Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another beautiful journey...
So Insomnium's 6th album is finally here. Actually, this is not just another album but rather a beautiful journey full of emotions that will offer you a great companion either when travelling or when you are at home. 'Shadows Of The Dying Sun' is with no doubt another great addition to Insomnium's back catalogue. The band has been steadily growing through the years and...
Published 12 months ago by Fotis P.

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great songs, crushed master
Another good album from Insomnium. However the great songs are let down - once again - by a poor mix and even worse mastering. How about some dynamic range in your records guys. But if you aren't someone who notices such things then add a star and go on and enjoy one of the best melodic death metal albums of the year.
Published 10 months ago by Grumpyrocker


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another beautiful journey..., 28 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shadows Of The Dying Sun (Audio CD)
So Insomnium's 6th album is finally here. Actually, this is not just another album but rather a beautiful journey full of emotions that will offer you a great companion either when travelling or when you are at home. 'Shadows Of The Dying Sun' is with no doubt another great addition to Insomnium's back catalogue. The band has been steadily growing through the years and since day one the music always maintained an amazing quality in every aspect. The previous album 'One For Sorrow' was a masterpiece in my opinion but thankfully Insomnium have managed to produce another album which is on par in terms of quality (if not better).

I will refrain from providing a detailed description of each song (you can find plenty detailed reviews on the web) but I would like to stress that the music of the whole album is just beautiful. All new songs are excellent and the atmosphere these Finns create is just amazing - this is pure art! The production is top-notch as well and enhances the value of this studio offering.

As you would expect, melancholy meets aggression in a perfect balance; The guitar work from the founding member Ville Friman and the new member Markus Vanhala (also in Omnium Gatherum) is great throughout: there are really good riffs, sweet melodies, acoustic passages, and beautiful solos - keyboards are also used effectively. This time there are more parts with clean vocals (courtesy of Ville Friman) which add to the atmosphere and successfully support a nice melody. For instance, this approach is more prominent in the song 'Lose to Night' which has an excellent and really infectious chorus. Of course the harsh vocals have always been excellent and very expressive in Insomnium and Niilo Sevänen (vocals/bass) has once more done an excellent job - definitely one of the best guys in the scene and really fitting in his dual role. A special mention should be made to the drummer Markus Hirvonen whose playing is the backbone of each song and adopts an even more technical approach in this album (you will even hear some blast beats!). Finally, to complete the perfect puzzle, the lyrics are very deep and dark as always and complement the music perfectly.

Insomnium is not a typical band in the melodic death metal scene and as long as they manage to create this unique and eloquent atmosphere which combines melancholy and heaviness, they will always deserve to be in the top of their league. From the bottom of my heart, kiitos for the new album guys! Hopefully, see you on tour!

PS1 I would suggest the limited 2CD digipack edition with the extra tracks (1 new song plus 3 tracks which originally appeared on the 'Ephemeral' e.p. (or if you can pay something extra the Casket edition which can be ordered from the band's website and includes the digipack, a t-shirt, a textile flag, a signed post card and a patch).

PS2 Check also: Dark Tranquillity, Before the Dawn, Omnium Gatherum, Amorphis, Wolfheart, Ghost Brigade, Swallow the Sun, Noumena, Amon Amarth, Bel'akor, Eternal Tears of Sorrow, Black Sun Aeon, Dawn of Solace.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mournful and uplifting at the same time...Wow!, 14 Aug. 2014
What a fantastic album...a nice mix of growls and clean vocals. TBH I didn't know much about Insomnium, I love it when you take a punt on a blind purchase and it turns out as good as this. The guitars are pitched to get the hairs standing up on the back of the neck. A great album to listen to through the headphones...I agree with other reviewers the production is a bit low key, but it doesn't detract too much from the listening experience. I'm certainly going to be purchasing from their back catalogue if this is the standard of music and song writing. Also touring later this year. If you like Dark Tranquility and other bands of this genre, I doubt you will not go wrong in purchasing this album. Great stuff!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars JUST WOW!, 9 Jun. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shadows Of The Dying Sun (Audio CD)
This album, is absolutely MINDBLOWING! If you are even a slight fan, listen to this album. Really, cannot believe that they can just keep producing better and better albums \m/
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great effort from a fine fine band, 19 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A great effort from a fine fine band....Anyone who isn't moved, lifted and inspired by this album, has no soul! :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great Album, 7 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A great album that only gets better with each listening
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Always outstanding, 9 May 2014
By 
J. Wallis "Hawk" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I don't know what is the formula but Insomnium is always capable of making their genre of metal sound special.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars why do i like this so much?, 15 May 2014
By 
Hedon (Eternal Night) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Shadows Of The Dying Sun (Audio CD)
In the Halls of Awaiting and Under the Weeping World are two of the most beloved of my metal collection. I’ll never forget the first time I hear Insomnium; it was a revelation. However, my interest has started to wane in the band as the last two records, Across the Dark and One for Sorrow, as high-quality as they were, didn’t really bring any new ideas to the table. Actually, after hearing a few samples of this, I had geared myself up to hate this album and write it off as ‘another identical Insomnium cd’. However, something different happened…

I really, really like Shadows of The Dying Sun. I mean, really REALLY really, and for the life of me I can’t figure out why. There’s nothing on here remarkably different from the last three albums, but for some reason Shadows has captivated my attention and burrowed its way into my subconscious mid just like Weeping World and Halls did. Its melodies sweep through my mind when doing mundane tasks. I think about it during my breaks at work. Why? It still sounds so similar. Omnium Gatherum guitarist Markus Vanhala may make his presence known, as his leads and solos are a little bit flashier and have a bit more flair than his predecessor, but still, he doesn’t really alter the bands trademark dreary, wind-swept melodic death bread and butter sound. Also, there are more clean vocals than ever before, but that was to be expected with the way the band has been going.

Well, I’m not too sure I can articulate it; maybe this is just a bloody great album? Maybe it’s just a better than One for Sorrow and Across the Dark? At the very least, if there is something different going on here, I cannot hear it. But what I can hear is a damn great Insomnium record.

Consistency may breed contempt in some, but in others it breeds familiarity and loyalty; perhaps I’m just lucky to be of the later. In the ears of yours truly, (with the exception of Lose To Night, which actually cured my insomnia) this is just so bloody brilliant that I don’t care if it’s similar to their previous work. Don’t expect Shadows of the Dying Sun to reinvent the band in any way, but don’t write this off as ‘just another Insomnium album’. You might like it just as much as I do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 27 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Absolutely brilliant album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Epic, 2 Jun. 2014
This review is from: Shadows Of The Dying Sun (Audio CD)
insomnium have captured the true essence of melodic death metal I find it an odd mix because its brutal yet soothing I can quite easily put my headphones in and chill to there songs as much as I can pump out a gym session with aggression listening to it, either way it is fantastic and shadows of the dying sun is a truly great album love the guitar riffs especially "while we sleep" and "lose tonight" but every single song to me has a great moment in it, there must be something in finlands water because there producing some top notch bands, keep going insomnium!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great songs, crushed master, 30 Jun. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shadows Of The Dying Sun (Audio CD)
Another good album from Insomnium. However the great songs are let down - once again - by a poor mix and even worse mastering. How about some dynamic range in your records guys. But if you aren't someone who notices such things then add a star and go on and enjoy one of the best melodic death metal albums of the year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Shadows Of The Dying Sun
Shadows Of The Dying Sun by Insomnium (Audio CD - 2014)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews