Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Clear Track Listing -Bad News Gets Around-Handsome Guy!
Liberty Records was founded in 1955 and specialised in soundtracks- however that soon changed when they saw the record buying public had switched to the youth who now had money to spend.

The label tended to grab anyone they thought would sell so Liberty has been critcised as being a hotch potch of artists..

this 3 CD set is excellent
Every track...
Published 14 months ago by Glenn Cook

versus
5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good comp
Excellent compilation of one of the best of all the independant record companies during the 50s and 60s in the US. Some genuine rarities in this lot, although there's one major blunder with the inclusion of Frankie Lymon's Roulette recording of 'I Put The Bomp' on CD3....hence only a 3 star rating. The mind boggles how these people got that track so wrong and yet billed...
Published 14 months ago by Aj Watson


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Clear Track Listing -Bad News Gets Around-Handsome Guy!, 17 May 2013
By 
Glenn Cook (South Cave, near Hull UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Liberty Records was founded in 1955 and specialised in soundtracks- however that soon changed when they saw the record buying public had switched to the youth who now had money to spend.

The label tended to grab anyone they thought would sell so Liberty has been critcised as being a hotch potch of artists..

this 3 CD set is excellent
Every track is the original by the original artist and each and every track has passed the magic 50 years so public domain!!

BUT

Amazon have cramped the tracks together which makes the artists and the actual tracks hard to read so I',ve spaced them out for you.

I'm far too old for a paper round and too young to retire!!

SO please have pity?

jCD 1
1.Papa-Oom-Mow-Mow -The Rivingtons
2.The Night Has A Thousand Eyes-Bobby Vee
3.Chip Chip-Gene McDaniels
4.She's Gone-Buddy Knox
5.Tennessee-Jan & Dean
6.He's A Rebel-Vikki Carr
7.Don't Ever Change-The Crickets
8.Sally Was A Good Old Girl-Hank Cochran
9.Surfer's Stomp-The Mar-Ketts
10.Other Side Of Town -P.J.Proby
11.In The Middle Of A Lonely Night-Johnny Southern
12.What's A Matter Baby ( Is It Hurting You )- Timi Yuro
13.Tell Me-Dick And Deedee
14.How Many Nights (How Many Days)- Bobby Sheen
15.Why Me-Betty O'Brian
16.Handsome Guy-Dick Lory
17.Women-Emmett Lord
18.Bad News Gets Around-Warren Smith
19.Someday-Bobby Vee With The Crickets
20.Follow Your Heart-Van McCoy
21.Big Daddy-Jay Miller
22.Faded Love-Jackie DeShannon
23.There's Gonna Be Love At My House Tonight- Willie Nelson
24.Clown Shoes-Johnny Burnette
25.Old Rivers-Walter Brennan

CD2

1.Sharing You-Bobby Vee
2.Spanish Lace-Gene McDaniels
3.Desafinado (Slightly Out Of Tune)- Julie London
4.Lover Doll-Pat Carter
5.Alley Oop Was A Two Dab Man-Gary Paxton
6.Wild Honey-Gordon Terry
7.Struttin' 'N Twistin'-Roosevelt Grier
8.Book Of Broken Hearts-Warren Smith
9.You Won't Forget Me-Jackie De Shannon
10.The Time Has Come-George McCurn
11.Open (Your Lovin' Arms)-Buddy Knox
12.Anything Will Do-Scott Engel
13.My Heart Comes Running Back To You- Nick Noble
14.The Fool Of The Year-Johnny Burnette
15.The Love of a Boy-Timi Yuro
16.Watch Me Walk Away-P.J. Proby
17.Kickapoo Joy Juice-The Rivingtons
18.Until-Billy Barnes
19.a Ne Do-Troy Shondell
20.Punish Her-Bobby Vee
21.I'll Walk the Rest of the Way-Vikki Carr
22.Little Hollywood Girl-The Crickets
23.Touch Me-Willie Nelson
24.Hey There Mountain-Obrey Wilson
25.Armen's Theme-Ross Bagdasarian

CD3
1.Stompin' Room Only-The Mar-Ketts
2.Who Put The Bomp-Jan & Dean
3.Please Don't Ask About Barbara-Bobby Vee
4.The Proud Don't Cry-Dean Jones
5.Parisian Girl-The Crickets
6.The Mail Must Go Through-Roosevelt Grier
7.Just Like In The Movies-Jackie De Shannon
8.Teen Age Crush-Gary Paxton
9.Mama-Oom-Mow-Mow-The Rivingtons
10.Dear Abby-Buddy Knox
11.I Ain't Givin' Up Nothing-Jewel Brown
12.Let Me Call You Sweethear-Timi Yuro
13.Point Of No Return-Gene McDaniels
14.Five Minutes Of The Latest Blues-Warren Smith
15.Softly As I Leave You-Matt Monroe
16.I Can't Say Goodbye-Bobby Vee
17.Money Honey-Betty O'Brian
18.Lonesome Waters-Johnny Burnette
19.Queen Of The Angels-Deane Hawley
20.Hello Out There-Nick Noble
21.Sally Let Your Bangs Hang Down- Johnny Olenn
22.The Alvin Twist- David Seville And The Chipmunks
23.You Dream About Me- Willie Nelson And Shirley Collie
25. Down in The ole
24.Papa-The Untouchables
25.The Old Kelly Place-Walter Brennan
26. Down in the Ole Glen - Stevie D'or and the Dockers.

Don't include the last track 26 on your listing.

It's a sad thought that many of these artist will now have passed away after over 50 years or more since the tracks were originally recorded.

In a way it's really good that when we hear them again today we can think back to the original artists.
It would be nice if you could say a little prayer for them.
Like the add for Tesco says `Every little helps'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THANK YOU, 15 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The item is brilliant and I and enjoying the CD immensely. Great item. In future I am not prepared to write an essay, what is wrong with "A brilliant CD. Thank you"?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Golden Oldies., 19 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great tracks take me back to my younger days. Some I thought I would never see or hear again - but here they are. Thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another one to add to your collection, 26 Jun 2013
By 
John Sheldon (Leek Staffs UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
yet again another quality release by one day, just hope they keep coming, the selection is just right, and packing and information first class.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ... on time and although I knew that it was good, it turned out to be better, 14 July 2014
This item arrived on time and although I knew that it was good, it turned out to be better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars United Artsists, 9 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A couple of rare early PJ Proby recordings really show what a good singer he used to be. Bobby Vee classics and early Willie Nelson nestled nicely in this bunch from a label that had money behind it and some top producers. Would like to hear more such compilations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great, 27 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
great.bit of oldies music, Love this old stuff this sort of sound will always be around. it is always nice to here
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Lots of music for a great price!, 8 Oct 2013
By 
William C. Saul "Bill Saul" (Denver, CO) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This set focus on 1962 with 75 songs. It was a very good year for Liberty. There are even some Phil Spector produced songs which weren't hits, but still sound good. I'm not sure how many songs Liberty put out in 1962, but this set can't be missing many of them. There are not all hits, but they're fun!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good comp, 18 May 2013
By 
Aj Watson (Sydney, Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent compilation of one of the best of all the independant record companies during the 50s and 60s in the US. Some genuine rarities in this lot, although there's one major blunder with the inclusion of Frankie Lymon's Roulette recording of 'I Put The Bomp' on CD3....hence only a 3 star rating. The mind boggles how these people got that track so wrong and yet billed it as "Jan & Dean"! I hope in time they do earlier years of Liberty releases in the same in-depth way.

Incidentally, the previous reviewer (as well as Amazon) has the track listing WRONG. The lead track on CD1 is Gene McDaniels 'Point Of No Return', and 'Chip Chip' which is listed at track 3, is actually track #13 on CD3.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Value., 17 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A very good collection of oldies, which is good to reminisce with. Good value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews