Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Play Dirty
A good 1960's war film which is realistic and not far-fetched and soppy like the American rubbish we see on our screens these days. If you like this video you will also want see Michael Caine in TOBRUK, which follows exactly the same theme. This is exactly the sort of film my father would have liked: He fought in Libya and in Abyssinia, and would have loved to watch...
Published on 15 Dec 2009 by Eric C. Packham

versus
36 of 37 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Great film, awful quality version
Play Dirty is a superb film. It builds slowly but with wit and intrigue and has a number of fine action scenes. Great script (by Melvyn Bragg), stylishly-directed, strong performances from all involved, especially the two rivalrous officers, principled amateur Michael Caine and treacherous professional Nigel Davenport, and their superior Nigel Green (Major Dalby from the...
Published on 18 Jan 2011 by Harlequin


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

36 of 37 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Great film, awful quality version, 18 Jan 2011
Play Dirty is a superb film. It builds slowly but with wit and intrigue and has a number of fine action scenes. Great script (by Melvyn Bragg), stylishly-directed, strong performances from all involved, especially the two rivalrous officers, principled amateur Michael Caine and treacherous professional Nigel Davenport, and their superior Nigel Green (Major Dalby from the Ipcress file). They are aided on their mission to blow up Rommel's fuel supplies by an unsavoury assortment of criminals. Sounds a bit like the Dirty Dozen? In some superficial ways, but the feel and mood of this is quite different - darker, more cynical than that of the earlier (and, of course, classic) film. The criminals here don't have the bold characters of the Dirty Dozen but they have a quiet power, menace and strangeness. Play Dirty also has one of the best and most surprising endings to any film, especially any war film.

Unfortunately Insomnia's version of this film is of quite abysmal quality, possibly the worst DVD I have ever seen in this respect. The picture looks very much like a bad DVD mastering of a poor quality VHS. MGM's excellent VHS version of this film is available, so the lack of digital remastering is not the problem. The packaging too looks cheap and amateurish and has the feel of having been put together in someone's bedroom. I am very surprised that a film which is in the US owned by MGM is being released in Britain in such a dreadful version by an unheard of film company. This is very shoddy and disappointing product, and I cannot recommend it to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Play Dirty, 15 Dec 2009
By 
Eric C. Packham (Edinburgh. Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Play Dirty [VHS] [1969] (VHS Tape)
A good 1960's war film which is realistic and not far-fetched and soppy like the American rubbish we see on our screens these days. If you like this video you will also want see Michael Caine in TOBRUK, which follows exactly the same theme. This is exactly the sort of film my father would have liked: He fought in Libya and in Abyssinia, and would have loved to watch this kind of film, had he still been alive. My only wish is to have a CD version of this good film. I've moved with the times. I tend to use CDs' more than Videos these days.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cynical, tough, awesome., 9 Nov 2012
Play Dirty is an undeservedly obscure war film from the late 60's, a tough, cynical classic in a similar vein to Where Eagles Dare with a bunch of maverick British soldiers mixing it up behind German lines in WW2. Unlike modern WW2 films, for example Saving Private Ryan, Play Dirty is utterly unsentimental with crisp, understated performances by a number of British character actors of the period - Harry Andrews, Nigel Green and especially Nigel Davenport ( a last minute replacement for Richard Harris who was fired for being pissed all the time) who makes an excellent foil for Michael Caine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Michael Caine at his best, 16 April 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I suspect the review with the title ' please release me dated 19 April 2003 ' was in relation to the VHS Tape version and not the DVD.

Let me be very Clear - I am writing about the DVD ' Play Dirty REGION 1 NTSC ASIN: B000MTFFRM ' .

DVD Release Date: 24 th of April 2007.

For some unknown reason the outer box shows the Aspect Ratio: 1.85:1
but the DVD has the the Aspect Ratio: 2.35:1

Although it does not mention this on the box this has to be a digital remaster
as you would not believe the Film was released in 1968.

its as crystal clear as you can get .

Its as good as a PAL Version { except the PAL Version may be on the deleted list }

I bought my ' new ' copy from Amazon UK Marketplace for the huge sum of £ 5 { including postage }

Michael Caine at his best
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars please release me, 19 April 2003
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Play Dirty [VHS] [1969] (VHS Tape)
I study this website praying for this film to be released on DVD I have worn out so many copies of this film on tape.
Why? well to be honest its not the best of war films and Michael Caine plays a part not unlike his character in 'Zulu' and the idea of having convicted criminals sent on a suicide mission in the desert to destroy a fuel dump has been done before (although the 'Dirty Dozen' was never a patch on this copy)
So why do I like this film? well simply because it is so dead pan
from start to finish (especially the finish) Michael Caine is the only one to show emotion and yet his band of thugs just laugh at him every step of the way, he wants to get the job done and they could'nt care less. And thats the whole attitude from the characters in the film to the people making the film everything appears to be so casual and laid back with an 'I dont care attitude' almost as if they are making it up as they go along.
I bet they started filming before they new how it would end and this surprisingly reflects well in the film.
Caine cant be bothered reporting to his superior officers he is to busy playing chess, Nigel Green cant be bothered to report to his superior officer either and finally turns up in front of his desk wearing a cardigan and sandals!
The soldiers cant be bothered with the mission, they cant be bothered unloading the lorries, they cant be bothered burying their dead comrades, they cant be bothered taking prisoners, they cant be bothered if the suns out and they even cant be bothered raising their arms in surrender.

One of the best scenes in the film is when Caine is introduced to his new team of villains and a run down of their crimes is fairly amusing and you actually think from the look of the actors that they are quite capable of commiting these crimes.
If you like Kellys Heroes, Too Late the Hero,The Dirty Dozen and all the other films of this kind then this will be one for you although be warned its no 'Private Ryan'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Skulduggery behind the lines, 3 Nov 2013
By 
Alan Robert Lancaster (Forest Gate, London E7, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The gang's all here! Michael Caine plays a callow WWII army captain seconded to a raid on a German fuel dump far behind their lines on the strength of snaps taken by tribesmen on their way through Libya. Nigel Green is the major in charge of a rough, tough bunch of criminals who use their talents to further British Intelligence on Rommel's Afrika Korps. Harry Andrews is the ruthless Colonel who threatens Green with disbanding his unit unless they achieve results. In their guise as Italians Caine, Green and Co sally into the desert on a mission that goes awry as soon as they make contact with local German-friendly tribesmen...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Michael Caine's most underrated film, 16 Mar 2013
This review is from: Play Dirty [VHS] [1969] (VHS Tape)
A terrific though largely forgotten war adventure which brims with wonderfully understated, dry, British humour throughout and an ending with such a savage twist it'll make your jaw drop.
Michael Caine and Nigel Davenport are excellent as the hapless officer assigned to lead a bunch of misfits on a suicide mission, and the renegade who undermines him at every turn.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Play Dirty DVD, 14 Jun 2011
By 
Caiptean (Kentish Weald, Kent, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having been seeking a copy of the entertaining Michael Caine film Play Dirty the arrival of my order just a few days later was promising.

However, it was a rapid downhill thereafter. The DVD did not start properly with menus that I've only seen on home-made DVDs and when the film did start running the picture did not fill my screen - rather like watching a widescreen film on an old TV. Except I was trying to watch the film on a widescreen tv.

After only a few minutes the film froze. So I cleaned my DVD player and started anew only to have the film freeze at the same point.

At this point it was repackaged and returned to Amazon citing concerns about both the quality and even legitimacy of of what they were selling. These concerns were ignored by Amazon but I did get an eventual refund.

For those who have not seen the film and enjoy a wartime yarn it is well worth watching and I'd give the actual film a 4 out of 5 rating. As for the quality of the DVD I had to give it 1 out of 5 as the system wouldn't let me rate it any lower!

Caveat emptor!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good film good quality, 4 May 2013
I ordered the 2 remaining copies of this Spanish import and so far only one has arrived within 48 hours of ordering it....
When I first began playing it,it was in Spanish and all you gotta do is toggle in the menu set up and it becomes English again....apart from that its a good film well worth the money I paid for it...Michael caine does a great job again ....will always be known for his harry palmer role and also films like the Italian job and the classic 'zulu'. I do like Mr.caine I even like him in 'too late the hero' and 'the eagle has landed' beleive it or not.
The picture quality of play dirty is pretty okay too
If you've seen the desert rats or tobruk then you'll know roughly what to expect from this underated little gem.
This film is rarely shown on tv which is a shame
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I WOULD HAVE BEEN HAPPY WITH IT IF I ONLY PAID ABOUT £2-3 FOR ..., 28 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
CRACKING FILM, IF YOU CAN LIVE WITH THE DODGY LOOKING DISC, SHAME THE MANUFACTURER STUCK THE FILM ON A CHEAP DUBIOUS LOOKING DISC, I ACTUALLY THOUGHT I HAD RECEIVED A BACK STREET COPY!
I RETURNED MY COPY TO AMAZON FOR A REFUND.

I WOULD HAVE BEEN HAPPY WITH IT IF I ONLY PAID ABOUT £2-3 FOR IT, I AM NOT KNOCKING THE FILM, JUST THE QUALITY OF THE PRODUCT ITSELF, THE WHOLE ITEM SEEMS DUBIOUS, THE CELLOPHANE SLEEVE WAS THE RE-USABLE TYPE, THE COVER HAS NO CENSORSHIP CERTIFICATION & THE DISC WAS PURPLE, LIKE THE TYPE YOU GET FROM A COMPUTER SHOP.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Play Dirty [DVD]
Play Dirty [DVD] by André De Toth (DVD - 2014)
£8.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews