Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great kit
all the bugs have been fixed, and the missing apps are all back. having read all the bad reviews, i simply went to currys to find out first hand if they were true, and i am glad to say that they were not.
Published 3 months ago by mr nice guy

versus
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Issue
The kit is easy to setup and has improved interface, remote, etc. However due to Samsung UK dropping a ball various apps that you may have downloaded are currently not available with the kit installed i.e.BBC iPlayer, Netflix, Amazon Prime Video and 4oD. If you value these apps it is better to hold off until Samsung announce they are available (they said could be some...
Published 5 months ago by IAN HAXELL


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great kit, 9 Aug 2014
This review is from: SEK2000/XC Smart Evolution Kit (Accessory)
all the bugs have been fixed, and the missing apps are all back. having read all the bad reviews, i simply went to currys to find out first hand if they were true, and i am glad to say that they were not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ... 8 TV and i've just upgraded using this 2014 smart evolution kit, 13 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SEK2000/XC Smart Evolution Kit (Accessory)
I have the 2012 Series 8 TV and i've just upgraded using this 2014 smart evolution kit. Excellent. loved it. Easy to install. Makes my TV processor faster and quicker to browse online. But the remote seems more plastic like, is smaller and lighter than the previous models but easier to use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Issue, 12 Jun 2014
By 
IAN HAXELL (Boca Raton, FL USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: SEK2000/XC Smart Evolution Kit (Accessory)
The kit is easy to setup and has improved interface, remote, etc. However due to Samsung UK dropping a ball various apps that you may have downloaded are currently not available with the kit installed i.e.BBC iPlayer, Netflix, Amazon Prime Video and 4oD. If you value these apps it is better to hold off until Samsung announce they are available (they said could be some time)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The kit attached very easily and fired up without issue, 22 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SEK2000/XC Smart Evolution Kit (Accessory)
The kit attached very easily and fired up without issue. The set up process was very short. The remote control is better than the original two that came with my TV. It comes with an adapter for you to plug LAN into if you are using it with a 2012 TV (LAN for 2013 TVs plugs into the TV). The kit updates 2012 and 2013 Samsung TVs to 2014 features. The voice and motion controls are an improvement, the layout for the smart TV features are much better than they were. You can use Smart View 2.0, which basically means you don't need to stop watching your show if you want to take a dump part way through. Or if you just want to make tea. Some people prefer to do that.

There is no noticeable improvement in picture quality, although I thought the 2D to 3D conversion looked better. Having said that, it's probably a placebo. You will probably find you will need to adjust settings to get things how you like them again. Whether it is worth the money is debatable. The point and click feature of the controller doesn't work with all the apps, which is slightly annoying. The Facebook app could be good, but it's not; it's dire. The 2012 Smart TV layout was painfully slow, so this is a fairly big improvement from that long ago era. The benefit of a Smart TV is in the apps, and most of them are quite rubbish. Since it reflects on Samsung's products, you'd think they'd get on to the app creators to pull their fingers out, but they've yet to do that. Nevertheless, all the usual catch up and Amazon and Netflix stuff is there.

What might be better would be an Android OS so apps could just be modified from there, but alas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Close but no cigar, 24 Jun 2014
This review is from: SEK2000/XC Smart Evolution Kit (Accessory)
I had the same problem installing the kit lost apps like Netflix that were there before last week I reset the smart hub and final got the apps I was looking for the new remote is good it also improved picture quality which is the main thing but it's way over priced
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Sound output to an external amp is dropping from time to time (few milliseconds every now and then) which makes it very annoying, 4 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SEK2000/XC Smart Evolution Kit (Accessory)
Upgraded a 40'' F8000
It's supposed to upgrade the processor, but I find it more sluggish than before the upgrade.
Sound output to an external amp is dropping from time to time (few milliseconds every now and then) which makes it very annoying to watch movies.
Some ideas on the new 2014 Smarthub are good, and the new remote is better than previous one, but I don't think that's worth the price tag.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Save your Money, 18 Oct 2014
By 
B. S. Peck (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SEK2000/XC Smart Evolution Kit (Accessory)
Firstly the fitting is very poor took me 4/5 attempts to get the tv to find it then during the update was told it could not find USB and to try again later ???
After a few hours of trying gave up and returned the unit, Have since been on Samsung forums and apparently this is a common problem and a Known fault.
All in All not worth the bother Cheap plastic remote, bad fitting and bad software.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Waste of money, 7 Jun 2014
This review is from: SEK2000/XC Smart Evolution Kit (Accessory)
As from the 07/06/14 this Smart Evolution Kit does not have BBC iPlayer, Netflix's or Amazon prime App in the UK.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great upgrade for responsive software., 21 Aug 2014
By 
N. Bennie "Nick" (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SEK2000/XC Smart Evolution Kit (Accessory)
Seamless set up and much faster than the 2012 software. Plex is much smoother and responsive. Updated football mode and Netflix also great. The new remote is much smaller and lighter than the 2012 model.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Falling short of greatness, 15 Jun 2014
This review is from: SEK2000/XC Smart Evolution Kit (Accessory)
The split screen option is very limiting I've got the F8000 46 model 2013 which smart capabilities were disappointing to begin with the new remote is a grate improvement .not worth the 200 price tag.not haveing some apps also annoying especially BBC I player.and eco mode just a wind up spent ages trying to turn it off.as other reviewer's suggested you should wait until they get the unit right
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

SEK2000/XC Smart Evolution Kit
£183.80
Usually dispatched within 3 to 4 days
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews