Customer Reviews


62 Reviews
5 star:
 (50)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is NOT the difficult second album
In 2009, I'd have laughed at the idea of being a fan of a band fronted by a 17yr old blonde actress turned singer. Then I heard Make Me Wanna Die, loved it and loved the subsequent album Light Me Up.

This new album shows a band that have matured in terms of song-writing and playing abilities. The opening two tracks are out and out hard rock tracks before...
Published 4 months ago by N. PEARSON

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nothing Close to 'Light Me Up'
I waited so long for this album! But damn I was so disappointed. 'Light Me Up' was such a good listen, chugging guitar riffs, thumping drum beats and Taylor's soaring vocals made it one of the finest rock albums of it's generation. But the follow up is far from that quality. The opener 'Follow Me Down' carries some of the influence from 'Light Me Up', but falls way short...
Published 3 months ago by Andrew Jobling


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is NOT the difficult second album, 10 April 2014
By 
N. PEARSON - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
In 2009, I'd have laughed at the idea of being a fan of a band fronted by a 17yr old blonde actress turned singer. Then I heard Make Me Wanna Die, loved it and loved the subsequent album Light Me Up.

This new album shows a band that have matured in terms of song-writing and playing abilities. The opening two tracks are out and out hard rock tracks before 'Heaven Knows' slows things down a little with a chorus of school kids in a similar vein to Alice Cooper's 'Schools Out'. 'House on a Hill' is a great rock ballad before 'Sweet Things' turns up the volume and pace with guitarist Ben Phillips contributing vocals.

I won't go through every track but there are no 'skippers' here for me. Ben Phillips is allowed to show his guitar skills more on this album and Taylor's vocals are near perfect throughout, whether screaming on 'Sweet Things' or on the gentle acoustic 'Waiting For a Friend'.

The Deluxe version includes acoustic versions two tracks - Going To Hell is live which makes it even more impressive.

Another reviewer criticized the album for not knowing whether it was hard rock, soft rock or pop with too many slow songs. That's rubbish! This album demonstrates the quality of a band that is equally at home in each of those categories and an album of the same types at fast tempos would quickly become boring.

'Going to Hell' is a worthy successor to 'Light Me Up'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 19 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Although the first album is the better of the two, this is still worth purchasing. Think it generally sounds heavier and Taylors vocals are excellent,unike some female vocalists who front rock bands. Its lyrical content is good and personally I think it was worth the long wait. Definately one for your cd collection !!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Modern metal , catchy as hell, great vocals.., 31 May 2014
By 
D. Dixon "Diggler" (Middlesbrough, County Durham United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'm an old school 80s metal head and the glory days died in '92 for me, but I heard this band on the cover of classic rock magazine and it shows metal is on a come back. About bloody time!

If you like melodic hard rock, with great riffage, a vocalist with range ( who is btw , a seriously good looking lass ) , and some top songs , this is for you....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A new rock favourite., 29 Aug 2014
Where to start? Excellent mix of foot stomping hard and soft rock? Check. Well produced songs? Check. Cracking vocals? Check. Stunning female lead singer? Absolutely check! Sorry, I had to put that in as it's true. I bought this album mainly on the strength of 'Light Me Up', and having now played it more than a few times, I think I prefer it to the band's earlier album. The tracks are heavier sounding overall and I like it. I can't quite make my mind up which track is my favourite as there isn't really a duff one; that said, 'Heaven Knows' and 'House on a Hill' are particularly appealing in my view.

Further to my light hearted quip above, I have to say that I really respect Taylor Momsen. This lady has been through some hard times in the past and her sheer attitude not to let life get her down really impresses. I look forward to hearing more from her. Hopefully she may experiment more with lighter music; heaven knows she has the ability. Overall, a firm thumbs up from me and The Pretty Reckless has just got itself promoted in my books from a 'firm like' to an 'all time favourite'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nothing Close to 'Light Me Up', 7 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Going To Hell (Audio CD)
I waited so long for this album! But damn I was so disappointed. 'Light Me Up' was such a good listen, chugging guitar riffs, thumping drum beats and Taylor's soaring vocals made it one of the finest rock albums of it's generation. But the follow up is far from that quality. The opener 'Follow Me Down' carries some of the influence from 'Light Me Up', but falls way short in quality during the chorus and bridge, same problem with other tracks such as 'Going to Hell' and 'Heaven Knows'. It seems as though TPR have forgotten how to write really great chorus', something they excelled in during 'Light Me Up'. The album slows down far too much, on 'Light Me Up' you had a couple of slow acoustic songs, but this one is full of them, and in my opinion, that doesn't bring out the best in TPR. A decent album, but it should have been a lot better following the quality of the amazing first album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LUCKY HELL!, 18 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An album I've been looking forward to and though there aren't as many really rocking songs as I thought there would be,i certainly am not disappointed.
It kicks of sounding very much like the rock you would expect and hope for,with track 2 keeping the pace up nicely,making it clear they have a real passion for this. Track 3 Is brilliant,but my one small disappointment is it sounds like it's going to be a thumping anthem and last 7 or 8 minutes,but it's only about 4. That said,it's a brilliant unexpected twist for the band,taking things in a new direction. The tracks move along nicely with some rocking songs and several slower paced ones,but TAYLOR MOMSEN has the vocals for it. The last track is a slow one,which will no doubt become more and more popular,it just ends things on a surprisingly calm level.
I certainly have nothing against them trying out several slow tracks here,they all sound great and will no doubt grow on most listeners unconvinced by the initial play. For me,this was a brave way of moving on. some more rocking,stage thumping,crowd roaring tracks,but with plenty of passion for the slower paced rock.
I suspect there will be plenty of lighters in the air for these slower moments when sung live,i just hope there aren't too many for fans of their heavier stuff. The heavier stuff does indeed still pack a punch,going places they haven't before aswell as visiting familiar ground and embracing a reliable friend.
This may not quite be the expected 2nd album,but it's a hell of a ride. It's an offering to rock your socks off and calm you down again. In short,the pretty reckless still sound pretty damn fantastic.

As an added note,the 2 bonus tracks on the deluxe version are very nice to have,but are just alternative versions of tracks already heard,so be warned,no original material with the bonus 2. However,these 2 are still great to hear.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hope For The Future, 23 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Most impressive! Perfect pacing and flow throughout as the band lay out the nature of sin/redemption. Shades of light and dark
meld seamlessly in the ebb and flow of the music which is captivating, tightly played and fiendishly melodic!
Lead singer Taylor even manages to toy with her image as one of the current "bad girls" in the title track..
For those who still believe in a complete album to cherish from start to finish, this one is for you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Easy to listen to, but that doesn't mean it sucks, 23 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'm a big fan of Symphonic Metal, bands which make music that mixes orquestra and heavy metal, but I always loved The Pretty Reckless, their music is really easy to listen to, but that doesn't mean they are bad, Taylor Momsen's vocals are awesome, the songs are pretty catchy and meaningful, the only thing I didin't like in this album was some chorus that were really repetitive, besides that, this is a great album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 12 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Going To Hell (Audio CD)
Superb better than the first album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 8 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Smokin!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Going To Hell
Going To Hell by The Pretty Reckless
Buy MP3 Album7.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews