Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Track Listings -Those Oldies But Goodies (Remind Me Of You)
Jungle Fever THE DEL▼FI RECORDS STORY contains 50 Original Recordings by the original artists.
The music is over 50 years old and is therefore `Public Domain'
The tracks are on on 2CDs and at this price are an absolute steal.

But Amazon don't have a clear track listing so this may be of use?

CD1

01 La Bamba - Ritchie...
Published 20 months ago by Glenn Cook

versus
0 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not good
Hate this CD. It not even part of my collection, couple of good tracks but nothing special. Buy it if you need it for your collection. Sorry so negative but this is bad.
Published 13 months ago by Mr. Kevin Goodison


Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Track Listings -Those Oldies But Goodies (Remind Me Of You), 19 April 2013
By 
Glenn Cook (South Cave, near Hull UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Jungle Fever THE DEL▼FI RECORDS STORY contains 50 Original Recordings by the original artists.
The music is over 50 years old and is therefore `Public Domain'
The tracks are on on 2CDs and at this price are an absolute steal.

But Amazon don't have a clear track listing so this may be of use?

CD1

01 La Bamba - Ritchie Valens
02 Cherrystone - The Addrisi Brothers
03 The Hippy Hippy Shake - Chan Romero
04 Miserlou - The Lively Ones
05 Your Nose Is Gonna Grow - Johnny Crawford
06 Your Mama Said No - Vickie Diaz
07 School's Out - Myron Lee
08 Lonesome Drifter - Jerico Brown
09 Fortune Teller - Bobby Curtola
10 That's My Little Suzie - Ritchie Valens
11 Splish Splash - Desda
12 Tonight - Carlos Brothers
13 Lonely Guy - The Gallahads
14 A Little More Wine, My Dear - The Hawks
15 Fast Freight - Arvee Allens
16 Patti Ann - Johnny Crawford
17 If I Had My Way - Chan Romero
18 This Other - Bonnie Owens
19 Ten Commandments Of Love - Little Caesar & The
20 Hey Then, There Now - Jackie Burns
21 Cry Cry Cry - Ritchie Valens
22 Lookin' For A Job - Little Joe Mosley & The Seq
23 All The Gang Knows - Lonnie & The Carollons
24 I Cry And Cry - Bobby Curtola
25 Those Oldies But Goodies (Remind Me Of You) - Little Caesar & The RomanS

CD2

01 Come On, Let's Go - Ritchie Valens
02 Gonna See My Baby - The Addrisi Brothers
03 Jungle Fever - The Shadows
04 My Little Ruby - Chan Romero
05 Cindy's Birthday - Johnny Crawford
06 My Heart's Tongue Tied - Bobby Curtola
07 Guitarget - The Lively Ones
08 For Eternity - Vickie Diaz
09 Memories Of Those Oldies But Goodies - Little C
10 If I Had My Way - Chan Romero
11 Donna - Ritchie Valens
12 I'm Without A Girlfriend - The Gallahads
13 Tell Me - Gerry Langford
14 Rumors - Johnny Crawford
15 It's Time To Go - Carlos Brothers
16 Fever - Little Caesar & The Romans
17 I Don't Care Now - Chan Romero
18 What In The World Can I Do? - The Hep Cats
19 Aladdin - Bobby Curtola
20 Big Baby Blues - Arvee Allens
21 Morning Star - The Balladeers
22 Fussy - The Hawks
23 He Is - Pippy Shannon
24 Little Girl - Ricky Dean
25 We Belong Together - Ritchie Valens
26. Ooh La La Glen and the Maypoles
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very Good Compilation, 20 April 2013
By 
Amazon Customer "traceyann" (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This public domain compilation compiles music from the `Del-Fi' label from 1958 - 62. Nearly 2 hours of music - cd 1. 56.32mins and cd 2 56.55mins. The sound quality is good overall (four or five tracks have audible pops and distortion). This is a no thrills compilation - so there's no booklet but there's a one sided intro, writing credits and six small pictures of the leading artists. In my humble opinion Del-Fi had more than its fair share of talent that sadly for one reason or another never reached their full potential or haven't had enough credit aimed there way - Chan Romero, Ritchie Valens (passed away), Johnny Crawford (quit at 16), Bobby Curtola (a huge success in Canada but not in the U.S) or Jericho Brown. Despite this, there are so many good tracks on these two discs by those mentioned above - the outstanding original of 'The Hippy Hippy Shake' by Chan Romero who like Ritchie Valens came from an Hispanic background. All the Valens tracks are classics and need no introduction. On the lighter side of pop, teen idols - Bobby Curtola & Johnny Crawford are both very good ('Cindy's birthday' and 'Rumours' by the young Johnny are excellent as are 'Fortune teller' and 'Aladdin' by Bobby). Overall, it's a very good compilation that's great value for money. Enjoy. 8.5/10.

Please note: Aladdin by Bobby Curtola IS NOT the ORIGINAL 45rpm (Del-fi 4185). It's slower as if the pitch is wrong, or it could be a latter re-recording or album version?

Also note: There are 2 versions of the great B side 'If I had my way' (correct title on Del-Fi 4119 - 'If I had A way') by Chan Romero, one has a slightly more prominent vocal. I believe they were recorded 3 months apart.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Those Oldies But Goodies!!!, 10 Aug 2014
Del-Fi was a little recording studio in L.A. Producer Bob Keane was responsible for discovering Ricardo Valenzuela (aka. Ritchie Valens). Besides the Valen's material, you get more from the label. The Addrisi Brothers' "Cherrystone" is a very good rock n' roll record and the original (not by the Swinging Blue Jeans) "Hippy Hippy Shake."

For doo-wop, Little Caesar & The Romans' "Those Oldies But Goodies" in the Top Ten from 1961. Superb instrumental "Miserlou" by the Lively Ones, even competes with Dick Dale's version. Johnny Crawford and Canadian Bobby Curtola provide the pop sound, but really nothing out of the ordinary.

Some other unknown obscure tracks produced at Del-Fi round out the playlist and one downside for me is that ONE DAY music should have completed this compilation adding "Donna Records" hits unless they're going to release a "Donna Records Story." This was a subsidiary record label which launched the massive "Love You So" by Ron Holden and it would have been nice to hear it here with the rest. In fact, there is a compilation released by Ace which unites both record labels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great, 27 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
great.bit of oldies music, Love this old stuff this sort of sound will always be around. it is always nice to here
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Value., 17 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A very good collection of oldies, which is good to reminisce with. Good value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jungle Fever- Del - Fi Records Story, 4 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Go back in time when the music started the artists that have been forgotten and how good they where and still are ,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not good, 11 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Hate this CD. It not even part of my collection, couple of good tracks but nothing special. Buy it if you need it for your collection. Sorry so negative but this is bad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews