Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars A breath of fresh air for RPG lovers
Haven't touched on RPG games for a while until this game came along and I must say that the visuals feel really fluid although the transitions (a fitting effect given the art style) sort of detracts from that. The music wonderfully complements the backdrop as well although it can get a bit repetitive if I linger in a single area for a long while. When it comes to the...
Published 1 month ago by MetroLurker

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars NOT pc dvd / DVD ROM
Not a PC DVD, medium is not a DVD ROM. You will have to install a uplay thing to download and I think to launch and run the game as well. Troublesome if you do not have wifi or if you hate having extra executable apps installed in your pc just to play it. Also, the keychain, poster and book is really no use if you are not a child. You will do better to get it straight...
Published 1 month ago by sableux


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars A breath of fresh air for RPG lovers, 17 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Child of Light Deluxe Edition (DVD-ROM)
Haven't touched on RPG games for a while until this game came along and I must say that the visuals feel really fluid although the transitions (a fitting effect given the art style) sort of detracts from that. The music wonderfully complements the backdrop as well although it can get a bit repetitive if I linger in a single area for a long while. When it comes to the actual combat, the mechanics are quite easy to pick up. As for the end-game, there isn't much of an endgame as opposed to having higher levels and tougher monsters; at best it would add you a few more hours of gameplay.

If you're thinking of buying this, buy it for the game (great visuals and music, cute story) and the Igniculus key chain. It lights up nicely too! Sadly, I lost the body of my key chain when I put it on my backpack so you might want to be extra careful/mindful when putting it on stuff you usually carry about. I had to order a replacement.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful game for all ages, 19 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Child of Light Deluxe Edition (DVD-ROM)
Beautiful game for all ages
Perfect game for children or those young at heart
It has received great ratings all around
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Game and Great Value, 14 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Child of Light Deluxe Edition (DVD-ROM)
Game is beautiful and fantastic, plus the deluxe edition is RIDICULOUSLY cheap for what you get. Highly recommended even if you just want to game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars NOT pc dvd / DVD ROM, 18 July 2014
This review is from: Child of Light Deluxe Edition (DVD-ROM)
Not a PC DVD, medium is not a DVD ROM. You will have to install a uplay thing to download and I think to launch and run the game as well. Troublesome if you do not have wifi or if you hate having extra executable apps installed in your pc just to play it. Also, the keychain, poster and book is really no use if you are not a child. You will do better to get it straight from uplay at a cheaper price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely delightful!, 28 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Child of Light Deluxe Edition (DVD-ROM)
"Child. Tuck yourself in bed. And let me tell a story of Lemuria, a long lost kingdom. And a girl born for glory.
In Austria was a crown land ruled by a duke, Aurora was his daughter. Child of a duchess mysterious. Beloved by her father.
He raised the girl alone, they were rarely apart. 'Til the duke felt lonely, and misplaced his heart.
It was the Great Friday before Easter, 1895. Players performed for the duke, his new bride at his side.
That night Aurora went to sleep. The fire burned down low. She caught a chill that spread. Her skin was cold as snow.
At dawn they found her vacant. Aurora's light gone out. Her father wept and pleaded, but there could be no doubt.
For all intents and purposes Aurora was dead.
And yet...
Once upon a time, she awoke in a strange land instead."

This is how Child of Light begins, setting the tone for a magical fairytale in a gorgeous watercolour world.
I loved the story, the battles, the characters... basically everything!

Give this game a chance!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The best game i've played in 10 years, 19 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Child of Light Deluxe Edition (DVD-ROM)
Doesn't matter if you are a casual gamer or not, this is a MUST have. The edition contents are excellent for the low price you pay and its pretty good quality overall. I have played thousands of games but this one became a top 3 after the 2 hours i played it. Music, storyline, characters, i mean, EVERYTHING is perfect on this game 10/10.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it!, 15 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Child of Light Deluxe Edition (DVD-ROM)
Absolutely love the deluxe edition, comes with an art booklet and a cute keychain! Gameplay is equally beautiful and fantastic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great game, but a huge hassle to install., 12 Jun 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Child of Light Deluxe Edition (DVD-ROM)
A wonderful game with a particularly beautiful soundtrack.
However, in order to play it you have to install Ubisoft's software 'Uplay', and then download the game from their truly awful servers. It took me about ten tries to actually get the game to install (it would freeze at 99% every time), and when you submit a complaint they will try to blame it on you and say you didn't install the software right, but it's their severs that are the problem.
If you have as much trouble as I did in installing it, try to re-install it at a different time of day, that's what worked for me, early-ish in the morning seems to have more chance of success.
But, yes, once installed the game it is amazing and really worth playing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Pleased with the product, 5 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Child of Light Deluxe Edition (DVD-ROM)
The box was slightly squeezed on one side but it is nothing to make a huge deal out of it as the components inside were intact.

The game is absolutely brilliant and deserves the extra cost for this deluxe edition.

The game also came far sooner than I expected which was a nice surprise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful Game, 2 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Child of Light Deluxe Edition (DVD-ROM)
Have only played 2 hours so far, but I have been blown away by the hand drawn backgrounds. I quite like the battle mechanics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Child of Light Deluxe Edition
Child of Light Deluxe Edition by Ubisoft (Windows 7 / 8 / Vista)
15.84
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews