Customer Reviews


97 Reviews
5 star:
 (78)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is NOT the difficult second album
In 2009, I'd have laughed at the idea of being a fan of a band fronted by a 17yr old blonde actress turned singer. Then I heard Make Me Wanna Die, loved it and loved the subsequent album Light Me Up.

This new album shows a band that have matured in terms of song-writing and playing abilities. The opening two tracks are out and out hard rock tracks before...
Published 13 months ago by Neil Pearson

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nothing Close to 'Light Me Up'
I waited so long for this album! But damn I was so disappointed. 'Light Me Up' was such a good listen, chugging guitar riffs, thumping drum beats and Taylor's soaring vocals made it one of the finest rock albums of it's generation. But the follow up is far from that quality. The opener 'Follow Me Down' carries some of the influence from 'Light Me Up', but falls way short...
Published 12 months ago by Andrew Jobling


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is NOT the difficult second album, 10 April 2014
In 2009, I'd have laughed at the idea of being a fan of a band fronted by a 17yr old blonde actress turned singer. Then I heard Make Me Wanna Die, loved it and loved the subsequent album Light Me Up.

This new album shows a band that have matured in terms of song-writing and playing abilities. The opening two tracks are out and out hard rock tracks before 'Heaven Knows' slows things down a little with a chorus of school kids in a similar vein to Alice Cooper's 'Schools Out'. 'House on a Hill' is a great rock ballad before 'Sweet Things' turns up the volume and pace with guitarist Ben Phillips contributing vocals.

I won't go through every track but there are no 'skippers' here for me. Ben Phillips is allowed to show his guitar skills more on this album and Taylor's vocals are near perfect throughout, whether screaming on 'Sweet Things' or on the gentle acoustic 'Waiting For a Friend'.

The Deluxe version includes acoustic versions two tracks - Going To Hell is live which makes it even more impressive.

Another reviewer criticized the album for not knowing whether it was hard rock, soft rock or pop with too many slow songs. That's rubbish! This album demonstrates the quality of a band that is equally at home in each of those categories and an album of the same types at fast tempos would quickly become boring.

'Going to Hell' is a worthy successor to 'Light Me Up'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Pretty Good, 29 Aug. 2014
I bought 'Going To Hell' mainly on the strength of their previous album 'Light Me Up', and having played this new album more than a few times, I think I prefer it. The tracks are heavier sounding overall and whilst I can't quite make my mind up which track is my favourite as there isn't really a duff one, I have to say that 'Heaven Knows' and 'House on a Hill' are particularly appealing in my view.

I hold a flame for Taylor Momsen as she has been through some hard times with the press in the past; her sheer attitude not to let life get her down really impresses. I look forward to hearing more from her. Hopefully she may experiment with lighter material.

Overall, a thumbs up from me and The Pretty Reckless has just got itself promoted in my books from a 'like' to a 'favourite'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars love this album, 11 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Have had this in the car for the past couple of months, absolutely love it - do have to skip 2 tracks when the kids are in the car too, but otherwise I have it turned up LOUD!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 19 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Although the first album is the better of the two, this is still worth purchasing. Think it generally sounds heavier and Taylors vocals are excellent,unike some female vocalists who front rock bands. Its lyrical content is good and personally I think it was worth the long wait. Definately one for your cd collection !!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Going To Hell sees The Pretty Reckless develop and tighten their sound, 3 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Going To Hell (MP3 Download)
Much darker and more rock oriented than the first album (with just the one "country" influenced track at the end), Going To Hell sees The Pretty Reckless develop and tighten their sound. Taylor Momsen's vocals are more confident and assured and the band's sound frames itself around them in a more focussed way than before.

As another reviewer said, this is most certainly not the difficult second album. It is strong, assured and sets the tone for The Pretty Reckless in the future. Well worth the purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hope For The Future, 23 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Most impressive! Perfect pacing and flow throughout as the band lay out the nature of sin/redemption. Shades of light and dark
meld seamlessly in the ebb and flow of the music which is captivating, tightly played and fiendishly melodic!
Lead singer Taylor even manages to toy with her image as one of the current "bad girls" in the title track..
For those who still believe in a complete album to cherish from start to finish, this one is for you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Easy to listen to, but that doesn't mean it sucks, 23 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'm a big fan of Symphonic Metal, bands which make music that mixes orquestra and heavy metal, but I always loved The Pretty Reckless, their music is really easy to listen to, but that doesn't mean they are bad, Taylor Momsen's vocals are awesome, the songs are pretty catchy and meaningful, the only thing I didin't like in this album was some chorus that were really repetitive, besides that, this is a great album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 15 Sept. 2014
By 
M. Williams (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Like some other reviewers I am an old rocker but there are some great modern bands about. The Pretty Reckless is among the best of them. All of the band members are obviously exceptionally talented and can produce differing styles of music to a very high standard. The two bonus tracks are different versions of songs earlier on the album but they are a worthy inclusion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 8 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Smokin!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Even better than the first, 30 Jun. 2014
This is one of the few albums I am happy to listen to in full without skipping any tracks, every song is great in its own way. Compared to the first, I would say this has a heavier sound. Taylor's vocals are as awesome as ever!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Going To Hell
Going To Hell by The Pretty Reckless
Buy MP3 Album£7.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews