Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Child of DElight!
This has quickly become one of my favourite games. It's a sort of "platform RPG", with all the elements you'd expect - extra characters with different skills, skills that can be levelled up, Oculi (weapon gems) that can be crafted and attached for improvements, a story about saving the world and a tiny companion (although Iggy is useful and not at all annoying,...
Published 3 months ago by Chris Young

versus
1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not for me
I bought this for ps4, just for something extra to play, however i am quite dissapointed by the hype surrounding it, dont get me wrong its AMAZING how its made and how it looks but i dont really rate it, if like me you have a ps4, then go on PS Plus and download Trine 2, much better game in my opinion
Published 4 months ago by J-L


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Child of DElight!, 24 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Child of Light Deluxe Edition (PS3 & PS4) (Video Game)
This has quickly become one of my favourite games. It's a sort of "platform RPG", with all the elements you'd expect - extra characters with different skills, skills that can be levelled up, Oculi (weapon gems) that can be crafted and attached for improvements, a story about saving the world and a tiny companion (although Iggy is useful and not at all annoying, which makes a change).

Everybody talks in rhyme, and the writing is witty (one of the NPCs is cynical about mint, and another character struggles to speak in rhyme, which is a constant source of amusement). The art style is gorgeous, it has that hand-drawn look, and the close-ups when characters are talking reminds me a bit of Little King's Story (another superb pseudo-RPG). The musical score is fantastic throughout (it was composed by Béatrice Martin aka Cœur de Pirate, and the end song "Off to Sleep" inspired me to check out her other stuff - I also note the Child of Light soundtrack is available as an album).

My only complaint about the game is it ended too quickly - I got through it before I'd upgraded anybody to the skills which become available later in the game (which cost two skill points), however the difficulty (on "hard") and the learning curve is pitched perfectly up to that point. I should stress I don't think it was too short - just that I would have liked some extra time to level up a bit more, and some harder enemies to follow to make that worthwhile.

The deluxe edition comes with some extra in-game content, an A2 size poster (which I can't find a decent frame for), an art book and an Iggy keyring (I haven't tried powering him up yet, but he is weighty and seems good quality). I would have liked a physical disc with the game on, mostly because I don't trust "the cloud" and digital downloads not to do a disappearing act, but that's merely my paranoia.

The whole package is utterly superb, and if you join Aurora, Iggy and her friends you won't be disappointed. I'm hoping for a sequel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dream-like, 1 May 2014
By 
a.k. (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Child of Light Deluxe Edition (PS3 & PS4) (Video Game)
I ordered this without any previous knowledge of the title because, as a cynical and beleaguered man of 44 years, I am absolutely sick to the core of FPS and Racing franchises.
After ceaselessly mocking me for buying a "girlie kid's game" my 11 year-old got on the case of downloading the game from PSN (remember there's no disc), which took 45mins on BT Infinity, and then about 5 mins to install. My son then kicked the game off while I watched the 2nd half of the CL defeat of Chelsea, when I returned to check on progress I found him in a state of deep enthrallment and completely immersed in the gameplay, so much for a girlie game.

The in-game world is exquisitely realised, with a 3-D cut-out effect of the fairytale land where everyone speaks in verse and strange creatures lurk in the recesses. As it is effectively a side-scroller the right stick is reserved for your companion; a bright blue light who helps you with the puzzles. This character can also be controlled by a 2nd controller. There is a progressively harder RPG element but with a really impressive learning curve, so new-comers need not be put-off.

I would fully recommend this title to anyone looking for a change to the grind of shooting enemies in the face. Perfect scores from me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Such a beautiful fairy tale RPG game, 20 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Child of Light Deluxe Edition (PS3 & PS4) (Video Game)
Such a beautiful fairy tale RPG game, buying the collectable edition id say was worth it being very cheap not to mention it comes with both PS4 & PS3 versions allowing you to play through it twice and earn trophys twice :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Breath Of Fresh Air, 30 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Child of Light Deluxe Edition (PS3 & PS4) (Video Game)
Gaming has become very repetitive with all the military shooters/sports games and general rubbish being released but its games like this that remind you what games should be like.
Child of Light is a wonderfully calming and beautiful game with a charming story and a soundtrack that suits it perfectly.
Not a bad special edition either, the art book is disappointing as its only a few pages long but the keyring of Igniculus is cute and the poster has gorgeous artwork.

Definitely recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Watercolour Mixture of RPG and Platform Game., 3 May 2014
By 
Bruce "from Brighton" (UK - England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Child of Light Deluxe Edition (PS3 & PS4) (Video Game)
The "deluxe" edition of this game, is actually a bit sparse when you open the package. A poster, small art book and a key chain, which I could not get to light up, no matter what. But of course the most obvious omission is that instead of any discs, you get codes with which to download the game from the Playstation Network. If you have super-fast broadband, I have heard it can be done in less than an hour; but it took mine a whole afternoon to do this and I still prefer having discs, although I accept this is probably the way forward.

The game itself runs very well, with a nice graphic style that resembles watercolour paintings and surprises you with unexpected depths and detail. The soundtrack is also very good - atmospheric and haunting original music that comes across very well, to add to the slightly melancholy feeling of the premise. The child of the title, is hovering on the brink of death and is trapped in a world that she is desparate to escape and be reunited with her father. This has the dark elements of European fairy stories that are often sanitised for other cultures.

The gameplay itself is a mixture of a classic turn-based role-playing game (RPG) and a platform game, where the main character initially has to jump from one location to another, gathering bonuses and meeting enemies. Eventually she gains the ability to fly around and this makes some things easier - but also can damage your character's health. You start off with a firefly helper, who becomes more and more useful throughout the game - opening doors, healing characters, delaying enemies and lighting your way.

You also meet up with other characters, who can join your party and level up in classic RPG fashion - although it's slightly limiting that only one can join you in battles - but you can switch them around mid-fight and choose the best to deal with enemy stengths/weaknesses. The RPG element allows you to add skills every time you level up - which is very quickly at the start - almost a level per battle won. You add magic and combat skills, as expected. All characters seem to benefit and have slightly different grids to develop their unique group of attributes.

Overall, I enjoyed the RPG elements, the pleasing visual style, excellent music and originality of the plot. However, I felt frustrated by the platform nature and would always prefer a game where you can go to anywhere on the screen that you can see. In this game, you often see detailed backgrounds that can never be accessed and you are limited to the two dimensional plane that you see from right to left - it's not entirely linear - but at times it feels like you have little choice about where to go.

However - this is a game worth seeing for its design and the quality of its illustrations - I can see how this world of the imagination would be difficult to realise if you were allowed complete freedom and the compromise made, fits with the premise of being trapped in a dream world. Definitely worthwhile and it's nice to see something a bit different.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars but the stunningly beautiful artwork and careful level design more than make up ..., 7 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Child of Light Deluxe Edition (PS3 & PS4) (Video Game)
Forcing every single line of dialogue rhyme can be trying at times, but the stunningly beautiful artwork and careful level design more than make up for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great game, shame about the Bugs., 28 Jun 2014
This review is from: Child of Light Deluxe Edition (PS3 & PS4) (Video Game)
This was my first time ordering a product of this type, as it was a Psn digital game. I originaly expected to have the codes emailed to me on day of release or just before, for conviniance and efficiancy purposes. However this was not the case but that wasn't much of a problem. As I did order the deluxe edition so the added content came with it aswell.

It was all rather compacted into a small box, but everything appeared to work fine and not damaged. The keyring torch does work for me, I'm aware for some however that they were not soo fortunate.

Overall It's a great digital game, but the save deletion bug prevents me further from enjoying this unique tale of a game. Please Ubisoft Patch this game of the bugs so I can fully enjoy this product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great game, 31 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Child of Light Deluxe Edition (PS3 & PS4) (Video Game)
This is a really great game, it is very challenging but real good fun. Child of Light is an emersive game filled with wonders.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars beautiful game, 28 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Child of Light Deluxe Edition (PS3 & PS4) (Video Game)
This game reminds me a bit the idea in Final Fantasy games that when u need to fight you need to choose your strategy
and you fight by turns, usually i don't like this kind of games and i didn't knew this game was like that but as soon as i started to play and go deeper and deeper i really liked it :)
i recommend this version also over the digital version cause you get lots of cool stuff inside.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Much better then I thought, 21 May 2014
By 
S. Daniels "Codders" (Hull) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Child of Light Deluxe Edition (PS3 & PS4) (Video Game)
Pretty cool game, take a while to get going but very enjoyable - nicks a little bit of the Final Fantasy and Grandia battle system, I am currently really really enjoying it. Looks great too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Child of Light Deluxe Edition (PS3 & PS4)
Child of Light Deluxe Edition (PS3 & PS4) by Ubisoft (PlayStation 3 / 4)
£11.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews