Customer Reviews


55 Reviews
5 star:
 (39)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Holding On...To Black Stone Cherry!!
Finally, BSC's fourth has arrived and I was praying it was going to be better than the slightly disappointing 'Between The Devil And The Deep Blue Sea' - even though it contained some gems. Magic Mountain is twice as good as the third album; I was completely blown away by the monstrous first single 'Me And Mary Jane' which is definitely a contender for the best BSC song...
Published 2 months ago by MarkP

versus
6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bland Stone Cherry
Oh dear, what's happened to BSC? I'm not sure how people can think this is 5 stars and up there with their first two albums - something has been lost or missing with this 4th release. Its not a bad album, just very average. The guitaring is decent but the melodies have gone and there's no real hook to any song. It's just a bit....boring. I just hope this grows with time...
Published 2 months ago by Mr. A. P. Oliver


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Holding On...To Black Stone Cherry!!, 11 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Magic Mountain (Audio CD)
Finally, BSC's fourth has arrived and I was praying it was going to be better than the slightly disappointing 'Between The Devil And The Deep Blue Sea' - even though it contained some gems. Magic Mountain is twice as good as the third album; I was completely blown away by the monstrous first single 'Me And Mary Jane' which is definitely a contender for the best BSC song ever. Its catchy tune, great riffs, amazing vocals and mad drumming make it one of the best on the new album.

Best Tracks:

'Holding On...To Letting Go' - A great opener to the album. This song uses the Black Sabbath technique of swung quavers in a heavy rock song which is very effective and the screeching guitar solo is awesome.

'Peace Pipe' - Pure gold and an addictive chorus that you can't get out your head. The brilliant guitar work continues throughout the whole song with a strong bass line and, as in every track, the drumming will amaze you.

'Me And Mary Jane' - Genius

'Blow My mind' - This song contains the best riffs BSC has ever come up with along with a rocking verse and chorus.

'Sometimes' - The second and last ballad on the album and what a cracker! An outstanding vocal performance alongside pleasant acoustic guitar and passionate lyrics really gives this song some emotion.

'Dance Girl' - It has everything: a funky intro, electric sound effects and a classic duel guitar solo.

'Hollywood In Kentucky' - Just wow. This is exactly how Hollywood would be in Kentucky! It has a surpising yet tremendous ending that you have to listen to.

'Remember Me' - The longest track the Kentucky rockers have done; just over 6 minutes. It opens with a creepy electronic sound that pops up again in various points in the song. Unbeliable drumming and a killer guitar solo.

All of the other songs are still incredible apart from 'Never Surrender' which is too bonkers for me and Chris Robertson screams most of it.

Overall, 'Magic Mountain' is the finest BSC album for a while with consistantly quality tracks and beastly riffs and solos that Tony Iommi would be proud of! Also, you can't really hear the bass in previous albums, however here, John Lawhon is throbbing away like Geezer Butler. John Fred Young, what can I say, the best rock drummer around. Chris Robertson's growly rock n' roll voice is still going strong and the guitar playing from him and Ben Wells is excellent especially when both of them do a duel guitar solo. I would reccommend 'Magic Mountain' to any fan of rock and you won't be disappointed, add to basket now!! :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant album!!!, 13 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Magic Mountain (MP3 Download)
Another brilliant album by Black Stone Cherry if you like their previous three albums then you'll love this one. As for the best song I'd have to say Me and Mary Jane.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars take a ride on the Magic Mountain groove machine!, 6 May 2014
By 
Mr Blackwell (scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Magic Mountain (Audio CD)
I'm fairly new to the BSC world but this is great,a quite superb album,all the usual references are there that people have mentioned thru the reviews of their various releases,Sabbath/Zeppelin power and riffs,a touch of Southern rock and if i may,to my ears,i hear little nods to Masters of Reality circa the 'Blue Garden' disc.

There isnt really any weak moments here,most of the tracks have a groove of their own but combine catchy sing along choruses,such as 'Holding on to letting go' and 'Bad luck to hard love' while the excellent 'Peace Pipe' has a refrain with a commercial sheen that still rocks , the sort of level Bon Jovi could have reached had he got some dirt under his finger nails.

The rest stunning classic rock with the likes of single 'Me and Mary Jane' and 'Hollywood in Kentucky' holding the candle for Southern rock. Beast track,a close call but the Title track gets me every time..

A 5 star release,easily,if this doesnt take them to the top,nothing will.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bland Stone Cherry, 13 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Magic Mountain (Audio CD)
Oh dear, what's happened to BSC? I'm not sure how people can think this is 5 stars and up there with their first two albums - something has been lost or missing with this 4th release. Its not a bad album, just very average. The guitaring is decent but the melodies have gone and there's no real hook to any song. It's just a bit....boring. I just hope this grows with time but I'm not sure. A far cry from Folklore and Superstition :(
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another cracking album, 7 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Magic Mountain (Audio CD)
'Magic Mountain' is the fourth album by the Kentucky rockers Black Stone Cherry and the follow up to the highly successful 'Between the Devil & the Deep Blue Sea'

Positives:
I judge albums on a few criteria. Sound and Production, quality of songs, appeal and repeatability.
Black Stone Cherry have always used great producers and this album is no different. The album sounds fantastic. It's well mixed, loud, and consistent with the previously released material but also has a slightly retro feel that obviously comes from the bands wide range of southern and county influences. BSC have the right balance of a loud modern metal sound and vintage classic rock but don't suffer the problem of trying to be clones of bands of the 70s (cough cough Rival Sons) they have developed their own unique blended sound. The guitars in particular sound brilliant on this album. They're loud, fuzzy and squeal and pop like a true guitar should. They're not polished and compressed to death like you get with a Nickelback or Avenged Sevenfold album. They have room to breathe.

High quality written songs is what we have come to expect of BSC. We get a nice mix of heavy foot stompers, powerful ballads and county rockers. A lot of the songs relate to the troubles that Chris Robertson has been going through and that really gives them some strong meaning. Other songs are just about the good old stuff... smoking weed, drinking and getting laid. You can't go wrong with that! We get the expected big sing-along choruses and catchy riffs that will fit perfectly in with their previous material especially in the live setting. Highlights of the heavy songs for me include Holding On...to Letting Go, Never Surrender, Fiesta del Fuego and Dance Girl.
Out of the more mid paced and county inspired songs Hollywood in Kentucky and Remember Me are my personal favourites.
But this album contains something I believe to be very special...

Sometimes!

Easily the next Peace is Free or Things My Father Said. Quite simply one of the best ballads they have ever written. Chris sings with so much emotion that you really feel the pain of what he's feeling. "Sometimes I wish I could just rewind, Cause through all the tears I still want you hear with me"
Brilliant stuff.

Because BSC have mastered their combination of heavy metal, southern rock and county they do have massive appeal and I would recommend this album to any rock or metal fan. They do have such great crossover appeal. Songs like Never Surrender could easily be shown on Scuzz alongside the likes of Slipknot and at the same time Hollywood In Kentucky could be played on county radio. Their widespread appeal is best shown here in the UK. We have taken them in as our own and after their last sold out tour and headline spot in front of 40,000 people at Download festival they're coming back on their first ever headline arena tour!! Not bad for four lads from Kentucky. Both rock and metal fans can easily like this band, hell even county fans will like some of their stuff.

As for repeatability I think this album is strong enough to stand the test of time. The tracks are strong enough that you want to listen to them over and over again. It's definitely not a play once and forget album.

Negatives:
There are honestly not a lot of negatives to take from this album. No it's not the next Back In Black or Appetite for Destruction and time will only tell if songs like Me & Mary Jane or Dance Girl etc will be become anthems like Lonely Train, Blind Man or Boom Boom. Black Stone Cherry are not the next Led Zeppelin lets be realistic here. They're bloody good but not quite at that level.

Overall Magic Mountain is a strong mature album from a band who have now perfected their craft of making really catchy meaningful rock songs. So far it is easily the best rock album of 2014 and it will have to take something special to beat it. Black Stone Cherry are a band that every rock fan can enjoy and Magic Mountain is a stellar addition to their already fantastic bank of material. I look forward to seeing them in October.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Plug in, freak out, 5 May 2014
By 
Big Jim "Big Jim" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Magic Mountain (Audio CD)
BSC have a distinctive style and to be fair they don't stray far from the template which should please fans of the "If it ain't broke, don't fix it" ilk but maybe disappoint those who'd like to see the mould, if not broken, at least bent out of shape a little. I can appreciate both points of view but I'll come down on the side of the former group if only because, within the parameters they've set, the songs on here are just so darn good - memorable melodies with catchy rocking choruses, riffs a plenty and chunky insistent rhythms. What I also like is that even amongst all the hard rocking they can still give a ballad like "Sometimes" an air of authenticity that many bands just can't match. As one of the few groups nowadays performing what I consider "classic" rock I certainly appreciate what they're doing and thank goodness for that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars disappointed, 1 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Magic Mountain (Audio CD)
Lets start by saying I am huge BSC fan. Saw them in their 4 show concert this year, got all their previous stuff and had Magic Mountain on pre- order like any self-respecting fan. Heard the single Me and Mary Jane constantly on Planet Rock and the taster of a few songs from the album at their gig left me in excited anticipation at the release of the new album. Sadly, that's where the good news ends for me. I find the album overall quite bland I m afraid guys. There are usually a host of killer tracks on any ,BSC album that get to you straight away. Despite playing it several times in the car, I am struggling to remember many of the tracks and it left me reaching for another CD. I will persist with my listening but have to say that this is far from a classic unfortunately......and as a fan, that's hard for me to admit......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 14 July 2014
This review is from: Magic Mountain (Audio CD)
This album is exactly what it needs to be. Classic blc sound with a fresh twist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Magic Mountain (Audio CD)
excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 13 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Magic Mountain (MP3 Download)
Some good songs but some fillers. Think they peaked with the first two albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Magic Mountain
Magic Mountain by Black Stone Cherry
Buy MP3 Album7.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews