Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A biography of John Arlott
A carefully researched, honest and well written biography of a fascinating man. It is as a cricket commentator that we knew JA best, but his politics, poetry, love of books and enjoyment of wine combine with his time in the police force and friendship with an array of famous and interesting people to make this a hugely enjoyable book even, if not especially, for us...
Published 23 months ago by jonathan townsend

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting content, but didn't like author's style.
First, a note about the Kindle edition that bears no reflection on the author: this was easily the most poorly "typeset" e-book that I have have read. The book was littered with small errors and occasional large ones where chunks of text had been duplicated—most irritating.

I remember JA as the voice of cricket on Test Match Special. I have...
Published 2 months ago by Roger Cavanagh


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A biography of John Arlott, 6 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A carefully researched, honest and well written biography of a fascinating man. It is as a cricket commentator that we knew JA best, but his politics, poetry, love of books and enjoyment of wine combine with his time in the police force and friendship with an array of famous and interesting people to make this a hugely enjoyable book even, if not especially, for us non-cricketers.
John Arlott was an intelligent, erudite and generous man; I can think of few more interesting or entertaining people to invite to a dinner-party - this book makes me really wish I had known him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting content, but didn't like author's style., 26 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Arlott: The Authorised Biography (Kindle Edition)
First, a note about the Kindle edition that bears no reflection on the author: this was easily the most poorly "typeset" e-book that I have have read. The book was littered with small errors and occasional large ones where chunks of text had been duplicated—most irritating.

I remember JA as the voice of cricket on Test Match Special. I have "Cricketing Wides, Byes and Slips" (http://www.amazon.co.uk/Arlotts-Cricketing-Wides-Slips-Audio/dp/1408409496) playing as I write this. I did not realise the breadth of his talent and erudition, or his capacity for wine. There is much interesting biographical detail in this book, but I didn't really enjoy reading it. I can't really put my finger on it; it was just something about the author's writing style that made reading seem like hard work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 22 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fond memories of radio commentaries as a kid whilst should have been doing exam revision. Also of staying up at night for the Centenary test
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 6 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Arlott: The Authorised Biography (Kindle Edition)
Ver.y interesting about his early life with more to follow
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Arlott, 29 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Arlott: The Authorised Biography (Kindle Edition)
Excellent read. Interesting man. TMS no near his quality these days but neither are today's cricketers as good as those who went before them. There is an ordinariness about our world - as to TMS just compare Arlott with Boycott!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing., 15 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Arlott: The Authorised Biography (Kindle Edition)
A bit slow, very processional and bulked out from a chronological list of events and achievements. I felt saddened by the end as I found my opinion of an all time hero had been tainted!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars I found it hard to like either the book or Arlott himself, 23 Sep 2014
By 
Mr. P. J. Hayes (Tiptoe, Hampshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Arlott: The Authorised Biography (Kindle Edition)
I felt the book was hard to engage with - maybe it was because Arlott himself was difficult to engage with. I found it hard to like either the book or Arlott himself!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 16 July 2014
By 
Ianmcnaughton - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Arlott: The Authorised Biography (Kindle Edition)
an excellent biography of the greatest cricket commentator ever
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A book for cricket lovers, 13 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Arlott: The Authorised Biography (Kindle Edition)
A well written & informative book - a must for cricket lovers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Arlott: The Authorised Biography
Arlott: The Authorised Biography by David Rayvern Allen
£3.70
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews