Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, 13 Aug. 2013
By 
Mr. Anthony Richards "Tony Richards" (Gweek in Cornwall) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A delightful book with some superb recollections of flying the Lightning, many of them completely new to me. Very good value. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More great stories!, 24 Aug. 2013
Received LB2 a few days ago and couldn't put it down. Some of the stories told are incredible and very exciting. Looking forward to LB3!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Compliment to 1st Book, 7 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lightning Boys 2: More True Tales from Pilots and Crew of the English Electric Lightning (Kindle Edition)
Having had the pleasure of meeting and talking with many of the pilots in both books it was both a pleasure and an honour to be able to read about their lives and their 'interesting moments'. These Gentlemen of the air have experienced great and in some case life threatening experiences but remain far too modest to 'shoot a line'. Thankfully, however, the Author has prised it from them to our great benefit. Excellent book and my thanks to all the Lightning pilots who contributed and the Author, also to Amazon for stocking these titles!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the lightning boys2, 29 Sept. 2013
By 
Mr. David A. Darkin (Cornwall England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not quite as good as lightning boys 1, but still a very enjoyable read. I would suggest that you read the said book before reading the second book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Present for my brother, 11 Nov. 2013
By 
Pauline (Trowbridge, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was a present for my brother - he had the original Lightning Boys and loved it so this was an obvious choice. The service was amazing arriving ahead of time so I was very happy. He reported that the book was excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lightning Boys 2, 8 April 2014
By 
D. C. Paintin "David" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A very good follow up volume to Lightning Boys. Richard Pike has produced in this volume more interesting stories and anecdotes from pilots and other crew who wre involved with the Lightning. Full of humour and intrigue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book just as good as Lightning Boys 1, 12 Aug. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A great read as was Lightning boys 1. With tales from not just a pilots view. Still the understated well trainned approach to flying this amazing dragon with wings....and the ever noticable sense of humor. I loved it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another great read from Dick Pike, 12 Nov. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
These stories - and there are many - continue to be good reading, thanks to Dick Pike's clever editing. The books - and those yet to come - make excellent additions to the bookshelf
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Lightning Boys 1 & 2, 24 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Both books are excellent, telling very real and true stories of flying the Lightning. It was a wonderful aircraft to fly and a joy to have been associated with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended read. These stories are from a past era ..., 29 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lightning Boys 2: More True Tales from Pilots and Crew of the English Electric Lightning (Kindle Edition)
Highly recommended read. These stories are from a past era and not likely to be repeated in the modern times but still are very interesting / amusing etc
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews