Customer Reviews


52 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars There is some great acting that comes through especially from Brian Cox who plays Matt Busby.
Believe is a heart-warming family friendly movie that is currently being shown in select US theaters. We watched this as a family for our weekly family night.

It’s a perfect “Sunday” afternoon movie. It has a great message and a very sentimental feel to it. It is a much slower moving movie and at times a few things that are said with a...
Published 8 months ago by Inspired Kathy

versus
10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars You'll enjoy this is you Believe!!
Somewhere between Billy Elliott and The Selfish Giant, Believe tells the story of 'Georgie' who lives for football! Unfortunately, his dad has passed away, he doesn't get on with his mum, he's involved in petty crimes and is being forced to go to an upper class Grammar School. To enter a soccer competition with his mates he steals a wallet which he hopes will include...
Published 10 months ago by Matthew J. Parker


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars You'll enjoy this is you Believe!!, 25 July 2014
By 
Matthew J. Parker "the legend writes:" (Todmorden, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Believe [DVD] (DVD)
Somewhere between Billy Elliott and The Selfish Giant, Believe tells the story of 'Georgie' who lives for football! Unfortunately, his dad has passed away, he doesn't get on with his mum, he's involved in petty crimes and is being forced to go to an upper class Grammar School. To enter a soccer competition with his mates he steals a wallet which he hopes will include about £20 he needs to get into the competition. As fate would have it the wallet belongs to one Matt Busby who becomes the team manager instead of handing the boys over to the police. Have you figured out what's going to happen yet?

The film is somewhat predictable but is boosted by a brilliant performance by Brian Cox as Matt Busby, set in 1984, about to celebrate his 75th birthday, and taking on this young team as he believes the reason he survived the plance crash is because his job on Earth was not yet finished. Generally the performances are good but Toby Stephens as the head of the grammar school is bordering on pantomime territory and falls into farce in the end, and the boys in the team, including the lead actor playing Georgie, certainly act as if they've just been picked off the streets because they play good football (it tells you in the credits what they are doing now).

A good 1984 soundtrack plays frequently (Dead or Alive, New Order, Smiths) and the look certainly feels like 30 years ago.

Worth a viewing but i was getting stalled of it by the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars There is some great acting that comes through especially from Brian Cox who plays Matt Busby., 16 Sept. 2014
This review is from: Believe [DVD] (DVD)
Believe is a heart-warming family friendly movie that is currently being shown in select US theaters. We watched this as a family for our weekly family night.

It’s a perfect “Sunday” afternoon movie. It has a great message and a very sentimental feel to it. It is a much slower moving movie and at times a few things that are said with a strong British accent were hard to understand.

My kids were not excited to see this one but agreed to it because it was family night and they weren’t really given another option. We have a rule that they have to spend at least 30 minutes watching as a family and if they are bored they can then go do something else. Surprisingly they hung in there to the end and ended up liking this one.

This movie has a lower budget independent feel to it. No great special effects, just straight-forward feel good entertainment.

There is some great acting that comes through especially from Brian Cox who plays Matt Busby.

If you enjoy feel good movies and have the patience to endure some slower parts then you should see this movie. If you only enjoy fast action movies filled with special effects this one probably won’t do it for you. I happen to enjoy this type of movie so this worked for me but I don’t pretend to think everyone will love this one as much as I did.

Source: I received a “screener” copy of this film on DVD for review purposes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Evocative of my own childhood., 31 Dec. 2014
This review is from: Believe [DVD] (DVD)
This is a great true story movie. And its one that you can watch with the whole family, too! It perfectly evokes the England I remember from the early 1980s, as a small boy. Brian Cox always holds your attention, but you're never aware that its Brian Cox, and his work in this film is a perfect example of that. The passion for football (Soccer) that lives within most English children is alive and well in this seven-a-side team that sees it as a natural process of life. The children are exactly the way my football mad friends were, and like us, they're no angels. But you'll love them anyway!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Oh Manchester, so much to answer for., 16 May 2015
By 
Spike Owen "John Rouse Merriott Chard" (Birmingham, England.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Believe [DVD] (DVD)
Believe is a British football movie that finds the legendary Sir Matt Busby (Brian Cox) coaching a kids 7 a side football team. Matt Busby was the manager of Manchester United Football Club, who lost their team of starlets (known as The Busby Babes) to the Munich air crash of 1958. Busby would then go on to rebuild the team and make them into a world force, one that still exists today. Here he is in long retirement exile, but still moulding young football minds. It's based on true events.

We have a heavy dose of sentimentality on offer here, not just with the flashbacks to the tragic loss of The Busby Babes, but also to the working class kids of terrace housed Manchester. Of single parents trying to make ends meet, of kids with absent fathers erring on the wrong side of the law, education a dangled carrot just out of reach.

However, the sentimentality is not cloying, it's well handled and performed, but the pic never gets to uplift status. It has some good laughs in the mix, usually when Toby Stephens' pompous school tutor is on screen, while the ultimate conclusion - even though it's what we expect - warms the cockles, but it never branches out to be more than just a family film for kiddies who like football, or for Manchester folk eager for anything involving Sir Matt Busby.

It makes for a decent "B" movie support to There's Only One Jimmy Grimble, though not nearly as good as that film. Cox, Stephens and the tender Busby Babes sequences (very Field of Dreams) make it worth a watch, but it should have been smarter and better. 6/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars loved this movie, 11 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Believe [DVD] (DVD)
my 2 football mad kids and I, loved this movie. good all round family film, with some humour for all ages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 26 July 2014
By 
Mr. WA GREENLEES (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Believe [DVD] (DVD)
Nice touching film about a boy with a football dream
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A Stretch of the Imagination, 20 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Believe [DVD] (DVD)
The story is about a retired Sir Matt Busby who has retired but wants to help a bunch of youngsters do well in a local football competition. He's drawn to them by chance after their star player (Georgie) steals his wallet - for the entry fee (of course). However, Georgie's mum wants him study to go to the local grammar school who's entry tests are hard. She enlists the support of the grammar school's headmaster & one strand of the film is the tension of trying to keep a football mad 11 year old away from sport & into his studies. Another strand is the healing that teaching the kids has on Sir Matt & we see this through the juxtaposition of pictures of the Munich Air Crash in which 8 Manchester United young men died. Brian Cox as Sir Matt is excellent as is Jack Smith as the troubled, moody star footballer; however the remaining characters are somewhat one dimensional except perhaps Toby Stephens as the over the top headmaster. The plot is good but descends into farce to allow the expected triumph to occur.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars supported by an excellent adult cast, 29 Aug. 2014
This review is from: Believe (DVD)
The film has it's merits, the kids acted very well, supported by an excellent adult cast, Brian Cox and Toby Stevens stood out for me. A nice low budget British film to watch with the kids on a rainy day. Oh, and the sound track was excellent, nice bit of 80s music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Feel good film, 8 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Believe (Amazon Instant Video)
Great feel good film, my nephew and his friends loved it. Brian Cox is excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars love football. love this video very touchiong in, 20 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Believe [DVD] (DVD)
love football .love this video very touchiong in parts
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Believe [DVD]
Believe [DVD] by David Scheinmann (DVD - 2014)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews