Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


66 of 82 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Remember...This Is Cinema. Not The Bible.
Ok, let's really look at this movie.

I get really frustrated by the people putting this down because it's not like the bible. ...So let's compare this to Harry Potter. To some fans, Potter is like the holy grail. And are the movies exact to the book, page by page? No, they're not. But can the fans appreciate the films? Largely, yes, we can.

Now,...
Published 14 months ago by Amazon Customer

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Started off bad, then went really good, then went terrible
Don't waste your time with this one. Firstly, I am a fan of the director. I really enjoyed Black Swan, Pi and The Wrestler. I am also a fan of many of the actors in this film, but none of this saves it from being terrible.
Russell Crowe overacts massively. Maybe this was his way of trying to save the film, by trying his hardest to bring some passion into the...
Published 1 month ago by Alan Dickson


‹ Previous | 1 2124 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Started off bad, then went really good, then went terrible, 29 May 2015
By 
Alan Dickson (Down South, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Noah (Blu-ray)
Don't waste your time with this one. Firstly, I am a fan of the director. I really enjoyed Black Swan, Pi and The Wrestler. I am also a fan of many of the actors in this film, but none of this saves it from being terrible.
Russell Crowe overacts massively. Maybe this was his way of trying to save the film, by trying his hardest to bring some passion into the movie. I would say that it distracts from everyone else, but they look quite bored. I think many of them didn't really understand what was happening, so just took the money. The be fair, the film did get better as it went along and around the half way point was very good, but quickly it became terrible. With a poor start and very poor final hour, it is not something I could ever recommend.

The plot is strange to say the least. The rock monster characters are a strange addition and make the film more like Transformers rather than a biblical tale. Also the film was very graphic for a 12a rated film. There is lots of brutality and slaughter for a film of this age classification.

The only real positive is that the film on Blu-ray looked fantastic. Just a shame there wasn't an interesting story to go with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 'A BIBLICAL TALE WORTHY OF A 'BETTER' PRODUCTION', 27 July 2014
By 
rbmusicman/and/movie-fan' (U.K) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Noah [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Must admit I was caught in two minds regarding the purchase of this one, the film has
been slated by many reviewers and critics, however curiosity got the better of me.
This a Biblical tale -
'Noah' (Russell Crowe) and his wife 'Naameh' (Jennifer Connelly) scrape a living from
the baron landscape with their children.
'Noah' son of 'Seth' has always believed what his father had taught him as a child, and
has endeavoured to follow the path of his beliefs and faith.
He has a dream that he believes to be a message from God, he has visions of the World
being flooded to rid the planet of the evil that has flourished.
'Noah' seeks out his Great Grandfather, 'Methuselah' (Must admit without knowing he was
actually in the film, I knew 'Methuselah' had to be played by 'Anthony Hopkins' who else ? )
to make sense of his dreams and understand what has to be done.
'Noah' has to build an 'Ark' a construction large enough to house two of each creature that
walks or fly's, as well of course, to accommodate his immediate family.
He has the help of the 'Watchers' (fallen angels from log ago)
The King of the land 'Tubal-Cain' (Ray Winstone) who does not believe in miracles, and that
man is master of his own destiny, seeks to take charge of the Ark realising the flood 'Noah'
talks of is to become a reality.
The story on board during the flood a little to 'Hollywood' perhaps, though the film does have
it's moments though somewhat fanciful.
There of course are some decent Special-Effects along the way...
There have certainly been many Biblical drama's superior to this down the years, though I have
to say it was a little better than I expected, though, not great.
'Glad they remembered the 'Rainbow' at the end.
(Many experts have tried to prove or disprove events of the Bible down the years, I believe
evidence of a great flood has been found, however, efforts to find any remains of what would
need to have been a giant structure - 'The Ark' has not.(Though many believe it landed 16,946 ft
up on 'Mount Ararat' East Turkey)
Special Features -
* Iceland - Extreme Beauty.
* The Ark Exterior.
* A Battle for 300 Cubits.
* The Ark Interior.
* Animals Two by Two.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars In a god forsaken world ………..,, 4 Feb. 2015
By 
Alan Jones (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Noah [DVD] (DVD)
Not being a believer I approached Noah with a neutral viewpoint and although it has provoked strong opinions from both Christians and Jews about its ‘authenticity’ (I have read a brilliant review from a rabbi on Amazon.com) purely as a film it totally occupies the fantasy genre. The film definitely has the feel of Peter Jackson’s Lord of the Rings trilogy with its creation story, abandoned fallen angels (they reminded me of the Ents) and the barbaric behaviour of men in a barren wasteland ‘other worldly’ landscape. I have to admit that I totally bought into Russell Crowe’s intense portrayal of the outsider Noah, a descendent of Seth and a man possessed who gradually descends into madness because of the enormity of the role the Creator has assigned him, full of certainty and then lost in doubt. However, as the film progressed and despite the impressive cinematography and CGI (in particular the onset of the flood) the screenplay appeared to become laboured and despite my initial goodwill I could not wait for the film to end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Biblical tale meet Transformers, 10 Jun. 2015
This review is from: Noah [DVD] (DVD)
Classic biblical tale meets Transformers meets East End gangster ... A fantastic opportunity to remake this classic story for a new generation which fails miserably. The essence of the story is still very good, and parts of the film reflect that, but it's way too long, and the Transformer style 'Watchers' send it way off course. Throw in Ray Winsome, who comes across as a East End gangster no matter what role he's in, and the film loses it way completely. A shame ...

A word of warning: this is very brutal and violent for a 12 rating, and this may be worth bearing in mind when considering it for younger viewers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars THERE WERE NO ROCK CREATURES IN NOAH, 6 April 2014
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Noah [DVD] (DVD)
Forget what you think you know about Noah. In this Middle Earth saga the watchers are huge rock creatures that look like they belong in Star Wars. This is a rather bizarre interpretation of Genesis 6:1-5, and was my first WTF moment. The Watchers actually had relations with humans and created a race of giants who apparently ruled over man...not in this film.

Russell Crowe portrays Noah as a dark, bitter, dysfunctional, unlikeable person who obeys God through his dreams. (God doesn't even make a cameo.) The women, whose names aren't mentioned in the Bible are given expanded and important roles. All the time on the ark is spent on personal drama. No tending of the animals that are all living together in the hull of the ship.

Another problem is that Tubal-Cain kills Noah's father Lamech, not to be confused with Tubal-Cain's father Lamech while Noah was a child.The Bible claims Lamech was born in the 182nd year of Methuselah and lived 777 years. This means he died 10 years before the flood. Noah was over 600 years old at the time of the flood. Do the math.

There were a number of surprises, some I won't mention as I wouldn't want to "spoil" a millennia tale. That said, at the end, a son leaves the group before them all having children when clearly the families stayed together for a number of years and raised children until the Canaan/Noah incident which is not mentioned.

Poor Emma Watson and Jennifer Connelly acted their hearts out, reminding me of Sean Astin who gave a wonderful performance in "Cabin Fever 3." Nothing like casting pearls before swine.

From a biblical prospective, the film was a disaster and not inspirational. As an action adventure story, the rock creatures made me feel like I was watching Indian Jones with aliens. And I suppose people who liked the ending of that film might be attracted to this one.

Oh yea, this thing was way too long. It had scenes which dragged on. It needed an editor. On the plus side Russell Crowe didn't sing much.

This is razzy material. A film you can watch and make fun of MST style.

Worthy of a Redbox rental at best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A confused film., 23 Jan. 2015
By 
Gogol (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Noah [DVD] (DVD)
A bit of a nothing film really. Very slow resulting in the viewer losing interest very quickly and the religious aspect gets lost resulting in anyone watching it from a biblical or Quranic perspective will also lose interest. Special effects are pretty good especially the flood and the coming of the animals to the ark but overall the film is a bit lost in not quite understanding what its actually about and what audience its trying to capture. Result? Nobody really likes it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dissapointing, 26 May 2015
This review is from: Noah [DVD] (DVD)
Our family all love the old testament stories and unanimously wanted to see this movie. Unfortunately it was more hollywood than Noah and more concerned with making something epic than accurate or even close to the bible account. We kept hoping it would get better but alas it just got worse and worse. Don't waste your money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


66 of 82 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Remember...This Is Cinema. Not The Bible., 12 April 2014
This review is from: Noah [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Ok, let's really look at this movie.

I get really frustrated by the people putting this down because it's not like the bible. ...So let's compare this to Harry Potter. To some fans, Potter is like the holy grail. And are the movies exact to the book, page by page? No, they're not. But can the fans appreciate the films? Largely, yes, we can.

Now, honestly, if you were within biblical times and found out that everyone is going to die and everything ever made will disappear bar one family and a load of animals, how would you feel? Scrap that, how would you feel if that happened in today's world? We'd all have kittens! There'd be anarchy, people would be terrified. I would be!

The idea in the bible that Noah built an arc and everyone was okay with dying is not as realistic as this is. I'm someone who's open to interpretation and the fact is, in those early years, there were just people, the values and laws are not as strong and definitive as what we see today. So people attacking Noah and the arc because they're so terrified of the unknown is completely realistic. Just step back and think about it. We still fear the unknown today.

The cast are very well chosen. When I heard Emma Watson had been cast in...probably her biggest film to date...I wondered if she could handle it. And believe me, she does. Emma's performance is so believable and realistic, she had me close to tears at some points. I believe she's the standout performance in this and I think this film will truly make her career. Dakota Fanning was apparently supposed to take the role of Ila but couldn't due to conflicting schedules. I cannot imagine her in this role whatsoever. Emma makes an absolute spectacle of herself in this movie in all the right ways.

I can see why people would say Noah seems like he's insane in this. So, let's analyse Noah in this film. You see your father murdered as a child. What does that do to you? There are adults in this world who have seen such horror today and still aren't over it. What Noah is is driven by the belief that he is following 'The Creator's' word. He believes there's a set way and much like the people are afraid of the unknown, Noah fears deference from what he sees as the plan. Mix this with your childhood memories,the fact that you have been chosen for this task and the guilt of knowing that you couldn't save all the innocent lives...maybe you wouldn't necessarily be an entirely 'normal' state of mind either.

The locations and graphics of this film are amazing. Visually, all the nature is spectacular and I loved seeing all the animals head to the arc.

What you have to remember...this is a dramatized interpretation of a biblical story. This is not the Bible in movie form. I don't like seeing it judged as a homage to the Lord Almighty and the bible. I think this is a stunning film that brings a reality to what possibly was a great tragedy of the early world. Rather than think of it as a story from the bible, step back. Think about it. Think about how the characters might feel, then take in the stunning cut of this film. Hopefully then you can appreciate it for what it is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Okay, 26 Aug. 2014
This review is from: Noah [DVD] (DVD)
I watched this fairly recently with a relative and we both agreed that it was okay, but nothing more than that. The story never really seemed to develop and was actually quite boring in some parts, in my own personal opinion.

Perhaps worth watching once to pass a rainy day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


45 of 56 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A New Beginning, 11 Jun. 2014
By 
Mr. Patrick G. Teague (Hythe) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Noah [DVD] (DVD)
Noah was a very intriguing film to watch. Cinematically there is a lot of originality about the film and it does it's best to remain theologically neutral. I was surprised at the high level of subtle violence in the film. Russell Crowe is always watchable and the comparisons between Noah and Maximus are undeniable. There were also good supporting acting from Anthony Hopkins and Ray Winstone. I'm still coming to terms with a post Harry Potter Emma Watson. The film trailers chose to avoid depicting the Watchers, perhaps wisely. While slow to get going, the film comes into its own with the introduction of the ark and the visual delights that accompany the unsympathetic destruction of the world. Overall, a worthwhile watch and while it will likely leave audiences, of all beliefs, with questions; there is no denying that Darron Aronofsky is a visionary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2124 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Noah [DVD]
Noah [DVD] by Darren Aronofsky (DVD - 2014)
£5.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews