that it was marvellous to get to know some of it better. Exciting as always, funny as always and with a glimpse into the relationship between the consul and Mircea that definitely had me looking twice at what had been mentioned in Cassie's books, I would recommend Masks to anyone whether you've read some of the other books or none at all. Fabulous reading as always!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really good read, 12 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Masks (Kindle Edition)
I enjoyed reading this found Karen Chance a few years ago so had a full row to read then, but am now waiting patiently (not) for each new book to come out. Found this by accident and loved the background to the characters and now am annoying myself with thoughts of 'were they all there in the future?' Some stood out but others I will have to re-read the books to find them! Full length story not sure where it fits into the universe of books but read it before your read about Dorina. Check out Karen's website.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best yet of the Cassie Palmer series of books, 7 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Masks (Kindle Edition)
... and Cassie isn't even in it!

It's all about Mircea. And what a brilliant story Ms Chance weaves. Still only a hint of Mircea's pre-vamp roots, but you don't miss that tale at all, because you join Mircea on a roller coaster of excitement as he bonds with his fellow newbies, learns the ropes of his new situation in Venice, and observe the future leader and player starting to emerge.

It's a well balanced tale. Just enough descriptive to make you feel like you're actually with him in Mediciesque Venice. Development of characters cold, cunning, ruthless and lost. A plotline that grows as the main character's own awareness and understanding grows. And, just enough humour to make you smile, but not so much it stops being Mircea.

I have to give five stars because I thoroughly enjoyed this story, and Ms Chance has opened a path for us to have tales of some of the characters introduced here - should she so choose (hint hint), BUT.... I was so hoping to have a little more manservant/master time and feel poor old H sort of got left adrift on a gondola somewhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Love Karen Chance, 29 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Masks (Kindle Edition)
…and I do love Mircea. Such a great character. This story tells the tale of Mircea's first years as a vampire. I don't think you have to have read all the other Cassie Palmer books first - this book kinda stands on its own. A great read. Cannot wait for the next one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 13 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Masks (Kindle Edition)
You need to read these in the correct order to get the most detail. They took me a few pages to get into and now I cannot wait for the next installment. I love all the twists and turns.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars must read, 24 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Masks (Kindle Edition)
Love every thing karen chance has written perfect for readers of the cassie palmer or dorina series x x x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great addition to the lore, 22 April 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Masks (Kindle Edition)
Beginning life as a freebie short to the fans, Masks became a novel, then the publishers nabbed it, however it is worth the discounted price as its a good read and different pace and feel to the Cassie novels.

It shows something of the early life of Mircea, the handsome prince becoming a new vampire pauper in old Venice, becoming a slave to a madam, making new friends, coming to terms with his new state and falling into an adventure of the greatest weight to the vampire world . It does miss out a chunk of time near the end with a 7 years later event but those events are touched on in the other novels but I feel a little summery would have been much better, a few tit bits we didn't know or see in the other books.

Over all I would recommend all Karen Chances books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 20 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Masks (Kindle Edition)
This book was awesome! It gives you a glimpse of how Mircea came to be who he is and also a little sweet scene between him and Dorina, his daughter! Loved it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best authors, 12 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Masks (Kindle Edition)
Love Karen Chance books and this does not fail to please. This short story of one of the characters from the Cassie Palmer series is brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Masks
Masks by Karen Chance
£1.89
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews