Customer Reviews


242 Reviews
5 star:
 (160)
4 star:
 (59)
3 star:
 (15)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Perfect escapism for long summer days
The Beach Hut Next Door returns the reader to Everdene, the magical seaside setting of Veronica Henry’s novels ‘The Beach Hut’ and ‘The Sea Change’. This particular summer the owners of their beach huts return once again for a summer of hot sun, soft sand and gently lapping waves to recharge their batteries, to fondly remember summers past...
Published 9 months ago by Ismay1012

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I was disappointed with the Beach Hut Next Door
When Maeve Binchey sadly passed away, I thought that there was an opportunity for Veronica Henry to fill the gap. Having read all of her previous works , I was disappointed with the Beach Hut Next Door. The book is a series of short stories and two themes which are returned to throughout the book. Some of the short stories have very little substance and seem to be fillers...
Published 8 months ago by olly


‹ Previous | 1 225 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Perfect escapism for long summer days, 3 July 2014
By 
Ismay1012 - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Beach Hut Next Door (Kindle Edition)
The Beach Hut Next Door returns the reader to Everdene, the magical seaside setting of Veronica Henry’s novels ‘The Beach Hut’ and ‘The Sea Change’. This particular summer the owners of their beach huts return once again for a summer of hot sun, soft sand and gently lapping waves to recharge their batteries, to fondly remember summers past and in some cases to put their past to bed and move on to a brighter future.

Jenna, the Ice Cream Girl and her boyfriend, policeman Craig from ‘The Sea Change’ feature, as their relationship strengthens and Jenna invests in her future by buying a traditional Ice Cream Cart. Her past of low-grade criminality is well and truly behind her; she has finally found her dream of a job, which she loves. Other summer visitors, both new and old, are introduced and interact in each other’s stories. The bereaved brothers who lost their father at sea are trying to rebuild their lives and business so that they can begin afresh with new hope. Elodie, who so loved Everdene and the Grey House in her childhood, but who had never returned after a shocking secret estranged her from her family. Now is the time for her return to put the ghosts of the past away and build bridges with her family. Rachel and Tim, who have recently separated and who share their beach hut because they could not bear to part with it. They were forced apart by their inability to bear children, they are meeting again to arrange their swap over and make a list of jobs that need to be done on their beach hut. There are even more heart warming stories within this gem of a novel, with secrets revealed, new romances, deceptions, betrayals and some lives are set to change forever.

This novel is a perfect summer read for lazy, sunny days on the beach or relaxing days in the comfort of home. It’s a novel for anybody who enjoys ‘people watching’, real life issues, romance stories and stories with a twist at the most unexpected times. It’s an easy, light read which I read within a day and the variety of the different stories made it a fascinating, compelling read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars My first by this author but it wont be my last! xXx, 19 July 2014
By 
realovesbooks (South east London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Beach Hut Next Door (Kindle Edition)
I have heard many positive reviews about Veronica Henry's books but I have never got around to picking one up so I made sure to download one to take away with me to read on holiday and The Beach Hut Next Door sounded like a perfect beach read.

Everdene is the place to be this Summer as holiday makers descend to their beach huts but it isn't all fun in the sun for everyone, Jenna is trying to turn her life around if only the bank would giver her a chance. Elodie finds herself returning to her childhood home and all the memories come flooding back. Then there are brothers Vince and Chris who are running the family business as well as grieving in different ways for their father.

The setting is so detailed it is easy to imagine yourself sitting among the characters in this book. There are a vast amount of characters in this book Jenna, Elodie and Vince have the stronger more indepth storylines and it was these three characters who really captured my attention and whilst it was a nice touch to have a few smaller storylines with different characters weaved in around these characters I did find it strange half way through being introduced to yet more characters with their own storylines. Personally I really don't think we needed all of these extra characters as the three main characters had such interesting and enjoyable storylines that there were no need to add these extras it was enjoyable enough without them. I constantly found myself eager to get back to one of our three main characters!

I enjoyed the mix of the modern feel as well as the memoir's too I was especially intrigued by Elodie's story as it was unpredictable.

This was an enjoyable read full of hope, determination, romance as well as heartbreak and secrets. I enjoyed this book and will definitely be reading more books by this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Henry's new beach hut tales are a beach hit!!, 18 July 2014
By 
Laura smith "lilly36" (Falkirk, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
I was beyond excited when I found out Veronica Henry was releasing a second book based on the little seaside town of Everdene and the inhabitants of the beach huts along along the stretch of coast. In the first book Henry wove together lots of individual stories which evoked a real sense of community and seaside atmosphere and although all the stories stood separately she tied them all back together and left me wanting more.

In this second book about life in the Beach Huts we don’t, unfortunately revisit any of the original characters from the first book, instead we are introduced to new stories. Again they span all generations and walks of life, Elodie who at seventy is buying a home in Everdene but for whom the house holds memories of her childhood. We are taken back with her to the days of her youth and follow her story to date and it is, to this we keep returning alongside Henry’s other characters. We have Jeanne a young unemployed entrepreneur trying to start her own business, two fisherman brothers coping with their fathers death, an ex – convict arriving to take up residence as an artist, a London high flyer finding a new life after leaving her job and a divorced couple trying to find a way to move on whilst still co-owning their hut.

Again this book just evoked such wonderful feelings of life in the sleepy seaside town, each time I see a beach hut now it makes me think of these books and I long to stay in one, like a recluse claiming some me time alongside the beach and the elements. Henry doesn’t link the characters as closely as she did in the first book, their stories link but perhaps not so closely as previously. This didn’t detract from the enjoyment of the story and each one draws you in and makes them feel fulfilling. Each is given enough focus to tell their tale and to allow you as a reader to become emotionally invested in their wellbeing.

This for me was one of the must have books this summer, it was perfectly timed as a release and I love that for people who haven’t managed to book a foreign break but have managed a break in the UK seaside this might just be the book to take with you. Henry continues to deliver amazing books full of heart and emotion and she has again proved faultless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I was disappointed with the Beach Hut Next Door, 23 July 2014
When Maeve Binchey sadly passed away, I thought that there was an opportunity for Veronica Henry to fill the gap. Having read all of her previous works , I was disappointed with the Beach Hut Next Door. The book is a series of short stories and two themes which are returned to throughout the book. Some of the short stories have very little substance and seem to be fillers to make the book an acceptable length to publish. I found it difficult to get involved with the two themes as there was either too much happening in a short period of time or years appear to have passed without mention.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great beach read., 11 July 2014
By 
J. G. Edwards (Hampshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Beach Hut Next Door (Kindle Edition)
Excellent, light but still complex. There's enough about each of the stories to make you care about all of them. An ideal book for the beach or train as you can read it in chunks nicely. Only issue is that I read it very fast and would have liked the fun to last a bit longer!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A lovely summer read, 6 Aug. 2014
By 
Chloe S "Chick Lit Chloe" (Berkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Jenna and her boyfriend Craig are determined to keep the strength in their relationship alive, and when Jenna discovers a new business opportunity that she thinks will be the making of her, Craig knows he has to trust and support his girlfriend in her venture. Recently separated couple Rachel and Tim have decided to share their beloved beach hut, neither wanting to part with the place that holds such lovely memories for each of them. There's also the fishermen brothers who are trying to keep their business alive after the loss of their father at sea, driving one of the brothers to the brink of despair, and the other struggling to keep the business afloat. Finally, there's Elodie, who fell in love with Everdene in her childhood when she lived at Grey House but left after a shocking family revelation left her estranged from the rest of her family. All this and more happens on the beach at beautiful Everdene...

While I've mentioned the above characters, these are the ones that stood out to me but they aren't all that is in the book. There are lots of little stories within the book, all cleverly woven together and they really do read as a wonderful story. There's obviously lots of different storylines going on and you do have to concentrate to make sure you know where you are with the book but for me, it was a really enjoyable read. I loved revisiting Everdene, visualising the beautiful scenery in my mind as well as the lovely beach huts too. Since reading the book, I've found out that the characters of Jenna and Craig featured in Veronica's 'Quick Read' A Sea Change, and although I haven't read that book, it didn't stop my enjoyment of the story at all.

I had 2 favourite parts of this book overall. The first was the story between recently separated couple Rachel and Tim. They have been driven apart by their desperate need for a family, something Tim knows he can't even give Rachel, no matter how much they want. He's reluctantly let her go to fulfill her dream, but he's hurting and missing her. The fact they shared the beach hut was so sweet, and I really did feel for Tim, it was a very touching story. The other brilliant part for me was Elodie's tale. We meet Elodie as a elderly lady, buying the Grey House in Everdene, but we soon find out that the house has a big tie to her from her childhood. As the book progresses, it moves back to Elodie's childhood to reveal what happened that drove Elodie away from her home and her family, and it was a really captivating story. I was really riveted by this and thought it was so well done, I could have read a whole book on Elodie and her story alone.

This was a fantastic read, as I always expect from Veronica Henry! I really enjoyed the whole thing from start to finish, whether it was Elodie's emotional story, or one of the tales of the residents of the beach huts too, they were all very readable. I loved Veronica's descriptions of the beach huts and Everdene, she managed to make them sound like the perfect place to be in the summer, and I can't now wait to visit my parents where they live by the sea, and sit there near the beach huts with a good book! Fans of Veronica Henry are going to want to pick this up and lose themselves in another wonderful, evocative and warm tale of many lives at Everdene beach and beyond. I loved it. A fantastic beach read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful summer read, 4 Aug. 2014
This review is from: The Beach Hut Next Door (Kindle Edition)
When I received The Beach Hut Next Door I couldn’t wait to read it, from reading the blurb and looking at the cover I knew I was going to be in for a summery read. This is the second book that features Everdene; however you do not have to have read the previous book ‘The Beach Hut’ in order to enjoy this one. After reading this one though you may find yourself wanting to read ‘The Beach Hut’ to find out where it all began!

The story is based around The Beach Huts of Everdene, this summer the owners are back and we follow the lives of some of them. I really enjoyed this book; however there are many characters in the story and at times I was forgetting who was who and having to go back through the story to find out what that character had previously did. This was a shame as the writing was wonderful; it flowed well and was smooth. I just felt that there were too many characters in the story and some of them seemed unnecessary.

Jane, is an ice cream girl, she wants to invest in her future and decided that buying a traditional van would be the way to go, we follow her as she tries to secure a loan for it and I was hoping to find out more about her and follow her story a bit; we however leave her to move onto another character. Although we do return to visit her, I felt that the level of information was lacking after the initial introduction to her. You may remember her if you have read Henry’s short story ‘A Sea Change’, it was nice to have a familiar character return.

My favourite character in the book has to be Elodie, she grew up in Everdene, living in Grey House she has spent many years away due to a secret that was exposed to her about her family. After many years she feels the time has come to return. Through the book we realise what had happened in Elodie’s life and how it has become since she left Everdene. I really enjoyed reading about Elodie, she was by far my faviourte character, I felt that I grew up along with her as I read the book.

Another of my favourite characters were Rachel and Tim. They have recently separated but although they have shared everything they had while they were together, neither one of them can come to terms with selling their beach hut. So they decide they want to keep it between them and sharing it for half the year each.

Although the book is wrapped up in the theme of Everdene and the beach huts, the stories are very separate and almost read as short stories which was nice. There were many other characters in the book though and I didn’t think these were needed, I would have been quite happy to have read more about my three favourite characters!

Overall I really enjoyed this book and the reason I haven’t given it 5* is just down to the amount of characters in the book. I thought the writing was wonderful, smooth and engaging, I am looking forward to reading other books by Henry.

I would like to thank the publisher for sending this in exchange for an honest review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great plots for writers Great beach read, 10 July 2014
For any would be writers out there this is a fabulous book showing how a main thing can be divided into sub plots with different characters and still flow and read smoothly.
The Beach Hut Next Door tells of Elodie Vince and Chris as the main characters and their ties with Everdene and how the lives change.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A GREAT SUMMER READ!, 22 July 2014
The Beach Hut Next Door by Veronica Henry is a delightful story that is based on the little seaside town of Everdene, and like her earlier book the reader is introduced to the stories of her diverse characters but all beautifully tied together in the end. It is about the beach huts adorning the shorelines and the people living there who are from various walks of life and spanning various generations.

Veronica Henry’s Elodie is seventy. She is buying a house which has many wonderful memories of her childhood. It is an exciting journey as one is transported back in time in Everdene revisiting her youthful days. There is the enterprising young Jenna, ready to take on the challenges of life. We have Vince and his brother Chris whose father passed away recently. Then there’s Tim and Rachel, and Kiki and other eclectic characters who all contributed to the larger picture in the story.

The Beach Hut Next Door by Veronica Henry is a wonderful book that will make you come alive. Though the author has given prominence to Elodie, each of the character has their own space and story to tell. A perfect summer read, many readers will find great delight in the characters and their stories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too many characters again!, 5 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I enjoyed The Beach Hut though not as much as her other books. There were too many stories of different people, many of whom seemed just irrelevant. Still one of my favourite authors and looking forward to this book I started to read and was pleasantly surprised. The format is very similar to The Beach Hut - there is the main character whose story goes back 50 years and I enjoyed this more than in the original. Then there are the other characters and in the early part of the book there seemed fewer additional characters which made for a good read. The problem is that more than half way through the book extra characters are added for just one short chapter, which again seems pretty pointless, totally unnecessary and, for me, really spoils the overall book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 225 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Beach Hut Next Door
The Beach Hut Next Door by Veronica Henry
£3.66
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews