Customer Reviews


148 Reviews
5 star:
 (103)
4 star:
 (27)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Back on Form!
I must admit I was astonished. This is a return to The Kaiser Chiefs' roots. In my opinion, it's on a par with Employment which is something I never expected. The fabulous tongue-in-cheek lyrics are still there, Vijay's drumming is alive'n'kickin'. The keyboards have matured - very similar to The Stranglers' - a good thing. The guitars and bass are even better...
Published 6 months ago by Amazon Customer

versus
10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Songs okay, production shocking
I think we all know that the Kaiser Chiefs are VERY unlikely to ever top their first release, "Employment". However, there are some good songs on here, not up there with the majority of "Employment" but some maybe up with there with their 2nd album.

They need to get a new producer though - this is has a ridiculous amount of compression on the...
Published 6 months ago by Mark Barnwell


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Back on Form!, 6 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I must admit I was astonished. This is a return to The Kaiser Chiefs' roots. In my opinion, it's on a par with Employment which is something I never expected. The fabulous tongue-in-cheek lyrics are still there, Vijay's drumming is alive'n'kickin'. The keyboards have matured - very similar to The Stranglers' - a good thing. The guitars and bass are even better rockier than earlier albums. "The Voice", Ricky's that is, has more ethereal quality than in previously released tracks and increasingly powerful and energetic. "The Factory Gates" is a fabulous choice for the opening track, and to be perfectly honest, the rest of the album keeps up the pace and the haunting track, "Roses" closes the album with giving you a lot of food for thought. If anyone was in danger of thinking "The Kaiser Chiefs" were past it - THINK AGAIN - they've definitely still got what it takes!!! Lookin' forward to the festival season to see them again! Keep on rockin' boys!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I Like What I Like, 6 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This Album is Brilliant! I don't know much about music, I don't know what makes a song good or bad but as the title says 'I Like What I Like' and I like the Kaiser Chiefs. This review is just for fans, or possible fans, on the edge, wondering whether or not to purchase this Album. I am a massive fan of the Kaiser Chiefs but I will try to not be bias in my opinion. To be honest I really didn't like The Future is Medieval apart from 3 songs (those being 1. Child of the Jago 2. Man on Mars 3. Coming Up for Air) so I was worried that this Album might also fail to deliver, combine that with the bands original drummer having left and there is more than enough room left for fair doubt. But there is no need to fear, the Kaiser Chiefs have made a wonderful album that I am glued to 24/7. I love every song. And as for the drumming, well, its fantastic, its different in a way that still fits the band really well. So I will call their new drummer, bless him, one of the Chiefs.

People say that the band sounds different compared too their first and second albums and I agree but this is not a bad thing like so many people claim. Everything changes and a group of individuals music is no different. All anyone can do is try to see that it changes in the right way. Like I think this has.

There are two songs on this album which I think came right out of one of their first, second or third albums; The Factory Gates and Misery Company. The Albums single 'Coming Home' feels a bit out of place here but is still top notch but my favourite song by far is 'Ruffians On Parade', I cant stop listening to it! All the songs on this Album are Ace and, apart from my previously mentioned favourite, I have to give special mention to 'Meanwhile Up in Heaven' and 'Roses'.

Over all I think that this Album is suberb and would highly recommend it to any one who enjoys the Kaiser Chiefs earlier work. Peace. #alwaysonetypo
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FULL MARKS AND BANG ON, 3 April 2014
By 
Amazon Customer (Leeds, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
So, just imagine you're sitting an exam and this question comes up: Summarise in bullet points the KAISER CHIEFS' new album, EDUCATION, EDUCATION, EDUCATION & WAR. Yes, happy to do that, makes a pleasant change from Lord of the Flies. Okay, thirty minutes, shhh, here we go...

* Tony Blair probably won't appreciate the clever title, so that's a good start. In my opinion, of course.
* Unusual WW1 and beyond-style artwork for the insert but it does reinforce the working-class call to duty theme throughout. No pics of the boys this time around either, unless there's more to those line drawings than meets the eye. No offence, but if so then your guess is as good as mine (suggest no-one lets the artist stray into any high court proceedings as it could only end in confusion and disappointment).
* Ten songs, seven of which are simply excellent. The remaining three 'Coming Home', 'Meanwhile Up In Heaven' and 'Roses' are okay but lack that certain Kaiser something. The singles chart may disagree with two thirds of that analysis, however.
* Bill Nighy may be the new, er, Pete Best (the sixth Kaiser?), judging from his performance in 'Cannons'. Heavy and quite weird, Bill, was there a temptingly helium-filled balloon nearby? 'Cannons' is also the almost-title track, a major pulse-thumping epic. Note to all dwarf-druids: this could turn out to be the new 'Stonehenge', so don't knock it.
* Hard and driving pop music permeates the majority of this album and thank God the quirkiness is still there for all to hear (see directly above). It's what makes the Kaiser Chiefs special.
* A few catchy anthem sing-alongs are included for good measure, especially effective (and amusing) is the slightly creepy laughing chorus of 'Misery Company' and the Adam Ant-type vocal stretches in 'One More Last Song'. The superb 'Bows & Arrows' also has the bonus of a rousing chant, "...we the people/created equal..." Again, all smartly designed to lift us up.
* EEE&W is, on balance, even better than its immediate predecessor 'The Future is Medieval' and proves that maturity hasn't stunted either musical progression or creativity. Whatever the case, the Kaiser Chiefs always like to slip in a little politics and social commentary, but this time it's considerably more to the fore. Fortunately, the extended solos, pained expressions and strange posturing so beloved of the dreaded 'concept' album still seems some way off.
* There's a small but rather sad typo in the printed lyrics to 'The Factory Gates' which could only have been set by a younger member of the art department. Michael Palin may be no spring chicken but, please, it's Alan Whicker (not Wicker, fGs) and HE had his passport stamped first, tch.
* Every member of the Kaisers puts in a great performance and Ricky Wilson's voice is in particularly good shape. He remains an integral part of the band's overall personality and sound - that plus an amiable and well-adjusted transition to tv...I predict if not a riot, then at least an enhanced set of future career opportunities for the frontman (he won my vote just for saying 'records' when he really meant 'cds'). Now that's cool.
* There are times when the production gets very dense and the sound is a little murky as a result, as though every instrument in the studio cupboard - with the possible exception of the kazoo - just HAD to be used, sans restraint.
* There's a new drummer in town hammering on the skins but, yeah, he seems to have slotted in nicely. Let's hope he's from Yorkshire, or at least nearby.
* The songs that stand out most and resonate unconditionally with my musical tastebuds are: 'The Factory Gates', 'One More Last Song', 'Bows & Arrows' and 'Misery Company'. Total winners. And 'Ruffians on Parade' and 'Cannons' are themselves only a stone's throw from the top spot.
* This album will probably not feature on TB's wish list. His loss.
* Finally, and most importantly: five albums in and Leeds' finest are still at the top of their game. A few minor quibbles and concerns maybe (e.g. don't ever do a Coldplay and lose your unique personality), but a five-star product all the same. It will be played often and loud.

That's it, time's up, pens down, please try to file out in an orderly manner. Yes, not bad this education thing.

VERY HIGHLY RECOMMENDED

POSTSCRIPT:
I saw the Kaiser's at their Doncaster Racecourse concert only a few days ago (28.06.14) and they were fantastic live. With the kind of back catalogue they possess you can imagine the set list delivered in spades. All the band gave it everything and Ricky Wilson showed yet again just why he is such a force of nature, bouncing all over the stage, belting out some great vocals and not disappointing with his trademark witty banter between numbers, as the following exchange demonstrates...

RW: "Put your hands up if you've seen us play live before"
(Quite a few of the audience do just that, cheers)
RW: "Okay, put your hands up if this is your first Kaiser Chiefs gig"
(Quite a few others of the audience, including me and my wife, duly oblige, further cheers)
RW: "Okay...now put your hands up if you've seen us more than ten times"
(A small but very vocal number of the audience proudly let themselves be known)
RW: (slight pause, wicked grin) "You sad b-ds!"

Ouch. Perfect comic timing.

An unqualified success amid some noisy (albeit enthusiastic) race punters and the ever-present drizzle. What a night.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A return to form.... of sorts., 31 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It has seemed for the last few years that the Kaiser Chiefs had become a little, well, predictable. An excellent live band, but suffering from the law of diminishing returns when it came to new material. After their excellent debut Employment and it's follow up Yours Truly, Angry Mob, their subsequent offerings have been increasingly disappointing.

With the release of the greatest hits offering Souvenir, you could be forgiving for thinking that would be that and they would shuffle off to be remembered fondly by their fans and those who had enjoyed a sing-a-long at a festival or two. It seems Nick Hodgson (their drummer and the main creative driving force behind the band) agreed, announcing his departure to pursue new projects.

That there is a new Kaiser Chiefs album at all is therefore something of a surprise, and it has been written and recorded by a band who feel they have something to prove - to their former drummer, to the public, and perhaps most of all to themselves.

And prove something they have done, with one or two reservations.

At times the album feels like standard fare for the Kaiser Chiefs (The Factory Gates and Bows and Arrows, for example) and such offerings they have done better previously, although that's not to say these are bad tracks - far from it. But they are no "I Predict A Riot" or "Ruby".

But elsewhere on the album they exhibit a willingness to take risks and try something different. Coming Home is certainly a departure in style for the band, but such safe middle of the road territory is thankfully atypical - in fact, despite being the lead single for the album it feels rather out of place here.

Misery Company is probably the stand out track, featuring a chorus of Rick laughing like some sort of demented Laughing Policeman. Cannons is another strong song, featuring poetry recited by Bill Nighy - not something previously heard on a Kaisers album!

What the album lacks, compared to their earlier efforts, is the strong catchy hooks that launched them to stardom. It is a collection of strong, and in many cases interesting songs but lacking the obvious hits needed to turn a good album into a great one.

But there is no shame in writing a merely "good" album, and it is certainly better than not only their more recent efforts but most other new albums you will hear this year.

Newcomers to the band would be better served by purchasing their first two albums, but to anyone who has already bought those and is wondering if they need another Kaiser Chiefs album in their collection I would say buy this and give it a chance - you will probably be pleasantly surprised.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Educating us !!, 6 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
They're Back !!!!!!! Love it ,Love it, Love it !! This is The Kaiser Chiefs ...... Well on form. Buy It !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This album gets better and better with each listen!, 6 April 2014
Personally, I found this album slightly hard to approach. After the first listen I didn't quite understand what they were doing with the whole concept of war and day-to-day working class hardships, and I thought the whole thing somehow didn't feel relevant... But I couldn't have been more wrong. Honestly I think it may be one of the best albums they've done (certainly better than the last two, although I liked them lots), it's a very well polished collection of songs that takes the Kaiser Chiefs to whole new level of brilliant. Every single song gets better and better each time you listen to it (terrible cliche I know, but seriously, I've never known anything to grow on me so much). Maybe this isn't the best album for the casual listener, but to a Kaiser Chiefs fan it's pretty damn good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great album, 15 April 2014
I gave this album 5/5 stars because the vocals, production and the dynamic sonic sounds. Ricky Wilson's vocals surprise me more every time, just when I think he can't get any higher he does! With songs like Coming Home and Cannons it gives you that sense of being able to clap your hands together and bang your head. Some songs for me especially Cannons has a emotional aspect that not all artists can bring to the table.

The lyrics can be quite addictive as well. I'm going to say this album doesn't offer a noise, if offers stories. I really can't fault the album at all.

If you want a album that you will be listening to the whole Summer, this is it. If you want an album for your own pleasure I recommend this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Back on form, 2 April 2014
By 
C. J. Walker (U K) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This is more like it,after their last two albums being abit of a let down this one is really back on track
I loved every track and felt their are no fillers and at this price its a bargain.
With Ricky doing The Voice it should pave the way for success,it deserves it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great album, 2 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great to have Kaiser Chiefs back with an album as good as either of their previous efforts. Would recommend to anyone with good taste in music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars They're back, 8 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having dipped in and out of the Kaisers over the years, they've hit the mark with this new offering; thumping basslines and Ricky's soaring vocals..I think this is a great album, no fillers and 45 minutes of great music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews