Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars
56
3.8 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£2.28+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 June 2014
I didn't really know too too much going into this film.I knew that it was about a bachelor party. I really really enjoyed it. It was hilarious in a heart warming way which I think is kind of rare these days. All of the characters were fantastic. The Machine! You want to punch him in the face, but you can't help but end up loving him. It's a comedy with depth, it really touches on Human nature.

I love Andrew Scott to pieces. He has such an amazing range. Just like everything else he blew me away in this.

The ending was so perfect and funny. Definitely a movie worth owning and watching over and over.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 October 2014
We stumbled across this film one evening after the usual protracted debate about what everyone wanted to watch - with no-one quite agreeing on anything but not wishing to reject each other's tentative suggestions... and then we went for The Stag as comedy is the compromise genre. What a lucky strike - a really funny film that somehow just manages to stay this side of credibility. Yes i know that Hangover and Bridesmaids have done the pre-wedding arena but The Stag doesn't attempt to copycat - it comes across as fresh and original with great performances from the "normal" guys who organise a stag for a groom that really doesn't want one. Not as hilarious as Hangover, less contrived than Bridesmaids and ten times funnier than Bad Neighbours.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 July 2014
I love Andrew Scott as much as the next person, but despite the majority of these reviews, he isn't actually the highlight of the film. Each character has strengths and all the actors bring emotional depth and something unique to the film. Distinctly Irish, but without falling into traditional themes and tropes, The Stag is more than a few cheap laughs won over with derogatory humour. Considering it's an independent film made with a very low budget, it's an incredible film. Original, sharp, fresh and witty; I'm not sure what film the people giving one star reviews were watching, because it's hard to believe anyone could come out of this without loving it. Would definitely recommend.
11 comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 11 September 2014
The Stags got enough going for it to make it worth a watch - an eclectic cast of characters and some ridiculous situations raise a fair few chuckles and the odd guffaw.

The set up is quick and effective - Fionnan is about to get married and against his better judgement gets roped into a stag trip in the great Irish outdoors with a few of his best buds and one very uninvited guest.Things don't go to plan though (obviously) and various hi-jinks follow - fires, flesh hungry dogs, gun toting locals, loss of clothes and more.

The cast are good, largely led by Andrew Scott (from TV's Sherlock) and Peter McDonald as "The Machine", the previously mentioned uninvited guest who almost walks off with the entire film after his introduction. There's also a few internal struggles, emotional moments and life lessons for the boys along the way. It all bubbles along ok, like I said before, there's enough gags to keep you chuckling. The ending is pure cheese but they just about get away with it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2015
This is the type of movie I miss as they don't make them anymore. It's just a great story with about a bunch of mates and how they deal with all their issues. This is NOTHING like Hangover or the like, its gentle and meaningful, with a few good laughs and some sentimental stuff.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2015
Great movie, the characters and story are very strong and funny. Sometimes I was laughing so much, I was in tears. Very clever yet simple storyline, that pulls you in from the start and just keeps getting better as you watch. Don't miss this movie , it completely surprised me how much I enjoyed it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2014
Brilliant film, hilarious and heartwarming. Some beautiful cinematography and fantastic casting. The sort of film you'll watch again and again.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 December 2014
I really enjoyed this film - had some real heart warming parts and some laugh out loud moments too. Some great characters make this film above average. You kind of know where its going half way through but its still fun to watch. Would recommend.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2014
Absolutely super. Andrew Scott's performance is superb and what a surprisingly sweet singing voice!! The rest of the crew are also very good and it's a well-written, well-thought out script. recommend!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2015
I rented this not thinking that It would be anything great given that the theme has been a bit over-done in films these past years. I was really surprised by this though. It was a good laugh! Would watch it again
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.