Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended murder mystery, 10 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Deadly Learning: A Diana Rivers Mystery (The Diana Rivers Mysteries Book 6) (Kindle Edition)
In this the sixth book in the Diana Rivers series, author Faith Mortimer delivers another absorbing whodunit with all the depth, mystery and intrigue we’ve come to expect. As in all of her writing, it’s the attention to detail – that ‘you could be there’ feeling – that sets the story apart from more routine mysteries. You feel you are right there alongside Diana as she meticulously investigates a double murder in an International School on the Algarve in Portugal. The clues – and red herrings – are many but Diana picks her way skilfully through the evidence to identify those responsible. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A whodunnit that sparkles, 12 Mar 2014
By 
E J Miller (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: A Deadly Learning: A Diana Rivers Mystery (The Diana Rivers Mysteries Book 6) (Kindle Edition)
I received an advance reader's copy of this book in return for an honest review.

I've always been an admirer of writers who an craft a convoluted, yet convincing plot that can keep me gripped right to the end of a story without me guessing whodunnit before the very end, and A Deadly Learning by Faith Mortimer is just such a story.

I changed my mind several times along the way before the identity of the culprit became clear. Good red-herrings (essential), the perfect setting to engage the reader's senses, great and varied characters are all necessary, plus good pacing and the right tone and language to carry the reader along with the story without worrying about meaning. In this story, Faith Mortimer has carried off all these essential components in an excellent story that will keep the reader intrigued right to the end. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another top read from Faith Mortimer!, 25 April 2014
By 
Mr. Thomas B. Bridle "tbridle" (Guildford, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Deadly Learning: A Diana Rivers Mystery (The Diana Rivers Mysteries Book 6) (Kindle Edition)
Faith Mortimer is my current favourite author. As with all of her books, A Deadly Learning is a real page turner, full of suspense and mystery. The plot is well crafted with many twists and turns. You won't know who did it until the end!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mystery and mayheam, 19 April 2014
This review is from: A Deadly Learning: A Diana Rivers Mystery (The Diana Rivers Mysteries Book 6) (Kindle Edition)
The more books I read by this author, the more I like her writing. She reminds me of that other great British author Agatha Christie! The writing flows evenly and the plotline develops well. This author captured the atmosphere of the setting from the very beginning. A thoroughly good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great mystery., 22 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Deadly Learning: A Diana Rivers Mystery (The Diana Rivers Mysteries Book 6) (Kindle Edition)
I love this series of books following the adventures of writer and amateur sleuth, Diana Rivers and her husband Steve. This one is set in a college in Portugal, where they are staying with a friend of Diana's. From the beginning I was engrossed in the story from when the first body was found. Steve has business problems and goes to London leaving Diana who carries on doing detective work in Portugal and putting herself into danger again. The plot is well thought out and keeps you in suspense until the end. Thank you, Faith Mortimer, for another enjoyable read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 20 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Deadly Learning: A Diana Rivers Mystery (The Diana Rivers Mysteries Book 6) (Kindle Edition)
Faith Mortimer. Brilliant.
A Deadly Learning.
This is the latest novel in the Diana Rivers series, and it's set in sunny Portugal. As always with Faiths book, you feel as though you are right there in whatever country it is set in. Steve has business to attend to in Portugal and so Diana goes along with him and they both stay at a friends house. Diana's friend is Wendy and she works at the local school, this is where crimes have been committed and Diana gets involved.whilst they are there Steve finds out his business partner is involved with dodgy dealings, so Steve heads to the UK to see if he can sort this problem out. Diana stays on in Portugal to investigate a couple of strange deaths.as always with Faiths books it cracks on at a fair pace, and there are always a couple of things on the go at once. I've read all the Diana Rivers books and this one is a very good addition to the series. Roll on the next book is what I say.
5 stars. 20 March 2014.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Diana Rivers can't stop sleuthing!, 13 Mar 2014
This review is from: A Deadly Learning: A Diana Rivers Mystery (The Diana Rivers Mysteries Book 6) (Kindle Edition)
It's always good to catch up with novelist Diana Rivers, our glamorous, twenty-first-century Miss Marple. But I'm beginning to worry about her...she seems to find herself in deeper and deeper hot water with every case!

In this adventure, Diana leaves her beloved Cyprus for a business trip/combined holiday with husband Steve, while their young daughter is being cooed over and thoroughly spoilt by her parents. The Algarve in Portugal is the enviable destination, where, coincidentally, she is invited to a twenty-first-cum-engagement party of a friend's god-daughter. Wendy, Diana's friend, tutors at the nearby university. But this seat of learning is more than just a place of education it seems: it's a hive of secrets, lies, obsession, drug dealings, sex and...murder.

Despite Steve's strict warnings that Diana is to keep well away from any sleuthing, our much loved amateur detective can do no such thing and finds herself, yet again, solving a murder mystery in the sultry summer heat.

Faith, as always, delivers a crisp, clear, well-conceived, entertaining and enjoyable mystery. Diana Rivers is now such a familiar and much-loved character, she's almost tangible: you are tempted to yell out and tell her to follow her husband's warnings to stick to her writing, and not get into any more trouble. For all that, her next adventure is always eagerly awaited.

Top marks once again, Faith.

I received a free copy of this novel in exchange for a fair and honest review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews