Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Album
After a short hiatus and murmurings of an album through many forums, there is finally a Skrillex album to hand and I can firmly say that it doesn't disappoint. What's wonderful about this album is really the variety of genres and Skrillex managing to keep up with the electronic scene without cheapening his music to do so, with tracks different from straight brostep...
Published 14 months ago by Alex Woodhouse

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Thought it would be better
No great tracks on it, nothing stands out, there are one or two that are okay, but most of them are boring and not very interesting. Feel he has lost his way a bit, I easily prefer Knife Party.
Published 13 months ago by Sue UK


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars Thought it would be better, 9 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Recess (Audio CD)
No great tracks on it, nothing stands out, there are one or two that are okay, but most of them are boring and not very interesting. Feel he has lost his way a bit, I easily prefer Knife Party.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting tunes with a couple of stinkers, 7 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Recess (Audio CD)
Skrillex has a reputation for creating interesting sonic landscapes and despite some of his tracks being inane, they still spark a resonance within the body and soul.

This album has got some great moments, and starts of with familiar territory with the pounding 'All is fair in love and Brostep'. The album moves onto the disco / hardstep infused 'Recess' a fantastic track that will prove epic in a club. A change of tack to the R&b tinged 'Stranger' a track that sucks the saccharine out of the MOR conventions associated with the genre and makes it much better for it. 'Try it out' is classic Skrillex and by now you will be enthralled by the album.

However the next two tracks are terrible, the shockingly poor level of lyrics on Coast is clear and Dirty Vibe are laughable child like tracks and would embarrass anyone with pubic hair and massively detract from the Album.

It does bounce back though with 'Ragga bomb' living up to its name and being a boombastic Rave anthem, and Doompy Poomp a fantastic chill step moment with some nice experimental sounds, these seep over into 'F**kThat' as the beat steps up. Then we come to one of the best tracks on the album, the Epic 'Ease my mind' is a 21st century torch song, with a depth of emotion missing from most contemporary dance tracks. The warm glow carries over into the final track 'Fire away' a mellow soundscape where skrillex grabs your hand and leads you off onto a journey beyond the album.

Overall its a good album, if you can look past the two terrible tracks its a fantastic album and I look forward to seeing where Skrillex goes next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 26 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Recess (Audio CD)
Best CD i have bought in almost a year. Essential for EDM Lovers. I haven't stopped listening in over a week
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 23 Mar. 2014
This review is from: Recess (Audio CD)
Skrillex truly amazing album not usual style but mix works perfectly. Would recommend to anyone this album who loves skrillex
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Certainly Different.. BUT Different Is Good!, 18 Mar. 2014
This review is from: Recess (Audio CD)
I didn't even realise Skrillex was releasing an album until I saw a Facebook Blog post a live stream to this! At first i was a bit sceptical, it had taken me nearly 2 years to actually begin to enjoy Skrillex. I was never a fan of dup-step, in fact i despised it! I have always been a massive heavy metal fan, and the stupid heaviness that Skrillex always incorporated kind of made his music more accessible.

However this album isn't just a mash of a few stupidly heavy songs like the past E.P's have been. This feels much more like an actual album. It has a good flow from start to finish and has some great high and low points.

The songs themselves aren't what i was expecting. The album seems to be more revolving around the basic club/dance formula, rather than 65bpm syncopated heavy kick and snare pattern that was just about every early skrillex song! The songs actually have some pace and a nice groove in them! It still has all the great mad sounds that makes Skrillex so distinguishable, but used in a slightly different light, which i feel is very effective.

I do think this album will alienate some of the original hardcore early Skrillex fans, but none-the-less i think it is a very decent effort! Maybe next time keep a good mix of the heavy Dub-Step tunes and any experiments...

Love the title song with Kill The Noise and Fatman Scoop!!! Worth checking out for sure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars What the hell happened?, 4 Jun. 2014
This review is from: Recess (Audio CD)
I don't normally feel compelled to write reviews, but in this case I've made an exception.

I loved Scary Monsters and Nice Sprites, and most of the tracks on Bangarang even though there was a noticeable drop in quality from Skrillex's earlier work. This, on the other hand, I listened to about half of before deciding it was one of the worst albums I'd ever heard and turning it off to save my sanity.

To my ears, every track sounds like a shoddy dubstep remix of 'Who Let the Dogs Out', only less melodic. I normally try and be objective about different types of entertainment media, as everyone has different tastes, but I really couldn't find any redeeming qualities in this piece of 'music'. It was just a raucous, distorted, tuneless mess, and I'm genuinely surprised by the positive reviews on here.

My advice to anyone who liked Skrillex's earlier work: don't buy this, you'll regret it.

There, I've vented, I feel better now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Experiment Gone Wrong, 28 Mar. 2014
This review is from: Recess (Audio CD)
When I stumbled across the album I was so excited "YES a new Skrillex album"! That feeling quickly faded. This album is a prime example why people pirate music. You plonk your money down expecting something great only to feel cheated. There's one or two tracks that I kinda like, that's not love, but just kinda like.

You'll find this album cram packed with these guest appearances who really bring nothing good to the table. I don't know if Skrillex was experimenting with a new sound or just trying to showcase some other DJ's but either way it's gone horribly wrong. The sounds are so bright and clean the music feels sterile. It's also filled with gimmicky sounds and effects that are reminiscent of the 90s.

Bangarang (his previous album) just grabs you you from the start, the first four tracks, you want to repeat them over and over, but don't because there's more album to enjoy! Not Recess, there's no soul no driving force. I think most artists only have a few albums in them and they fall off, for whatever reason. I hope this isn't the signal of Sonny's decline.

I hate ripping on people's art, it's so much easier to tear someone down than to build them up. He just set the bar really high and I feel let down. Judge for yourself, taste is subjective.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Recess Album = Mind Blown!, 20 July 2014
By 
Thomas Ellson (Sutton In Ashfield United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Recess (Audio CD)
Fantastic album! 2nd behind Scary monsters and nice sprites! Skrillex fails to disappoint!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars POOR ALBUM, 19 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Recess (Audio CD)
Track 2 "Recess" is the only good song on the album. The rest is just a bunch of random sounds put together. Do not buy. Buy track 2 as an mp3. Very disappointed. Loved his last album with "Bangarang" on.Complete waste of money which is very annoying. If its not broken then dont try to fix it. I can't understand why artists change their style/sound when they are on the top of the world. VERY FRUSTRATING!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome!!!!!!, 14 Aug. 2014
This review is from: Recess (Audio CD)
awesome!!!! plenty dub step in it and one camer song.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Recess [Explicit]
Recess [Explicit] by Skrillex
Buy MP3 Album£4.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews