Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars39
4.1 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 May 2014
When i bought this I thought it was a duet album from the Nashville Skyline sessions but its not. Bobs songs are all from the early sixties and I had most of them already. The Johnny Cash songs are actually good. If you havent got Bobs early albums get this it will start you off. Its really a collectors item.
11 comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2014
This compilation has so many powerful songs it still sounds fresh in 2014. It has some moving live recordings as well. At this price I wouldn't hesitate.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 May 2014
As a huge fan of both Bob Dylan and Johnny Cash I was always going to be a fan of this release. The real joys of this album are the rarer live renditions of each others songs not found on studio outputs. Overall this is a fantastic album, only let down with a few production issues. Had this had a little more care given towards the remastering it would have been an easy five stars.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 November 2015
As the title says "Original" recordings; that doesn't always mean they're good - so beware. Having said that I will also say it is a highly entertaining album with an eclectic choice of material from various media and studio locations, it is not a duets album as one might think and I think the vs. in the title is incorrect; both are champions in their own corner. For me it was an educational trip as there are a few tracks I'd never heard before by either singer. It is to be listened to, enjoyed and entertained but it's not a knockout by any means.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2016
When Dylan fans see a CD featuring Bob Dylan and Johnny Cash together they probably think of the Dylan/Cash sessions in Nashville where the pair sang together and the results were captured on tape and soon made it onto a Bootleg that I remember having on cassette. This alas is not that recording but some old tracks by Dylan that were among the first to appear on the true bootleg tapes. What you get here are 25 Cash tracks and 25 Dylan tracks which are interleaved. The Johnny Cash tracks are well recorded - Studio Quality. The Dylan tracks less so. But at this price they are a fair deal and the album works on its own merits.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2014
It is great to have the contrasting voices and songs of Bob Dylan and Johnny Cash alternating although it does emphasise Bob Dylan's voice not being as musical as Johnny Cash's.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 June 2014
Another similar version of old songs. Good handicraft. No surprise. What you notice is the younger singer, their fresh voices.Same song, another version.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2014
was expecting them to sing together or a melange of songs not one disc of bob and one of johnny cash
11 comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2014
I am pleased with the album it is very easy to listen to a good quality product was packed well at a good price and it arrived on time. Will purchase from them again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2014
I really enjoyed this collection. For me the Cash songs are the best, but Dylan's tracks will no doubt appeal to fans and collectors alike. A real bargain!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£6.49
£4.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)