Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Child of DElight!
This has quickly become one of my favourite games. It's a sort of "platform RPG", with all the elements you'd expect - extra characters with different skills, skills that can be levelled up, Oculi (weapon gems) that can be crafted and attached for improvements, a story about saving the world and a tiny companion (although Iggy is useful and not at all annoying,...
Published 5 months ago by Chris Young

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars but not happy as it is a Christmas present and box is ...
Quick delivery. but not happy as it is a Christmas present and box is damaged
Published 5 days ago by miss G A Lytton


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Child of DElight!, 24 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Child of Light Deluxe Edition (PS3 & PS4) (Video Game)
This has quickly become one of my favourite games. It's a sort of "platform RPG", with all the elements you'd expect - extra characters with different skills, skills that can be levelled up, Oculi (weapon gems) that can be crafted and attached for improvements, a story about saving the world and a tiny companion (although Iggy is useful and not at all annoying, which makes a change).

Everybody talks in rhyme, and the writing is witty (one of the NPCs is cynical about mint, and another character struggles to speak in rhyme, which is a constant source of amusement). The art style is gorgeous, it has that hand-drawn look, and the close-ups when characters are talking reminds me a bit of Little King's Story (another superb pseudo-RPG). The musical score is fantastic throughout (it was composed by Béatrice Martin aka Cœur de Pirate, and the end song "Off to Sleep" inspired me to check out her other stuff - I also note the Child of Light soundtrack is available as an album).

My only complaint about the game is it ended too quickly - I got through it before I'd upgraded anybody to the skills which become available later in the game (which cost two skill points), however the difficulty (on "hard") and the learning curve is pitched perfectly up to that point. I should stress I don't think it was too short - just that I would have liked some extra time to level up a bit more, and some harder enemies to follow to make that worthwhile.

The deluxe edition comes with some extra in-game content, an A2 size poster (which I can't find a decent frame for), an art book and an Iggy keyring (I haven't tried powering him up yet, but he is weighty and seems good quality). I would have liked a physical disc with the game on, mostly because I don't trust "the cloud" and digital downloads not to do a disappearing act, but that's merely my paranoia.

The whole package is utterly superb, and if you join Aurora, Iggy and her friends you won't be disappointed. I'm hoping for a sequel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dream-like, 1 May 2014
By 
a.k. (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Child of Light Deluxe Edition (PS3 & PS4) (Video Game)
I ordered this without any previous knowledge of the title because, as a cynical and beleaguered man of 44 years, I am absolutely sick to the core of FPS and Racing franchises.
After ceaselessly mocking me for buying a "girlie kid's game" my 11 year-old got on the case of downloading the game from PSN (remember there's no disc), which took 45mins on BT Infinity, and then about 5 mins to install. My son then kicked the game off while I watched the 2nd half of the CL defeat of Chelsea, when I returned to check on progress I found him in a state of deep enthrallment and completely immersed in the gameplay, so much for a girlie game.

The in-game world is exquisitely realised, with a 3-D cut-out effect of the fairytale land where everyone speaks in verse and strange creatures lurk in the recesses. As it is effectively a side-scroller the right stick is reserved for your companion; a bright blue light who helps you with the puzzles. This character can also be controlled by a 2nd controller. There is a progressively harder RPG element but with a really impressive learning curve, so new-comers need not be put-off.

I would fully recommend this title to anyone looking for a change to the grind of shooting enemies in the face. Perfect scores from me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Such a beautiful fairy tale RPG game, 20 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Child of Light Deluxe Edition (PS3 & PS4) (Video Game)
Such a beautiful fairy tale RPG game, buying the collectable edition id say was worth it being very cheap not to mention it comes with both PS4 & PS3 versions allowing you to play through it twice and earn trophys twice :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Old and New combined., 8 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Child of Light Deluxe Edition (PS3 & PS4) (Video Game)
Absoulutely fantastic game.

The game reminds me a lot of old rpgs but with a modern aesthetic, the OST is a must have.

This version comes with a Igniculas keyring (probably spelling that wrong...), a small artbook, a small Poster, and 2 pieces of DLC as well as the code for the game itself. There is no disc, but for the price I can't really complain. Its not often a digital only game gets a physical collectors edition after all.

I think I'm maybe half way through the game at this point and I'm loving every minute of it. Combat is a great deal of fun surprisingly, taking place on a timeline at the bottom of the screen which decides when your action will take place. If you get interrupted you get pushed back a place on the timeline. You can also slow your opponents down with the edition of your firefly companion Igniculas. It is an elegant system and one that is easy to learn but difficult to master.

If I had one complaint and it isn't really the games fault or Amazons, its that Ubisoft decided to package the Deluxe edition in a flimsy cardboard box, with a plastic inlay inside to hold the keychain. The box was slightly dented after its journey in the post and is a real fiddle to get stuff out of. Personally I would have recommended something a little more sturdy and would have happily paid for it. Oh well...

Overall I can't recommend this game enough at the moment, and would seriously recommend buying it to anyone who loves RPG's or twisted fairytales.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Looks and plays like a childhood fairytale, 5 Nov 2014
This review is from: Child of Light Deluxe Edition (PS3 & PS4) (Video Game)
Child of Light is a beautifully illustrated game created with the UbiArt engine used to make the newest games in the successful Rayman series. This engine allows for brilliantly animated whimsical comic/hand-drawn sprites and has been used to create a number of fine-looking games so far such as Rayman Legends and Valiant Hearts.

In the game we find ourselves in control of Aurora, a young girl who has slipped into the mysterious and beautiful netherworld of Lemuria upon her death in real-life Austria. In order to return to her father, who has fallen gravely ill upon his daughter's apparent demise, she must collect the celestial bodies of the sun, stars and moon that have been stolen by nefarious baddies and return them to their rightful place.

The game plays out as a 2D scroller until you encounter an enemy. Then it becomes an essentially old school turn based RPG with a few additional tweaks here and there. Enemies and player controlled characters take turns in which to attack using a time bar displayed along the bottom of the screen, much like the Final Fantasy games of old. However, Igniculus, your firefly-like companion, can be controlled either with one of the analog sticks or by a second player and used to either heal the player's team or conversely slow down the enemies you are facing. Defeating enemies earns the player EXP which levels up their stats and allows them to become stronger. You will also receive one Skill Point per level which can be used to upgrade and unlock new abilities.

I found the combat to be frustrating and somewhat difficult at first (I played on the hardest difficulty setting). The fact that the player's team only consists of two members and the enemies consistently hit high damage points means that you will have dead team members on your hands on quite a regular basis. This can be frustrating as you come up against enemies that move speedily down the time bar as if one member is lost, your remaining member will likely take huge amounts of damage or die themselves. Also, if you choose to cast a spell or make an attack and the enemy hits you before you do so, you will be 'knocked back' and have to wait again in order to perform an action. This can be countered by defending, using Igniculus to slow down enemy attacks or by casting certain spells but it can be infuriating at times and one mistimed choice can result in your demise.

As your progress through the game, however, you acquire more party members which allows you to swap out unconscious members and makes things a little easier and more enjoyable. As you reach the latter stages of the game and unlock and upgrade abilities you should find yourself having more fun. The final part of the game is more tactical as you can attack multiple enemies at once and also heal multiple party members at the same time.

The game is a decent length. For the price you will likely get between 8 and 12 hours of gameplay, more if you decide to upgrade all characters fully (although this is absolutely not necessary to beat the game). The trophy requirements are simply achieved, allowing for an enjoyable and relaxed experience, even for the most ardent trophy completionist.

One note of warning about the story of the game: it is told completely in rhyme, which I have found to be Marmite-esque amongst most of the players who have purchased this game. Some people love it, others despise it. I didn't mind the style used myself and found a lot of the rhymes and turns of phrase very clever, although for some it might make the story a little hard to follow at times. Additionally, near the end of the game, the developers admitted to cutting out an entire final dungeon and sadly this is glaringly obvious as the end battle seems out of place and a little rushed, to the detriment, I felt, of the story.

If you hanker for the old days of proper turn based RPGs, you could do much worse than picking up Child of Light. Although there are a few problems with early difficulty balance and small party size, there is still an enjoyable game at its core. Included in this bundle's price are a few extras that serve to sweeten the deal further, including a poster by Yoshitaka Amano, a keyring, artbook and a couple of pieces of DLC.

One final warning: the game is not bundled as a physical copy, but as a PSN download code. Bear that in mind if you aren't a fan of digital only games!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Breath Of Fresh Air, 30 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Child of Light Deluxe Edition (PS3 & PS4) (Video Game)
Gaming has become very repetitive with all the military shooters/sports games and general rubbish being released but its games like this that remind you what games should be like.
Child of Light is a wonderfully calming and beautiful game with a charming story and a soundtrack that suits it perfectly.
Not a bad special edition either, the art book is disappointing as its only a few pages long but the keyring of Igniculus is cute and the poster has gorgeous artwork.

Definitely recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Watercolour Mixture of RPG and Platform Game., 3 May 2014
By 
Bruce "from Brighton" (UK - England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Child of Light Deluxe Edition (PS3 & PS4) (Video Game)
The "deluxe" edition of this game, is actually a bit sparse when you open the package. A poster, small art book and a key chain, which I could not get to light up, no matter what. But of course the most obvious omission is that instead of any discs, you get codes with which to download the game from the Playstation Network. If you have super-fast broadband, I have heard it can be done in less than an hour; but it took mine a whole afternoon to do this and I still prefer having discs, although I accept this is probably the way forward.

The game itself runs very well, with a nice graphic style that resembles watercolour paintings and surprises you with unexpected depths and detail. The soundtrack is also very good - atmospheric and haunting original music that comes across very well, to add to the slightly melancholy feeling of the premise. The child of the title, is hovering on the brink of death and is trapped in a world that she is desparate to escape and be reunited with her father. This has the dark elements of European fairy stories that are often sanitised for other cultures.

The gameplay itself is a mixture of a classic turn-based role-playing game (RPG) and a platform game, where the main character initially has to jump from one location to another, gathering bonuses and meeting enemies. Eventually she gains the ability to fly around and this makes some things easier - but also can damage your character's health. You start off with a firefly helper, who becomes more and more useful throughout the game - opening doors, healing characters, delaying enemies and lighting your way.

You also meet up with other characters, who can join your party and level up in classic RPG fashion - although it's slightly limiting that only one can join you in battles - but you can switch them around mid-fight and choose the best to deal with enemy stengths/weaknesses. The RPG element allows you to add skills every time you level up - which is very quickly at the start - almost a level per battle won. You add magic and combat skills, as expected. All characters seem to benefit and have slightly different grids to develop their unique group of attributes.

Overall, I enjoyed the RPG elements, the pleasing visual style, excellent music and originality of the plot. However, I felt frustrated by the platform nature and would always prefer a game where you can go to anywhere on the screen that you can see. In this game, you often see detailed backgrounds that can never be accessed and you are limited to the two dimensional plane that you see from right to left - it's not entirely linear - but at times it feels like you have little choice about where to go.

However - this is a game worth seeing for its design and the quality of its illustrations - I can see how this world of the imagination would be difficult to realise if you were allowed complete freedom and the compromise made, fits with the premise of being trapped in a dream world. Definitely worthwhile and it's nice to see something a bit different.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars but the stunningly beautiful artwork and careful level design more than make up ..., 7 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Child of Light Deluxe Edition (PS3 & PS4) (Video Game)
Forcing every single line of dialogue rhyme can be trying at times, but the stunningly beautiful artwork and careful level design more than make up for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great game, shame about the Bugs., 28 Jun 2014
This review is from: Child of Light Deluxe Edition (PS3 & PS4) (Video Game)
This was my first time ordering a product of this type, as it was a Psn digital game. I originaly expected to have the codes emailed to me on day of release or just before, for conviniance and efficiancy purposes. However this was not the case but that wasn't much of a problem. As I did order the deluxe edition so the added content came with it aswell.

It was all rather compacted into a small box, but everything appeared to work fine and not damaged. The keyring torch does work for me, I'm aware for some however that they were not soo fortunate.

Overall It's a great digital game, but the save deletion bug prevents me further from enjoying this unique tale of a game. Please Ubisoft Patch this game of the bugs so I can fully enjoy this product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great game, 31 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Child of Light Deluxe Edition (PS3 & PS4) (Video Game)
This is a really great game, it is very challenging but real good fun. Child of Light is an emersive game filled with wonders.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Child of Light Deluxe Edition (PS3 & PS4)
Child of Light Deluxe Edition (PS3 & PS4) by Ubisoft (PlayStation 3 / 4)
£15.85
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews