Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Southern folklore...
This Not Now compilation is attractively packaged and presents vintage music from the 20th century. Running time CD1,73 minutes and CD2,76 minutes. The Carter Family was a country music group that recorded between 1927 and 1956. The 50 recordings in this set date from 1927 through to 1941 and are among the most representative of their 300 plus output which were all...
Published on 15 Jun 2009 by C. FULLER

versus
6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars SOME GOOD STUFF
The Carter family are really interesting. From the early days of recording, the lure of $50 got a really eclectic mix of songs down, giving an insight into the 'at home' repertoire of the family. There's hard-core folk, hymns, country gospel, sentimental drawing-room ballads, and plenty of stuff collected, adapted, written or nicked by AP (maybe the distinction's not so...
Published on 28 Mar 2011 by P. Linnett


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Southern folklore..., 15 Jun 2009
By 
C. FULLER (Brixham, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Wildwood Flower (Audio CD)
This Not Now compilation is attractively packaged and presents vintage music from the 20th century. Running time CD1,73 minutes and CD2,76 minutes. The Carter Family was a country music group that recorded between 1927 and 1956. The 50 recordings in this set date from 1927 through to 1941 and are among the most representative of their 300 plus output which were all steeped in Southern folklore and history. Songwriter credits and years of recording are given and the liner notes come from Michael Heatley. Sound quality which has been restored is crisp but retains the vintage feel. A must for collectors of the genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Indispensable, 10 May 2009
By 
Steve Keen "therealus" (Herts, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wildwood Flower (Audio CD)
Inspired by an account of AP Carter's quest to preserve the folk tradition of rural America in Amanda Petrusich's excellent book, It Still Moves, I determined it was time I sampled the delights of The Carter Family to a greater extent than I'd been able to on assorted TV programmes.

The first thing to say about this collection is that it's great value for money - fifty tracks for a few quid is amazing, especially as the music has been remastered to the point where it's not possible to hear the eight decades which separate us from the recording of some of them. The liner notes are brief but informative, telling the reader about how different artistes have adapted Carter's music for their own songs, amongst other things. Dylan is one such mentioned, but I also noticed that the tune to Motherless Children bore an uncanny resemblance to Gillian Welch's No One Knows My Name, and that Wildwood Flower itself formed the basis of Emmylou Harris's Carter-inspired track on All I Intended To Be.

Levon Helm's tribute, on his album Dirt Farmer, was to just sing Single Girl, Married Girl more or less straight.

Whilst to 21st Century ears the production is charmingly unsophisticated, the liner notes point out that Maybelle's guitar playing was, in its day, revolutionary, and in its own way one of the reasons The Carter Family have gone down in the annals, so it's worth a listen just for that.

Much more, however, this is an indispensable piece of Americana.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Did you ever wonder where it all comes from?, 6 May 2010
By 
Trev Hill (Telford, Shropshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Wildwood Flower (Audio CD)
Did you ever wonder where many of those great old country songs come from... this wonderful double CD set (an unbelievable bargain) contains 50 tracks by the first family of country music. The carter Family were one of the first major country acts and bridge the gap between Country and Folk. Their song collecting, revolutionary music (yes, revolutionary... white people using the guitar for melody... a WOMAN playing such a style of guitar)influenced generations to come: Hank Williams and Johnny Cash to name a few. Songs like "Wabash Cannonball", "Are You Lonesome Tonight" (yes, it existed waaaay before Elvis) and, of course, "Wildwood Flower" are still standards of Country singers today. However, a word of warning to those who think Country begins and ends with taylor Swift (lovely tho' she is), these tracks are not high-tec, polished pop tunes. This is old "Old Time" and can get a bit repetitive in the tune department. Perhaps the only minus is that the famous "Will the Circle be Unbroken" isn't present, but with 50 other songs to listen too, maybe I'm just a little greedy to expect it all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful introduction, 17 Feb 2010
By 
P. W. Skerratt (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wildwood Flower (Audio CD)
This double CD provides a manageable introduction to the large amount of material recorded by the original Carter Family. The Carter Family may suffer from their asociation with Country music, but this is beautiful folk music of interest to anyone interested in the folk or roots genres. Highly recommended - especially for the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars WONDERFUL MUSIC BUT PROBLEM WITH PRODUCTION!!!, 14 April 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wildwood Flower (Audio CD)
The music is wonderful and timeless - what I have heard of it at least.

But the production is faulty somewhere along the line - for me at least.

No one else reviewing this seems to have suffered the same problem I have encountered.

I have two cds labelled Disc 1 and 2 but BOTH cds contain the tracks listed for Disc 2.

I have emailed Amazon to let them know about the problem.
I am waiting to see how soon they will rectify the problem.

Meanwhile, I am eagerly waiting to hear the tracks on Disc 1....from 8,000 kms away...

UPDATE :
I have upgraded my rating to 4 stars : for Amazon's admirably swift service in sending me Wildwood Flower again, this time with the correct discs within a day of my emailing them about the above problem.
It would be 5 stars for the wonderful, compelling music : were it not for the fact that the track listings on the discs DO NOT MATCH the (CORRECT) track listings on the back of the album cover.
I have had to spend about a hour sorting this out and correcting the track listings on my computer.
I can't understand why this problem was not picked up and rectified earlier by NOT NOW.
Am I the only customer who has experienced this problem - or noticed it???

FIVE STARS FOR THE MUSIC ITSELF AND THE VALUE THIS ALBUM PROVIDES.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Carter Family 2 disk set, 28 Aug 2014
By 
Richard A. Smith (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wildwood Flower (Audio CD)
As lots of the songs they sang have become classics and have gone through the "folk" process by other singers it is great to hear what they originally sounded like. The Carter guitar style is unusual in the sense of melody being played more on the bass strings than the treble which tends to be the norm now. I have really enjoyed the double disk and if you have any interest in early american folk songs and singers it is worth getting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars SOME GOOD STUFF, 28 Mar 2011
By 
P. Linnett (Lyme Regis) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wildwood Flower (Audio CD)
The Carter family are really interesting. From the early days of recording, the lure of $50 got a really eclectic mix of songs down, giving an insight into the 'at home' repertoire of the family. There's hard-core folk, hymns, country gospel, sentimental drawing-room ballads, and plenty of stuff collected, adapted, written or nicked by AP (maybe the distinction's not so big as we like to think). It's all interesting even where time has not been good to it. And all given added pizzaz by fabulous natural-voice vocals, sometimes great harmonies, and the characteristic and influential guitar of Maybelle Carter. And it's not all Carter Scratch - there's a bit of bottle-neck in there too. You get a view of their wide range of influences and the traffic between black and white music.

To my way of thinking, the 2nd CD is pretty disposable, with too much sentimental commercial stuff. And some odd omissions. So check out the selection on Can the Circle be Unbroken. But for £2.99, that's a 'wow' from me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Wish I'd found The Carter Family years ago., 12 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wildwood Flower (Audio CD)
It's not every day you hear a sound like this .Brilliant , I admit that I'm a dinosaur and love the nostalgic fifties but The Carters took me back even further. I will be finding out more about them. Tom D
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wildwood Flower, 22 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wildwood Flower (Audio CD)
I wasn't sure what I was buying when I purchased this CD, I like vintage American music so I was pleasantly surprised when I first heard it. definitely good value with 50 tracks. when you realise that the Carter Family have been playing country music from the 1920's to 1950's . It's plane to a see that quite a few of todays singers must have been influenced by this group. this is my first CD of the Carter Family but it won't be my last
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Anyone who loves proper country music, 4 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wildwood Flower (Audio CD)
So innovative - a few surprises - original country music - the rolling bass truly magical - no wailing women standing by their men etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Wildwood Flower
Wildwood Flower by The Carter Family
Buy MP3 Album£4.89
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews