Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
24
4.1 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 July 2014
I really love all of Tonkin's Elizabethan series. The historical fact is so accurate and you learn so much as well as enjoying a good and relaxing read. In fact, I've found that I'm googling certain bits of info as I go along, so it's a much richer experience than 'just another historical murder mystery'.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2014
It was an interesting story but I felt the author was trying too hard to bring in every fact he could about Elizabethan manners.custom and descriptions of clothes. arms etc. I was intrigued when the plot suddenly moved to Cornwall where I live but perplexed by Cotehell Castle which is fictional although I know Cotehele the Elizabethan manor house. The author does state this but only at the end of the book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2014
A fast-moving authentic feeling historical novel with a strong element of murder mystery. Tom Musgrave 'The Master of Logic' as well as a 'Master of Defence' has to travel from his usual London haunts where he works with Will Shakespeare, Robert Poley and other actual members of the Secret Service of the time, to face new threats in deepest, darkest Cornwall.
22 comments| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2014
Same with all his books.. Must have really investigated the Elizabethan era to come up with what only can be described as sheer Brilliance.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2016
I found this quite thrilling but did get a little caught up in all the descriptive narrative and struggled to visualise the action.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2016
A good quick read, a bit pretentious
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 October 2015
Another winner from Peter Tonkin, simply superb from start to finish everything a Elizabethan murder mystery should have and more ! can't wait for his next in this series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2016
Full of pace. An excellent story well told. A plot with intriguing twists that keeps one's attention. As good a book as all the others in the series. Enjoy!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2014
Quite well situated historically but the characters don't develop as much as they should and are one dimensional. Elizabethan life through tinted glasses.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 May 2014
This is a well written book st a blood price and would be good value ant where pleased with this
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.